A good retirement plan

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby hover11 » February 21st, 2025, 7:59 am

Paid , honorable no need to argue over retirement age and senior citizens grant. NIS will crash in 10 years mark my words. The system cannot sustain itself and continuously spends more than it earns due to politics. Senior citizens grant is a political football that can only go so far until it is no longer feasible for votes.

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2025, 8:39 am

Idk about allyuh, but I'd vote for anyone who willing to stop nis... I'd rather save that money on my own, don't need anyone to save for me.

Postby hover11 » February 21st, 2025, 9:23 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Idk about allyuh, but I'd vote for anyone who willing to stop nis... I'd rather save that money on my own, don't need anyone to save for me.
Shakes then how them single mothers will make out when their gun men get gun down. Fun fact : a man could have 10 children and only 50 contributions die from the usual cause of death, multiple gunshot wounds and those 10 children will be taken cared for by NIS until age 19. Paying much more than what he put into the system to begin with. Tell me how this making any sense

Postby mero » February 21st, 2025, 9:35 am

Paid talking real greasy these days boy.

Postby eliteauto » February 21st, 2025, 10:05 am

paid_influencer wrote:here's the thing. You're using the argument that people should save for a rainy day. That's good, you were taught that. You have extra income so you think everyone has extra income.

But do you realize that for people who making below a living wage, people in poverty, every day is a rainy day? There is no extra income. Try surviving on minimum wage, which hundreds of thousands of people on the island do every week, and talk about annuity and whatever you rich people have.

This jackassness about raising NIS pension to 65 is a big f**king ashole thing. They want people to work and work and work and dead without ever getting a day in retirement. It have plenty of people who don't qualify for NIS pension either because they can't get stable employment, are self-employed like planting and selling in the market, or they have jobs at home, like raising children. These people have made legitimate contribution to the development of the country over decades and have legitimate claim to a right to retire (which really means being able to afford food and medications when you can no longer work).

If you rather live in a society that doesn't care about people, well you get what you deserve when it comes to your doorstep.

I hear you but it appears that you're missing the understanding on a few small but very important aspects wrt financial management on a personal level that most people in the position you describe miss or neglect or ignore as well that keeps them in the position they're in.

First off, we're all free to make choices. And directly connected to those choices, are little things that I like to call consequences.
Now, at any time in your existence, have you ever observed, that for the most part it's the people who make the least amount of money, who make the worst choices on how they spend their money? It's been documented, and obsessed for a very long time. It's part of the reason why the old saying "a fool and his money are soon parted" exists, and the more recent version of "poor people spend their money trying to look rich, and rich people tend to dress simply, and look like they're poor".
Simply put, if you make better decisions on what you do with your money, regardless of how little you may have, the better your chances of improving your self and your situation. And don't say it's impossible for them, because I can tell you, in the early 90's I was 17, & I was working for $200 a week, and I was able to buy and customize a ride within a a year on that. All then, no partying and spending on alcohol and tobacco and weed and trying to impress people for me. Plenty walking to and from work, no buying readymade food, and I was always looking for other ways to make more money, taking on odd jobs like unloading containers on a evening, even though I tired af and might be hungry no ass. I chose to do these things, to achieve my goals. Which brings me to the second point.

Sacrifice.
Most poor people today, tbh, are unwilling to sacrifice and be uncomfortable today for what they want to achieve tomorrow, and try to use the tired excuse of them being poor to justify why they don't, and a great deal of the time, they sacrifice for things that simply do not last or yield them any benefits in the long run. If you don't believe it, go to a shoe store, and pay attention watch and see how many ghetto youths come in and pay attention to how many of them "poor people" buying $700-$1500 sneakers. We live in an age where the majority of people seek instant gratification, and fixated on material things, and it's fine think that way, if you can afford to. But the problem starts, when people who CAN'T afford to think or live that way, aspire to that lifestyle, and go out of their way to try to look like they can.

Nothing worth having or accomplishing comes without a person actively making the choice to make a willing sacrifice, (unless it's a gift or an inheritance, in which case someone else bore the sacrifice for the recipient) and if a person is not willing to accept the pain, they can expect the gain all day long, just don't be too disappointed when it never comes.

Make better choices, and be ready to have less fun now to get what you really NEED and want later
It's really that simple

You're talking about personal responsibility in a place where group victimhood is encouraged. Btw how does that sound like you were working in a cloth store so? Salary and extra job emptying containers sounds very similar to my experience

Postby st7 » February 21st, 2025, 10:28 am

if paid struggling with money so, how he could afford vasectomy operation and giving PEA donations so?

sound like he pretending again for attention, or he off his meds.

