Offshore survival training...

Jack the Ripper

Offshore survival training...

Postby Jack the Ripper » April 20th, 2008, 9:23 am

Oilfield men,does anybody have contact info/website for the ppl that do the offshore survival training/HUET/fire fighting course in Trinidad (not Hummingbird)

I'm trying to do it in Trinidad and get away from having to go to Scotland and do the RGIT there...(weather's crap these days)

Thanks,JTR.

Postby tr1ad » April 20th, 2008, 9:31 am

Faluk Nutek in Centre of Excellence

send me ur email jack, tomorrow ill get more info for u

hot blue

Postby hot blue » April 20th, 2008, 10:27 am

enjoy the pool lol

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » April 20th, 2008, 11:25 am

http://www.nutectrinidad.com/

did my BOSIET training there

Postby janfar » April 20th, 2008, 12:33 pm

In the back of the Advance (el socorro) building by the pampers factory. Hummingbird (HHSL) on the same compound. I did mines there.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 20th, 2008, 12:42 pm

we ALL did our BOSIET there.......good luck with the Chopter dunk......

Postby tr1ad » April 20th, 2008, 12:53 pm

ah try 3 times already....never complete d course

Postby Monk BANzai » April 20th, 2008, 12:59 pm

tr1ad wrote:ah try 3 times already....never complete d course

are yu serious?..wah part you cyar pass?...the fire part?

Postby tr1ad » April 20th, 2008, 1:03 pm

d dunk

man say so if u in d chopper an it goin an crash wha go happen

i say i go fackin ded......

i does swim like stone

hot blue

Postby hot blue » April 20th, 2008, 1:09 pm

wait how can u not pass the BOSiET course ?
where can u fail it
the dunker is the best part... i was asking to do it over and over again from the front and back
the ppl refuse to let me do it with the blindfold darkers on

are you planning to pay for it yourself... i believe its pretty expensive

Postby Monk BANzai » April 20th, 2008, 1:13 pm

hot blue wrote:wait how can u not pass the BOSiET course ?
where can u fail it
the dunker is the best part... i was asking to do it over and over again from the front and back

ther are issues..some ppl are naturllu boyant..so they flaoting up even before the dunker full up with water.....then there was me..who had to leanr to consiously breather thru meh nose.....

Postby tr1ad » April 20th, 2008, 1:13 pm

nah wg payin for it

buh i jess cyah sit down an let dem tun me upside down

rasta....d friggin 3C project

Postby Monk BANzai » April 20th, 2008, 1:21 pm

tr1ad wrote:nah wg payin for it

buh i jess cyah sit down an let dem tun me upside down

rasta....d friggin 3C project

hahhahaaa....good man....it have room for wuk????

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » April 20th, 2008, 1:44 pm

ey all yuh scareing me i going and do my bosiet tomorrow. wtf

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 20th, 2008, 2:23 pm

Allyuh do BOSIET or TBOSIET cuz is two different courses allyuh talking bout there?Think HHSL does both.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 20th, 2008, 2:29 pm

^^ Both are rofferd at Nutec.....but TBOSIET is if yuh only wukking in the caribbean area....the the BOSIET is for all climate...well except The arctic....

Postby joker » April 20th, 2008, 3:42 pm

i does swim like stoneS

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

livinloud12

Postby livinloud12 » April 20th, 2008, 3:57 pm

I did mines at HHSL in El socorro. There's another place in Atlantic Plaza in Point Lisas that does the same thing as well (RGIT) 0X

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 20th, 2008, 5:21 pm

course safe....doh study them old talkers..... :roll:

if yuh doh believe me ....ask yuh brother....ent he works offshore

honda4life

Postby honda4life » April 20th, 2008, 5:30 pm

Mudboy wrote:course safe....doh study them old talkers..... :roll:

if yuh doh believe me ....ask yuh brother....ent he works offshore

jason,
listen to ur elders........ah mean those taller than you :lol: :lol: :lol:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 20th, 2008, 6:39 pm

cheese pie wrote:

http://www.nutectrinidad.com/

did my BOSIET training there

Yup, you ask for Kenny Mohammed (7404286) if you want to do the HUET part without an audience. They're quite accommodating with 'special' requests.

