Digicel launches eSIM service in T&T

joshuarshah

Re: Digicel launches eSIM service in T&T

Postby joshuarshah » December 20th, 2023, 4:57 pm

That is nonsense. You should probably file a report with TATT cause this is extortionary practises that Digicel is using here.

platinumedition wrote:The QR code says its invalid. Keep in mind they didn’t even want to email me it. If anyone has gotten a eSIM that they can reuse/swap without going into Digicel please let me know which branch so I can go there. Because 50$ to switch my sim everything is absolutely rubbish

Postby maj. tom » December 20th, 2023, 5:43 pm

Let's clear something up about eSIMS. First of all the carrier has to enable a feature called eSIM Quick Transfer if you want eSIMs to work like how Apple intended. Most carriers don't because how can they make money if swapping an eSIM is free? If you want a list of such carriers https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT209096 and scroll to "Wireless carriers that support eSIM Quick Transfer"

Ok back to the rest of the world.
A new esim profile is considered a new "sim card" or all intents and purposes. It has an ICCID just like a physical sim card. It's unique and tied to your account and ID. It is tied to the IMEI of your phone. It is generated based on your unique device's IMEI. A phone number cannot have two sims/esims. Only one.

If you want a new physical sim card it costs $50.

If you want to transfer your esim to a new device it costs the same as a new physical sim card.

My experience with a non-Quick Transfer carrier is that you use WiFi, log into the carrier's account page, find the esim option and type in the new device IMEI. It will generate a new eSIM profile based on it and untie the previous eSIM profile associated with your phone number, then apply the new eSIM profile to the same phone number. This was only allowed once per billing cycle of 30 days. If you bought a new phone within 30 days of first activating your eSIM on your phone number, then hard luck use a physical sim meanwhile on a new phone number. That profile was unique and cannot and will never be used again. The QR code is yours for that one device for that one time. It cannot be transferred to any other device. If you flash-erase a phone the IMEI won't change. But the eSIM QR code is invalid after that one time use and you need to buy another. Your account will be charged. I was charged about $10 CAD after tax on my account just like for a physical sim card. An eSIM has all these features of security compared to a physical sim card though, but knowing all this now in Trinidad you could decide if you even want to swap to an eSIM over a physical. However inevitably all new reputable devices within a few years will end physical sim card support anyway following Apple.

If you want this policy changed for local carriers, complain to TATT, but really hard luck they can't do sheit.

assassin

Postby assassin » December 20th, 2023, 6:26 pm

I don't know for digicel as I went to get an esim and was told the system is down and they don't know when it will be up. And it is unpredictable so I just have to keep checking back at random lol

So then I got an esim from bmobile
They gave me a printout with QR code and other details and said to keep it safe

If I want to change phone, I was advised
1. Connect phone to WiFi
2. Delete esim from phone
3. Connect new phone to WiFi
4. Scan QR and enable esim

I'll try to swap phones next week and hope for the best

Postby maj. tom » December 20th, 2023, 6:40 pm

That's how the eSIM Quick Transfer is supposed to work. If not, it's up to the carrier activation. Tell us if the eSIM transfer works with bmobile without going through them directly. I will definitely be very surprised if they have the Quick Transfer feature enabled on their eSIM system. They have a 1 UP on Digicel there then.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 20th, 2023, 9:54 pm

Well I got my eSIM transfer working with digicel no problem last month.

Had a 13pro, got an eSIM activated a month before traveling and took a picture of the QR code.

Went Apple and traded up to the 15pro did the transfer in store and scanned the Digicel QR, instantly activated and got the text. Didn’t have roaming on the phone either, I was using a US eSIM

Postby maj. tom » December 20th, 2023, 10:28 pm

So Digicel then has the Quick Transfer feature activated? @platinumedition was the first activation done within 30 days of you trying this? Was it an iPhone?

Yuh does can't really make out what is the real problem because all these cell phone store workers/CSR ent know anything except what they are trained to do in the box and does tell you rel stupidness. If it worked for nick639v2 above, how they can tell you it's only valid for one time use within 24 hours? Is either the carrier has it and transfers are free, or they don't and charge a new sim card fee. I only have experience with the latter.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » December 20th, 2023, 11:28 pm

maj. tom wrote:So Digicel then has the Quick Transfer feature activated? @platinumedition was the first activation done within 30 days of you trying this? Was it an iPhone?

Yuh does can't really make out what is the real problem because all these cell phone store workers/CSR ent know anything except what they are trained to do in the box and does tell you rel stupidness. If it worked for nick639v2 above, how they can tell you it's only valid for one time use within 24 hours? Is either the carrier has it and transfers are free, or they don't and charge a new sim card fee. I only have experience with the latter.

Those CSR's don't know what they're saying. I have changed multiple phones and transferred my digi e-sim without issues. Did it with my a phone I upgraded too last week. I have a picture of my QR code saved, so I just scanned that and boom, it's activated.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 21st, 2023, 9:58 am

Can I get a new digicel esim online or I need to go in a store.
I wanna do the same thing like Nick, travelling next year so I have some time.

