Looking for Wood

screwbash

Looking for Wood

Postby screwbash » February 15th, 2025, 8:05 am

where in Trinidad can i get wood cut in large pieces as shown in the picture.
Firewood-by-cord.jpg
Axe_lifestyle_GL_1024x1024.jpg
61wBVyr-eXL._AC_UF894,1000_QL80_.jpg

DMan7

Re: Looking for Wood

Postby DMan7 » February 15th, 2025, 8:08 am

Poor choice for a thread headline. :lol:

Postby Dave » February 15th, 2025, 8:25 am

A sawmill?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 15th, 2025, 8:33 am

What he said ^

Postby alfa » February 15th, 2025, 9:33 am

Sawmill, they can cut it in large pieces but you'll have to do the splitting yourself like in the second pic.
Firewood you looking to make?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 15th, 2025, 11:19 am

alfa wrote:Sawmill, they can cut it in large pieces but you'll have to do the splitting yourself like in the second pic.

yes. it is for an outdoor fire pit. i would ah like to just buy it done split in big chunks already. but i will check a few saw mill and see what they have.

Postby alfa » February 15th, 2025, 11:23 am

screwbash wrote:
alfa wrote:Sawmill, they can cut it in large pieces but you'll have to do the splitting yourself like in the second pic.

yes. it is for an outdoor fire pit. i would ah like to just buy it done split in big chunks already. but i will check a few saw mill and see what they have.

Fun is in splitting. I myself got a splitting block in the forest from a fallen tree and chop up some firewood from time to time to do a lil cooking or campfire with the doggies

Postby sMASH » February 15th, 2025, 4:17 pm

alfa wrote:
screwbash wrote:

Fun is in splitting. I myself got a splitting block in the forest from a fallen tree and chop up some firewood from time to time to do a lil cooking or campfire with the doggies
^^ yup.

Or u can go in the forest and look fir branches about the size ur looking fir and cut them to the lenght u need.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 15th, 2025, 5:01 pm

alfa wrote:
screwbash wrote:

then i go have to buy an axe. if i get a store supplying it i go be good.

Postby alfa » February 15th, 2025, 6:11 pm

screwbash wrote:
alfa wrote:
screwbash wrote:

then i go have to buy an axe. if i get a store supplying it i go be good.

Could get smaller pieces in pre packaged bags that they use for BBQ. I see bhagwansings have, cherry, oak and other woods. If you're doing it as a seasonal now and then thing this might be a good option

Postby 88sins » February 15th, 2025, 7:36 pm

Have you tried Murray Street?

Postby nervewrecker » February 16th, 2025, 6:07 pm

88sins wrote:Have you tried Murray Street?
Sounds about right.

There was a post some time back where reixmann had supplies locked.

Postby timelapse » February 17th, 2025, 4:35 pm

If you have a chainsaw, i have a whole Jamun tree that I am willing to donate

Postby alfa » February 17th, 2025, 4:43 pm

timelapse wrote:If you have a chainsaw, i have a whole Jamun tree that I am willing to donate

That does burn good? Had wood from a tree I cut years ago and still gives trouble to light and emits a stinky sap while burning.

While we on it, what's the best local woods for firewood?

Postby timelapse » February 17th, 2025, 4:55 pm

alfa wrote:
timelapse wrote:If you have a chainsaw, i have a whole Jamun tree that I am willing to donate

That does burn good? Had wood from a tree I cut years ago and still gives trouble to light and emits a stinky sap while burning.

While we on it, what's the best local woods for firewood?

Non toxic, smoke is mellow, burns easily when dry, I cooked duck and barbecue on it many times.I gave some to a tuner here some years ago.The trick to Jamun is to make sure it has dried for at least a week or two depending on the thickness.My tree has gotten pretty huge,was going to poison it.If anybody wants it,let me know.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 17th, 2025, 5:59 pm

The tree have fruit?

I doh mind passing for a lil portion of jamoon

Postby timelapse » February 17th, 2025, 7:32 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
The tree have fruit?

Thats usually around September/October for this tree. This thing mashing up my perimeter fence right now

Postby *KRONIK* » February 17th, 2025, 7:35 pm

timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
The tree have fruit?

Thats usually around September/October for this tree. This thing mashing up my perimeter fence right now
Well if it hadda chap, it go hadda chap

Postby stev » February 18th, 2025, 2:10 am

timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
The tree have fruit?

bro, I didnt know u had this problem. My wife's uncle in the tree cutting business, I'll link you...then do what u want with yuh wood :lol: