hover11 wrote:DEMERIT POINT SYSTEM SCRAPPED SAYS PRIME MINISTER KAMLA PERSAD-BISSESSAR:
IT WAS A CAMPAIGN PROMISE AND THE GOVERNMENT WOULD PROCEED.
https://www.facebook.com/share/r/16PRvB8VH1/
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The demerit point system worked because it prevented a lot of people from driving recklessly and accumulating points to lose their license. However, the system needs reform and tweaking. Fines alone will not encourage as much people to drive safer and abide by the law.
The fact that there was only one private organization that did rehabilitation is crazy though.
pugboy wrote:so what’s the solution ?
i agree it have plenty bandit miscreants driving with suspended license or no license
as well as folks who just don’t care
are massive road blocks the only solution?
jail time after a certain number of points maybe only choice as an extreme penalty
MISHI wrote:pugboy wrote:so what’s the solution ?
i agree it have plenty bandit miscreants driving with suspended license or no license
jail time after a certain number of points maybe only choice as an extreme penalty
Well like I said, my methods would be extreme.
If a kid was misbehaving, you take away their toys. If they still misbehave, you destroy or give away those toys and not give them anything until you feel they deserve it. Still misbehave? Licks and send them to boarding school. lol.
Personally the driver database system should have a few things:
-Every licensed driver's image should be databased (as I think it already is.)
-EVERY stop, all drivers get photographed along with any vehicle they drive. More cars you drive, more that database shows that history and offences.
-Mandate every single one to have dashcams. ALL. No dashcam? Car impounded. Cam not working? Fines.
-1st offence (minor) warning and fines. (Major except killing someome due to DUI or recklessness) See below.
-2nd offence (minor) car gets impounded at licensing. 3rd offence regardless, crush the car or scrap it and make a national used parts database where they might be able to export stuff and make some Foreign exchange.
-You cause an accident that ppl died cause u were DUI or reckless? Death penalty immediately upon finding out.
-Any multiple offence should be met with repercussions outside of just cars: Bank loans disapprovals, increased taxes, whatever takes their "toys" from them and makes it harder to get back one, etc. Almost like a Car version of Sex offenders...make it that they suffer for it.
-Cause a crash from dumb drives? chop ur hand or foot or lolo off (like some countries) especially if the victims bodily maimed.
If we got extreme with things, fear would bring compliance. Hate to say it like that, but too much free will is why we have the level of ignorance and defiance.
Make the place a North Korea or something and ppl get executed like doubles selling on any given day and it would change quickly.
(Allyuh, don't take my thoughts as final please. We all know they'd never do what I posted here.)
If a kid was misbehaving, you take away their toys. If they still misbehave, you destroy or give away those toys and not give them anything until you feel they deserve it. Still misbehave? Licks and send them to boarding school. lol.
-EVERY stop, all drivers get photographed along with any vehicle they drive. More cars you drive, more that database shows that history and offences.
-Mandate every single one to have dashcams. ALL. No dashcam? Car impounded. Cam not working? Fines.
-1st offence (minor) warning and fines. (Major except killing someome due to DUI or recklessness) See below.
-2nd offence (minor) car gets impounded at licensing. 3rd offence regardless, crush the car or scrap it and make a national used parts database where they might be able to export stuff and make some Foreign exchange.
-You cause an accident that ppl died cause u were DUI or reckless? Death penalty immediately upon finding out.
-Any multiple offence should be met with repercussions outside of just cars: Bank loans disapprovals, increased taxes, whatever takes their "toys" from them and makes it harder to get back one, etc. Almost like a Car version of Sex offenders...make it that they suffer for it.
-Cause a crash from dumb drives? chop ur hand or foot or lolo off (like some countries) especially if the victims bodily maimed.
If we got extreme with things, fear would bring compliance. Hate to say it like that, but too much free will is why we have the level of ignorance and defiance.
Make the place a North Korea or something and ppl get executed like doubles selling on any given day and it would change quickly.
(Allyuh, don't take my thoughts as final please. We all know they'd never do what I posted here.)
Alpha_2nr wrote:But the main problem with this, to me, is enforcement.
The trouble with Trinidad has always been enforcement of the law. You can put all kinda laws in place, from death penalty/hanging, cars being crushed, RFID number plates etc etc etc......it won't do a damned thing if the authorities can't catch offenders to begin with.
And as history has shown, even with various laws being enacted, little has changed.
Can't hang a murder if you can't apprehend them.
Can't punish someone who caused an accident, if authorities can't even do basic investigations to find them.
And of course, that doesn't even include our institutionalized corruption.
mero wrote:So, are demerit points officially done way with? Anyone recently ticketed with demerit points offenses and didn't get any?
