Riots.....TNT due for one in 2 years

xtech

Riots.....TNT due for one in 2 years

Postby xtech » April 24th, 2008, 7:20 pm

I was hearing a guy on the radio today saying that Trinis does only take sheit from dey leaders for only on average 20 years. So we riot in the streets every so often

1880s
The Canboulay Riots were riots by the descendants of freed slaves in the cities of Trinidad and Tobago against attempts by the British police to crack down on aspects of the celebration of Carnival. The riots occurred in February 1881 in Port of Spain, the capital of Trinidad and in the southern cities of San Fernando and Princes Town in February 1884 causing the loss of life.The Hosay riots (also known as the Hosay massacre or the Jahaji massacre by pro-riot groups) took place on Thursday October 30, 1884 in San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago when the British colonial authorities fired on participants in the annual Hosay procession (the local name for the Shi'a Festival of Muharram) who had been banned from entering the town of San Fernando.

1900s
The direct ancestor of our present Red House was burnt to the ground on the 23rd March, 1903, during the Water Riots. On the day of the fire, while the new Ordinance regarding the distribution of and payment for water in the town was being debated in the Legislative Council, a protest meeting was held in Brunswick Square by the Ratepayer's Association, as there was much public dissatisfaction over certain clauses contained in the Ordinance which increased the water rates.

1930s
On June 19 1937, a strike in protest of working conditions, wages, racism and exploitation began in the oilfields in the southern Trinidad. Police attempted to arrest Butler as he addressed a meeting in Fyzabad. His supporters prevented the police from doing so and Charlie King, a police officer was killed. The Labour riots of 1937 resulted in turmoil throughout the oilfields.

1960s
Labour problems again resulted in unrest in 1965

1970s
The rise of the Black Power movement late in the 1960s culminated in the 1970 Black Power Revolution which threatened the government of Prime Minister Eric Williams. On April 6, 1970 a protester, Basil Davis, was killed by the police. This was followed on April 13 by the resignation of A.N.R. Robinson, Member of Parliament for Tobago East. On April 18 sugar workers went on strike, and there was talk of a general strike. In response to this, Williams proclaimed a State of Emergency on April 21 and arrested 15 Black Power leaders. Responding in turn, a portion of the Trinidad Defense Force, led by Raffique Shah and Rex Lassalle, mutinied and took hostages at the army barracks at Teteron. Through the action of the Coast Guard and negotiations between the Government and the rebels, the mutiny was contained and the mutineers surrendered on April 25.

Williams made efforts to identify himself with the aims of the Black Power movement. He then re-shuffled his Cabinet and removed three Ministers (including two white members) and three senators.

1990s
On Friday July 27, 1990, 114 members of the Jamaat al Muslimeen, led by Yasin Abu Bakr and Bilaal Abdullah attempted to stage a coup d'état against the government of Trinidad and Tobago. Forty-two insurgents stormed the Red House (the seat of Parliament) and took the Prime Minister, A.N.R. Robinson and most of his Cabinet hostage, including Horace James, while seventy-two of their compatriots attacked the offices of Trinidad and Tobago Television (TTT), then the only television station in the country and the Trinidad Broadcasting Company, then one of only two radio stations in the country. At 6.00 p.m. Yasin Abu Bakr appeared on television and announced that the government had been overthrown, and that he was negotiating with the Army. He called for calm, and said that there should be no looting.

The Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force and the Police responded by sealing off the area around the Red House. Widespread looting and arson took place in Port of Spain and other parts of the East-West Corridor

High food prices and cost of living coupled with the removal of gas subsidies caused many Trinidadians to take to the streets of
Port Of Spata!!!!!!

...................................................................................................
Last edited by xtech on September 7th, 2009, 7:45 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Sky » April 24th, 2008, 7:22 pm

So long we hadda wait?

Postby Cjruckus » April 24th, 2008, 7:26 pm

yeah That black power movement was fuggin heavy.

It hasn't happened since, because of KFC and the government subsidy on Watermellon.

Postby buzz » April 24th, 2008, 7:27 pm

i say kill manos now!!!

stretcherz

Postby stretcherz » April 24th, 2008, 7:28 pm

i planning my looting route from all now...

WHO'S WITH ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 24th, 2008, 7:36 pm

I for that, passing massy, taking a van, going in the gas station full up fuel, breaking in tripple r take everything up to the bill book..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2008, 8:07 pm

ah find Abu quiet these days

Postby Monk BANzai » April 24th, 2008, 8:07 pm

Cjruckus wrote:yeah That black power movement was fuggin heavy.

It hasn't happened since, because of KFC and the government subsidy on Watermellon.

boy becuz of that black power i moved from liquid form to solid we!!!....

larafan

Postby larafan » April 24th, 2008, 8:14 pm

*waits paitiently while planning looting route....kenny's sports...sportworld and sports and games*

mathura's :lol:

xtech

Postby xtech » April 25th, 2008, 6:59 am

wah! nobody looting d Bamboo.................it have parts in dey i had my eye on for a while now

larafan

Postby larafan » April 25th, 2008, 7:26 am

xtech,

dem engine too heavy to move with...

like u never loot before...yuh hadda mpove swiff swiff...cause if de police/army ketch yuh....is level cut rass.....

xtech

Postby xtech » April 25th, 2008, 7:31 am

^^^^ u is over 40 years old? How come u so versed in looting

larafan

Postby larafan » April 25th, 2008, 7:34 am

maybe :idea:

Postby ronsin1 » April 25th, 2008, 7:39 am

larafan wrote:xtech,

dem engine too heavy to move with...

like u never loot before...yuh hadda mpove swiff swiff...cause if de police/army ketch yuh....is level cut rass.....

