New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Postby MISHI » May 12th, 2025, 7:16 pm

Has Arrive Alive ever produced any info regarding how many people went through their rehab course in order to reapply for their license since demerit inception?

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 7:20 pm

MISHI wrote:Has Arrive Alive ever produced any info regarding how many people went through their rehab course in order to reapply for their license since demerit inception?
Nope also they are not accredited to do any sort of training or rehabilitation basically laundering money for the PNM.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 12th, 2025, 7:35 pm

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/loss-of ... b4cea453c2

The main purpose wasn't to help and rehabilitate persons but gain revenue!

Sent from my SM-A145M using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2025, 7:47 pm

hover11 wrote:
MISHI wrote:Has Arrive Alive ever produced any info regarding how many people went through their rehab course in order to reapply for their license since demerit inception?
Nope also they are not accredited to do any sort of training or rehabilitation basically laundering money for the PNM.
Did a defensive drivung course once, was just a video snd questionnaire after ...

U get the same thing watching YouTube, how they put questions while scrolling .

2500 to pay arrive Alive for something thst YouTube offer free, is kinda predatory

killercow

Postby killercow » May 12th, 2025, 8:17 pm

When the system is scrapped, what happens to the following persons?:

The guy who just surrendered his licence the day before for a two year suspension.

The woman who has been legally notified by licencing to surrender her licence by tomorrow.

The young driver who paid arrive alive the day before and just started the rehabilitation course.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 13th, 2025, 11:09 pm

hover11 wrote:

Yeah I know that much. I think I used "rehab course" incorrectly.

I really would've loved to see how many had to take mandatory DD course from them to see how much of a base profit they made doing it.

Some people from Tobago were most bothered about the fact not only did they have to fly to Trinidad to do this course, but also had the extra expenses of food, transport, accommodation, etc due to it being a 2 day course. So people were paying on top of that $2500, in some cases an extra $1000 or more.

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2025, 7:07 am

sMASH wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Did a defensive drivung course once, was just a video snd questionnaire after ...

U get the same thing watching YouTube, how they put questions while scrolling .

2500 to pay arrive Alive for something thst YouTube offer free, is kinda predatory
Alive was a scam

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » May 14th, 2025, 7:29 am

Fundamentally I support a demerit points system to curb bad habits and improve safety, but not the structure of the one we currently have in place.

Points should only apply to moving violations ONLY like speeding, running stop lights, shoulder driving, reckless driving, cell phone use while driving etc.

Anything else issue a ticket no points

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2025, 10:39 am

Ah man in TV6 this morning said he got a traffic ticket for a wrong turn with no signage and have his court date in 2030 .

That is absolute bs. They just pressuring u to accept the fines.

Predatory and money making . Not intended for justice or safety

Postby hover11 » May 14th, 2025, 10:59 am

sMASH wrote:Ah man in TV6 this morning said he got a traffic ticket for a wrong turn with no signage and have his court date in 2030 .

Hear the shite with that .....you cannot renew your permit unless you pay the ticket. So if your permit expiring next year you have to pay the ticket to legally drive on the road. The system stinks and is just a revenue earner

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2025, 12:45 pm

hover11 wrote:
sMASH wrote:Ah man in TV6 this morning said he got a traffic ticket for a wrong turn with no signage and have his court date in 2030 .

Hear the shite with that .....you cannot renew your permit unless you pay the ticket. So if your permit expiring next year you have to pay the ticket to legally drive on the road. The system stinks and is just a revenue earner
Just drive with out the permit

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2025, 12:51 pm

hover11 wrote:

But doesn't the demerit system lock u out from from driving this making roadways safer ?

Postby hover11 » May 14th, 2025, 12:53 pm

sMASH wrote:
hover11 wrote:

But doesn't the demerit system lock u out from from driving this making roadways safer ?
The whole system is one big contradiction

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2025, 4:35 pm

sMASH wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Stupid laws deserve exposing

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 15th, 2025, 12:25 pm

killercow wrote:In my opinion, the demerit points system is necessary, as it keeps lawless drivers in line.

It should have ideally been:

A ticket to pay
OR
A citation with demerit points but no money to pay.
Only severe infractions like drunk driving, driving on the PBR, breaking the speed limit by 40km etc. should retain both points and fine.

Where the system failed DRASTICALLY however is the amount of wicked / corrupt police and licensing officers this country has. And that is what led to the downfall of this system.

Nobody eh say if a driver break the law to not penalise him, but police & licensing officers was giving people two and three tickets SIMULTANEOUSLY with each carrying a fine AND demerit points. Now yuh would think that this point is null and void as in situations like this, only the ticket bearing the highest amount of demerit points is applicable so no issue right?
Officers was letting dey padna issue some of the 'simultaneous' tickets from another machine all kinda ting.

I sure allyuh see videos of motorists with ticket reel long like grocery bill.

The problem was never the points, it was always application and enforcement.
Misinformation re simultaneous tickets....you only got the highest points. So you could get 10 tickets but only demerits for the one carrying the largest number

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2025, 1:39 pm

The demerit point system worked because it prevented a lot of people from driving recklessly and accumulating points to lose their license. However, the system needs reform and tweaking. Fines alone will not encourage as much people to drive safer and abide by the law.
The fact that there was only one private organization that did rehabilitation is crazy though.

