Air India Boeing 787 Crash

Re: Air India Boeing 787 Crash

Postby pugboy » June 16th, 2025, 10:39 am

all modern planes can fly with one engine
that along with the emergency route planning is what allow them to fly long over ocean

Postby MaxPower » June 16th, 2025, 11:36 am

pugboy wrote:all modern planes can fly with one engine
that along with the emergency route planning is what allow them to fly long over ocean

And perfectly so too.

Postby sMASH » June 16th, 2025, 12:06 pm

He was already in the airport. He carrying to plane bamboo to see if the bolt holes could line up for what ever parts he need?

Postby sMASH » June 17th, 2025, 6:16 pm

Another incident , AI 315 .
Returned to air port soon after tske off. Said they had fuel filter problems.

Only alarms with fuel filter is high dp(differential pressure) thst mean it clog up.
So Dat mean is bad gas or maintenence not changing filters on time or not cleaning the fuel tanks.

Since is two plane back to back wirh related issues , I want to say is the get a batch ah bad gas.

Clogged fuel filters would cut the engines and thus any dependent motive force.

Personally , I would have installed batter packs to an aux hydraulic pump to keep power to the controls. To give some time to attempt landings.

Postby MG Man » June 18th, 2025, 1:24 pm

looks to me like a slipping clutch....power from the engine not being laid down...you can hear the revs increasing but no corresponding increase in speed...def signs of clutch slipping

Postby sMASH » June 18th, 2025, 2:08 pm

Jess sell dat car nah, all that long tslk...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 18th, 2025, 3:05 pm

Youtube saying vapour lock as the number one likely culprit.
Last edited by PariaMan on June 18th, 2025, 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » June 18th, 2025, 5:07 pm

Now we wait for the creole box

one eye

Postby one eye » June 19th, 2025, 7:13 pm

Vapor lock cannot happen on a GEnx-1b, there is too much psi through the fuel manifolds and nozzles, it usually happens on general aviation piston planes using AVgas.

Vapor lock theory is out.

xtech

Postby xtech » June 20th, 2025, 7:39 am

MaxPower wrote:Now we wait for the creole box

I heard Trump might issue an executive order to change the name of the black box to The trump box Since so many planes crashed since he came in office and he noticed the box always survives

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 20th, 2025, 11:26 am

xtech wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Now we wait for the creole box

I heard Trump might issue an executive order to change the name of the black box to The trump box Since so many planes crashed since he came in office and he noticed the box always survives

What nonsence I just read ?

Postby MaxPower » June 20th, 2025, 3:34 pm

Aye welcome back Rando

Postby sMASH » July 1st, 2025, 10:44 am

They sticking with this flight data

Postby MaxPower » July 1st, 2025, 12:44 pm

sMASH wrote:They sticking with this flight data

Takes a while to tell the world what they want to hear and who/what to be held accountable.

xtech

Postby xtech » July 11th, 2025, 7:58 pm

Report is in
someone turn off the fuel pumps.

Pilots heard arguing about who flipped the switch as they flipped it back on and attempted a engine restart which obviously failed

Postby MaxPower » July 11th, 2025, 9:05 pm

xtech wrote:Report is in

Pilots heard arguing about who flipped the switch as they flipped it back on and attempted a engine restart which obviously failed

Ok,

But why did the RAT deploy?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 11th, 2025, 9:19 pm

Once engines turn off RAT is deployed automatically

Postby MaxPower » July 11th, 2025, 9:50 pm

PariaMan wrote:Once engines turn off RAT is deployed automatically

Hmmm i was doing some research….so engines turned off and a dual engine failure can be considered the same?

I was also reading the RAT deploys with no crew action.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » July 11th, 2025, 9:58 pm

PariaMan wrote:Once engines turn off RAT is deployed automatically

Hmmm i was doing some research….so engines turned off and a dual engine failure can be considered the same?

I was also reading the RAT deploys with no crew action.

lol I work on planes for a living and the RAT so sensitive it would sometimes deploy after the pilot parks and hits shutdown. It almost hit me one time I learned my lesson.

Postby MaxPower » July 12th, 2025, 6:09 am

^ thanks man.

Postby sMASH » July 12th, 2025, 10:01 am

xtech wrote:Report is in

matix wrote:
sMASH wrote:
PariaMan wrote:The fact that the plane took off and did not crash immediately means it was initially configured correctly.

Pilot error after take off is the cause will be revealed by next week when the back box dara is reviewed
Hopefully they could release the black box data in a week.

Every thing looked nominal until it started to stop climbing.

Allyuh ever experienced a fuel pump failure while driving ? Engine cut out, no power steering , no break booster...
It look like that to me, but in the air.

That happened on Wednesday evening with me
sMASH wrote:
He had a good climb angle and was climbing . It started to go down with no change in angle.
That means it lost speed to cause it to lose lift.

We see no problems like smoke or fire , so it seems like something shut off , or like fuel got cut, just causing the power to drop, and lose speed.

Pilot should have tried to level out the plane to get back some speed, but that plane stayed like it was frozen.

Either the pilots panicked and did nothing or they tried to do sumting but they didn't have controls.

So prolly electrical or hydraulic failure to lose control of the elevator etc and prolly the fuel solenoid valves too.

Coat this for when the black box data gets released .
Whey meh money ....

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » July 13th, 2025, 8:58 am

So I was right about the 'how' (loss of thrust on both engines) .....now we apparently have the 'why'.

Right now Boeing very glad it turning out to be pilot 'error'.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » July 13th, 2025, 9:46 am

Arcmanov wrote:So I was right about the 'how' (loss of thrust on both engines) .....now we apparently have the 'why'.

Boeing need to add audible alarm while switching position to off so one pilot can’t silently turn off fuel and then blame the other to confuse the listening investigators.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 13th, 2025, 7:15 pm

The Bamboo Online wrote:
Arcmanov wrote:So I was right about the 'how' (loss of thrust on both engines) .....now we apparently have the 'why'.

Boeing need to add audible alarm while switching position to off so one pilot can’t silently turn off fuel and then blame the other to confuse the listening investigators.

Believe me that those switches have a distinct sound. Every pilot would know from the time they hear it.

It is now to see if the CVR correlates to the FDR date where investigators will listen for that sound of the 2 switches and see.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » July 14th, 2025, 9:23 am

I know it makes a sound but after it’s to late. They Should make a sound the second a pilot lays his finger on it. A Touch activated alarm will be heard long before selecting off

Postby sMASH » July 14th, 2025, 11:16 am

Those things would not make sense cause 2 general philosophies.
If u need to stop fuel for an emergency, it need to stop immediately . What they can immpelent and additional specific 'emergency stop' for the fuel system that will stop it just like it did there. And to stop the fuel in normal operation could have a 'confirmation' sequence , to ensure the adjustment does not occur at the flip of the switch but u need more buttons to confirm u need to do that. So it's not done accidentally

The second problem is that a jet engine is more or less a gas turbine, and before u light off, it needs to go through a mandatory purging and proving sequence to ensure there isn't an explosive mixture in the system before u initiate the light off.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 14th, 2025, 7:06 pm

The Indian version of Civil Aviation and Boeing could save some serious coin and just consult this thread because Tuner has the foremost aviation experts.

Postby sMASH » July 14th, 2025, 8:44 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The Indian version of Civil Aviation and Boeing could save some serious coin and just consult this thread because Tuner has the foremost aviation experts.
I bet u think that's a burn...