terrazzo vs polished concrete vs epoxy flooring

nightcrawler

terrazzo vs polished concrete vs epoxy flooring

Postby nightcrawler » June 1st, 2025, 3:28 pm

of the three listed above which is more economical, long lasting and looks better
the area is 2500 sq ft
any reasonable installers

Re: terrazzo vs polished concrete vs epoxy flooring

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2025, 3:34 pm

every epoxy coated floor i have seen ends up flaking

Postby gastly369 » June 1st, 2025, 7:55 pm

nightcrawler wrote:of the three listed above which is more economical, long lasting and looks better
the area is 2500 sq ft
Have terrazo inside and outside yard partial polished and semi rough yard(yard is about 18 years) ...inside is about 35 years... Looks same as it was done since

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2025, 8:41 pm

nightcrawler wrote:of the three listed above which is more economical, long lasting and looks better
the area is 2500 sq ft

Depends on where and what’s the application.
It’s indoor or outdoor, high traffic, etc.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 1st, 2025, 8:43 pm

Polished concrete like the brutalist aesthetic?

I dig it but it’s not everyone’s taste. People will ask if the house not finish

Terrazzo is durable af but many think it’s too old school. I think with the right chips and color it can get a modern reboot but I’ve not seen any locally done.

The epoxy flake has a bunch of “don’ts”, I considered this last year but realized it’s too flaky (pardon the pun). Application hadda be on point and it can’t take as much jam as the other two. Looks decent tho.

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2025, 8:48 pm

there a lot of stuff they doing with concrete now, colourizing, textures, stamping

VexXx Dogg wrote:Polished concrete like the brutalist aesthetic?

I dig it but it’s not everyone’s taste. People will ask if the house not finish

Terrazzo is durable af but many think it’s too old school. I think with the right chips and color it can get a modern reboot but I’ve not seen any locally done.

The epoxy flake has a bunch of “don’ts”, I considered this last year but realized it’s too flaky (pardon the pun). Application hadda be on point and it can’t take as much jam as the other two. Looks decent tho.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2025, 8:49 pm

pugboy wrote:every epoxy coated floor i have seen ends up flaking

My garage floor going 12 years now without a chip, vehicles in an out every day and the occasional small repair, oil change, trolley jack.
Next thing allyuh goat mouth my floor and it start flaking.

OP check protectionplustt.com
They did my floor and it’s still going strong.

I don’t like the look of terrazzo

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2025, 8:50 pm

vehicles drive straight in and reverse straight out ?

My garage floor going 12 years now without a chip, vehicles in an out every day and the occasional small repair, oil change, trolley jack.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2025, 10:11 pm

pugboy wrote:vehicles drive straight in and reverse straight out ?

Yes other than the occasional lock over to move over a vehicle if I need access to the cabinets on one side

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » June 2nd, 2025, 7:44 pm

the area is 2500 sq ft

interior, high traffic

ever been to whole foods market in the usa? that flooring in the supermarket is polished concrete? it looks great

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2025, 7:47 pm

just need to make sure the concrete mixed to specs
not urp pavement soup mix

nightcrawler wrote:
the area is 2500 sq ft

interior, high traffic

ever been to whole foods market in the usa? that flooring in the supermarket is polished concrete? it looks great

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 2nd, 2025, 8:05 pm

Terrazzo is forever but looks dated, polished concrete looks cool but its not for everyone and still needs a coating on it. Epoxy is very nice if done properly but some installers use cheaper material with the resulting durability issues.

For high traffic durability terrazzo has them beat.

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2025, 8:57 pm

funny that terrazzo from the 70-80s still looking good
is it that they used a better quality type of colored cement?
why aren’t there more modern colpur terrazzo now

to me the quartz countertops are same type of material like terrazzo

Strugglerzinc wrote:Terrazzo is forever but looks dated, polished concrete looks cool but its not for everyone and still needs a coating on it. Epoxy is very nice if done properly but some installers use cheaper material with the resulting durability issues.

For high traffic durability terrazzo has them beat.

VII

Postby VII » June 3rd, 2025, 12:39 am

Postby *KRONIK* » June 3rd, 2025, 6:35 am

pugboy wrote:just need to make sure the concrete mixed to specs
not urp pavement soup mix

nightcrawler wrote:
the area is 2500 sq ft

interior, high traffic

But this is what the nation built on

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 10th, 2025, 3:36 pm

Look into stamped concrete. I made a similar thread a few years ago - ended up tiling everywhere, but stamping is definitely a good and cheaper option.
Terrazzo looked too dated for me, polished concrete looks unfinished unless done really well, and epoxy if done properly has a similar cost to tile so personal preference for look.