Postby Greypatch » May 6th, 2008, 10:36 am

buh all food prices raise already...

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 6th, 2008, 1:58 pm

Greypatch wrote:buh all food prices raise already...

and if they raise Gas AND DIESEL- then ALL groceries go become Luxuries!

Postby Greypatch » May 6th, 2008, 1:59 pm

den de riots guh start....

good thing Iman in de country...

Postby RASC » May 6th, 2008, 2:04 pm

Trinidadians once again showing thier confused state of mind.
One second they want a more socialist gov't that takes care of them and the less fortunate-the next second they want a more capitalist society that looks out for the business minded.
One minute they want BIG gov't the next second they don't want BIG gov't :?
It is VERY confusing :!: Or maybe we HAVE matured to that level where there are two distinct groups in the nation with opposing nationalistic views.
As it stands right now-it all looks muffled :?

It would be interesting to have a poll and see where majority of ppl's views are on tuner!
Last edited by RASC on May 6th, 2008, 2:11 pm, edited 3 times in total.

QM

Postby QM » May 6th, 2008, 2:05 pm

we have fixed date as to when it goin up?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 6th, 2008, 2:10 pm

im sure over 60% of trinidad will agree that the pnm is taking this couuntry tuh hell!

Postby RASC » May 6th, 2008, 2:13 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:im sure over 60% of trinidad will agree that the pnm is taking this couuntry tuh hell!

Thats not the question.
The question is whether or not your more socialist or capitalist in nature.
If your socialist your obviously in opposition to the reduced subsidy, however if your capilatist, you understand the economics of a more open market-you welcome the forces which control gas prices.

That's the question.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 6th, 2008, 2:16 pm

er rasc i understand the question , BUT

that has NO bearing on the subsidy being removed on gas in trinidad.
Bottom line- pnm needs funding for personal sheit- they willign tuh bull the people to get it!
theres no capatalism or socalism here!

Postby 16 cycles » May 6th, 2008, 2:18 pm

RASC wrote:Trinidadians once again showing thier confused state of mind.
One second they want a more socialist gov't that takes care of them and the less fortunate-the next second they want a more capitalist society that looks out for the business minded.
One minute they want BIG gov't the next second they don't want BIG gov't :?
It is VERY confusing :!: Or maybe we HAVE matured to that level where there are two distinct groups in the nation with opposing nationalistic views.
As it stands right now-it all looks muffled :?

It would be interesting to have a poll and see where majority of ppl's views are on tuner!

who is this "they" and "them"?

All I personally really want is a good health care system, manageabale cost of living, a good education system, no crime and a service oriented public service.

It my sound backward but to me that is paradise.

Postby RASC » May 6th, 2008, 2:21 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:er rasc i understand the question , BUT

that has NO bearing on the subsidy being removed on gas in trinidad.
Bottom line- pnm needs funding for personal sheit- they willign tuh bull the people to get it!
theres no capatalism or socalism here!

Of course there is. A capatalistic minded person would ENCOURAGE as much free market enterprise as possible. A caplitalistic minded person would love to see as little gov't intervention as possible.

A socialist minded individual on the other hand would want more gov't intervention in the protection of it's population. The removal of the subsidy would be in DIRECT contrast to what a socialist would invision.

So which do you more closely identify with, and how does it corelate to your feelings once the subsidy is removed???

Postby RASC » May 6th, 2008, 2:23 pm

16 cycles,"TRINIDADIANS"...did you not read what I typed :? .That is the "they" and that is the "them" (Thought that was kinda obvious seeing as I opened the paragraph with the adjective)

Postby Greypatch » May 6th, 2008, 2:35 pm

stupez....

Postby RASC » May 6th, 2008, 2:37 pm

I am not disagreeing or agreeing with the move to remove the gas subsidy.
I would just like to find out where you guys stand in terms of economic ideologies.
Are you more socialist in nature or more capitalist in nature?
That is all.

Postby Greypatch » May 6th, 2008, 2:38 pm

would just like to find out where you guys stand in terms of economic ideologies.
Are you more socialist in nature or more capitalist in nature.
That is all.

den mek yuh own ched

Postby RASC » May 6th, 2008, 2:39 pm

Greypatch wrote:
would just like to find out where you guys stand in terms of economic ideologies.
Are you more socialist in nature or more capitalist in nature.
That is all.

den mek yuh own ched

EDIT:
Why should I? It directly relates to the conversation here :?
Many Trinbagonians are claiming to be hard-lined Capitalist in pursuit of profit margins and wealth protection/growth and at the same time opposed to the ideas of a Freer Market with LESS gov't control...IT MAKES NO SENSE :?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 6th, 2008, 3:56 pm

when the gas subsidy is removed it will have fewer road fatalities cause it will cost to much to speed down the highway

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » May 6th, 2008, 4:13 pm

i don't think so Zeriam, the ppl in this country have a need for speed... :| they just love it!!!so removing the subsidy won't do a damn thing.. :|

Postby 16 cycles » May 6th, 2008, 6:33 pm

RASC wrote:16 cycles,"TRINIDADIANS"...did you not read what I typed :? .That is the "they" and that is the "them" (Thought that was kinda obvious seeing as I opened the paragraph with the adjective)

i saw the Trinidadians followed by the "they".............its one hell of a generalization.........i thought you had narrowed it down to a specific group when you said "they" and "them"........cause your analysis is be REAL in DEPTH

Conrad

Postby Conrad » May 6th, 2008, 9:33 pm

Anyone have proof of government's intention to remove the subsidy? Don't want to know about hearsay and who has ears in which party. If gov't removes subsidies that'll be the start of a deep plumet for a looooooooong while to come.

