WTK: LCD TV - best showing for cable / direct TV

Daren 3NE 2NR

WTK: LCD TV - best showing for cable / direct TV

Postby Daren 3NE 2NR » March 23rd, 2008, 8:35 pm

I'm looking at getting an LCD TV and would like some advice on which model shows best with either cable TV or direct TV. I figure that most of them would show DVD's the way in which they should be viewed but since I'll mostly be looking at TV, i wanted to get first hand experience from LCD TV owners on which ones show best with the signal we get from our local cable providers.
Any reviews on the Sharp Aquos brand? Would it make a significant difference between 720p to Full HD 1080p for viewing TV? And well, how much better would a DVD show? Is it really noticable?

Daren 3NE 2NR

Postby Daren 3NE 2NR » March 23rd, 2008, 9:08 pm

thanks.. that seems to be the recommendation of most.

deens-von

Postby deens-von » March 23rd, 2008, 9:13 pm

i know they actually rated the sharp over the sony bravia.... i think it was like 8k for the 32" sharp that pioneer talking about

i guess what will make the difference will be the output of the receiver to ur tv..

Postby Cjruckus » March 23rd, 2008, 9:16 pm

Well flows picture will look like shiet on a larger screen. So if you plan to solely use it for Cable, its best you buy a smaller TV (not HD monitor btw) for your view pleasure. You really can't go wrong with a 30 incher. If you don't plan to use full 1080p hd you can get a tv that supports only 720p at a steal these days.

If you want a boss TV with lots of features and great picture (better than the sharp imho) check out the company Vizio.

The Pink TV place (elite i believe the name is) on Muccurapo Road is a dealer of theres. They have better selection and higher quality goods than pricesmart. Not to mention real HD equipment so you could really see the difference between 720p and 1080p.

The sharp aquos is a good unit, however for the same price you could get a Vizio thats 5 inches larger and better picture with a Sony styled color adjusting pallet. You know.. the ones where you can even adjust "the depth of black".

If you dont care about that stuff. Buy the Sharp.

Postby Cjruckus » March 23rd, 2008, 9:18 pm

yeah but do you really want to buy a TV from a place where you buy 10 lb bottles of mayonnaise?

Postby AllTrac » March 23rd, 2008, 9:29 pm

Cjruckus wrote:yeah but do you really want to buy a TV from a place where you buy 10 lb bottles of mayonnaise?

as long as the price is competitve and they honor their warranty i dont see why not. Its the same brand and model you going to get all over. As for which one you buy u have to do your homework and know what you are looking for, be it pricemart or any other store you go to.

Postby Cjruckus » March 23rd, 2008, 9:41 pm

Do they honor their warranty on Dog food also Trac?

Postby AllTrac » March 23rd, 2008, 9:46 pm

where did i say that i know what warranty they honor?
or what they warranty?
if you are just asking, then how in the hell would i know that? i dont buy dog food, I dont have dogs.

Postby Cjruckus » March 23rd, 2008, 9:57 pm

So then why are you suggesting he buys a TV from pricesmart? Specially if you dont know if they honor their warranty.

Im calling Shenanigans on Alltrac.

Postby AllTrac » March 23rd, 2008, 10:05 pm

Cjruckus wrote:So then why are you suggesting he buys a TV from pricesmart? Specially if you dont know if they honor their warranty.

Im calling Shenanigans on Alltrac.

AllTrac wrote:
as long as the price is competitve and they honor their warranty i dont see why not. Its the same brand and model you going to get all over. As for which one you buy u have to do your homework and know what you are looking for, be it pricemart or any other store you go to.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 23rd, 2008, 10:51 pm

first chack the distance from the tv to where you sitting... then you will know what size you what
next
http://www.cnet.com/4520-7874_1-5108580-1.html

that link helped me alot
if you find one you want local at a good price hook ur selfup

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » March 23rd, 2008, 11:10 pm

whats the local price on 32' and 42' just an average ? Aquos or Samsung price

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 24th, 2008, 12:10 am

kes_vtec wrote:first chack the distance from the tv to where you sitting... then you will know what size you what
next

that link helped me alot

hey thats a gr8 link - thanks ! ...... book marked for future use ...... 8-)

bds

Postby bds » March 24th, 2008, 12:40 am

the store elite has moved to shops of maraval... jus recently got a tv from them, they was kina stickin but eventually got what i wanted... in terms of lcd they mainly pushin the sharp aquos line... 720p and 1080p r avaialable it jus depends on how much u really willing to spend... there tv prices on the whole not bad but the other equipment like home theater or blu-ray players is overpriced IMHO

