Digicel Internet Thread

SuperMan9999

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby SuperMan9999 » May 1st, 2025, 12:15 pm

gastly369 wrote:Sounds little area specific

Friend (siparia) has no issues with his connection even at peek time when we play together etc

Now spoke with a co worker he from Dabadie and he has same exact issues every night, spoke with a friend from Cunupia and save exact issue, it's definitely an issue happening in this specific part of Trinidad.

https://www.pingplotter.com/

^ Is it possible you can download this program the free version for home and run a google.com trace route? Like Do it between 8PM to 9PM tonight and post a screen shot here? I want to see if it really working perfect for you because although you claim it is, some games are more sensitive than others and it may just be that you are not noticing the packet loss in the games you happen to play. But this software will reveal the real quality of your connection

On the top right of the software you will see "Interval" it might be 1 or 2 seconds change it to 0.5 seconds this will do a true quality test. If you see red lines those are packet loss that the software can detect but that you as a human may not exactly notice.

You can just type in google.com in the program for your trace route test it will test every hop to google and reveal packet loss along the way if there is any. But you will have to do this ideally around half 8 to 9:30 PM when it's very peak hours.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » May 12th, 2025, 5:55 pm

Anyone else service down since yesterday in the Princes Town area?

Postby gastly369 » May 12th, 2025, 10:30 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Sounds little area specific

Friend (siparia) has no issues with his connection even at peek time when we play together etc

Now spoke with a co worker he from Dabadie and he has same exact issues every night, spoke with a friend from Cunupia and save exact issue, it's definitely an issue happening in this specific part of Trinidad.

https://www.pingplotter.com/

^ Is it possible you can download this program the free version for home and run a google.com trace route? Like Do it between 8PM to 9PM tonight and post a screen shot here? I want to see if it really working perfect for you because although you claim it is, some games are more sensitive than others and it may just be that you are not noticing the packet loss in the games you happen to play. But this software will reveal the real quality of your connection

On the top right of the software you will see "Interval" it might be 1 or 2 seconds change it to 0.5 seconds this will do a true quality test. If you see red lines those are packet loss that the software can detect but that you as a human may not exactly notice.

You can just type in google.com in the program for your trace route test it will test every hop to google and reveal packet loss along the way if there is any. But you will have to do this ideally around half 8 to 9:30 PM when it's very peak hours.
I'm on amplia tho I'll ask friend to do it

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » May 13th, 2025, 4:09 pm

Yeah the only solution I found was disconnecting Digicel and dropping back their modem.

Switched to Flow and it's been smooth sailing not a single issue even in peak hours, now that everybody moved from Flow to Digicel the Flow network is now Free of congestion etc and everything goes smoothly not to mention Flow uses CISCO hardware which is simply better than that chiney crap Digicel using.

I actually had Amplia and they were horrible so much packet loss during peak hours I was actually very surprised that Digicel was so incompetent they were actually WORSE than Amplia not only did Digicel have packet loss but would dip to 2mb in the night time, kept saying they aware of the issue but don't know when it will get fixed if ever.

The only downside to Flow is when current goes the flow modem loses signal, (This is also why some people complain about Flow breaking down because their system can go down if your signal is running through the lines in an area away from you to one of their Exchange that has a T&TEC power failure and you are unaware of it)

I have a powerful UPS that can power my modem and PC for 3 hours so it's definitely a bummer. Not flow's fault because flow uses copper for last mile in their DOCSIS that's just how copper is.

Digiel and Amplia uses PON (Passive Optical Network) which means it uses un-powered devices to carry signals. This is a major advantage for power outages / black outs

Only other option is Star Link which is unaffected by power outages and is cheaper than all the ISP in Trinidad ($260 a month for 300mbps) and seem to perform similar to Fiber in terms of latency for gaming etc but this Flow just works so I sticking with it, golden rule never switch ISP if the one you have just works.

This is Star Link performing extremely close to Fiber and better than any Land Line ADSL2+ connection in a latency check and you wouldn't be able to tell a difference in pretty much any modern game.

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » May 13th, 2025, 8:12 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:Yeah the only solution I found was disconnecting Digicel and dropping back their modem.

Switched to Flow and it's been smooth sailing not a single issue even in peak hours, now that everybody moved from Flow to Digicel the Flow network is now Free of congestion etc and everything goes smoothly not to mention Flow uses CISCO hardware which is simply better than that chiney crap Digicel using.

