No Old Age Pension if you have over $25,000 savings

Should pension be available to persons with over $25,000 in savings?

Yes
68%
No
11%
Great is the PNM and it shall prevail
21%

Total votes: 19

No Old Age Pension if you have over $25,000 savings

Postby paid_influencer » December 18th, 2024, 7:23 am

It's true. The latest bill being passed by the PNM will disqualify persons for old-age pension if they have over $25,000 in savings.

The Government is planning to introduce legislation that will change and, in some cases, disqualify elderly people who reach the age of 65 from accessing the senior citizens’ pension.

On December 9, a bill titled The Miscellaneous Provisions (Senior Citizens’ Pension and Public Assistance) Bill, 2024, was laid in Parliament. A major amendment is being proposed in the bill which disqualifies persons with savings in the bank exceeding $25,000 from accessing the old age pension.

Section 4 (g) of the bill states, “An individual shall not be eligible to receive a pension unless he: has savings not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars.”

Currently, while the submission of bank details is a prerequisite to applying for the senior citizens’ pension, there is no limit on how much money the applicant has in their accounts, nor does the amount disqualify the applicant from accessing the grant.

Speaking at the United National Congress’ cottage meeting at its Chaguanas headquarters on Monday night, Persad-Bissessar raised the issue, as she warned, “That bill will make it harder for pensioners and persons getting public assistance to access those grants. They are monitoring how much money you have in the bank, that is what they are going to do, that’s what this bill is telling us.”

She told supporters that this was the same Government that removed several people from receiving food cards while accepting huge pay raises, recently recommended by the Salaries Review Commission (SRC).

However, Social Development and Family Services Minister Donna Cox yesterday defended the bill, which is in her name, saying its purpose is to protect the elderly from abuse and to ensure that those who deserve the pension can access it.

Explaining why the $25,000 cap is being proposed, Minister Cox told Guardian Media, “What we have found is that there are many people with a lot of money who transfer all their business and everything out of their hands into their families’ hands to collect a pension. So, what we are trying to do is block some of the loopholes where people who are not poor and vulnerable but come and apply for pensions.”

She added, “The pension is not for abuse because it’s taxpayers’ money. This is non-contributary, it is something to help people who are poor and vulnerable. There are many persons who live on their pension because they have never worked in their lives or their children are not taking care of them. Those people are who the pension is for, not for people who have money and still feel they should get the pension.”

The minister said currently, 109,000 people receive a senior citizens’ pension. She sought to assure the public that the bill will not impact those who already receive a pension.

“We are not going back to check on people to say we want to see your bank accounts now, you are already getting pension already. It is not that with this new legislation, we are going back to say your mother supposed to have this or that. No, just moving forward, we are protecting the elderly to make sure all who need it, get it. It is not about taking people off at all or else we’d have put retroactive in the bill,” Cox explained.

But Guardian Media challenged the minister on the new amendment which disqualifies those with over $25,000 in the bank. She was asked if that sum was too little to determine that an applicant is not in need of the monthly $3,500 pension.

To this, Cox said, “The point about it is that the pension is for the poor, it have people who do not have $1,000 in the bank. That is who the pension is for. Pension is not for people who receiving money somewhere. If you have a whole set of money in the bank, why do you need a pension?

“A pension is not intended to totally mind someone, it is assistance, a government pension, remember they don’t contribute to it at all. It is not an automatic and that is what people don’t understand, there’s a process. It has been so for years.”

She accused the UNC of attempting to sensationalise the issue, while ignoring the positives that the bill will bring.

Cox said the bill will also empower the State to take action against people who collect pension cheques on behalf of the elderly but fail to use the money for its intended purpose.

“We have found a lot of elder abuse taking place and we put in a whole section on that. We have found old people in homes or living by themselves and they are receiving a pension; who is getting the pension?” she explained.

