MaxPower wrote:Have ah $25k in the bank.
Feel i go look for a desperate chap to buy for 10-1 yes.
South lawyers ...hmmmeliteauto wrote:MaxPower wrote:Have ah $25k in the bank.
That is recorded as being in your account, is whether you can actually withdraw it ( if it's a local bank i.e.). If you can, the Chinese or the South lawyers would be your best bet to get 10
eliteauto wrote:MaxPower wrote:Have ah $25k in the bank.
That is recorded as being in your account, is whether you can actually withdraw it ( if it's a local bank i.e.). If you can, the Chinese or the South lawyers would be your best bet to get 10
Who looking for it? Talk to meh nicepugboy wrote:dat going on long time
how yuh think all the containers come in the bamboo?mero wrote:Feel i go sell a lil 4k usd from meh cc at 8-1 every cycle yes.
Redress10 wrote:jsm1985 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alluh hear me out. Check this.
Trinis living nice. Trinis working in Trinidad. Let us say public service. Teacher etc. Every month they earning 8-15k TT. They never once in their life earned a single US dollar. Yet every single month, they online shopping on Amazon etc. Come summer they booking trips all over the world and paying for their ticket, hotel, meals etc just by swiping that credit card.
Where the USD coming from to meet that demand for the thousands of people who intend to live like this. If they want to spend USD then shouldn't they be working remotely etc? How can you realistically earn TTD but intend to spend USD at the rate that most trinis do and vex when the banks keep tightening the screws?
not sure if you're aware but this is how credit cards work. Trinidad is the only country that I know of that has restrictions like this on USD spending. I work for a MNC and Trinidad is by far and large the worst performing market that we have in terms of ability to convert USD. It is a literal hell hole here.
That is not how credit cards work and I dare you to travel all over the world and try to swipe ya card willy nilly and see if you don't get a surprise or a decline. Your bank is a customer who purchases USD and then sells to you which you then use on your credit cards etc. This is based on availability. The laws of supply and demand still exists here.
USD is not something that grows on trees. It needs to be earned. You earn it by exporting something that the world needs and you are paid in USD. The problem is that you also need to import using USD. The majority of trinbagonians now use USD in their daily lives and use USD in their daily consumption patterns. The added demand has caused stress on the supply.
You working for a MNC is an irrelevant point. Does that MNC pay you in USD. I'm guessing no. Not being able to convert to USD is matter of supply and demand and not some political issue.
Barbados has a cap of about 20k us a year iirc on their credit cards. Im quite sure there are other countries.jsm1985 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alluh hear me out. Check this.
Trinis living nice. Trinis working in Trinidad. Let us say public service. Teacher etc. Every month they earning 8-15k TT. They never once in their life earned a single US dollar. Yet every single month, they online shopping on Amazon etc. Come summer they booking trips all over the world and paying for their ticket, hotel, meals etc just by swiping that credit card.
Where the USD coming from to meet that demand for the thousands of people who intend to live like this. If they want to spend USD then shouldn't they be working remotely etc? How can you realistically earn TTD but intend to spend USD at the rate that most trinis do and vex when the banks keep tightening the screws?
not sure if you're aware but this is how credit cards work. Trinidad is the only country that I know of that has restrictions like this on USD spending. I work for a MNC and Trinidad is by far and large the worst performing market that we have in terms of ability to convert USD. It is a literal hell hole here.
mero wrote:Barbados has a cap of about 20k us a year iirc on their credit cards. Im quite sure there are other countries.jsm1985 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alluh hear me out. Check this.
Dizzy28 wrote:mero wrote:Barbados has a cap of about 20k us a year iirc on their credit cards. Im quite sure there are other countries.jsm1985 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alluh hear me out. Check this.
Barbados's limit is not on CCs only. You have a personal limit which is tied to cash purchases as well as your cards. So you can't double dip by using both.
jsm1985 wrote:Redress10 wrote:jsm1985 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alluh hear me out. Check this.
That is not how credit cards work and I dare you to travel all over the world and try to swipe ya card willy nilly and see if you don't get a surprise or a decline. Your bank is a customer who purchases USD and then sells to you which you then use on your credit cards etc. This is based on availability. The laws of supply and demand still exists here.
USD is not something that grows on trees. It needs to be earned. You earn it by exporting something that the world needs and you are paid in USD. The problem is that you also need to import using USD. The majority of trinbagonians now use USD in their daily lives and use USD in their daily consumption patterns. The added demand has caused stress on the supply.
You working for a MNC is an irrelevant point. Does that MNC pay you in USD. I'm guessing no. Not being able to convert to USD is matter of supply and demand and not some political issue.
Alright so let's tackle this one by one...
1. I travel fairly often, i'm out of the country approx. 15 days out of every month - I spend "willy nilly" from time to time and i've never been declined. Not sure what your point was there.
2. Working for a MNC is relevant to me, yes I am paid in USD. I have several TT credit cards as well as US issued cards.
3. No USD is an economic issue that is a symptom of failed policies and initiatives implemented by the current administration, so yes - i'd consider this a political issue.
Lastly, I have no intention to continue a back and forth with someone who clearly an idiot. I won't be responding to you.
jsm1985 wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:mero wrote:Barbados has a cap of about 20k us a year iirc on their credit cards. Im quite sure there are other countries.jsm1985 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Alluh hear me out. Check this.
Barbados's limit is not on CCs only. You have a personal limit which is tied to cash purchases as well as your cards. So you can't double dip by using both.
Correct, Barbados doesn't have a limit on credit cards specifically - it's a individual annual ceiling. You can walk into any bank in Barbados and get US once you request it in advance. It's not the russian roulette we have here.