I actually had Amplia and they were horrible so much packet loss during peak hours I was actually very surprised that Digicel was so incompetent they were actually WORSE than Amplia not only did Digicel have packet loss but would dip to 2mb in the night time, kept saying they aware of the issue but don't know when it will get fixed if ever.

The only downside to Flow is when current goes the flow modem loses signal, (This is also why some people complain about Flow breaking down because their system can go down if your signal is running through the lines in an area away from you to one of their Exchange that has a T&TEC power failure and you are unaware of it)

I have a powerful UPS that can power my modem and PC for 3 hours so it's definitely a bummer. Not flow's fault because flow uses copper for last mile in their DOCSIS that's just how copper is.

Digiel and Amplia uses PON (Passive Optical Network) which means it uses un-powered devices to carry signals. This is a major advantage for power outages / black outs

Only other option is Star Link which is unaffected by power outages and is cheaper than all the ISP in Trinidad ($260 a month for 300mbps) and seem to perform similar to Fiber in terms of latency for gaming etc but this Flow just works so I sticking with it, golden rule never switch ISP if the one you have just works.

This is Star Link performing extremely close to Fiber and better than any Land Line ADSL2+ connection in a latency check and you wouldn't be able to tell a difference in pretty much any modern game.

Apparently flow was supposed to be fixing the power issue.
https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/why-flow

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 13th, 2025, 8:29 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:Yeah the only solution I found was disconnecting Digicel and dropping back their modem.

You have to factor the initial hardware cost, shipping etc into the overall cost.
Also weather, rain etc can affect Starlink.
I use Starlink but only in locations where fibre isn't available like at the racetrack at Wallerfield.

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » May 14th, 2025, 11:47 am

joshuarshah wrote:Apparently flow was supposed to be fixing the power issue.

Interesting, first time I am seeing this.

Any idea how long now they put out this statement? and are they doing the whole country?

FLOW has by far the best Network in the country they use very reliable brand equipment running on a well established and proven DOCSIS 3.1 network like comcast in the US but it's entirely reliant on electricity uptime and T&TEC power outages screws them over big time, that battery backup for their network would go such a long way I can only imagine the cost for them to provide backup power for all those boosters would be enormous.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » May 14th, 2025, 8:26 pm

Digicel really disappointing these days. Streaming at night during peak hours is painful. Speedtest shows everything is normal but clearly web streaming suffers.

Switched to the amplia connection and it smooth. Really need to drop one.

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » May 14th, 2025, 8:56 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:
joshuarshah wrote:Apparently flow was supposed to be fixing the power issue.

Interesting, first time I am seeing this.

Any idea how long now they put out this statement? and are they doing the whole country?

FLOW has by far the best Network in the country they use very reliable brand equipment running on a well established and proven DOCSIS 3.1 network like comcast in the US but it's entirely reliant on electricity uptime and T&TEC power outages screws them over big time, that battery backup for their network would go such a long way I can only imagine the cost for them to provide backup power for all those boosters would be enormous.

They put out this statement since they launch DOCSIS 3.1. I would assume the goal is to overlay the entire network with this but I have no way to check by me atm. I agree with you with FLOW. When they work they work pretty well.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 14th, 2025, 9:56 pm

[quote="juswil868"]Digicel really disappointing these days. Streaming at night during peak hours is painful. Speedtest shows everything is normal but clearly web streaming suffers.

Switched to the amplia connection and it smooth. Really need to drop one.[/quote

Yea, I'm getting high packet loss 38.1%, never got that before. Speed test to cloud flare, not ookla or fast

Postby gastly369 » May 14th, 2025, 11:10 pm

juswil868 wrote:Digicel really disappointing these days. Streaming at night during peak hours is painful. Speedtest shows everything is normal but clearly web streaming suffers.

Switched to the amplia connection and it smooth. Really need to drop one.
Heard many complaints about streaming on digicel network even when the test says "its good"

Bandwidth shaping throttling to force you to take their "streaming services"

Could be

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 15th, 2025, 3:33 pm

Can anyone run a speed test from cloudflare and see if there are issues with packet loss or poor performance in general, I'm in the chaguanas area: https://speed.cloudflare.com/

Today is a mess with stable internet, I'm getting avg. 23% loss, which is very strange

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » May 15th, 2025, 5:40 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:Can anyone run a speed test from cloudflare and see if there are issues with packet loss or poor performance in general, I'm in the chaguanas area: https://speed.cloudflare.com/

Today is a mess with stable internet, I'm getting avg. 23% loss, which is very strange

No loss currently, will try again during peak.

