Lafast and BYD

Re: Lafast and BYD

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2024, 10:57 am

An exhibition in central Japan showcases tens of thousands of parts, stripped from the world's top-selling models. Japanese car parts manufacturers were stunned at the advances of Chinese brands BYD and Nio.

Postby MG Man » October 30th, 2024, 2:29 pm

China is the new Korea, which was the new Japan

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 4th, 2024, 2:43 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 7th, 2025, 4:28 pm

This BYD can jump over potholes

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2025, 5:46 pm

is that worth paying double or triple the price locally?
come nah maan

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 7th, 2025, 6:02 pm

That feature isn't enticing at all, most of the potholes people encounter are in zones where you have to drive much slower than shown in the video. You have to be driving at a certain speed in order to activate that jumping feature.

Postby paid_influencer » January 7th, 2025, 6:19 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:This BYD can jump over potholes

the chinese really on a next level oui

Postby alfa » January 7th, 2025, 8:34 pm

Imagine jumping a pot hole to land in a next one

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 8th, 2025, 10:43 am

Until your natural reflex takes over to swerve from the pothole and the car is mid air , you surely gonna flip it.

Postby MG Man » January 8th, 2025, 12:28 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:This BYD can jump over potholes

For Trinidad, it would have to hover

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2025, 12:39 pm

was in a tesla last year in usa
the screen shows the road/lanes around and the cars as well
incl cars on lane perpendicular approaching

it showed quite accurate descriptions of the sizes of the vehicles
anybody knows how it does this?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 8th, 2025, 2:30 pm

pugboy wrote:was in a tesla last year in usa

Self driving cars use cameras, ultrasonic sensors, lidar etc to map out the environment around them

It helps if road markings and signage are present and visible too.

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2025, 4:02 pm

i can understand for lanes alongside
but we were stopped at traffic light and vehicles crossing in front us were displayed from quite a distance

Self driving cars use cameras, ultrasonic sensors, lidar etc to map out the environment around them

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 8th, 2025, 7:28 pm

pugboy wrote:i can understand for lanes alongside
but we were stopped at traffic light and vehicles crossing in front us were displayed from quite a distance

Yup they can "see" pretty far ahead - they have to to be able to react when travelling at speed.

When 5G systems come online the vehicles will be able to talk to each other

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » January 15th, 2025, 1:51 pm

dogg wrote:has there ever been a reliable Chinese designed and manufactured automobile of any kind?

No and there never will be, China isn't interested in quality and reliability they are interested in making money from people stupid enough to fall for something cheap, you get what you pay for, none of these companies like Toyota and Honda are "digging out your eyes" they are neck and neck in competition with low profit margins because competition is cut throat.

You literally get what you pay for, with Chinese you get mostly crap that looks good on the outside when new, they break down quick and you can't get parts for it. People who buy these Chinese vehicles are the type that buy new vehicles and trade it in and replace it with a newer version every 3 to 5 years.

When you buy Toyota you buy it to keep, sometimes for life.

VII

Postby VII » January 18th, 2025, 11:56 am

It was just to show the car's ability, you apply it how you see fit or where it can be applied.

What I was excited about when I first saw this car and others months ago is what that system means for general driving dynamics, and this answers all my questions., it can defy physics in other ways that has the potential to redifine handling and control etc.

The Chinese are on a diffenrt level and not with cars alone, and no fuss no nothing ..
Last edited by VII on January 18th, 2025, 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2025, 3:10 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:
dogg wrote:has there ever been a reliable Chinese designed and manufactured automobile of any kind?

No and there never will be, China isn't interested in quality and reliability they are interested in making money from people stupid enough to fall for something cheap, you get what you pay for, none of these companies like Toyota and Honda are "digging out your eyes" they are neck and neck in competition with low profit margins because competition is cut throat.

You literally get what you pay for, with Chinese you get mostly crap that looks good on the outside when new, they break down quick and you can't get parts for it. People who buy these Chinese vehicles are the type that buy new vehicles and trade it in and replace it with a newer version every 3 to 5 years.

When you buy Toyota you buy it to keep, sometimes for life.

What I'm seeing of the Chinese brands is that many of them are willing to push the boundaries and offer as many features as possible across the model lineup including range, driving assistance, cameras, technology etc that the other brands only offer on their highest-end models or only incrementally add over a long period of time to increase sales - similar to phone manufacturers.
How long the Chinese models last is still to be seen.
What we are seeing though is that they are outselling the Japanese, European and American brands.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 6th, 2025, 8:29 pm

New BYD Yangwang U7

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2025, 8:31 pm

how allyuh justify paying triple what a car should cost?

Postby MaxPower » April 7th, 2025, 11:12 am

Cost in T&T?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 8th, 2025, 9:16 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:New BYD Yangwang U7

So a million @ lafast?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 8th, 2025, 10:00 am

Was watching a YT video from one of those Aussie car sites titled best budget cars you can buy right now. BYD Seal was there.

Then remembered the local dealer for it here prices it as a luxury car.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2025, 11:37 am

sandals man doh play

Dizzy28 wrote:Was watching a YT video from one of those Aussie car sites titled best budget cars you can buy right now. BYD Seal was there.

Then remembered the local dealer for it here prices it as a luxury car.

Postby alfa » April 8th, 2025, 12:47 pm

When they gonna start coming roro?

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2025, 12:58 pm

when the parent company allows them to be sold like a pack of nuts and not via exclusive dealerships

alfa wrote:When they gonna start coming roro?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 16th, 2025, 12:00 am

BYD Shark pickup in T&T

79c54c7e-826f-4e14-8114-762e031087d1.jpeg

96338c1b-3f17-4831-8dfa-1c9f45b813f1.jpeg

04b64663-7bc3-4ac7-9cf2-963854682d72.jpeg

ffea305e-4720-4906-a241-52923c134781.jpeg

10cc4c24-5a75-4bde-b460-fc4bcab581a8.jpeg

526dc06e-a7d5-476a-a90c-9e820ff66e99.jpeg

910df40f-0fc7-44a6-b768-0991ab9cb56c.jpeg

Postby eliteauto » April 16th, 2025, 1:33 am

Price depending, this might be the best pickup option for those looking at a lifestyle vehicle vs a workhorse

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2025, 8:12 am

i saw a byd panel van the other day

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2025, 8:13 am

based on they jook eye pricing
i am guessing $480k

eliteauto wrote:Price depending, this might be the best pickup option for those looking at a lifestyle vehicle vs a workhorse

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 16th, 2025, 8:57 am

^
BYD Shark 6 4x4
PHEV - Plugin Hybrid
$525,000.00

It's listed in the new vehicle prices thread
viewtopic.php?t=237573