Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby The_Honourable » May 16th, 2025, 5:37 pm

hover11 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Question:
Repealing would mash up the whole thing, or would it revert to L&B Tax which was a couple dollars for the year
It would revert to land and building tax that was already in existence

The land and building tax act was repealed in 2009 i believe to make way for the current property tax which was amended by Imbert. If Kamla this time around repeals the Property Tax Act, there is nothing to go back too. There are only two options if i understand correctly:

1. Reintroduce a "new" Land and Building Tax Act with amendments or

2. A new Property Tax Act, with whatever the new method would be.

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2025, 6:42 pm

All the .materials already had vat charged on it.
So no building tax ,

Tax the land, according to surface area and designation .
5000sqft X residential rate = $x
2 acres , 3 roods 10 perch X agri rate = $y
10acres 4 roods 1 perch X industrial rate = $z

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2025, 8:51 pm

Lol
IMG_20250516_203159.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » May 16th, 2025, 10:01 pm

sMASH wrote:All the .materials already had vat charged on it.
So no building tax ,

Tax the land, according to surface area and designation .
5000sqft X residential rate = $x
2 acres , 3 roods 10 perch X agri rate = $y
10acres 4 roods 1 perch X industrial rate = $z

I had a similar idea to a land tax earlier in the ched.

Put land under different categories:

Industrial
Commercial
Residential-Commercial (mixed use)
Residential
Agricultural

Each category would have a different percentage rate from highest (industrial) to lowest (agricultural). That rate is applied to the valuation of the land. Example if you have two residential properties 5,000 sqft each, one in Westmoorings (upscale) and the other in Biche, the same percentage applies. The difference is the land valuation meaning your residential property tax would be higher in Westmoorings than in Biche.

Another example is if you have two properties in Aranguez 5,000 sqft each next to each other, one lot has a residential house while the other lot has a commercial building. Land valuation for each lot would be the same but this time different percentage rates apply. Property tax for the commercial lot would be higher than the residential lot.

Mixed use is the typical properties that are both residential and commercial in nature. We see them all over where residential is usually upstairs and commercial downstairs.

Valuations will be done by Valuation Division like now at it would be reviewed every 5-7 years to verify any developments in the area which increases land values. Verifications can also be done when for example: property is being transferred, mortgages, application for public utilities, during town and country planning permission, and complaints to T&C or municipal corporations.

My idea is a simplified one and professionals would have to verify the feasibility of it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 17th, 2025, 7:23 am

Keep the property tax, just leave out the part about "the state taking it if you can't pay".

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2025, 1:24 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Keep the property tax, just leave out the part about "the state taking it if you can't pay".
It have no good Reason to be taxing ur structure .. The material and labor was already taxed multiple times , for a one time transaction

Postby 88sins » May 17th, 2025, 5:03 pm

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Keep the property tax, just leave out the part about "the state taking it if you can't pay".
It have no good Reason to be taxing ur structure .. The material and labor was already taxed multiple times , for a one time transaction

Exactly
But the parasites calling themselves politicians and ministers will always expect something for nothing, and expect the most while doing the least.
I still want the answer to a question

Why must one pay the state, for the duration of time that one owns something, simply to be allowed to keep said something that one paid for, full price, in full, after already paying taxes on the transaction, simply because they demand it, failing which the rat-f@ckers can take what one owns away from one, rendering one homeless and in dire need of government assistance that may never materialize? And all that is after one pays tax by way of stamp duty and VAT for the purchase or construction.

matix

Postby matix » May 17th, 2025, 5:52 pm

Garbage collection, TTEC street lighting, Road maintenance, drainage maintenance, tree cutting and clearing. Are the taxes collected being used for that?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 17th, 2025, 6:28 pm

matix wrote:Garbage collection, TTEC street lighting, Road maintenance, drainage maintenance, tree cutting and clearing. Are the taxes collected being used for that?
The issue was that Commercial and Industrial was using those same resources to make money and not paying a cent

Also, the minister was free to raise at any point.

Finally, there was no ease for pensioners who were on fixed incomes.

It was just not implemented properly and not with the less fortunate in mind.

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2025, 9:19 pm

matix wrote:Garbage collection, TTEC street lighting, Road maintenance, drainage maintenance, tree cutting and clearing. Are the taxes collected being used for that?
Pnm had nearly all prime time hours on the three stations booked for weeks.
Inbetween is ads and half hour specials, radio spots , full page ads, and sponsored articles pretending to be reporting.

This election pnm spent multiple millions on just media , far less for the music trucks.

Hope that helps.

Postby 88sins » May 18th, 2025, 2:01 am

Short answer
No

Postby hover11 » May 22nd, 2025, 6:52 pm

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar revealed that $135 million in property tax was collected from the public between February 2023 and May 2025.

She questioned how the previous administration used the funds, demanding transparency and accountability.

“What did the former government do with that money?” Persad-Bissessar asked.

The PM spoke at the Post-Cabinet news briefing on Thursday May 22nd 2025.— Story
FB_IMG_1747954268513.jpg

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2025, 7:23 pm

We all know the PNM LIED when it said the money would be put in a special fund for the regional corporations.

It went into the consolidated fund and was pilfered.