Postby hover11 » May 15th, 2025, 1:59 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The demerit point system worked because it prevented a lot of people from driving recklessly and accumulating points to lose their license. However, the system needs reform and tweaking. Fines alone will not encourage as much people to drive safer and abide by the law.
The fact that there was only one private organization that did rehabilitation is crazy though.
How else can financiers eat a food if more than one provider of rehabilitation service are opened. Another conflict of interests why is the brother of the transport commissioner a board member of arrive alive? I still dont see how giving one a ticket with points for something as insignificant as tint was necessary. The law was draconian and needs to be removed.

Postby hover11 » May 15th, 2025, 2:31 pm

If we being draconian find a way to fine all those garages that block the roadways with their clients vehicles. I not against a man making an honest dollar but at the same time you can't inconvenience other people that have to use the same road for to carry about their daily lives.

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2025, 2:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The demerit point system worked because it prevented a lot of people from driving recklessly and accumulating points to lose their license. However, the system needs reform and tweaking. Fines alone will not encourage as much people to drive safer and abide by the law.
Sounds like a sponsored ad from arrive Alive

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 15th, 2025, 2:50 pm

The thing was too draconian .

It needs to be thrown out

This is the only way to make points null and void

A new system is required

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2025, 3:49 pm

hover11 wrote:

if you contesting it u should be able to renew -not so?

Postby hover11 » May 15th, 2025, 3:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Not the case unfortunately to renew your permit you must have no tickets affixed to your DP number. So it forces you to pay basically

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2025, 4:26 pm

cuz if you contesting u doh have to pay

Postby hover11 » May 15th, 2025, 4:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:cuz if you contesting u doh have to pay
Thats not the reality because when you go licensing office the clerks and officers tell you as it is you cannot renew with permits to your name. So probably their is a miscommunication of information but that's not happening.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 15th, 2025, 5:13 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
killercow wrote:In my opinion, the demerit points system is necessary, as it keeps lawless drivers in line.

It should have ideally been:

A ticket to pay
OR
A citation with demerit points but no money to pay.
Only severe infractions like drunk driving, driving on the PBR, breaking the speed limit by 40km etc. should retain both points and fine.

Where the system failed DRASTICALLY however is the amount of wicked / corrupt police and licensing officers this country has. And that is what led to the downfall of this system.

Nobody eh say if a driver break the law to not penalise him, but police & licensing officers was giving people two and three tickets SIMULTANEOUSLY with each carrying a fine AND demerit points. Now yuh would think that this point is null and void as in situations like this, only the ticket bearing the highest amount of demerit points is applicable so no issue right?
Officers was letting dey padna issue some of the 'simultaneous' tickets from another machine all kinda ting.

I sure allyuh see videos of motorists with ticket reel long like grocery bill.

The problem was never the points, it was always application and enforcement.
Misinformation re simultaneous tickets....you only got the highest points. So you could get 10 tickets but only demerits for the one carrying the largest number
I agree with you as this is what I know is the law. I never ever received more than one ticket at a time so I don't know if the allegation of using different machines to issue tickets on the same date at approximately the same time acts as a loophole to that stipulation. Nevertheless, that is the information that was shared to me, so hopefully someone who got more than one ticket at a time can verify.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 15th, 2025, 6:16 pm

hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Not the case unfortunately to renew your permit you must have no tickets affixed to your DP number. So it forces you to pay basically
I personally know a man who up to the beginning of 2025 had 60+ demerit points accumulated over a period of 5+ years to his name. But wait, it gets 'better'.

He managed to renew his permit, not once, but twice (first renewal on 18 points and second on 33). I even asked him how he managed to pull that off (whether he went through some back door or sumn), and his response was:
"Every single ticket I ah geh ah pay on time ah I neva geh any issues in licensing to renew".

His licence still marked as active up to last month. How the above is possible is still a complete mystery to me.

Postby hover11 » May 15th, 2025, 6:20 pm

killercow wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:

I personally know a man who up to the beginning of 2025 had 60+ demerit points accumulated over a period of 5+ years to his name. But wait, it gets 'better'.

He managed to renew his permit, not once, but twice (first renewal on 18 points and second on 33). I even asked him how he managed to pull that off (whether he went through some back door or sumn), and his response was:
"Every single ticket I ah geh ah pay on time ah I neva geh any issues in licensing to renew".

His licence still marked as active up to last month. How the above is possible is still a complete mystery to me.
That really strange because it have men out here begging for a back door system to renew without paying the tickets and cant because of how the system linked it's not just a licensing program where a clerk or typist can simply bypass and renew the permit.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 15th, 2025, 6:33 pm

hover11 wrote:
killercow wrote:
hover11 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:

That really strange because it have men out here begging for a back door system to renew without paying the tickets and cant because of how the system linked it's not just a licensing program where a clerk or typist can simply bypass and renew the permit.
There is a way to get it done. How exactly and what it costs I can't say, but I have a couple padnas who get tru already.

Postby mero » May 15th, 2025, 7:46 pm

Heard some time ago it was about $800 a point

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2025, 11:02 pm

sMASH wrote:
Sounds like a sponsored ad from arrive Alive

Read it again - I am against having only one private organization for rehabilitation