New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2025, 5:31 pm

Why allyuh lawless and irresponsible Trinis just can’t follow simple simple rules, instructions, regulations and laws?

Covid was the same blasted ting.

Many of us don’t and never had a single demerit point.

It’s the ones who want to chance it, jackass it and have this begging for bligh mentality that only crying when they get jam.

Sickening yes

killercow

Postby killercow » May 11th, 2025, 5:40 pm

In my opinion, the demerit points system is necessary, as it keeps lawless drivers in line.

It should have ideally been:

A ticket to pay
OR
A citation with demerit points but no money to pay.
Only severe infractions like drunk driving, driving on the PBR, breaking the speed limit by 40km etc. should retain both points and fine.

Where the system failed DRASTICALLY however is the amount of wicked / corrupt police and licensing officers this country has. And that is what led to the downfall of this system.

Nobody eh say if a driver break the law to not penalise him, but police & licensing officers was giving people two and three tickets SIMULTANEOUSLY with each carrying a fine AND demerit points. Now yuh would think that this point is null and void as in situations like this, only the ticket bearing the highest amount of demerit points is applicable so no issue right?
Officers was letting dey padna issue some of the 'simultaneous' tickets from another machine all kinda ting.

I sure allyuh see videos of motorists with ticket reel long like grocery bill.

The problem was never the points, it was always application and enforcement.

Postby hover11 » May 11th, 2025, 5:50 pm

Just to add.. .if one is involved in an accident let's say it is was discovered that the driver in the wrong broke a red light he should face demerit points and a ticket, also if a driver acted in a hit and run then they should face disqualification of a license those are serious offenses i could understand
killercow wrote:In my opinion, the demerit points system is necessary, as it keeps lawless drivers in line.

A ticket to pay
OR
Only severe infractions like drunk driving, driving on the PBR, breaking the speed limit by 40km etc. should retain both points and fine.

Where the system failed DRASTICALLY however is the amount of wicked / corrupt police and licensing officers this country has. And that is what led to the downfall of this system.

Nobody eh say if a driver break the law to not penalise him, but police & licensing officers was giving people two and three tickets SIMULTANEOUSLY with each carrying a fine AND demerit points.

VII

Postby VII » May 11th, 2025, 5:55 pm

Yep we een ready for that...higher standards for everyday law abiding citizens while everything else os in a mess.

VII

Postby VII » May 11th, 2025, 5:56 pm

Yep we een ready for that...higher standards for productive everyday law abiding citizens while everything else is in a mess.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2025, 6:04 pm

you do realize that you have forgotten there is a court system and pohleece which supposed to charge and penalize the driver

which just shows how broken are basic law system is where we have to hope that a third party demerit system to pull up drivers

hover11 wrote:Just to add.. .if one is involved in an accident let's say it is was discovered that the driver in the wrong broke a red light he should face demerit points and a ticket, also if a driver acted in a hit and run then they should face disqualification of a license those are serious offenses i could understand
killercow wrote:In my opinion, the demerit points system is necessary, as it keeps lawless drivers in line.

A ticket to pay
OR

Nobody eh say if a driver break the law to not penalise him, but police & licensing officers was giving people two and three tickets SIMULTANEOUSLY with each carrying a fine AND demerit points.

Postby hover11 » May 11th, 2025, 6:09 pm

My thing is the more laws we create the less they are enforced and that's the problem here. I know alot of guys who license supposed to be suspended under this demerit point system and they still on the road like normal
pugboy wrote:you do realize that you have forgotten there is a court system and pohleece which supposed to charge and penalize the driver

which just shows how broken are basic law system is where we have to hope that a third party demerit system to pull up drivers

hover11 wrote:Just to add.. .if one is involved in an accident let's say it is was discovered that the driver in the wrong broke a red light he should face demerit points and a ticket, also if a driver acted in a hit and run then they should face disqualification of a license those are serious offenses i could understand

A ticket to pay
OR

Postby mero » May 11th, 2025, 6:31 pm

Allyuh is the same ppl want gun.

Just lawlessness all over. I take my ban and pat and was fully rehabilitated, although paying that cream for the course and having to do over a road test was failure and definitely needs revamped, however life on 0 points and no infractions for 3 years + feels amazing.

Trinis always have vex money for ticket. We need demerit points and proper enforcing of those. And some ppl really need demerit points for the POS hazardous vehicles they have on the road.

Scrapping the demerit system is failure. We need to treat drivers like dey head hard cuz it very forking hard.

Postby hover11 » May 11th, 2025, 6:38 pm

So punish drivers twice for the same act , makes sense
mero wrote:Allyuh is the same ppl want gun.

Just lawlessness all over. I take my ban and pat and was fully rehabilitated, although paying that cream for the course and having to do over a road test was failure and definitely needs revamped, however life on 0 points and no infractions for 3 years + feels amazing.

Trinis always have vex money for ticket. We need demerit points and proper enforcing of those. And some ppl really need demerit points for the POS hazardous vehicles they have on the road.

Scrapping the demerit system is failure. We need to treat drivers like dey head hard cuz it very forking hard.

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2025, 7:33 pm

mero wrote:Allyuh is the same ppl want gun.

X3000

Trinis need to be disciplined.

Postby hover11 » May 11th, 2025, 7:35 pm

My question is how a non government organization (Arrive Alive) have sole authority to say if someone can get back their permit which is a license office or court matter?

Postby mero » May 11th, 2025, 7:55 pm

It's 2 companies, arrive alive is one. Can't recall the other. U can choose.

