that’s too much bait
most farmers say a light sprinkle
like 1/3 of that

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby mero » May 27th, 2025, 11:39 am

Boy, snail hunting start.

Gonna pick up the medium to large ones and drop them in some bleach then use bait for the one hiding and smaller ones.

Have some old oil there to line the perimeter with cuz my neighbour yard stink of them.

Government still giving reward for snail?

Postby *KRONIK* » May 27th, 2025, 11:52 am

pugboy wrote:that’s too much bait
like 1/3 of that
Lol

I just start to sprinkle....no mercy

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2025, 11:54 am

i looking to make a sweeper device
using infra red beam to detect when they enter and then a sweeper like windshield wiper to shove them to the side into a bucket in the ground or something

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2025, 12:57 pm

you throwing bait with a vengeance lol
more bait don’t mean more dead eh

*KRONIK* wrote:
like 1/3 of that
Lol

Postby MaxPower » May 27th, 2025, 1:21 pm

alfa wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Where we getting this?

Foreign ting.

Seems to be very effective…..but you know Trinis..they would ban it because it slowing down the sales for the less effective products.

Harmful to pets?

This product has a non-toxic mode of action and can be used in areas where pet and wildlife protection is a concern. When slugs and snails ingest the bait, they stop feeding and crawl back to their shelter where they eventually die. It remains effective under varying weather and environmental conditions.

Postby alfa » May 27th, 2025, 1:23 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
like 1/3 of that
Lol

Deal with they lil MC, pax pax

Giant African Snail?

Postby MaxPower » May 27th, 2025, 1:40 pm

Allyuh ever play “sky” with windball?

Thas how my neighbor stink snail infested empty lot collect it with the Deadline bait.

He collect some in he house too, all he roof and ting get i eh bizz

Postby *KRONIK* » May 27th, 2025, 3:09 pm

pugboy wrote:you throwing bait with a vengeance lol
more bait don’t mean more dead eh

*KRONIK* wrote:
like 1/3 of that
Lol

True
But i want them congregate to an accessible spot

They hiding in all the thick bush and fallen palm leaves
I not gonna dig up to find them
So bait will have to draw them out

Postby *KRONIK* » May 30th, 2025, 2:02 pm

Same sprinkle
Different victims

20250530_135111.jpg
20250530_135120.jpg

Postby alfa » July 11th, 2025, 9:14 pm

Was the latest on the snail scenes?
What successes yall having with spray on chemicals? The bait too risky around dogs so I wanna try the spray chemicals if any working

Postby Chimera » July 11th, 2025, 9:16 pm

none of those sprays work except thiovin which is banned

Postby MaxPower » July 11th, 2025, 9:56 pm

alfa wrote:Was the latest on the snail scenes?
What successes yall having with spray on chemicals? The bait too risky around dogs so I wanna try the spray chemicals if any working

Alf,

As Chimera said, Thiovin was most effective.

Right now all dem agri shop pushing Nimbecidine….but that is just a lil ease up and not the all time solution.

Snails coming out in full force with the rain, and the rain washing out all the chemicals.

Boi i thinking electric fence floor level in dey MC

Postby Chimera » July 11th, 2025, 10:00 pm

that Nimbecidine fully useless

u cud spray that direct on snails in a bucket and they still alive the next day

i trying to bring in some Thiodicarb powder, the active ingredient in Thiovin

Postby Chimera » July 11th, 2025, 10:00 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Same sprinkle
Different victims

20250530_135120.jpg20250530_135111.jpg

hoss look how much bait u wasting u is a mad man

Postby gastly369 » July 11th, 2025, 11:47 pm

Well ah seeing these pest on the boarder of home first time ever....

Postby MaxPower » July 12th, 2025, 6:03 am

Trying the Corry’s on Amazon.

Got a boxes, “supposed” to still be effective even with rain.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 12th, 2025, 6:49 am

Neighbour released 2 ducks in his yard... No more GAS!!!

Postby Chimera » July 12th, 2025, 7:19 am

yeah i hear them ducks and guinea birds licking them up
but the duck sheit...and the smell...and the noise

and my dogs will eat them

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 12th, 2025, 7:41 am

That's the problem with the ducks... It's a give and take situation.. Lol... But when I went by the man, not a snail in sight

Postby *KRONIK* » July 12th, 2025, 9:28 am

Despite the rains
The bait + picking up the ½dead and drowning them in chlorine solution seems to be have a positive effect
I barely seeing any in my immediate area

Although i bought the spray for the eggs (dont recall the name atm)
I didnt bother to spray due to the constant rains and the fact that i actually removing them from the grass.

I still feel pick up and drown is what working best yes
Of course, if is a big infestation, that may not be practical

Postby *KRONIK* » July 12th, 2025, 9:29 am

Chimera wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Same sprinkle
Different victims

20250530_135120.jpg20250530_135111.jpg

hoss look how much bait u wasting u is a mad man
Lol

I does sprinkle with no mercy

Postby sMASH » July 12th, 2025, 9:54 am

Have a few common fowl and only saw a few Snail in the near vicinity . Right around, the places are over run years now so it seems the yard fowl doing the work. I dont feed them, so they HAVE to find their food. Every so often we see the damaged snail shell.
Is a big region they have to roam freely though. No fencing... Hardly ever see them day time

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 12th, 2025, 10:33 am

Will the bait attract cats also? 2 kills with one poison, snail and them dam stray cats.

Postby bluefete » July 12th, 2025, 11:16 am

Do red worms and GAS go together?

I used to see congorees and black worms now I am only seeing red worms.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 12th, 2025, 12:33 pm

Sprinkle some dry soap powder (Breeze) on them. Dead within a minute.

eitech

Giant African Snail?

Postby eitech » July 12th, 2025, 1:56 pm

Collected and submerged in some bleach for a couple days

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » July 12th, 2025, 3:12 pm

gastly369 wrote:Well ah seeing these pest on the boarder of home first time ever....

These things are a MAJOR problem get the blue poison for snail ASAP, flame thrower anything you can get your hands on to kill them permanently, don't crush them because the eggs and little ones will spread.

They spread and multiply incredibly fast and once it happens there is noway to get rid of them from your area.

I adopted a small to medium size Caiman I found in my yard during the flood, I say well he will deal with these snails but he was useless he didn't eat any of the snails, he just loafed around sleeping all day and terrorized my mother instead, ended up dumping him in a nearby abandoned pond that has some fishes.

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2025, 3:21 pm

only real option is natural predation
fowl and manicou

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » July 12th, 2025, 3:23 pm

pugboy wrote:only real option is natural predation
fowl and manicou

I thought they said a Fox is a good predator? you saying Fowl will kill out all?