Remove subsidy = rapid inflation + protests/strikes + possible coup + increase in crime + longevity of recession + political instability + unused/abandoned infrastructure due to foreign business pulling out.

I honestly don't think Patos is this stupid, I know he's capable but... is he?

BTW RASC... personally I sway towards the more capitalistic style of governing but believe that certain socialistic characteristics must co-exist as well.

Postby Greypatch » May 7th, 2008, 10:29 am

This present adminstration does not even know where dem elbow is (to mistake it for dem arse to scratch it)

I doubt they will give the victims (public) much notice

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » May 7th, 2008, 11:20 am

Gas prices will affect everything. The majority of this world relies on transport. Wether it be good or passengers, everything will go up. It's a wonder the maxi drivers have not increased their fares (although I still feel they keeping quiet cuz they ent wanna admit the $1 city gate thing was already taken care of by one of the many fare increases).

Now when the cost of transport goes up, business men on the whole won't be all that happy of taking the blow of transportation cost, so, prices of goods/services will go up. To be personally honest, the quality of service/standard of things here in Trini are just atrocious, but then, typical trini mentality "ah hadda eat ah food". Gone is the gap between surviving and jus plain being greedy.

So, what are you? Are you a survivor or jus a mindless zombie that will just follow the ways of "the system"

Hexxx

Postby Hexxx » August 15th, 2008, 10:13 pm

Hey what's the deal on this?

I hearing some talk that diesel price might go up soon, if not next budget because of the increase in 'luxury' diesel vehicles ppl are buying nowadays. Anybody have any words on that? I didn't but a new (first) diesel vehicle (which I didn't even get yet mind you), to have higher prices :evil: The price might not match gas prices ($3) but is suppose to go up. :?: :idea: :twisted:

BTW, there is another tread with this topic here > [Diesel Fuel price should exceed Premium & Super PER LITE]http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=172533

What I see in these threads are ppl saying they won't raise the price of diesel because of how much transporation (and carrying goods, etc) depends on diesel fuel... won't it just be possible for them to raise the diesel price for private vehicles alone? Don't know how they would manage diffrentiating that one though, but it not impossible.

And regarding the World GTL Trinidad Limited, if it is for export, won't we have to pay big "world" prices for it to? I mean isn't that FDI being done here because of our resources and proximity in the world anyway?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 16th, 2008, 2:49 am

The gas subsidy would be removed if the government decides to sign the Economic Partnership Agreement(EPA), with the EU(European Union), on I believe the 2nd September, 2008 the removal of the subsidy is part of the agreement. This affects our entire economy and can send us into uncontrollable and runaway inflation, and we can basically end up like Guyana or Zimbabwe for example if we are luck maybe like Jamaica, there would be no safety in having a diesel vehicle as Diesel is expected to rise way beyond the price of Premium and Super Unleaded Gasoline. Prices may be in the range of of those in the U.S meaning we can be paying as much as $25 for a gallon of gas and $30 for Diesel.
Last edited by kg494EJ-1 on August 16th, 2008, 6:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » August 16th, 2008, 2:56 am

But at least Diesel vehicles a little more fuel efficient

Hexxx

Postby Hexxx » August 16th, 2008, 9:44 am

So would it be better to pick a diesel vehicle over a gas vehicle still giving the possible changes in the local fuel prices?

Postby pete » August 16th, 2008, 10:16 am

Diesel engines may be more fuel efficient. But does a pickup get better fuel mileage than a car?

Hexxx

Postby Hexxx » August 16th, 2008, 10:23 am

The weight of the pickups and the SUVs are more, so the mpg of a car would (*should*) be better.

Hexxx

Postby Hexxx » August 16th, 2008, 10:25 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:The gas subsidy would be removed if the government decides to sign the Economic Partnership Agreement(EPA), with the EU(European Union), on I believe the 2nd September, 2008 the removal of the subsidy is part of the agreement. This affects our entire economy and can send us into uncontrollable and runaway inflation, and we can basically end up like Guyana or Zimbabwe for example if we are luck maybe like Jamaica, there would be no safety in having a diesel vehicle as Diesel is expected to rise way beyond the price of Premium and Super Unleaded Gasoline. Prices may be in the range of of those in the U.S meaning we can be paying as much as $25 for a gallon of gas and $30 for Diesel.

I though the dead line for TT to sign the EPA was the end of July? That wasn't when they said they not removing the subsidy?

EDIT: Didn't TT do something about the EPA yesterday or day before? I there was something on the news about that. I didn't see it.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 16th, 2008, 5:17 pm

^^^ there was an entire segment Thursday morning on CNC3

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » August 18th, 2008, 7:55 am

Patch- if you can afford a evo or a scoobie you SHOULD be able to afford to maintain it- that includes GAS!

its just like the modern trend of boat owners- quick to buy- then cant afford the berthing fees, the maintenance fees or the fuel!
Then dont buy a facking boat!