It's like a Defensive Driving styled interactive course just with different content that's 2 days and then a short exam which is easy to pass once you literate. Was pretty informative and educational (despite the cost). I think these courses should actually be mandatory when obtaining a permit tbqh.

After, your certificate is (e)mailed. You can keep it until your time passes then carry it licensing iirc.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2025, 7:57 pm

The driving behaviour on the roads of this country are just atrocious.

If anything we needed something even more strigent and not less. The only areas I had issues with were the simple fix ones (blown lights, incorrect plate etc) nothing a proper fixit system couldn't handle.

This reeks of populism to the least common denominators on the roadways.

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2025, 8:01 pm

MaxPower wrote:Why allyuh lawless and irresponsible Trinis just can’t follow simple simple rules, instructions, regulations and laws?

It’s the ones who want to chance it, jackass it and have this begging for bligh mentality that only crying when they get jam.

Sickening yes
Go back home

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2025, 8:06 pm

Saw a post that said that between today and yesterday had like 50 rta...
The demerit not making drivers better. It just predating minor offenses.

If they dud studies to examines the causes of accidents , and determine the causal factors (as more than one might be contributory) fur the tpp ten most common accidents , or 85% most common accidents , then apply the laws, fines , and driving education , road and sign engineering towards that, then I would say that's effective and relevant .

But u till then, f* this demerit thing .

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2025, 8:08 pm

pugboy wrote:you do realize that you have forgotten there is a court system and pohleece which supposed to charge and penalize the driver

A ticket to pay
OR

A ticket issued in 2024 has a virtual court date in2028 .

That is not workable . U still have to pay the ticket .

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2025, 8:16 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The driving behaviour on the roads of this country are just atrocious.

As Mero said,

These are the same people who bawling for FUL.

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 4:49 am

There’s no evidence to support any claim that the demerit points system leads to reduction in road accidents and fatalities.... bring facts otherwise scrap it

demented

Postby demented » May 12th, 2025, 5:34 am

Demerit should be for human faults, eg speeding, not wearing seatbelt, parking breaches, expired license and/or insurance, not obeying traffic rules etc. Vehicle defects should not warrant demerit points but rather fines.

Postby matr1x » May 12th, 2025, 5:40 am

MaxPower wrote:Why allyuh lawless and irresponsible Trinis just can’t follow simple simple rules, instructions, regulations and laws?

Sickening yes

You calling trinis lawless....oh the irony

Postby j.o.e » May 12th, 2025, 6:50 am

Most people saying the same thing. Amend it, don’t scrap. Another populist idea by Kams, appealing only to the lawless

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2025, 7:15 am

j.o.e wrote:Most people saying the same thing. Amend it, don’t scrap. Another populist idea by Kams, appealing only to the lawless
So most people saying amend it and don't scrap it and then it appeals to the lawless ?

Most people = Lawless

Ur a Ķùńŧ, ur PNM party card showing with nonsense

Postby j.o.e » May 12th, 2025, 7:32 am

j.o.e wrote:Most people saying the same thing. Amend it, don’t scrap. Another populist idea by Kams, appealing only to the lawless
So most people saying amend it and don't scrap it and then it appeals to the lawless ?

Most people = Lawless

Well if every criticism I make of Kamla says I’m a PNM well so be it. Takes laws to change culture sometimes. We drive like kants…. Just remove demerit points for car defects and leave them for offenses.
Our police barely work and so many people racking up points is indicative of slackness.
I never thought Trinis would stop smoking indoors … laws stamped that out. Honestly feel points helped.

Postby mero » May 12th, 2025, 7:33 am

zoom rader wrote:Most people = Lawless

Yes

love this quote zoom

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2025, 7:43 am

well she obviously trying to pander to the masses asap

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 8:07 am

We finally have a leader who listening to the ppl instead of buffing them. She also said that in her manifestoso she not just talking the talk but walking the walk as well
pugboy wrote:well she obviously trying to pander to the masses asap

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2025, 8:42 am

Scrap it , start over.
Pnm is sheit

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2025, 10:25 am

j.o.e wrote:

Most people = Lawless

Well if every criticism I make of Kamla says I’m a PNM well so be it. Takes laws to change culture sometimes. We drive like kants…. Just remove demerit points for car defects and leave them for offenses.
Our police barely work and so many people racking up points is indicative of slackness.
I never thought Trinis would stop smoking indoors … laws stamped that out. Honestly feel points helped.
You never made any Criticism when PNM was there, but now ur in full glee.

Just now u will say she used the wrong hair brush or shade of lip stick.

Where were u when Rowlee was doing nothing?????

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 10:30 am

j.o.e wrote:

Most people = Lawless

Joe has been silent as a lamb for the past 9 years due to suffering from laryngitis....he finally got back his voice when UNC came into power. He was fine when PNM treated the citizens like dogshite as he was never affected. He saw no problem with the pnm and their governance or lack thereof. He had no problem with the crime rate as he was never affected by such. Once it doesn't affect JOE he don't care, fk everyone else

Postby j.o.e » May 12th, 2025, 6:47 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Most people = Lawless

Joe has been silent as a lamb for the past 9 years due to suffering from laryngitis....he finally got back his voice when UNC came into power. He was fine when PNM treated the citizens like dogshite as he was never affected. He saw no problem with the pnm and their governance or lack thereof. He had no problem with the crime rate as he was never affected by such. Once it doesn't affect JOE he don't care, fk everyone else

Allyuh have selective memory but carry on