Hello like yuh cah remember the the day of of the coup when men carried fridges on they back and microwaves in each hand

engine is nothin' form the to carry

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » April 25th, 2008, 7:46 am

ah sure when dis happen it go have ah chuna riot lime :|

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2008, 7:46 am

if is one thing for sure is pnm supported like to protest for little thing like bad road but they will never admit or take things all the way to make their govt look bad

Death_ride

Postby Death_ride » April 25th, 2008, 10:16 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ah find Abu quiet these days

x3

That real kinda friegthening to know....

As for the riot... i dont think it will be so long.

Shoot manning and panday X10!! wound COP as a warning!

If it have riot, like the man say take a van... but not in massey :roll:
MASKA HAVE FLECKIN DOGDGE RAM!! :twisted:

I going radio shack... take there best HTS in the store, some camera's, goin upstairs suck tripple R dry, go accross from there maff everycell phone from that cell place... instead... ill jus raid mostly the whole a Gulf City! there is allot of variety in one area :) ciah go wrong

varung

Postby varung » April 25th, 2008, 1:43 pm

i've been thinking bout that a long time. u hear the frustration in people voices, on the street, on tv and radio, in work and your family and friends.

we are due for rioting, some form of unrest to purge our political system of these infested politicians.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 25th, 2008, 9:08 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:boy becuz of that black power i moved from liquid form to solid we!!!....

ROFL :lol: :lol: :lol:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 25th, 2008, 9:21 pm

Riot wey ?? Steups..........

De people who complainin are the ones who have to sacrifice and work hard to earn an honest living and payin taxes. Who have to study hard to get qualifications to get a job.

De ones gettin all de freeness not complainin.

I not sorry for Rowley and Mr. Elias from NH construction. Is dey that have manning where he is so let them take it in dey Rookookutung.

Ah glad for dem.

All dem years ago, all dis time gone, so much money waste, agriculture non existent, we cyah feed we self. All dem years ago, dem didnt know dat ??
Nex time I hear a PNM stooge on TV complainin bout Manning I peltin away de TV.

Like I have been saying so long, Manning and Panday, same horse, different color.

Bun all ah dem yes.

Nyo1988

Postby Nyo1988 » April 25th, 2008, 11:17 pm

heard that gladiator an them want to have a 'big rally' it was on radio, and Inshan call in and say he supporting it but gladiator have to apologise to him and the country first then he go be with him. on the program, plenty people call in and was donating things like, refreshments, generators, music, mics, trucks, jerseys with a print on it, ect. and they was planning to march through sanfernando side, arima side and port of spain where they would be something like a vigil. have me wondering if it happens that is rell backanal.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 25th, 2008, 11:27 pm

riot 4 what !? - ent jes 6 mths ago "we" made a choice - therefore we like it so ..... :roll:

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » April 26th, 2008, 12:09 am

steups, dem jus goin an create ah whole setta traffic wit dey bachannal :evil:

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » April 26th, 2008, 12:11 am

i feel we shud riot if dey take away d damn gas subsidy das wat! let all taxis n maxis strike! doh go one damn place, bet yuh arse dey go bring back d subsidy d next day na

hondaman

Postby hondaman » April 27th, 2008, 8:36 pm

Pinkcorolla wrote:i feel we shud riot if dey take away d damn gas subsidy das wat! let all taxis n maxis strike! doh go one damn place, bet yuh arse dey go bring back d subsidy d next day na

Agreed.

But we'll say so now and when time to do it most of the complainers will back down.

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » April 27th, 2008, 9:08 pm

dat goin an b a mad scn jed.......fares wud go up to, NA NAAA das ting deserving of a Riot! wa yuh feel it is...unless they tripple everybody salaries i good :mrgreen:

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 27th, 2008, 9:12 pm

i going and start a plantation...so i go have them in my side...

also i going and get some pitts to guard my yard....

but the best thing i feel to do is

:?

Leave this country :) ...but take Trinituner with you offcourse :D

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » April 27th, 2008, 9:20 pm

lol i feel so yes crocsrule, dat soundin like ah flick, Duane leh we pack up an rolllllllllllllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :lol:

xtech

Postby xtech » April 27th, 2008, 9:33 pm

hmmm if u guys do that car price will drop
d influx of local used cars in d forsale ads treads

SRT-4

May I have your attention Please.

Postby SRT-4 » April 27th, 2008, 11:33 pm

My fellow Trinituners. it is to my dismay that i am seeing some of the comments on this thread taking a very disturbing direction.
It is to my understanding that a few bad eggs in our beautiful society is contemplating a future riot in Trinidad and Tobago.
THIS WILL NEVER BE THE CASE !!!! The glorious PNM has put emergency procedures into place with all essential services to prevent any negative aspirations towards your Ruling Government in the forms of Coups, Riots, or General acts of Terrorism. Rest assured Ladies and Gentleman the Gas subsidy will remain as well as emergency plans for efficient food distrubutions in case of rampant shortages of wheat, rice and cooking oil.
The PNM Government was chosen by YOU the people of Trinidad and Tobago to carry our twin Island republic into the 21st Century with a 20/20 plan to become a Developed nation. Rest assured Ladies and gentleman these goals that we hgave laid out in our Manifesto will be acheived in record time.

VOTE PNM !