Postby The_Honourable » February 21st, 2025, 11:12 am

paid_influencer wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:So... basically every day for decades was a rainy day for you? Saving for a rainy day is the most casual and basic financial lesson you learn. If someone is in a rainy day for decades says a lot about that person.

Are you dense? Stupid? I gave you a fact and you just ignored it because it was inconvenient to you. Are you that stupid?

All that talk about underclass and exploitation is just a front. You still haven't answered my question. All these decades you were depending on a government pension when you reach 65? additionally, no plan b in place if the ministry blank yuh?

The current pension is at 60, not 65 jackass.

When Manning switched the senior citizens pension to a grant 20 or so years ago, that should have alerted you that getting this specific pension wasn't a guarantee. I would like to think you looked at other investment vehicles to make sure that you would be ok at retirement. But knowing you, you probably didn't want to save your money with a bank, credit union, insurance or virtually any other financial institution as they "encourage the capitalist system."

Now machel song triggering you because you don't have a pension and feel entitled to one by the government?

Stop

At this point I feel you need somebody affected by the policies you advocate to hold you down and planass you and hopefully beat the stupid out of you. You really that dense you need to feel to understand.

Being broke is one thing. Being poor is another, but rainy days for over four decades? Big man that sound like a YOU problem.

Here are the following facts:

- NIS Pension: 65 years whether employed or not (OR 60 years provided that you are no longer in Insurable Employment).

- Senior Citizen's Pension (Grant): 65 years or older (and have an income below $5,500 TTD).

So are you arguing for the NIS pension or the Senior Citizens Grant? Did you apply for both? what was the result? did you give the field officers a lecture and that saucy energy so they blanked you? Are you a failure for poor retirement planning and haven't come to terms? Since YOU brought it up, we need answers.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 21st, 2025, 11:30 am

For me, I have no problem with contributing more in NIS or other taxes if the average joe, regardless of his life choices, will get money when he reaches 65 if his income is below 5500

I do not want to see our senior citizens suffering in their last few days on this earth

Re: A good retirement plan

Postby hover11 » February 21st, 2025, 11:35 am

PariaMan wrote:For me, I have no problem with contributing more in NIS or other taxes if the average joe, regardless of his life choices, will get money when he reaches 65 if his income is below 5500

I do not want to see our senior citizens suffering in their last few days on this earth
PariaMan, how many ppl living to see 65 now? Forget the old ppl that exist already. How many ppl you know actually retiring vs how many young ppl you know dying/ unemployed at the moment

Postby alfa » February 21st, 2025, 11:57 am

We have an aging population. With better medical care and education people are living longer, that's why nis wants to raise the age to 65 as it's going to be unsustainable soon

Postby hover11 » February 21st, 2025, 12:04 pm

alfa wrote:We have an aging population. With better medical care and education people are living longer, that's why nis wants to raise the age to 65 as it's going to be unsustainable soon
It is already unsustainable..... if every year you as an individual spend more than you earn what will occur

Last edited by hover11 on February 21st, 2025, 12:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 21st, 2025, 12:04 pm

I think what they should do is make 60 retirement optional and 65 mandatory with the later you leave the more you collect

If I am to judge by where I work, more than 50 percent of retirees actually wanted to work longer, with some coming back on contract.

Postby hover11 » February 21st, 2025, 12:10 pm

PariaMan wrote:I think what they should do is make 60 retirement optional and 65 mandatory with the later you leave the more you collect

If I am to judge by where I work, more than 50 percent of retirees actually wanted to work longer, with some coming back on contract.
That's just it the ones that coming back into the labour force don't pay nis so the board loses money two fold there. As they collecting pension and taking a job where a young person could have secured to pay NIS

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2025, 12:55 pm

yet parliamentarians get their pensions jacked up

death365

Postby death365 » February 21st, 2025, 12:56 pm

lets see.

$5 lotto twice ah week for 40 years ..... bout $21,000 in a lifetime

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2025, 1:00 pm

that video saying once you don’t have an income over $5500 you eligible for the senior social grant
it’s not as straightforward as that
those officers will look at you and say you don’t qualify if they think you earned too much prior

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 21st, 2025, 1:35 pm

The best retirement plan is to plan to retire somewhere else. Make your plan South America or Southeast Asia.

Postby zoom rader » February 21st, 2025, 9:23 pm

triniterribletim wrote:The best retirement plan is to plan to retire somewhere else. Make your plan South America or Southeast Asia.
Yes,

I visited Brazil last year and was impressed.