BOSIET is best all round as said before. I believe only BPTT accepts T-BOSIET, BHP and BGTT only accept BOSIET.

Had a bad experience with HHSL or what??

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 20th, 2008, 6:49 pm

hot blue wrote:wait how can u not pass the BOSiET course ?
where can u fail it

In all fairness the dunker can be quite intimidating. Being inverted isn't natural to most so adding the submersion water component plus the confined space in 10+ feet of water................well I hope you get the picture. :)

Admittedly or not, hydrophobia is real, and for some claustrophobia. I haven't seen swimming as one of the minimum requirements for offshore employment so I can only try to imagine what a non-swimmer must have felt after this HUET thing was introduced as mandatory over 5 years ago.

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » April 20th, 2008, 8:02 pm

Thanks for all the info folks!

Rick,not really a "bad" experience with HHSL... it just that we have some issues to sort out with some $$$ owed to me by Hummingbird after I did my flight training.

Cheers,
Jason

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 20th, 2008, 8:27 pm

Jack the Ripper wrote:Thanks for all the info folks!

Rick,not really a "bad" experience with HHSL... it just that we have some issues to sort out with some $$$ owed to me by Hummingbird after I did my flight training.

Cheers,
Jason

I hope you got through, if not let me know, I'll rough up Capt. Viera for you. :D :lol:

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » April 20th, 2008, 9:51 pm

is that training, similiar or comparable to the training offered by Marine Safety (Training & Consultants) Limited? they do a marine safety course described as : 'Basic Safety Training in Personal Survival Techniques, Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting, First Aid, Personal Safety and Social Responsibilities' but its more commonly called 'pre-sea' ??? I did that course as it was mandatory for the crew members of a ship, so it goes along with my Launch-Engineer's License (basically a glorified mechanic). btw, if any of you guys know any shipping companies (especially those running tug-operations and supply vessels) that will hire, i'll greatly appreciate it if you guys let me know. thanks.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 20th, 2008, 10:14 pm

Not exactly, Basic Offshore Safety Induction and Emergency Training (BOSIET) is a UK OPITO course designed to provide delegates with a basic knowledge of safety and emergency response procedures for working on offshore platforms and rigs, not vessels as in your IMO STCW95.

Unlike your Marine Safety, there is an addtional component involving Helicopter Underwater Egress/Escape Training (HUET) - sea survival after ditching at sea.

The BOSIET course involves: Basic Safety Induction; Fire Fighting and Self Rescue; Helicopter Safety and Escape; Sea Survival; Survival First Aid.

The local training enitites are Falck Nutec and HHSL. There are some issues with RGIT at the moment.

See HUET video:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/nl3sHHX9Tr0&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed>

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » April 20th, 2008, 11:50 pm

triad dont use the bag thing to breath , just hold your breath

puta civic
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby puta civic » April 21st, 2008, 12:16 am

so do you all even need this kind of training?? :mrgreen:

Postby crazybalhead » April 21st, 2008, 7:42 am

HUET was a beyotch, I have to do it over in a couple months. :?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » April 21st, 2008, 7:56 am

cheese pie wrote:triad dont use the bag thing to breath , just hold your breath

Bag was mandatory for BOSIET, when I did mine a year ago. It's because the BOSIET is designed for international (cold) waters which will make catching your breath difficult. The bag isn't used in the Tropical/Warm water one. First time they flipped me over with the bag, the impact of the water knocked the apparatus out of my mouth, and i had already exhaled all my air into the bag...managed to hold my breath til the flip completely and get out.

Swimming isn't necessary for this course as you are advised to tread water and avoid kicking legs which can damage occupants behind you.