Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2024, 10:00 am

so what would the good ol imf prescribe?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 9th, 2024, 10:06 am

This just means that everyone now going to have multiple bank accounts from different banks and multiple credit cards from different banks. Hence the reason why is pressure to get an appointment to open a bank account at any bank.

Postby hover11 » November 9th, 2024, 10:28 am

Who going to upkeep those accounts with all the service charges and maintenance fees. I believe this going to encourage more hoarding of US. It will get scarcer. Ppl want to give up their credit cards , I doubt ppl going to apply for 5 and 6 cards.
fokhan_96 wrote:This just means that everyone now going to have multiple bank accounts from different banks and multiple credit cards from different banks. Hence the reason why is pressure to get an appointment to open a bank account at any bank.

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2024, 10:32 am

this going on long time now
many businesses run with persons using many cards

hover11 wrote:Who going to upkeep those accounts with all the service charges and maintenance fees. I believe this going to encourage more hoarding of US. It will get scarcer. Ppl want to give up their credit cards , I doubt ppl going to apply for 5 and 6 cards.
fokhan_96 wrote:This just means that everyone now going to have multiple bank accounts from different banks and multiple credit cards from different banks. Hence the reason why is pressure to get an appointment to open a bank account at any bank.

Postby The_Honourable » November 9th, 2024, 10:36 am

Even if you try, you wouldn't be allowed to have so much credit cards anyway. The banks will do a credit check and once they see you have a credit card with another bank, it is unlikely they will give you another one especially if your income is tight.

The best way so far is for family members to also have credit cards.

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2024, 10:44 am

plus the fact that opening a bank acct in general is like pulling teeth

we in a very sad state where the financial institutions reluctant to have new customers
says a lot about confidence or lack there of

Postby hover11 » November 9th, 2024, 10:48 am

The_Honourable wrote:Even if you try, you wouldn't be allowed to have so much credit cards anyway. The banks will do a credit check and once they see you have a credit card with another bank, it is unlikely they will give you another one especially if your income is tight.

Lots of small businesses will suffer if this is the case, as incomes haven't increased in years and from the looks of it , that's not happening soon. Hmm if only the esteemed minister of Finance would have stimulated the economy in some form and not restricted it by closing a major forex earner like petrotrin , would we have been in this same position?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 9th, 2024, 11:15 am

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Even if you try, you wouldn't be allowed to have so much credit cards anyway. The banks will do a credit check and once they see you have a credit card with another bank, it is unlikely they will give you another one especially if your income is tight.

Lots of small businesses will suffer if this is the case, as incomes haven't increased in years and from the looks of it , that's not happening soon. Hmm if only the esteemed minister of Finance would have stimulated the economy in some form and not restricted it by closing a major forex earner like petrotrin , would we have been in this same position?
I'm not a fan of the PNM but the policy of Forex we have whether you like it or not has shielded the average man from something potentially much worse.

Everyone keeps harping on the Govnt about generating forex but what about our vaunted private sector businessmen? When will a lot of them move away from import/markup and into more productive activities?

xtech

Postby xtech » November 9th, 2024, 11:31 am

Back in early 2010s I approached the prime minister with an idea he thought it seemed feasible so he set up a meeting with the energy minister about my proposal to starting up a local solar panel factory test project in central. So this way we can continue to be an exporter of energy in some form in preparation for when oil runs out. We just needed a little government support to get going.
But Energy minister shoot it down vex with me for wasting his time also said we have oil and gas to last 100 years don’t need solar or wind or geothermal projects sucking up money testing feasibility
Without a vision the people suffers.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 9th, 2024, 11:45 am

xtech wrote:Back in early 2010s I approached the prime minister with an idea he thought it seemed feasible so he set up a meeting with the energy minister about my proposal to starting up a local solar panel factory test project in central. So this way we can continue to be an exporter of energy in some form in preparation for when oil runs out. We just needed a little government support to get going.
But Energy minister shoot it down vex with me for wasting his time also said we have oil and gas to last 100 years don’t need solar or wind or geothermal projects sucking up money testing feasibility
MEEI's site says they did one of those
Screenshot_20241109-114506.jpg

Postby mero » November 9th, 2024, 12:16 pm

Plenty ppl credit cards getting their us balance dropped to 500usd etc and thing, even taken away for this, "helping out " friends and family. Commingling is a major issue. Business transactions ain't for personal credit card.