Redress10 wrote:Let me put another way for some trinis who just not understanding.
Let us say your child is going to school in the USA. Their school tuition each year is 50k usd. Which one of their parents ever earned and paid taxes of income of 50k usd when they have worked all their lives in Trinidad and earned ttd?
Dizzy28 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Let me put another way for some trinis who just not understanding.
Let us say your child is going to school in the USA. Their school tuition each year is 50k usd. Which one of their parents ever earned and paid taxes of income of 50k usd when they have worked all their lives in Trinidad and earned ttd?
The economic rent from the extraction of natural resources in Trinidad and Tobago belongs to the people of Trinidad and Tobago. The Trini working for TT$ does not mean he is never eligible for US$ that the energy sector bought in.
Redress10 wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Let me put another way for some trinis who just not understanding.
The economic rent from the extraction of natural resources in Trinidad and Tobago belongs to the people of Trinidad and Tobago. The Trini working for TT$ does not mean he is never eligible for US$ that the energy sector bought in.
But how do you access those economic rents? By hard usd or by having your roads be paved etc. We seem to believe that we are owed hard USD so that we can shop online etc. I think those of us old enough to remember when online shopping etc wasn't a thing, the only time ppl cared about accessing a foreign currency was when they were either travelling or sending money to a relative or friend about.
The average trini now expect usd on a daily basis and I expect that demand to be filled as a priority.
Dizzy28 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Let me put another way for some trinis who just not understanding.
But how do you access those economic rents? By hard usd or by having your roads be paved etc. We seem to believe that we are owed hard USD so that we can shop online etc. I think those of us old enough to remember when online shopping etc wasn't a thing, the only time ppl cared about accessing a foreign currency was when they were either travelling or sending money to a relative or friend about.
The average trini now expect usd on a daily basis and I expect that demand to be filled as a priority.
Well then a true float will balance expectations vs reality.
I'll verify laterpugboy wrote:what’s a typical bajan usd cc limit?
Dizzy28 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Let me put another way for some trinis who just not understanding.
Redress10 wrote:Let me put another way for some trinis who just not understanding.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Redress10 wrote:Let me put another way for some trinis who just not understanding.
Why do they need to earn USD directly?
You can use one currency to buy another currency.
There is foreign exchange for a reason. The current bank change rate is 1USD = 6.78TTD
Our problem in T&T is that there is not enough USD available to exchange for TTD. It's a supply and demand issue.
A country can earn USD and have enough to supply the demand of the entire country. If a country's currency is strong globally it can be used to purchase foreign currency. It is not based on an individual but the demand for their country's currency globally.
Here is a listing of foreign echange rates from Republic Bank
https://republictt.com/personal/forex-rates
Redress10 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Redress10 wrote:Let me put another way for some trinis who just not understanding.
There is foreign exchange for a reason. The current bank change rate is 1USD = 6.78TTD
Our problem in T&T is that there is not enough USD available to exchange for TTD. It's a supply and demand issue.
A country can earn USD and have enough to supply the demand of the entire country. If a country's currency is strong globally it can be used to purchase foreign currency. It is not based on an individual but the demand for their country's currency globally.
But if they don't want to earn their own USD for their own consumption then why complain to the government. If we are saying that it's a matter of supply and demand then what is all the fuss about. The country is not in a forex crisis like some people like to claim. The country has enough forex I am sure to pay its internal debt, purchase critical medications etc.
The man who complains about forex shortages might be the man who imports electronics for resale. But if someone is struggling to keep their business afloat because they can't access enough forex to import the electronics then isn't it only natural that the business dies? Wouldn't the businessman who is able to generate his own forex be at an advantageous position to remain in business and flourish vs the one who can't? Why we keep acting as though "the government" owes us forex?
But the point is the TT currency is not strong globally. It probably will never be strong globally in our lifetimes and neither our children. I have never heard a trini enquire about purchasing nigerian currency or indian rupee? It's mainly USD, CAN and gbp. We also need to acknowledge geopolitics and why some currencies are used as a storage of value etc.
Duane i like the point you made that the TTD simply isn't strong , in my view it's overvalued my question is what is propping it up at the moment? Wouldn't a devaluation be necessary to control and curb the demand for forex?Redress10 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Redress10 wrote:Let me put another way for some trinis who just not understanding.
But if they don't want to earn their own USD for their own consumption then why complain to the government. If we are saying that it's a matter of supply and demand then what is all the fuss about. The country is not in a forex crisis like some people like to claim. The country has enough forex I am sure to pay its internal debt, purchase critical medications etc.
The man who complains about forex shortages might be the man who imports electronics for resale. But if someone is struggling to keep their business afloat because they can't access enough forex to import the electronics then isn't it only natural that the business dies? Wouldn't the businessman who is able to generate his own forex be at an advantageous position to remain in business and flourish vs the one who can't? Why we keep acting as though "the government" owes us forex?
But the point is the TT currency is not strong globally. It probably will never be strong globally in our lifetimes and neither our children. I have never heard a trini enquire about purchasing nigerian currency or indian rupee? It's mainly USD, CAN and gbp. We also need to acknowledge geopolitics and why some currencies are used as a storage of value etc.
pugboy wrote:it doesnt help that america simply prints more money and artificially props up their currency to keep usd the defacto base currency in the western world
hover11 wrote:Because they are the world currency the rule of inflation doesn't apply to them as the demand for the currency is always therepugboy wrote:it doesnt help that america simply prints more money and artificially props up their currency to keep usd the defacto base currency in the western world