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » May 20th, 2025, 10:32 am

mamoo_pagal wrote:Can anyone run a speed test from cloudflare and see if there are issues with packet loss or poor performance in general, I'm in the chaguanas area: https://speed.cloudflare.com/

This is my FLOW during peak hours with 0 packet loss and perfect speeds compared to my previous Digicel even at minutes to mid night Digicel still was still unusable, previously I had Amplia and while their service was totally unusable during 7PM to 10 PM it was again usable from 10:30 PM, perhaps by now they made upgrades to their network but what I went through with Amplia was nothing short of a nightmare
With Flow however I have none of that dogshit issue, FLOW just works anyday anytime with ZERO issues (assuming T&TEC service is good)

Too bad Amplia and Digicel are using that cheap Chinese spyware Huawei network banned in most countries, Flow uses CISCO and other first world brand equipment I think in some ways we are lucky because the Chinese aren't making anything for DSL or DOCSIS so Flow in reality is STUCK with expensive First World high quality equipment, I am certain if Flow had the option of some garbage cheapo Chinese brand they would use it, these MBAs have destroyed a lot of the industry with their never ending search for slashing costs everywhere they can, MBAs are the worst thing to have happened to the tech industry.

The one positive thing I can say about Amplia is although they had unusable packet loss, their speeds would remain rock solid, Digicel was packet loss and 4mbps to 2mbps, total dogshit.

Last edited by SuperMan9999 on May 20th, 2025, 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 20th, 2025, 10:51 am

SuperMan9999 wrote:

This is my FLOW during peak hours with 0 packet loss and perfect speeds compared to my previous Digicel even at minutes to mid night Digicel still was still unusable, previously I had Amplia and while their service was totally unusable during 7PM to 10 PM it was again usable from 10:30 PM, perhaps by now they made upgrades to their network but what I went through with Amplia was nothing short of a nightmare
With Flow however I have none of that dogshit issue, FLOW just works anyday anytime with ZERO issues (assuming T&TEC service is good)

Too bad Amplia and Digicel are using that cheap Chinese spyware Huawei network banned in most countries, Flow uses CISCO and other first world brand equipment I think in some ways we are lucky because the Chinese aren't making anything for DSL or DOCSIS so Flow in reality is STUCK with expensive First World high quality equipment, I am certain if Flow had the option of some garbage cheapo Chinese brand they would use it, these MBAs have destroyed a lot of the industry with their never ending search for slashing costs everywhere they can, MBAs are the worst thing to have happened to the tech industry.

That's really good! Didn't know flow use Cisco, I the only issue I have with flow is I need a descent upload, at least 250Mbs, for that I'm either stuck with digicel or amplia. Digicel doing madness now, seems the popular speedtest sites show perfect performance at all times, use an alternative and it's a different story. Seems they rigging the stats a bit, basically controlling subscribers at a server level.

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » May 20th, 2025, 11:04 am

^ Yes in your case you are stuck with Fiber since you need that much upload, personally speaking if it's a server you are hosting where you need that much upload I would just rent a server in the US or something.

https://www.netgear.com/hub/network/doc ... it-speeds/

DOCSIS 3.1 in theory supports 2GBPS upload and 10GBPS speed and from what I heard, flow offers Gigabit download speeds in certain areas, you could always contact Flow and find out if it's possible to get 250mbps Upload.

If Flow doesn't have modems that can do it but their network can support it then you could always ask them if you can order a gigabit upload cable modem online and have them register the MAC address to Flow's network.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 20th, 2025, 1:00 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:^ Yes in your case you are stuck with Fiber since you need that much upload, personally speaking if it's a server you are hosting where you need that much upload I would just rent a server in the US or something.

DOCSIS 3.1 in theory supports 2GBPS upload and 10GBPS speed and from what I heard, flow offers Gigabit download speeds in certain areas, you could always contact Flow and find out if it's possible to get 250mbps Upload.

If Flow doesn't have modems that can do it but their network can support it then you could always ask them if you can order a gigabit upload cable modem online and have them register the MAC address to Flow's network.
Sounds good with the flow I'll check them out, I have a media server with about 80TB data, and now looking to setup my own cloud as well as NVR (Lan). I'll see what flow has to offer

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » May 21st, 2025, 7:17 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
SuperMan9999 wrote:^ Yes in your case you are stuck with Fiber since you need that much upload, personally speaking if it's a server you are hosting where you need that much upload I would just rent a server in the US or something.