Even Colombia & Argentina was good

death365

Postby death365 » February 22nd, 2025, 3:59 am

Argentina is NOT a very good place for non-whites.
triniterribletim wrote:The best retirement plan is to plan to retire somewhere else. Make your plan South America or Southeast Asia.
Yes,

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 22nd, 2025, 4:56 am

death365 wrote:Argentina is NOT a very good place for non-whites.
Yes,

Have you ever been to Argentina? I have, and Zoom has as well. I am quite sure neither Zoom nor I are White. You have to get over this imagined "people are going to be racist to me" if you go to a place with a decent standard of living. I was in South Africa and Africans warned me about other groups of Africans from different tribes, Xhosa warned me about Zulu and Zulu warned me about Xhosa and both said not to trust Nigerians because they are all criminals there. There is a whole world out there to see and live in.

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2025, 5:03 am

PariaMan wrote:For me, I have no problem with contributing more in NIS or other taxes if the average joe, regardless of his life choices, will get money when he reaches 65 if his income is below 5500

Imagine, you living in a rented 2 bedroom apartment with yuh wife and 4 kids, and you have a pusherman for a neighbor, and you decide to go a build and furnish a house with your money for yuh neighbor, and pay for the bills and groceries for him too, just because he working nowhere and don't have a house.
Sounds crazy right?
Well that's what you saying, when you say you don't mind paying for others to be taken care of.

That's a nice thing to do, but it does nothing to fix the problem of people not paying into the system but still want to get something from the system, it'll actually exacerbate it.
Because in the end, if that's the way it's done, nobody going to want to pay NIS, and the end result will be that we'll have more people drawing NIS benefits that contributors. That's the fastest way to collapse a pension system.

Besides that, it sends the wrong message. It basically absolves people of their responsibility to prepare for their retirement, and encourages wotlessness and a welfare mindset. If you don't mind paying the price for others poor life choices in order for them to benefit, that's ok. But don't expect everyone else to. Because it have people paying into the system right now and ketchin they royal arse, and if we're to make what you saying the operating standard, that means more ketch arse for them, while the wotless minded people with a welfare mindset reap the reward. People need to start being made to suffer or enjoy the consequences of their choices for themselves, not have others pay the price for their mistakes.

Now, I not saying toss all the elderly to the wayside. There's housewives, who've never worked a job, and disabled people and persons with other issues who literally cannot work a job and contribute to the system, and these people need to be taken care of and should be. By all means, help those who need and deserve help, especially when they are in their position through no fault of their own.

But don't tell me that I or anyone else should be ok with being made to foot the bill for the retirement of a big able-bodied hard back man who work and get pay under the table his whole life and never contribute to his retirement, or even worse never worked a day in he life. That eh making no sense. That sounding like St. Ann's outpatient kinda thinking.

death365

Postby death365 » February 22nd, 2025, 8:58 am

Yes ... more or less 2 and a half months... visiting as ah tourist is vastly different than trying to live there.

Was on training.
triniterribletim wrote:
death365 wrote:Argentina is NOT a very good place for non-whites.
Yes,

Have you ever been to Argentina? I have, and Zoom has as well. I am quite sure neither Zoom nor I are White. You have to get over this imagined "people are going to be racist to me" if you go to a place with a decent standard of living. I was in South Africa and Africans warned me about other groups of Africans from different tribes, Xhosa warned me about Zulu and Zulu warned me about Xhosa and both said not to trust Nigerians because they are all criminals there. There is a whole world out there to see and live in.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 22nd, 2025, 10:08 am

Imagine, you living in a rented 2 bedroom apartment with yuh wife and 4 kids, and you have a pusherman for a neighbor, and you decide to go a build and furnish a house with your money for yuh neighbor, and pay for the bills and groceries for him too, just because he working nowhere and don't have a house.
Sounds crazy right?
Well that's what you saying, when you say you don't mind paying for others to be taken care of.

That's a nice thing to do, but it does nothing to fix the problem of people not paying into the system but still want to get something from the system, it'll actually exacerbate it.
Because in the end, if that's the way it's done, nobody going to want to pay NIS, and the end result will be that we'll have more people drawing NIS benefits that contributors. That's the fastest way to collapse a pension system.

Besides that, it sends the wrong message. It basically absolves people of their responsibility to prepare for their retirement, and encourages wotlessness and a welfare mindset. If you don't mind paying the price for others poor life choices in order for them to benefit, that's ok. But don't expect everyone else to. Because it have people paying into the system right now and ketchin they royal arse, and if we're to make what you saying the operating standard, that means more ketch arse for them, while the wotless minded people with a welfare mindset reap the reward. People need to start being made to suffer or enjoy the consequences of their choices for themselves, not have others pay the price for their mistakes.

Now, I not saying toss all the elderly to the wayside. There's housewives, who've never worked a job, and disabled people and persons with other issues who literally cannot work a job and contribute to the system, and these people need to be taken care of and should be. By all means, help those who need and deserve help, especially when they are in their position through no fault of their own.