“We realise, with people who have dementia, sometimes the family is spending their money, not living there and not providing proper foodstuff, we recently found a man going through that. But we had no authority to deal with that, so this is giving the authority to be able to protect the older people.”

The minister underscored that these measures are not being implemented to remove people from the list of recipients but rather to protect them.

Cox could not say when the bill would be debated in Parliament, noting that is up to the Attorney General to decide.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/kamla-warns ... 93dedb807b

Re: No Old Age Pension if you have over $25,000 savings

Postby pugboy » December 18th, 2024, 7:43 am

so this bill can be passed without opposition support?

death365

Postby death365 » December 18th, 2024, 7:59 am

simple ... have it in all cash ... but yuh kno na... then them bandits will get it

Cantmis

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby Cantmis » December 18th, 2024, 8:07 am

The pension is for people who never worked ?

Postby paid_influencer » December 18th, 2024, 8:07 am

death365 wrote:simple ... have it in all cash ... but yuh kno na... then them bandits will get it

old people with cash under mattress being proven right :lol:

solution is to go cashless. rowley already have them cornered

Postby paid_influencer » December 18th, 2024, 8:21 am

Cantmis wrote:The pension is for people who never worked ?

plenty people worked and never get through with NIS etc for a variety of reasons. didn't make the required number of contributions or being self-employed (or informally employed) being the major ones for most people.

old-age pension is (was?) a social safety net

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 8:26 am

paid_influencer wrote:

plenty people worked and never get through with NIS etc for a variety of reasons. didn't make the required number of contributions or being self-employed (or informally employed) being the major ones for most people.

PNM turned it into a political football for votes and now it backfiring

If is one thing the PNM good at is twisting the narrative to make you feel they doing it for your own good but in reality they cutting back on spending because not enough revenue is coming in. The PNM simply cannot manage this country!
FB_IMG_1734516574726.jpg

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 8:33 am

Never truly understood why we had two pensions to begin with tbh, NIS minimum pension that you hadda work and contribute towards is 3000 but the ppl that never contributed anything getting 3500 make it make sense

killercow

Postby killercow » December 18th, 2024, 8:40 am

Only people who have no other source of income (no pension, NIS, nothing at all), or who receive a very small pension are recipients of old age pension. So if I 65, have 27k in the bank from my YEARS OF HARD WORK, and have applied for old age pension (because I have ZERO source of income and too old to work) you're telling me that I have to live the rest of my days on that 27k???

Assuming I use 3k per month, I'll only have 9 months before my savings deplete. Jus now we will start having (more) old age bandits.

Unless this is a specific tactic to force people into paying NIS, then this is probably the most ridiculous and outright stupid prospective policy I've come across in recent times.

killercow

Postby killercow » December 18th, 2024, 8:41 am

hover11 wrote:Never truly understood why we had two pensions to begin with tbh, NIS minimum pension that you hadda work and contribute towards is 3000 but the ppl that never contributed anything getting 3500 make it make sense

You can't get a NIS pension if you did not make those 750 contributions. You'll get a lump sum once it's less. Basically old age pension is supposed to be for those people aged 65+ who aren't receiving NIS and who have no other source of income / pension.

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 8:44 am

killercow wrote:
hover11 wrote:Never truly understood why we had two pensions to begin with tbh, NIS minimum pension that you hadda work and contribute towards is 3000 but the ppl that never contributed anything getting 3500 make it make sense

You can't get a NIS pension if you did not make those 750 contributions. You'll get a lump sum once it's less.
We know this , so why does the state have to take care of ppl who didn't work much or were self employed. If you chose not to work that's on you , I could understand if you can't work due to medical reasons, nis has invalidity benefit for that which converts to a monthly pension at 60 however why taxpayers money must take care of you in your old age because you didn't put things in place. You didn't know you would have gotten old?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » December 18th, 2024, 9:28 am

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

wa is the most bitter part of this is them same pnm louts, to quote massa, from laventille, beetham, maloney, etc who will never face property tax and never work a day in dey life will be gettin while d man who actually work, like say a farmer with a lil 30-40k wouldn't get it. How long is even 100k suppose to last with no other source of income?? An worse part is if you keep cash in d matress is d same ppl sendin dey chirren to rob yuh.
yett mind you the pm who done so filthy rich will be getting he pension, allyuh could tell me black man eh love massa whip on dey back one setta lick bamc in dis country oui.

