Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

generic

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby generic » December 5th, 2024, 2:49 pm

MISHI wrote:I noticed that RBC and Scotia (unless I've missed it) haven't issued anything in regards to online payment and hasn't been shown on the MOF website.

I also noticed they stated BIR had till Nov29th to issue notices of assessment, but I haven't gotten one as yet.

Is it once you don't have that, they cannot incur charges on you? It's making me think they're gonna extend it again.

It was said that as long as you don't receive a notice of assessment from BIR you don't have to pay and you won't be penalized.

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2024, 6:16 am

anybody receive an assessment with 2 pins ?
if a property has house and annex apt, does that mean 2 pins ?

generic

Postby generic » December 6th, 2024, 9:38 am

pugboy wrote:anybody receive an assessment with 2 pins ?
if a property has house and annex apt, does that mean 2 pins ?

One assessment won't have 2 PINs, no.

If there are multiple units, there's an additional unit PIN that identifies each unit. But the property as a whole will have a single PIN.

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2024, 8:27 am

i went in to file an objection yesterday
the lady agreed that the figures were too high
so she gave me forms to fill out to file objection
still have to pay the taxes tho and hopefully will be in credit when it is sorted out.

death365

Postby death365 » December 10th, 2024, 10:33 am

i hoping tha it go extend again, me na takin meh $$ to pay tha in christmas season

death365

Postby death365 » January 6th, 2025, 1:14 pm

extended to 31st Jan, 25

Postby The_Honourable » January 13th, 2025, 7:17 pm

Property Tax on commercial buildings is "not on the table right now."

Postby hover11 » January 13th, 2025, 7:20 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Property Tax on commercial buildings is "not on the table right now."

Hahahaha PNM strikes again. The residential homeowners must pay the tax while the business community continues to get a bligh. It shows who their masters are. Next they will increase residential electricity rates and the asses will rejoice

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Dave » January 13th, 2025, 8:08 pm

It's simple.....if businesses have to pay.....their products will go up for the public. Which business will absorb this tax?
It will happen but just not right now.

Postby hover11 » January 13th, 2025, 8:13 pm

Dave wrote:It's simple.....if businesses have to pay.....their products will go up for the public. Which business will absorb this tax?
I understand Dave but aren't they increasing their prices regardless, it seems the average man is the only one paying the cost here

wing

Postby wing » January 13th, 2025, 8:18 pm

hover11 wrote:
Dave wrote:It's simple.....if businesses have to pay.....their products will go up for the public. Which business will absorb this tax?
I understand Dave but aren't they increasing their prices regardless, it seems the average man is the only one paying the cost here

Your party is in full support of this, otherwise they would have repealed it.

Postby hover11 » January 14th, 2025, 6:15 am

wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Your party is in full support of this, otherwise they would have repealed it.
Sir , where you want the average man to get this money from working on a fixed salary with commitments, no I asking a genuine question. So businesses must get the bligh while increasing prices on their goods and services and the average man just have to sit and take it? What you are doing here is encouraging or creating opportunity for crime. I not talking about UNC, UnC not in power but continue making it difficult on the average man and see what happens.

Meanwhile businesses getting all the BIR,NIS amnesties that seems to be never ending, give the average man a tax break too na, give the average man a salary increase ,nope not gonna do that PNM love to suffer ppl that's why.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 14th, 2025, 6:25 am

I am not UNC, but fed up agrue the point that their plan was to start with commercial and industrial. Imbert switched it around .

This alone should be reason to vote them out

Trinidad Guardian

On Monday, the other shoe fell on the long-discussed issue of property tax. Minister of Finance Larry Howai announced in his budget presentation that land and building taxes would return.In the first phase, set for implementation by July 1, 2014, taxes will come due on industrial lands and buildings; then taxes on commercial properties will be assessed and levied; and in Phase 3–the most delicate sector–taxes on agricultural lands and residential properties will be assessed and applied.

Postby hover11 » January 14th, 2025, 6:33 am

PariaMan wrote:I am not UNC, but fed up agrue the point that their plan was to start with commercial and industrial. Imbert switched it around .

