2024 United States Presidential Elections - Donald Trump historic comeback!

Who in your opinion, not who you prefer, will win the 2024 US presidential elections?

Harris
46%
Trump
54%

Total votes: 50

Re: 2024 United States Presidential Elections - Donald Trump historic comeback!

Postby timelapse » April 3rd, 2025, 1:44 pm

Since we like to copy Murica , when are we going to support local production with laws and policies?

Postby bluefete » April 3rd, 2025, 2:04 pm

Dow Down 1,333 points so far. F ------------ Donald Trump.

Good time to buy though.

Postby bluefete » April 3rd, 2025, 2:08 pm

bluefete wrote:
pugboy wrote:so how this affecting the avg trini online shopper via skybox?

Oh gosh pugboy, you smarter than that.

The cost of anything you buy online will escalate.

US importers pay the tariffs, not T&T importers

A US 10% tariff on T&T means that any products the US imports from T&T will be charged 10% extra to be paid for by the US importer. So all the methanol, natural gas and urea that T&T exports to the US will now cost the US more - T&T does not pay the tariff, the US does - the idea is to force US production of those products giving US companies more sales rather than buying it cheaper from T&T or elsewhere.

Duane, this is a global tariff at varying rates. The US producer / consumer pays initially but any goods for export from the USA which contains imported components of any kind will cost more. So if you buy a laptop from the USA that is essentially made in China - guess what?

And who is to say that made in USA will eventually be cheaper?

I didn't say it will be cheaper. I said the idea the US administration has is that the goods will be made in America instead, bringing more jobs to Americans and American factories. An "idea" doesn't mean it will work.

If this is the pain DT talked about to MAGA, we have to wait and see how this "idea" works out.

The US stock market has lost 4,000 points in just a couple weeks thanks to this "idea".

Postby pugboy » April 3rd, 2025, 2:10 pm

and he blue eyed boy elon losing value all around too

Postby matr1x » April 3rd, 2025, 2:53 pm

That tarrif on sweat rice gonna be real

Postby Dizzy28 » April 3rd, 2025, 3:27 pm

timelapse wrote:Since we like to copy Murica , when are we going to support local production with laws and policies?

Local production is a facade when the most we can do is value add...either through assembly or the utilization of our cheap energy to transform raw materials.

We will still need to import all raw materials.

Postby Chimera » April 3rd, 2025, 4:07 pm

screwbash wrote:
Chimera wrote:
screwbash wrote:what allyuh beating up over. the tariff is goods ENTERING the USA not goods you buy online or goods leaving the usa. the only way made in USA goods can go up is if yuh chinese prime minister decide to raise tariff on american goods entering TT. doh get tie up on all the bs idiots talking.

BUT IT GOOD FOR ALL THEM BUSH PEOPLE THAT WANT THEY CHIEF CURRY AND CHINEE MANGO WHILE LIVING IN THE USA. Trump should watch all them who buying that and deport they MC
List the last 10 things you buy online and see how much of it was made in the usa

I stop buying online long time an also from facebook marketplace. I fed up not get exactly what i want. I have to see it an make sure it is what i want b4 i buy. Once a year i go up buy what i want if i want something. This online stores to too much scamps even amazon.
Okay....Same question though

These once a year trips to buy stuff...how much of it actually made in the usa?

Taxing all incoming goods gonna be a nightmare logistically.

Cuz instead of it being free flowing and being delivered to end user....now everything will have a extra step in the supply chain....customs fees when there wasn't any before.

Items being bonded until payment is made etc.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2025, 11:40 pm

https://www.factcheck.org/2025/04/trump ... iff-chart/

the Trump administration used quite a simple calculation: the country’s trade deficit divided by its exports to the United States times 1/2. That’s it.

The calculation was first suggested by journalist James Surowiecki in a post on X and backed up by Wall Street analysts. The Trump administration later confirmed that was the calculation it used.

For example, America’s trade deficit with China in 2024 was $295.4 billion, and the United States imported $439.9 billion worth of Chinese goods. That means China’s trade surplus with the United States was 67% of the value of its exports — a value the Trump administration labeled as “tariff charged to USA.”

But it was no such thing.

“While these new tariff measures have been framed as ‘reciprocal’ tariffs, it turns out the policy is actually one of surplus targeting,” noted Mike O’Rourke, chief marketing strategist at Jones Trading, in a note to investors Wednesday.

“There does not appear to have been any tariffs used in the calculation of the rate. The Trump administration is specifically targeting nations with large trade surpluses with the United States relative to their exports to the United States,” he added.

The simple calculation used by the Trump administration could have broad implications for countries America depends on for goods — and the global companies that supply them.

“Knowing how these rates were calculated highlights that they are generally going to be most severe on the nations that US companies rely heavily upon in their supply chain,” O’Rourke said. “It is hard to imagine how these tariffs would not wreak havoc upon the profit margins of major multinational corporations.”

https://edition.cnn.com/2025/04/03/econ ... index.html

Postby paid_influencer » April 4th, 2025, 7:58 am

Dizzy28 wrote:These tariffs could be a precursor to something big in the future geopolitically. The Russian war in Ukraine has shown good ole manufacturing is still needed. Big guns don't shoot ppt presentations or code r.e..knowledge economy. America lags behind China on most manufacturung fronts and Trump could be preparing the American economy for self sufficiency in the event of all out global war in a few years.

It's what makes sense of all scenarios. It's also frightening

This has always been the reality tho. It is just Trump was the first president to be bold enough to upset the capitalists to force what needs to be done in the national interest.