I say it again more of them and they chirren need to suffer the fate of that waste of space and oxygen.

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2024, 9:32 am

This is a non issue and PNM to blame since they created this year's ago to gain votes.

Mostly old PNM ppl was given this while old injuns was discriminated against getting this

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 9:36 am

zoom rader wrote:This is a non issue and PNM to blame since they created this year's ago to gain votes.

Mostly old PNM ppl was given this while old injuns was discriminated against getting this
X3000

The same seniors are the ones who rush to the polling stations on election day to vote for PNM

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2024, 9:45 am

hover11 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:This is a non issue and PNM to blame since they created this year's ago to gain votes.

X3000

The same seniors are the ones who rush to the polling stations on election day to vote for PNM

It's their right to vote but they are scammer

These old PNM ppl are scammers .

They have money and some had homes what they do is when they reach the age to collect old age pension they get rid of their assets to show they dont owe a home.

They then proceed to live in the same home where their offsprings own the home

It's a scam, some even live abroad and claim this money

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2024, 9:48 am

paid_influencer wrote:

NIB is a scam abused by I%

The money is given to 1% to run businesses.

Banks are funded by NIB

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2024, 9:52 am

daxt0r wrote:
hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

wa is the most bitter part of this is them same pnm louts, to quote massa, from laventille, beetham, maloney, etc who will never face property tax and never work a day in dey life will be gettin while d man who actually work, like say a farmer with a lil 30-40k wouldn't get it. How long is even 100k suppose to last with no other source of income?? An worse part is if you keep cash in d matress is d same ppl sendin dey chirren to rob yuh.
yett mind you the pm who done so filthy rich will be getting he pension, allyuh could tell me black man eh love massa whip on dey back one setta lick bamc in dis country oui.

I say it again more of them and they chirren need to suffer the fate of that waste of space and oxygen.
Blatant discrimination this money was mostly given to PNM ppl.

If ur Indian it is near impossible to get this grant.

The people that making assessments on who should get was PNM lackies that have a clear bias

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 9:55 am

paid_influencer wrote:

Banks are funded by NIB
This is true and if u look at the investments made by nib locally you would see who benefits, just follow the money

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 11:11 am

Don't let this distract you from the fact that PNM is looking to increase the retirement age to 65 so you have to work longer to get any sort of benefits

Postby The_Honourable » December 18th, 2024, 11:22 am

hover11 wrote:

X3000

They have money and some had homes what they do is when they reach the age to collect old age pension they get rid of their assets to show they dont owe a home.

It's also this what Donna Cox is attempting to fix even though the abuse was happening under the Manning administration which she was a part off. Eventually Manning tried to "clamp" down (lol) by saying that it is a "Grant" and not a "Pension".

Intentional or not, yes it was a loophole that the old pnm exploited. As the years went by, that loophole was leaked too or figured out by persons outside the old pnm circle, so more abuse took place. Now the government trying to close the door after the horse done bolt nearly two decades.

When the old pnm use to say "ah going and make ah raid" they were going after all the grants, food cards, hdc, etc. Now they vex other people doing it so they are siding with the government for clamping down.

Best believe that if a non-pnm govt brought this exact bill to clamp down, pnm would say that the government racist and that they don't want to give poor black people a chance.

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 11:28 am

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

It's also this what Donna Cox is attempting to fix even though the abuse was happening under the Manning administration which she was a part off. Eventually Manning tried to "clamp" down (lol) by saying that it is a "Grant" and not a "Pension".