This alone should be reason to vote them out

Trinidad Guardian

On Monday, the other shoe fell on the long-discussed issue of property tax. Minister of Finance Larry Howai announced in his budget presentation that land and building taxes would return.In the first phase, set for implementation by July 1, 2014, taxes will come due on industrial lands and buildings; then taxes on commercial properties will be assessed and levied; and in Phase 3–the most delicate sector–taxes on agricultural lands and residential properties will be assessed and applied.
Imbert looking out for his friends and you could see that, his big business friends. I don't see how this could ever stimulate the economy, the banks don't offer amnesties on loans why is the government doing this and for such long periods. I have said this many times. Now this property tax thing, what they doing is looking after their friends again. Nobody seems to care. Nobody asking why? We just taking it....

Postby timelapse » January 14th, 2025, 7:00 am

Th quote the short man himself ;
We didn't riot as yet.
To quote ZR ;
Take bull

Postby hover11 » January 14th, 2025, 9:13 am

Stupid country with stupid people-ZR

W2J

Postby W2J » January 17th, 2025, 8:53 am

who paid and started seeing improvements to their neighborhood?

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2025, 9:28 am

W2J wrote:who paid and started seeing improvements to their neighborhood?
That money went to
Screenshot_20250117_063555_Instagram.jpg

Postby Dave » January 17th, 2025, 11:30 am

And vat refunds that have been promised for years

Postby hover11 » January 17th, 2025, 11:44 am

Dave wrote:And vat refunds that have been promised for years
Just like backpay for public servants....how the saying goes , the government could owe you but you cannot owe the government. Until someone hit imbert with a lawsuit them men don't care, even then they wouldn't care because them men have the judges in their back pockets

W2J

Postby W2J » January 17th, 2025, 1:12 pm

I got one last year from 7 years previous GREAT IS THE !@#

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2025, 2:36 pm

just like how judges say police commissioner have a duty to give ful response,
a similar case can be made for vat refunds

Postby Dave » January 17th, 2025, 3:17 pm

W2J wrote:

I got one last year from 7 years previous GREAT IS THE !@#
Yup that is not bad compared to some of my clients.
Sure it was a small refund.
I never advise my clients, unless absolutely unavoidable, to file a refund.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 17th, 2025, 3:39 pm

Cooperations have not received a black cent from property tax as yet

What a huge ripoff

wing

Postby wing » January 17th, 2025, 5:25 pm

PariaMan wrote:Cooperations have not received a black cent from property tax as yet

What a huge ripoff
Axe the tax....oh wait.... sorry.

Postby paid_influencer » January 17th, 2025, 5:38 pm

PariaMan wrote:Cooperations have not received a black cent from property tax as yet

What a huge ripoff

another faris failure

Postby hover11 » January 17th, 2025, 5:42 pm

wing wrote:

What a huge ripoff
Who raised gas three times and laughed about it, then said they haven't rioted yet

wing

Postby wing » January 17th, 2025, 6:07 pm

hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:

What a huge ripoff
Who raised gas three times and laughed about it, then said they haven't rioted yet

Voters have no problem with it and haven't rioted.

Postby Les Bain » January 17th, 2025, 10:16 pm

So wifeypoo went BIR to enquire about we property tax amount cause nothing was sent to our PO Box after the initial notice and the payment deadline is looming.

It was lower than dreaded, which is good. Waiting to see how big and deep a pothole in the neighborhood will get before the property tax fund repairs nothing and the misguided samaritan fills it with gravel and pointy building block remnants.

She was on a roll so she asked about an income tax refund they sitting on for years. They said it was approved but they have no funds, so don't count on receiving a cheque. They also added, don't expect it anytime soon cause they eh print cheques in a while.

That so nice, in light of the fact there's always funds for government ministers' timely backpay.

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2025, 6:50 pm

Les Bain wrote:So wifeypoo went BIR to enquire about we property tax amount cause nothing was sent to our PO Box after the initial notice and the payment deadline is looming.

It was lower than dreaded, which is good. Waiting to see how big and deep a pothole in the neighborhood will get before the property tax fund repairs nothing and the misguided samaritan fills it with gravel and pointy building block remnants.

She was on a roll so she asked about an income tax refund they sitting on for years. They said it was approved but they have no funds, so don't count on receiving a cheque. They also added, don't expect it anytime soon cause they eh print cheques in a while.

That so nice, in light of the fact there's always funds for government ministers' timely backpay.

Doh worry. Money coming soon. PNM desperate to win.