It has crossed my mind a few timespugboy wrote:allyuh ever ask where the tomato puree matouks and dem using comes from?
*KRONIK* wrote:It has crossed my mind a few timespugboy wrote:allyuh ever ask where the tomato puree matouks and dem using comes from?
DMan7 wrote:dogg wrote:DMan7 wrote:^ Mr. Sawatee only likes Haagen Daaz or wat? That shouldn't be allowed to be called ice cream as well.
Breds, you ent realize there are actual rules in developed countries for what can be called ice cream? It has to meet certain standards, like a minimum amount of milk fat and milk solids. There's also a limit on how much stabilizers, emulsifiers, and even air they can put in it.
You ever see that imported BON brand “ice cream”? If you check the packaging, it’s not actually labelled as ice cream. That’s because it doesn’t meet the requirements.
But local brands? They don’t care. They'll call anything ice cream, mostly because they’re not exporting to countries with strict labeling laws.
Same thing goes for ketchup. No local ketchup brands, not even Matouk’s, have enough actual tomato in them to be legally called ketchup overseas.
Anyway. look it up and educate yourself.
That being said Haagen Daaz tastes like shite.
triniterribletim wrote:When in Trini, Triple J's every time. I don't look at ice cream nowadays though, it's all about the gelato. You wouldn't want to go back to regular ice cream. Two scoops is 12 TTD or thereabouts.
193_greg-salibian_divulgacao.jpeg
pugboy wrote:where is triple j?
chankas open a gelato place in arangueztriniterribletim wrote:When in Trini, Triple J's every time. I don't look at ice cream nowadays though, it's all about the gelato. You wouldn't want to go back to regular ice cream. Two scoops is 12 TTD or thereabouts.
pugboy wrote:allyuh ever ask where the tomato puree matouks and dem using comes from?
dogg wrote:pugboy wrote:allyuh ever ask where the tomato puree matouks and dem using comes from?
Well they import the pepper mash from China, so i guess they get the tomato paste from there too?
paid_influencer wrote:wait, so we importing pepper mash and tomato from china to bottle and sell to Trump as 'Made in T&T' ?
triniterribletim wrote:When in Trini, JnJ every time. I don't look at ice cream nowadays though, it's all about the gelato. You wouldn't want to go back to regular ice cream. Two scoops is 12 TTD or thereabouts.
bluefete wrote:triniterribletim wrote:When in Trini, JnJ every time. I don't look at ice cream nowadays though, it's all about the gelato. You wouldn't want to go back to regular ice cream. Two scoops is 12 TTD or thereabouts.
Isn't that Italian ice cream?
bluefete wrote:So last Sunday opposite Lok Jack, I got 5 small pineapples for $20 - real sweet and made juice with the skins and 1 watermelon @$3./lb - really good.
Watermelon in market was $6/$7 a lb.
A young couple was selling.
paid_influencer wrote:redress, allow me to break it down for the 'mites here.
Supposed you decide to make a currency called Redress dollars, RD$, issued by the Redress Central Bank. You have $1000 US$ in an account set asides as reserves and issue $2000 RD$. You set an exchange rate at 2:1 for a RD$. You can vary that exchange rate, make it 6:1 if you want, but you keep your currency issued balanced with your hard currency reserves.
You never going to run into shortages, because every dollar you issued is accounted for by something sitting in your reserves. This is how a "real" fixed exchange rate is supposed to operate.
Now say you decide to float your RD$. You no longer keep reserves to match your exchange rate. The value of the dollar is based on supply and demand handled by the market - not your reserves.
Now suddenly you try to fix you dollar at a below-market exchange rate. But you don't have the hard currency backing for all the additional currency you have issued. You run into forex "shortages" because the dollar has nothing backing it.
You can pretend everything is alright and pretend you have a real fixed exchange rate by making grand speeches and running down your savings and borrowing hard currency any chance you get, to "relieve shortages".
But at a certain point it cannot go on because you have simply run out of money to prop up your currency.
This is exactly what is happening in T&T, and we going to run out of money very, very soon.
Same..the melons are always nice. Sad part I'm always going somewhere for the day so very few times I get to buy and carry home. They some representation on the other side.bluefete wrote:So last Sunday opposite Lok Jack, I got 5 small pineapples for $20 - real sweet and made juice with the skins and 1 watermelon @$3./lb - really good.
DMan7 wrote:bluefete wrote:So last Sunday opposite Lok Jack, I got 5 small pineapples for $20 - real sweet and made juice with the skins and 1 watermelon @$3./lb - really good.
Well look at that, I was now going there to buy that watermelon for $3 per lbs. Was hesistant a few days ago because of likely non-sweet watermelon but I see it got your seal of approval.
Dave wrote:Same..the melons are always nice. Sad part I'm always going somewhere for the day so very few times I get to buy and carry home. They some representation on the other side.bluefete wrote:So last Sunday opposite Lok Jack, I got 5 small pineapples for $20 - real sweet and made juice with the skins and 1 watermelon @$3./lb - really good.
death365 wrote:But am ... butttttt ammmmm .... buttttttt ammmmmmmmmmm...
Barbados proves this nit to be completely accurate.
An allowance is a quota.paid_influencer wrote:death365 wrote:But am ... butttttt ammmmm .... buttttttt ammmmmmmmmmm...
Barbados proves this nit to be completely accurate.
Barbados doesn't have "shortages" though. They have formal exchange rate controls and allowances as part of their national policy to keep foreign reserves at their policy-decided level.
https://www.centralbank.org.bb/faqs/exc ... ntrol-faqs
A properly implemented fixed exchange rate would essentially be full dollarisation just with different pictures on the notes. The closest I can think of regionally is the EC$, which is beyond the reach of any particular island government fackery. I think the EC central bank has something like 98% in foreign reserves backing the EC$.
What imbert is claiming to have done is set a fixed exchange rate, by accident, on purpose, by continuously drawing down foreign reserves, the HSF, and by borrowing internationally. This fixed exchange rate is not backed by reserves. It is bound to failure. He's claiming to have a fixed exchange rate the same as the ECCB does, but without doing any of the hard work needed to support such an exchange regime.
So businesses and adult Bajans hold equivalency to your kid and not say to free markets?paid_influencer wrote:i give my kid an allowance
does that mean I have a shortage of money
what im getting at is trinidad doesn't have enough foreign reserves or income to maintain our supposed "fixed" exchange rate. It is going to collapse spectacularly so in soon order
Dizzy28 wrote:So businesses and adult Bajans hold equivalency to your kid and not say to free markets?paid_influencer wrote:i give my kid an allowance
does that mean I have a shortage of money
what im getting at is trinidad doesn't have enough foreign reserves or income to maintain our supposed "fixed" exchange rate. It is going to collapse spectacularly so in soon order
Cool!!
There is no prohibition on any foreign CURRENCY into Barbados. Remember, however, that if you are a resident, you should surrender as soon as possible, any foreign CURRENCY which you may bring back from abroad to an Authorised Dealer for exchange into Barbados dollars. The exception to this relates to persons holding foreign currency accounts.
The Central Banks of Jamaica and Guyana have requested that under no circumstances should Jamaica and Guyana CURRENCY notes be encashed outside of their respective territories. E.C. dollar notes are freely exchanged by Authorised Dealers. It should also be noted that currency notes of Trinidad & Tobago are not currently exchanged by Authorised Dealers in Barbados.