Can't be done away like that did you read what the minister of Transport said? In order to repeal a law it has to be done in parliament. Only then it can be done away with. They already have the majority needed to easily do suchmero wrote:So, are demerit points officially done way with? Anyone recently ticketed with demerit points offenses and didn't get any?
hover[emoji637][emoji637] wrote:Allya we can breathe again
Blah blah Say what you want about UNC but acknowledge that they performing alot better than the sorry excuse for leadership we experienced over the last 10 years.... they actually doing what they promised in only two monthsj.o.e wrote:hover11 wrote:Allya we can breathe again
As a law abiding citizen I was always breathing easy. I hope police use that
‘careless driving’ loophole to wet up you miscreants
THE government has scrapped most of the demerit point system, except for six criminal offences. The number of demerit points needed for a license to be suspended will remain the same.
Speaking at the post-Cabinet media briefing at the Red House, Port of Spain, on July 10, Transport and Civil Aviation Minister Eli Zakour said under the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act 48:50, there are currently 99 traffic offences and violations, of which 69 carry demerit points. Of these, 63 are violations and six are criminal offences.
He said Cabinet had approved the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Amendment to the 9th Schedule Order 2025. He said once he signed this order, which would happen soon, the 9th Schedule would be amended by deleting the demerit points for all violations except items six and 23-27, ie, the six criminal offences.
“Those six criminal offences are: driving while disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving permit; driving when under the influence of drug; driving or being in charge of a vehicle while blood alcohol levels exceed prescribed limit; failure to provide a specimen of breath or blood; failure to submit breath analysis or wilful alternation of concentration of alcohol in his breath or blood; and careless driving.”
He said Cabinet was discussing what would happen to people who had previously been charged under the system
Zakour also said Cabinet had approved amendments to Regulation 27 of the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Regulations Chapter 48:50 to expand the vehicle inspection framework to increase the number of vehicle testing stations.
He said currently private vehicles with a manufacture date, not date of registration, of five years or older, are required to have their vehicles inspected at a required testing station. After the first inspection, vehicles are required to be tested every two years thereafter.
He said vehicles with a weight of three tonnes and over are required to be brought into a licensing compound to be inspected only at Caroni. Commercial vehicles, registered T, H, R and others, are required to be brought into licensing office for inspection.
He said with these amendments, vehicle testing stations will include public hire vehicles under Section 2 of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act, with a tare weight not exceeding 2,270 kilogrammes, including taxis, hired cars and other vehicles licensed to carry people for hire.
The second amendment will authorise the examiners of the Vehicle Maintenance Corporation of TT (VMCOTT) to inspect all taxis, regardless of tare weight and all goods vehicles, exceeding 3,200 kilogrammes.
“This would immediately relieve Licensing Division of close to 50,000 inspections a year. It means that people can go to any one of the 79 inspection stations throughout the country. Commercial vehicles are inspected every year.”
Zakour said Cabinet was also discussing possible regulation of private cars being used for hire, including illegal taxis and Rideshare vehicles.
Speeding and failure to observer traffic lights seems like a big miss.hover11 wrote:Allya we can breathe again
Speeding and running red lights probably kills the most ppl on the roadsredmanjp wrote:they deleted points for all violations, but kept it for the 6 criminal offences. speeding and running red lights are violations.
Dizzy28 wrote:Speeding and running red lights probably kills the most ppl on the roadsredmanjp wrote:they deleted points for all violations, but kept it for the 6 criminal offences. speeding and running red lights are violations.
You will still be charged just no demerit points.Dizzy28 wrote:Speeding and failure to observer traffic lights seems like a big miss.hover11 wrote:Allya we can breathe again
Also surprised they PBR also omitted
fokhan_96 wrote:You will still be charged just no demerit points.Dizzy28 wrote:Speeding and failure to observer traffic lights seems like a big miss.hover11 wrote:Allya we can breathe again IMG-20250710-WA0351.jpgIMG-20250710-WA0352.jpg
Speeding is a problem but the manner in which they set up these speed traps didn't make sense. The majority of accidents due to speeding occurs at nights and early morning yet they never have speed traps then. Them setting up speed traps in the middle of the day causing traffic, on roads where the speed limit is 50 kph and in awkward places like under grand bazaar overpass where you go from 100 to 60kph.
You?j.o.e wrote:hover11 wrote:Allya we can breathe again
Dizz,Dizzy28 wrote:Speeding and failure to observer traffic lights seems like a big miss.hover11 wrote:Allya we can breathe again
zoom rader wrote:You?j.o.e wrote:hover11 wrote:Allya we can breathe again
Trinidadians are animals on the roads.hover11 wrote:Dizz,Dizzy28 wrote:Speeding and failure to observer traffic lights seems like a big miss.hover11 wrote:Allya we can breathe again
Six points just for using the PBR on top of 2000 seems a bit draconian.