redmanjp wrote:SuperMan9999 wrote:I miss having the ability to keep my internet running via a UPS when power goes which is only possible with Digicel and Amplia since they use fiber, so with Flow I just have to hope power in the area doesn't cut when I am home so it's a little annoying but I rather stick with Flow where I am 100% certain that I will NEVER have a single packet loss or dropped speeds at any given time whatsoever.
That packet loss and dial up speeds during peak hours with Digicel and Amplia was flat out non negotiable because peak hours is when I am actually home to use my net that is (7PM to 11PM) I gave them MONTHS to fix their issue and they did NOTHING about it.
Glad I went back to Flow yes, amazing how Flow never has this issue. Might get the dial up speed issue with flow once every 6 months when something catastrophic happens sure, maybe even once a year but with Digicel and Amplia that packet loss and dial up speed was a daily issue like a permanent issue, no thanks.
this use to be possible with flow but i guess they stop maintaining their backup battery power in their cabinets?
redmanjp wrote:^ just wait till a storm past through and current gone for hours, or days
Yup, a major part is due to how they are throttling streaming apps intentionally, a crappy tactic to get ppl to take a TV package from them. Seems like we're going backwardsSuperMan9999 wrote:If you all see how much people on Facebook complaining about this dog sheit packet loss issue during peak hours with Digicel eh, everytime I wonder what if I remained with Digicel maybe by now they would have fixed the issue surely? then I look at posts on the FB Groups with people crying how they can't play online games etc every night or use youtube or anything with Digicel and Amplia after 7PM is then I realize yeah boy I got out of their shitty contract and dodged a bullet even The guy from TATT told me they get endless complaints about this packet loss issue from Digicel and Amplia.
SuperMan9999 wrote:redmanjp wrote:SuperMan9999 wrote:I miss having the ability to keep my internet running via a UPS when power goes which is only possible with Digicel and Amplia since they use fiber, so with Flow I just have to hope power in the area doesn't cut when I am home so it's a little annoying but I rather stick with Flow where I am 100% certain that I will NEVER have a single packet loss or dropped speeds at any given time whatsoever.
That packet loss and dial up speeds during peak hours with Digicel and Amplia was flat out non negotiable because peak hours is when I am actually home to use my net that is (7PM to 11PM) I gave them MONTHS to fix their issue and they did NOTHING about it.
Glad I went back to Flow yes, amazing how Flow never has this issue. Might get the dial up speed issue with flow once every 6 months when something catastrophic happens sure, maybe even once a year but with Digicel and Amplia that packet loss and dial up speed was a daily issue like a permanent issue, no thanks.
this use to be possible with flow but i guess they stop maintaining their backup battery power in their cabinets?
Yeah it look like FLOW has given up on maintaining their backup battery power on their cabinets, they don't see it as something they need to spend money on like all things in Trinidad there is 0 maintenance.
However it still doesn't matter because current goes go once every 2 months I think and usually when I not home so thank god. Still sucks not being able to use internet when that happens but its better than Digicel and Amplia where I am NEVER able to use the internet at all where 7PM to 12 Midnight and Saturday and Sundays all day it works like dogshit.
I mean I bought a UPS that uses EV Lithium Phosphate battery cost me like $3K for it just so I can power my PC and Modem and Fan for 3 hours after current goes, this worked really nice until Digicel decided to turn their service into total dogshit by oversubscribing their shitty Chinese network equipment. So switched back flow and now have 99.9% uptime anytime anyday which is fantastic the quality of service Flow proving out here is phenomenal.
Unfortunately for flow whenever your area has a T&TEC voltage dip the lights in your house dim etc it can lead to their cabinets and network equipment inside it having to reboot, which means everytime T&TEC f#cks up in your area your flow will die for a few minutes because they refuse to replace the batteries in their cabinets.
Also some of those Taps that flow using is corroded and so needs to be replaced and can be affected when rain falls.
^ If you getting issues when rain fall you can ask Flow to have a look at the tap
These are some minor issues with Flow along with copper thieves that can affect the average person something that Fiber is largely immune to
All in all I could never go back to dogshit provided by Digicel and Amplia, my area has no voltage dips it has 99.9% T&TEC power reliability and so coincidentally Flow also has 99.9% reliability, coincidence? I think NOT, without battery backup on their cabinets, FLOW is operating based on T&TEC service and hence their customers are at the mercy of T&TEC
joshuarshah wrote:Isn't that Tap supposed to be in a black box or something?