But don't tell me that I or anyone else should be ok with being made to foot the bill for the retirement of a big able-bodied hard back man who work and get pay under the table his whole life and never contribute to his retirement, or even worse never worked a day in he life. That eh making no sense. That sounding like St. Ann's outpatient kinda thinking.
Whether someone made good or bad life choices when they reach a certain age and need help, I will help them.

That's just me you however are free to ge different.

I do not think it is right to look at an old and feeble senior citizen and let them suffer because of earlier life choices.

We do not know what guided those choices. Also, who are we to stand judgment of a person's life we are not God.

Who can help the less fortunate should especially those who reach an age where they can no longer care for themselves.

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2025, 11:41 am

PariaMan wrote:Whether someone made good or bad life choices when they reach a certain age and need help, I will help them.

That's just me you however are free to ge different.

I do not think it is right to look at an old and feeble senior citizen and let them suffer because of earlier life choices.

We do not know what guided those choices. Also, who are we to stand judgment of a person's life we are not God.

Who can help the less fortunate should especially those who reach an age where they can no longer care for themselves.

Understand this
What guided their choices, is irrelevant. What matters is what choice they made.
If you rob a bank because you broke, you shouldn't make a jail because you were broke when you decided to rob the bank? So, why doesn't everybody who's broke rob banks, since the reason why is more important than the action one takes? Best of luck with that when you in front the judge.
You in the habit of giving $100 bills to homeless drug addicts who have no intention or desire for rehabilitation when they ask you for money? I seriously doubt it. But if you are, kudos to you. I can't say keep up the good work, because that's not a good thing to do, not for the addict at least. But I digress.

You think nobody has the right to judge anyone because of their choices, and that's all fine and dandy. But what you don't seem to be able to come to grips with is that, for the most part, people aren't judging them, they're judging the choices they made, and the consequences of those choices, to determine whether or not they're worthy of what they want, which in this case happens to be free money at the expense everyone else, when they could have avoided the problem they're in if they did like everyone else and secured their future early instead of doing God alone knows what with their resources in their younger days.

Like I said, help whoever you want. Just know to yourself that help should go the needy who are deserving of the assistance. They're the ones who should get priority, first and foremost. Because if we were all as a society to go by your standard, keeping in mind that all resources are finite in nature, a lot of very deserving people won't get the help they need, because it will be going to a great many who are undeserving of it.

EDIT

why you think that one of the qualifications for receiving old age grant is that you MUST be resident here for so many years? Or that your income must below a certain threshold?
It's to prove that your actually deserving of the assistance your seeking

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2025, 1:14 pm

it have too many bobol ppl collecting full nis pension and full old age social grant
what they plan to do to crack down on this?

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2025, 4:12 pm

pugboy wrote:it have too many bobol ppl collecting full nis pension and full old age social grant

Nuttn wrong with collecting both, IF you qualify for both.

ppl does feel, once yuh hit 65 yuh gettin dat old age grant sure as d sun rises. not knowing, there's hoops and hurdles to clear first. And let's just clarify a few things here one time.

That old age grant, is NOT a right, nor is it mandatory. So, nobody is entitled to it. So, if you want to apply for it, you MUST be able to prove that you qualify to receive it. One thing that is used as a qualifier, is you MUST be a citizen, another is that your monthly income must be below a certain amount, yet another is that you MUST have maintained residence in the country for the last 20 years prior to applying, meaning, you have to be able to prove that you've been here for that whole time.

Yuh feel dem eh kno, it have ppl who live their whole life abroad & build where they living overseas, yet they contribute absolutely nothing to this country but sharpening dey dentures to come back here looking for free money?

Postby hover11 » February 22nd, 2025, 4:45 pm

It have too much bobol where many ppl are dead and money is still being paid into their accounts..... also ppl who are on invalidity and disability going out to work which causes hundreds of thousands in overpayment being made to them and then they coming in to tell us the most that they can repay is 100 dollars a month. There is too much loopholes and leakage that's not even the tip of the iceberg
pugboy wrote:it have too many bobol ppl collecting full nis pension and full old age social grant

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2025, 5:14 pm

so what’s the max can someone collect from both of them?

Postby hover11 » February 22nd, 2025, 5:19 pm

The cap is supposed to be 5000 but you know we live in Trinidad
pugboy wrote:so what’s the max can someone collect from both of them?

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2025, 8:26 pm

i know a few ppl collecting $3500x2

hover11 wrote:The cap is supposed to be 5000 but you know we live in Trinidad
pugboy wrote:so what’s the max can someone collect from both of them?