Sounds good with the flow I'll check them out, I have a media server with about 80TB data, and now looking to setup my own cloud as well as NVR (Lan). I'll see what flow has to offer

Highest with upload with flow is 75mb .. And that's on their 1GB download plan

On an another note. Did anyone else get a message about upgrades taking place from tomorrow - 22nd at 11pm - 5am

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » June 12th, 2025, 1:35 pm

Luckily I don't use my internet for hosting etc all I do is stream movies, download 4K movies, online gaming pretty much what 99% of people use their net for so the 50mbps upload for me is actually overkill

Trade off being that I never have to worry about Digicel and Amplia garbage packet loss and ping spike and dial up speeds between 7PM to 11PM? yeah will take that 50mb upload anyday with Flow

trintee

Postby trintee » June 12th, 2025, 9:16 pm

anyone getting bad packet loss the past couple days

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 12th, 2025, 9:28 pm

trintee wrote:anyone getting bad packet loss the past couple days

For the last couple of months. All the time. I am so fed up.

Their internet and mobile network is now trash . Currently engaged with them concerning this issue and they offered me 2 months free and also assured me that they are aware of the issue and would provide an update yesterday. (11.06.25) no one has called and I sent another email requesting an update.

Lucky I have Amplia as a back up connection and it is working nicely.

Call or send an email to complain. This happened with amplia and they eventually fixed the issue.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 12th, 2025, 10:27 pm

Strangely enough mine have been working proper. Steady pings too in the low 50s and 40s

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » June 12th, 2025, 10:35 pm

For a while now, using an app called orb. Between 8:30 - 10 is pretty bad, central area. A normal Ookla test not catching it:
https://orb.net/

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » June 13th, 2025, 1:01 pm

I miss having the ability to keep my internet running via a UPS when power goes which is only possible with Digicel and Amplia since they use fiber, so with Flow I just have to hope power in the area doesn't cut when I am home so it's a little annoying but I rather stick with Flow where I am 100% certain that I will NEVER have a single packet loss or dropped speeds at any given time whatsoever.

That packet loss and dial up speeds during peak hours with Digicel and Amplia was flat out non negotiable because peak hours is when I am actually home to use my net that is (7PM to 11PM) I gave them MONTHS to fix their issue and they did NOTHING about it.

Glad I went back to Flow yes, amazing how Flow never has this issue. Might get the dial up speed issue with flow once every 6 months when something catastrophic happens sure, maybe even once a year but with Digicel and Amplia that packet loss and dial up speed was a daily issue like a permanent issue, no thanks.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 15th, 2025, 8:25 pm

Cloudflare is back on Digicel network. Working much better now.

No packet loss.

Monitoring

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 22nd, 2025, 8:37 pm

juswil868 wrote:Cloudflare is back on Digicel network. Working much better now.

No packet loss.

Monitoring

Spoke to soon.. Streaming is terrible tonight can't watch anything.

Anybody else experiencing the same?

Postby redmanjp » June 23rd, 2025, 10:33 am

juswil868 wrote:
juswil868 wrote:Cloudflare is back on Digicel network. Working much better now.

No packet loss.

Monitoring

Spoke to soon.. Streaming is terrible tonight can't watch anything.

Anybody else experiencing the same?

was watching hulu last night - no problems by me (arima)

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 23rd, 2025, 1:29 pm

Same. Hulu, Roku and a lil COD with ping last night

Postby redmanjp » June 23rd, 2025, 1:53 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:I miss having the ability to keep my internet running via a UPS when power goes which is only possible with Digicel and Amplia since they use fiber, so with Flow I just have to hope power in the area doesn't cut when I am home so it's a little annoying but I rather stick with Flow where I am 100% certain that I will NEVER have a single packet loss or dropped speeds at any given time whatsoever.

That packet loss and dial up speeds during peak hours with Digicel and Amplia was flat out non negotiable because peak hours is when I am actually home to use my net that is (7PM to 11PM) I gave them MONTHS to fix their issue and they did NOTHING about it.

Glad I went back to Flow yes, amazing how Flow never has this issue. Might get the dial up speed issue with flow once every 6 months when something catastrophic happens sure, maybe even once a year but with Digicel and Amplia that packet loss and dial up speed was a daily issue like a permanent issue, no thanks.

this use to be possible with flow but i guess they stop maintaining their backup battery power in their cabinets?

Postby wagonrunner » July 7th, 2025, 1:20 am

Does digicel+ service exist in the Gasparillo / Harmony Hall area?
Are there any Digicel+ custoemrs with service in that area on tuner?
sprillo.jpg