SuperMan9999 wrote:If you all see how much people on Facebook complaining about this dog sheit packet loss issue during peak hours with Digicel eh, everytime I wonder what if I remained with Digicel maybe by now they would have fixed the issue surely? then I look at posts on the FB Groups with people crying how they can't play online games etc every night or use youtube or anything with Digicel and Amplia after 7PM is then I realize yeah boy I got out of their shitty contract and dodged a bullet even The guy from TATT told me they get endless complaints about this packet loss issue from Digicel and Amplia.
juswil868 wrote:SuperMan9999 wrote:If you all see how much people on Facebook complaining about this dog sheit packet loss issue during peak hours with Digicel eh, everytime I wonder what if I remained with Digicel maybe by now they would have fixed the issue surely? then I look at posts on the FB Groups with people crying how they can't play online games etc every night or use youtube or anything with Digicel and Amplia after 7PM is then I realize yeah boy I got out of their shitty contract and dodged a bullet even The guy from TATT told me they get endless complaints about this packet loss issue from Digicel and Amplia.
I know for sure with Digicel. And with Amplia most issues seems to be now the old Calix and Huawei ONTs.
Because my Amplia connection has been rock solid. 48ms to Miami and 42 steady to google servers no packet loss during peak. This is how I remembered it when I first tried them out. Digicel clearly have some serious infrastructure issues which they need to address.
You are just lucky with flow for now bredrin. As soon as rain and current issues start to happen, that's the headache. I rather some access, than none.
And let's be real, Fibre advantages are clear over copper. Flow is actively switching their backbone to Fibre but you will still get copper last mile to your house. Flow in Tobago is full fiber and the only reason I think they wouldn't change this out in Trinidad is because of cost. Imagine green dot is now rolling out fiber in certain areas.
SuperMan9999 wrote:^ Yeah I really wish FLOW would roll out Fiber to the Home just to be able to use their modem when power goes but part of me kinda wishes they don't because we know they going and use the same shitty cheap Chinese equipment that Digicel and Amplia using, we just lucky that Flow happens to be using first world equipment because it's basically what Comcast runs on and the chinese at the time were not mass producing their own version of it, this all started when Fiber to the home became a thing and the Chinese jumped on board offering ISP dog cheap prices for cheap internet equipment I heard the costs are less than half of what CISCO charges.
joshuarshah wrote:Give FLOW a couple of years and they'll switch to FTTH in Trinidad. In Jamaica they're almost complete with the transition from DOCSIS to FTTH and that's a large market.
trintee wrote:anybody else getting issues with loading pages rn?
Who wrote:Currently getting 50% packet loss to the the US server on packetlosstest.com but zero on all other servers. This has been a problem during peak hours for a couple month now. I'm in south, my friend on flow has zero and my Digicel friend in Arima has the same 50% packet loss so this is definitely an issue with a US router that Digicel is connecting to.
juswil868 wrote:Who wrote:Currently getting 50% packet loss to the the US server on packetlosstest.com but zero on all other servers. This has been a problem during peak hours for a couple month now. I'm in south, my friend on flow has zero and my Digicel friend in Arima has the same 50% packet loss so this is definitely an issue with a US router that Digicel is connecting to.
So I did something crazy today. LOL. I spoke to support of the upstream provider ZAYO and pointed them to the 2 hops that were having 50% packet loss and explained that Digicel techs not doing their jobs and he took the info. Did a couple tests and it seem to resolved now.
He didn't want to help as I am not their customer but I pleaded with him to look into it and he said he will.
Someone else can do some tests and let me know. Although I did send an email to Digicel with the 2 hops that were having the issue. Let's hope for the best.
But so far everything works great.
Who wrote:I still had my flow phone so I got back Flow internet easily yesterday. Zero packet loss whole night and switching to the Digicel connection gave 2-3% loss around 8pm but surprisingly 0% at 11pm. I will continue to test in the next few days.
mamoo_pagal wrote:Could be, but they also have intentional throttling in peak hours esp for streaming services and streaming devices. They are targeting those areas possibly hoping ppl will switch to their tv services instead. Instead of expanding to new areas they're limiting existing customers which is bad both ways. Just crappy overall, also Digicel in some serious debt issues so it's a big mess. Unlikely to change soon......