But here's the real scary thing: he's trying to reverse a generation's worth of neoliberal rot in 5 years.

It is very likely his time runs out before any necessary course correction can be completed. The capitalists will regain power and move back into the neoliberal feeding trough, all that it means for the real future of the america now that you've finally opened your eyes.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 4th, 2025, 8:33 am

Special relationship!!
IMG-20250404-WA0000.jpg

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » April 4th, 2025, 8:39 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Special relationship!! IMG-20250404-WA0000.jpg

prices in all USA caribbean grocerys going up

price for roti and doubles go have to go up :drinking:
no more $1 chubby :cry:

https://www.laprogressive.com/progressive-issues/adolf-hitler-and-donald-trump

Postby hover11 » April 4th, 2025, 8:53 am

I don't understand if the US wanted to raise revenue why not just increase US visas prices. Ppl will pay whatever price increase

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 4th, 2025, 9:34 am

Trump is a good businessman

Postby redmanjp » April 4th, 2025, 9:58 am

hover11 wrote:I don't understand if the US wanted to raise revenue why not just increase US visas prices. Ppl will pay whatever price increase

It's not about raising revenue but bringing back manufacturing and jobs to the US

antlind

Postby antlind » April 4th, 2025, 2:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:I don't understand if the US wanted to raise revenue why not just increase US visas prices. Ppl will pay whatever price increase

It's not about raising revenue but bringing back manufacturing and jobs to the US

Bringing back jobs to the US is all well and good. But then these US workers have to be paid in US$ and not Indian Rupees (as an example). The end result will be higher cost for US manufactured items. So while he may be creating US jobs, he will be increasing the cost of living for everyone.

Postby hover11 » April 4th, 2025, 2:07 pm

antlind wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Bringing back jobs to the US is all well and good. But then these US workers have to be paid in US$ and not Indian Rupees (as an example). The end result will be higher cost for US manufactured items. So while he may be creating US jobs, he will be increasing the cost of living for everyone.
Get ready for the 5000 USD IPHONE, like I said before inelastic goods will continue to sell. Ppl will have to look for substitutes for elastic goods. Economics will come into play where ppl have to decide what is truly for money

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby bluefete » April 6th, 2025, 1:33 pm

hover11 wrote:
antlind wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Get ready for the 5000 USD IPHONE, like I said before inelastic goods will continue to sell. Ppl will have to look for substitutes for elastic goods. Economics will come into play where ppl have to decide what is truly for money

256GB iPhone 16 Pro from $1,100 to an eye-watering $3,500 -Wedbush Securities analyst Dan Ives.

Postby hover11 » April 6th, 2025, 1:43 pm

bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:
antlind wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

256GB iPhone 16 Pro from $1,100 to an eye-watering $3,500 -Wedbush Securities analyst Dan Ives.
Ppl will continue to buy that's the weird thing

Postby st7 » April 6th, 2025, 1:46 pm

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:
antlind wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

and they are free to do so. what's the problem here?

Postby hover11 » April 6th, 2025, 6:58 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:
antlind wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Problem is that inherently causes inflation and then exacerbates the problem

Postby st7 » April 6th, 2025, 7:16 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:
antlind wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Problem is that inherently causes inflation and then exacerbates the problem

how price of bodi affected by an item that went up in price?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2025, 11:50 am

You're watching a modern day Nero setting fire to global markets, but also burning Rome.

antlind

Postby antlind » April 7th, 2025, 2:15 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Image

You're watching a modern day Nero setting fire to global markets, but also burning Rome.

April 7, 2025 = Orange Monday

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2025, 2:47 pm

They conveniently left out Obama's first term
The S&P fell 15% within his first 100 days.It was still well within the crash of wall street investment banks.

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2025, 7:17 pm

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2025, 8:49 pm

How can one trust the justice system of your country when beforehand you gonna know how judges are gonna rule based on which president put them there.

Biden and other Democratic presidential appointed judges on lower circuits have been pushing back on deportations and in this case all the Conservative appointed judges were pro deport and the three Dem appointed judges were anti deport. Coney Barret was semi dissenting.

Screenshot_20250407-204608.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » April 7th, 2025, 8:54 pm

I like the sound of 'rapid deportations'

once they ketch them trinis ducking the system, send them back one time

also

Gn8axcKWUAA06Kz.jpeg

funny picture aside, the stock market is not the economy. If he gets American manufacturing again and self-sufficient again, that is the real win.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2025, 9:04 pm

They conveniently left out Obama's first term
The S&P fell 15% within his first 100 days.It was still well within the crash of wall street investment banks.

Yeah that had to do with the ongoing financial crisis from before he was even inaugurated - not because of policies he implemented

Screenshot 2025-04-07 at 9.20.51 PM.jpg

"Obama took office amid the financial crisis. Stocks were in a freefall and hit bottom nearly two months after his inauguration. Equities then rebounded and finished Mr. Obama’s first year up more than 30 percent.

Mr. Trump, by contrast, became president during one of the longest sustained bull markets in history, and stocks have continued to set record highs during his tenure."
https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/201 ... -year.html

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2025, 9:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I like the sound of 'rapid deportations'

once they ketch them trinis ducking the system, send them back one time

also

Gn8axcKWUAA06Kz.jpeg

funny picture aside, the stock market is not the economy. If he gets American manufacturing again and self-sufficient again, that is the real win.

And things will become very expensive for consumers when you have to pay US$28.00 per hour for labour.