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2025, 7:49 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 22nd, 2025, 8:45 pm

^ But how much they used to give the corporations before ? If not for the property tax the corporations weren't receiving any money???

Postby sMASH » May 22nd, 2025, 10:03 pm

bluefete wrote:We all know the PNM LIED when it said the money would be put in a special fund for the regional corporations.

It went into the consolidated fund and was pilfered.
That needed legislation , as part of local government reform , To go MORE directly to the corporations.
Was always a pie in the sky pnm platform bray

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2025, 6:00 am

DMan7 wrote:^ But how much they used to give the corporations before ? If not for the property tax the corporations weren't receiving any money???

So, you actually believed them when they said "is for the corporations"?
bruh, it was NEVER about funding the corporations. you want to know the honest to God plain and simple truth?

It was about making the people who already ketchin they ass, ketch their ass more, for two reasons.
Reason one- so politicians can get more money to screw up
Reason two -so that they can give you a crumb to be grateful to them for after they have you dragging on your belly like a starving dog. The purpose of that crumb is to give you hope so that you see them as doing good for you, because of that crumb, but you forget they are the reason you been ketchin yuh royal arse in the first place.

Never just listen to politicians bruh, they allergic to truth and reality, and will say and do damn near anything to get into office, and put you in a hole to be forgotten when they get there

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 23rd, 2025, 6:23 am

I just want to hear what farris have to say about what the money was used for.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2025, 6:36 am

media needs to pong ferris on the taxes and the rents he collecting

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2025, 7:23 am

Tunapuna/Piarco led all regional corporations in property tax revenue over the past 15 months, collecting over $23 million ($23,245,091.33 to be exact) between February 29, 2024 and May 20, 2025. It also recorded the highest number of payments: 22,604.

For more: https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/govt-as ... 29a167a39d

Why the fraud squad can't investigate this matter?
FB_IMG_1747999356091.jpg

Postby j.o.e » May 23rd, 2025, 10:33 am

There’s nothing to investigate. Elections over… all inflows to the treasury go somewhere. KPB can tell us exactly where it is or isn’t

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2025, 10:39 am

IMBERT right there as a MP he would be in a better position to say as the previous minister of Finance I would think. How ppl could want accountability in this country when the heads don't show it. Millions gone and everybody normal lol
j.o.e wrote:There’s nothing to investigate. Elections over… all inflows to the treasury go somewhere. KPB can tell us exactly where it is or isn’t

Postby goalpost » May 23rd, 2025, 10:58 am

Wheyyy, when u really think about it, PNM was really fcuking we over for sheits and giggles.

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2025, 11:03 am

They been doing this for 10 years goal where have you been
goalpost wrote:Wheyyy, when u really think about it, PNM was really fcuking we over for sheits and giggles.

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2025, 10:37 pm

j.o.e wrote:There’s nothing to investigate. Elections over… all inflows to the treasury go somewhere. KPB can tell us exactly where it is or isn’t

Hypothetical question here.
lewwe say on 30.04.25, you have a job
On 01.05.25, I take over your job, and you are no longer in charge of that particular responsibility.
I then ask you, explain wtf went on during the last year before I took over from you, while you were in charge, and your response is to plant both your hands and your head 2 feet up your arse.

I want you to make that hypothetical make sense

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby j.o.e » May 24th, 2025, 1:26 am

Hypothetical question here.
lewwe say on 30.04.25, you have a job
On 01.05.25, I take over your job, and you are no longer in charge of that particular responsibility.
I then ask you, explain wtf went on during the last year before I took over from you, while you were in charge, and your response is to plant both your hands and your head 2 feet up your arse.

I want you to make that hypothetical make sense

Forget the hypothetical. When a law goes into place (like a tax) and offices are put in place to collect said tax and banks have a system for people to pay a tax, that goes into an account with a record that public servants can see and verify. The new govt is in charge of all these public servants ….. the money doesn’t go in a box under a bed. If it was spent, not spent, improperly accounted for.. all those things the current govt can tell us with pure fact …. By saying the previous govt has to explain just leaves the public to not know what actually happened.

generic

Postby generic » May 24th, 2025, 4:54 am

Exactly, they are fully aware that the money went into the consolidated fund. They also know that reforms were required to have it go directly to the regional corporations. This is simply making political mischief.

Postby hover11 » May 24th, 2025, 10:11 am

generic wrote:Exactly, they are fully aware that the money went into the consolidated fund. They also know that reforms were required to have it go directly to the regional corporations. This is simply making political mischief.
If that is true because imbert is always so truthful and it's still there, then the records will prove it...correct? I just asking a stupid question

Postby MaxPower » May 24th, 2025, 10:15 am

What happens after records prove corruption in T&T?

What happens when the TTPS knows all who are the gang members and where to find them?

What happens when we “call upon” people in T&T?

Postby hover11 » May 24th, 2025, 10:23 am

MaxPower wrote:What happens after records prove corruption in T&T?

What happens when the TTPS knows all who are the gang members and where to find them?

What happens when we “call upon” people in T&T?
Max,

We as a people cannot demand accountability from organizations when politicians doing as they please, if it doesnt start from the head then what we leaving for the rest of the body