Ppl applied for a personal cc for a reason, if u have a business , get a business cc, and dat shoulda be stated in your application, And then u can formally apply for an extended amount of Usd ,so from the bank POV is why u trying to make money on we head and the cc loan we give u is for personal use like u sign for? Then u getting points , cash back, miles etc on top of that.

Imo, the average trini don't need $7500 usd a month when the local limit is under way under $15,000 ttd. If your background checks show u only qualify for 3k ttd, why you bawling for usd? On a fcb card u can withdraw about 875usd a week when u up there.

Also lots of USD being drained through crypto, trading and mlm schemes and ppl always finding a way to work around it.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » November 9th, 2024, 1:03 pm

What is does the exchange rate need to be to bring demand and supply in balance?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 9th, 2024, 1:07 pm

^ Prob 12:1

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 9th, 2024, 1:10 pm

mero wrote:

Plenty ppl credit cards getting their us balance dropped to 500usd etc and thing, even taken away for this, "helping out " friends and family. Commingling is a major issue. Business transactions ain't for personal credit card.

Ppl applied for a personal cc for a reason, if u have a business , get a business cc, and dat shoulda be stated in your application, And then u can formally apply for an extended amount of Usd ,so from the bank POV is why u trying to make money on we head and the cc loan we give u is for personal use like u sign for? Then u getting points , cash back, miles etc on top of that.

Imo, the average trini don't need $7500 usd a month when the local limit is under way under $15,000 ttd. If your background checks show u only qualify for 3k ttd, why you bawling for usd? On a fcb card u can withdraw about 875usd a week when u up there.

Also lots of USD being drained through crypto, trading and mlm schemes and ppl always finding a way to work around it.

I agree, just not sure about the last paragraph

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2024, 1:56 pm

yuh needed to be fren and family to gt

xtech wrote:Back in early 2010s I approached the prime minister with an idea he thought it seemed feasible so he set up a meeting with the energy minister about my proposal to starting up a local solar panel factory test project in central. So this way we can continue to be an exporter of energy in some form in preparation for when oil runs out. We just needed a little government support to get going.

Postby paid_influencer » November 9th, 2024, 2:46 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:What is does the exchange rate need to be to bring demand and supply in balance?

8:1

more than that, demand would drop off steeply

Postby paid_influencer » November 9th, 2024, 3:09 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I'm not a fan of the PNM but the policy of Forex we have whether you like it or not has shielded the average man from something potentially much worse.

Everyone keeps harping on the Govnt about generating forex but what about our vaunted private sector businessmen? When will a lot of them move away from import/markup and into more productive activities?

generating more forex is a non-starter. a dream people pretend can happen. fantasy.

what we need is long-term sustainability at a lower income

lower income
less money

but sustainable
long-term

to
eat little
and live long

as old people say

dizzy, you are a free market capitalist, right?

the private sector has no incentive to bring forex to T&T

the forex system we have now
gives incentive
in the opposite direction

to buy as much USD as possible '
at the subsidised price
from the treasury
while selling USD-denominated goods at market price

don't blame private industry
for doing what is profitable

blame the forex policy
for being unsustainable

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2024, 3:36 pm

^thats the kicker
impsbert like to boast of holding our exchange rate like barbados, but only artificially so and it is a chicken and egg situation
because it is going to be exploited by those who have means to exploit it

Postby Dizzy28 » November 9th, 2024, 6:48 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:What is does the exchange rate need to be to bring demand and supply in balance?

8:1

more than that, demand would drop off steeply
This was in 2022
Screenshot_20241109-184804.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » November 9th, 2024, 7:05 pm

demand for USD also based on how much TTD people have.

but nowadays ppl doh even have TTD

8:1 sounding about right based on what I see ppl selling for irl (ymmv)

Postby hover11 » November 9th, 2024, 7:08 pm

paid_influencer wrote:demand of USD also based on how much TTD people have.