Postby maj. tom » December 21st, 2023, 10:16 am

To transfer physical sim to esim I think you have to do it in a store or through the online account (not sure about this here). The physical sim card will stop working as soon as you switch to esim and if you want to switch back you have to visit the store again and buy a new sim card, but your phone number will be retained.

To just buy a new plan with a new number and activate it as an esim like a visiting tourist it can be done online/Digicel app. And then you just keep that esim phone number and continue to top up to retain it.

The Digicel app is a real snooper though. Had to uninstall it. Was tracking everything on my device like fb. Everything. If I disabled notifications it stopped working and couldn't log in.

platinumedition

Postby platinumedition » December 21st, 2023, 4:49 pm

maj. tom wrote:So Digicel then has the Quick Transfer feature activated? @platinumedition was the first activation done within 30 days of you trying this? Was it an iPhone?

Yes I was switching from an iPhone to another iPhone. First my wife went and swapped her physical sim to eSIM and they told her it would not be able to be used on another phone unless she came in and paid 50$. She did it as she was traveling to meet me the next week. She bought the new iPhone and was trying the swap eSIM wirelessly option but it didn’t work kept getting an error message and digicel didn’t want to give her the QR code.

Fast forward 2 weeks after we both came back and i needed an eSIM also as I had a physical sim and the iPhone 15 pro models we bought only takes eSIM. I contacted Digicel customer service and they said I’m supposed to get the code. I made that clear at the store and they sent me it.

I also mentioned question 20 on their website

https://support-tt.digicelgroup.com/hc/ ... gicel-eSIM

However, I tried swapping within the 30 days so if there is a wait period then that can be the issue and then it would make some sought of sense because paying everytime is robbery.

I went to bmobile and was told that swapping eSIM is possible but where I live bmobile signal isn’t the best.
However, I will wait 30 days and see.

nick639v2

Digicel launches eSIM service in T&T

Postby nick639v2 » December 21st, 2023, 7:58 pm

quick transfer within the iOS is NOT working. But once you have the QR code and rescan then it’s going tru… I literally just did it again today from a 13 to 15 non pro models eSIM was activated August of this year on the 13

platinumedition

Postby platinumedition » December 22nd, 2023, 10:46 am

nick639v2 wrote:

quick transfer within the iOS is NOT working. But once you have the QR code and rescan then it’s going tru… I literally just did it again today from a 13 to 15 non pro models eSIM was activated August of this year on the 13

I got the code so I will see what happens after 30 days. If that is case then sales reps should give that info. Then again they probably really clueless.

Logged into the site and saw it saying I can only download the eSIM to a device only once
IMG_0026.jpeg

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » February 28th, 2025, 2:32 pm

Seems that Digicel has also launched VoLTE like bmobile?

Was talking to a Digicel user on a cellular call and they had access to data, can anyone confirm? Haven't seen any announcement.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » February 28th, 2025, 3:00 pm

jsm1985 wrote:Seems that Digicel has also launched VoLTE like bmobile?

Was talking to a Digicel user on a cellular call and they had access to data, can anyone confirm? Haven't seen any announcement.

If it remained LTE while on the call, then yes.

Sometimes you can still get Data with H+

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » March 1st, 2025, 7:29 am

Hmmmm… what was reason these providers delayed enabling this feature for all these years ?

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » March 1st, 2025, 5:22 pm

juswil868 wrote:

Nothing on Samsung phones for Digicel. Still missing the IMS APN and th VoLTE switch for my Digicel SIM.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » March 6th, 2025, 11:28 am

joshuarshah wrote:
juswil868 wrote:

Nothing on Samsung phones for Digicel. Still missing the IMS APN and th VoLTE switch for my Digicel SIM.

The person was using an iPhone so i'm not sure. They didn't change any settings so it seems like it was automatic.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 6th, 2025, 12:11 pm

On bmobile with an iPhone.
I didn’t change any settings, APN etc.
the VoLTE switch just showed up and I turned it on and I can now use data while on a call.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » March 6th, 2025, 2:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:On bmobile with an iPhone.
I didn’t change any settings, APN etc.
the VoLTE switch just showed up and I turned it on and I can now use data while on a call.

bmobile/ iPhone user: I had to call in and have them activate it on their end.

chineedude

Postby chineedude » March 20th, 2025, 6:01 am

I’ve used an eSIM while traveling, and it was so much more convenient than dealing with a physical SIM card. No need to find a local store or swap out tiny cards, just scan a QR code, and you're set. It’s especially useful when visiting multiple countries since you can switch plans easily without the hassle.

If you’re planning to travel and want an easy solution for staying connected, eSIM Plus offers different data plans depending on your needs. It saves a lot on roaming charges, and setting it up is super straightforward.