Intentional or not, yes it was a loophole that the old pnm exploited. As the years went by, that loophole was leaked too or figured out by persons outside the old pnm circle, so more abuse took place. Now the government trying to close the door after the horse done bolt nearly two decades.

When the old pnm use to say "ah going and make ah raid" they were going after all the grants, food cards, hdc, etc. Now they vex other people doing it so they are siding with the government for clamping down.

Best believe that if a non-pnm govt brought this exact bill to clamp down, pnm would say that the government racist and that they don't want to give poor black people a chance.
Honorable what about those who getting their full NIS and full 3500 from social welfare every month and believe they are entitled to such. The system is prone to corruption as with everything else in this country. They opened a can of worms the moment they started this senior citizens grant because how long can we sustain two pensions on an aging population

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2024, 11:30 am

paid_influencer wrote:

Banks are funded by NIB

Yes 1%....Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Capture.JPG

Postby The_Honourable » December 18th, 2024, 11:36 am

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

Honorable what about those who getting their full NIS and full 3500 from social welfare every month and believe they are entitled to such. The system is prone to corruption as with everything else in this country. They opened a can of worms the moment they started this senior citizens grant because how long can we sustain two pensions on an aging population

Yeah persons who getting NIS and Grant obviously need to be reined in and maybe punished if they submitted false information.

Now it would just be easier to cut them off from the Grant. I would send them a demand notice to return all the monies or is court action.

But this is T&T.

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 11:39 am

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

Yeah persons who getting NIS and Grant obviously need to be reined in and maybe punished if they submitted false information.

Now it would just be easier to cut them off from the Grant. I would send them a demand notice to return all the monies or is court action.

But this is T&T.
It have ppl submitted false claims to nib, stating that they were incapable of working, received payments of up to 100k when we discovered that the person went back out to work they were surprised and asked how yall found out. No remorse. The only thing we could offer was a payment plan on the person's terms, her terms were 100 dollars a month. The individual is 51, we never gonna see that money again and she is one of many. The organization frowns on court action as it comes across as bad publicity and we supposed to be a caring organization but then again ppl will take advantage .

wing

Postby wing » December 18th, 2024, 11:54 am

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

But this is T&T.
It have ppl submitted false claims to nib, stating that they were incapable of working, received payments of up to 100k when we discovered that the person went back out to work they were surprised and asked how yall found out. No remorse. The only thing we could offer was a payment plan on the person's terms, her terms were 100 dollars a month. The individual is 51, we never gonna see that money again and she is one of many. The organization frowns on court action as it comes across as bad publicity and we supposed to be a caring organization but then again ppl will take advantage .

You just now repeat the minister justification for the 25 k. So your objection is purely political and racist. You cleaning up ZR so much that you inherit the DNA too.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2024, 11:57 am

hover11 wrote:Don't let this distract you from the fact that PNM is looking to increase the retirement age to 65 so you have to work longer to get any sort of benefits

Or you can get a personal annuity or two which would allow you the opportunity to go earlier of you want.
The State does not have to be the be all and end all.

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 12:58 pm

It's like PNM doing everything possible to lose the election and the assses still running to vote for them and they showing they don't want to he there

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2024, 12:59 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

But this is T&T.
This entire grant is a scam. There are people that boost about collecting this but live in US.

This grant was only for PNM people. There are other scams that PNM run but people are updated it

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2024, 1:01 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Banks are funded by NIB

Yes 1%....Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Capture.JPG
You do know that NIB (tax payers $$) is held in 1% banks so that they can make on this and fund their businesses ?

Postby hover11 » December 18th, 2024, 1:01 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

But this is T&T.
This entire grant is a scam. There are people that boost about collecting this but live in US.

This grant was only for PNM people. There are other scams that PNM run but people are updated it
Like ghost gang , how many ppl claiming money from urp and never worked for even a minute there? Ghost gang is still prevalent today, imagine not working a day in your life but collecting payment with nis contributions being paid , when it's time to retire you sure to collect a pension easy without even lifting a finger