Wasn't the real value around 10 to 1 based on what most local economists theorized

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2024, 7:17 pm

on the usd trading fb group avg is around 7.5 maybe 8 for most

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:demand of USD also based on how much TTD people have.

Wasn't the real value around 10 to 1 based on what most local economists theorized

Postby Dizzy28 » November 9th, 2024, 9:39 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:I'm not a fan of the PNM but the policy of Forex we have whether you like it or not has shielded the average man from something potentially much worse.

generating more forex is a non-starter. a dream people pretend can happen. fantasy.

what we need is long-term sustainability at a lower income

lower income
less money

but sustainable
long-term

to
eat little
and live long

as old people say

dizzy, you are a free market capitalist, right?

the private sector has no incentive to bring forex to T&T

the forex system we have now
gives incentive
in the opposite direction

to buy as much USD as possible '
at the subsidised price
from the treasury
while selling USD-denominated goods at market price

don't blame private industry
for doing what is profitable

blame the forex policy
for being unsustainable
I agree. For the govnt to sustain businesses in the import distribution sector with subsidized forex is basically mismanagement to the highest.

It's why the EximBank programmes are predominantly aimed towards manufacturers and the programme for distributors is supposed to be for essential goods only.

Postby paid_influencer » November 9th, 2024, 10:27 pm

EXIMbank was originally a credit facility for international trade.

It was never suppose to be a major forex distribution point.

The IMF recently called out the govt's molestation of the EXIMbank and the parallel foreign exchange system.

Could you imagine any of this being part of Wendell Mottley's vision? This country went through all the pain to float the dollar and get a rational, modern, robust and flexible foreign exchange system ready to be used. But instead Rowley chose to abandon all that and go back to Chambers-era policy instead.

In a few years when all the foreign reserves are exhausted and the debts become due, where will be get forex to prop up a rate that is far away from the market price? The collapse going to be hard, and painful. and it did not have to be that way.

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2024, 10:52 pm

but impsbert making it sound like eximbank is a panadol solution

Postby hover11 » November 10th, 2024, 7:30 am

Interesting, IMF has spoken, all restrictions must go
Screenshot_20241110_065340_Adobe%20Acrobat.jpg

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 10th, 2024, 7:32 am

Once again it's only allyuh law abiding jackarses who complaining.

The streets flooded with guns and drugs. What they paying for guns and drugs with?....toolum ,sugar cake and paw paw balls? TTD? Wire transfer and bank draft?

The forex is there......just not for allyuh law abiding fools to pay for Netflix and buy bluetooth speakers on Amazon.

I have never seen a dumber bunch of people who negotiate against themselves like trinis.

All this gov't has to do is put the idea out there that allyuh have to suffer more and give some 2 by 4 reason why and allyuh will do the rest and come to the conclusion that yes they are right we must suffer more because one of the gov't mouthpieces say so on tv or the newspapers.

WTF wrong with allyuh! Is allyuh who suffering yuh know....not them who telling allyuh that you have to suffer.....they not suffering one bit.

The gov't withdrawing Billions for themselves and instead of demanding accountability allyuh will give every reason why what they saying makes sense and allyuh should not get access to the money.

Allyuh ridiculous yes.

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2024, 7:39 am

facts, the thousands usd them trini boat men collecting to bring venes and their non drugs/arms contraband across every week certainly not going into no bank acct

far less the hundreds of thousands to pay for drugs guns and weed, mind you them south american drug dealers often throw in guns free...

Skanky wrote:The streets flooded with guns and drugs. What they paying for guns and drugs with?....toolum ,sugar cake and paw paw balls? TTD? Wire transfer and bank draft?

The forex is there......just not for allyuh law abiding fools to pay for Netflix and buy bluetooth speakers on Amazon.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 10th, 2024, 8:40 am

hover11 wrote:Interesting, IMF has spoken, all restrictions must goScreenshot_20241110_065340_Adobe%20Acrobat.jpg

RIP to the managed float.
Can’t have your cake and eat it too.
That % float is coming like a freight train

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2024, 9:20 am

float will never happen
admittance of failure
just like an soe in the pnm hot spots