SRT-4

Super hi vision tv

Postby SRT-4 » March 24th, 2008, 1:49 am

Daren 3NE 2NR

Postby Daren 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2008, 10:09 am

kes_vtec wrote:first chack the distance from the tv to where you sitting... then you will know what size you what
next

that link helped me alot

Good Stuff man. found something similar but this link is more comprehensive.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 24th, 2008, 10:41 am

cool man, glad you like...
BTW you wah a iTV to go with that.. ): >

i was new to that HDTV thing, tried alot of links, but this helped the most, plus they explained alot...
after you pick the one you want, go to PM, Courts, RS and look at the TV to be 100% sure that your happy.

Postby noshownogo » March 24th, 2008, 1:49 pm

bookmarking, good stuff guys.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » March 24th, 2008, 2:15 pm

Daren send me a pm of what you interested in purchasing.

Major brands I have access to is LG, Samsung, Sharp, Sony, Toshiba, NEC and much more.

You get warranty, aftersales service, competative pricing and support.

Fens of Marabella.
658-3987/1979

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 24th, 2008, 8:18 pm

daren, it totally depends on a couple things

how far away are you sitting,
budget
inputs you require to plug into tv

i personally went with a 40" sony bravia
i do not regret it.
after reading and researching, best tvs over 36" HDTV LCDS are sony and samsung.
( i spent hours in sears, best buy and circuit city watching it at various angles and distances) i also spent hours on cnet.com

sony bravia sells in courts or 18k or so, but if u can ship it in it will come up to about 11-12k

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 24th, 2008, 9:08 pm

deens-von wrote:i know they actually rated the sharp over the sony bravia.... i think it was like 8k for the 32" sharp that pioneer talking about

i guess what will make the difference will be the output of the receiver to ur tv..

That's the Bravia W.. the Bravia X on the other hand is a whole different story. I compared the Aquos and a few others side-by-side and found that the Sony Bravia X beat them all out in contrast ratio, refresh rate (noticeable in fast-moving scenes) and in vivid colour. It's a bit more pricey, but worth it IMHO. I ended up with a 46" Bravia X - going to get the 60" next year :twisted:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 24th, 2008, 9:45 pm

yup i have the X as well

BulletProof

Re: Super hi vision tv

Postby BulletProof » March 24th, 2008, 9:58 pm

SRT-4 wrote:It's a shame to invest in an HDTV when its already obsolete.

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/inadequacy/super-hi+vision-makes-your-hdtv-obsolete-already-264077.php

What's the point of having a Super-Hi-Vision blah blah, when there's nothing to watch on it? Most programming/games, etc., have barely caught up with 1080, so getting the most out of a 4320 is wayyyy out into the future. Also, at introduction, their prices will be obscenely high, exponentially falling until such a time as it stabilises around the affordability watermark, as is the wont with electronics.

1080 has just begun to hit that mark.. and its owners are at such high numbers now, that their demand for entertainment that takes advantage of the technology they own has forced the producers of said entertainment to up the ante accordingly.

IMHO, now is the best time to invest in 1080. It's going to be the top benchmark for programming for the next 3-5 years minimum.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 25th, 2008, 1:38 am

Daren 3NE 2NR, make sure and get ah 2nr who working customs to bring down one for u...u wud get it REALLL CHEAP!!!! compared to the prices i normally see locally...

also u cud check this out...its a tiny read but, probably worth it a bit...

http://www.galttech.com/research/audio- ... t-hdtv.php

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » March 25th, 2008, 7:02 am

Any reviews on the Sharp Aquos brand?

bought a 42" for christmas , extremely lovely dvd quality!!! ....but the cable signal is crap so yuh gonna expect not to make full use of it when viewing cable

like oral said....the bravia was the better go than the sharp though....but couldnt find any in the size i needed at the time.

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 25th, 2008, 7:06 am

BlueIce wrote:bought a 42" for christmas , extremely lovely dvd quality!!! ....but the cable signal is crap so yuh gonna expect not to make full use of it when viewing cable

like oral said....the bravia was the better go than the sharp though....but couldnt find any in the size i needed at the time.

Boi when yuh big, yuh large yes... :lol:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » March 25th, 2008, 7:29 am

sigh ...ah wish ah cud ship meh evo to australia or summin too yes :lol:

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » March 25th, 2008, 8:03 am

:twisted: :twisted:

mattu

Postby mattu » March 27th, 2008, 7:20 pm