Building a house in Trinidad

matix

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby matix » September 27th, 2024, 8:40 pm

Jerry84 wrote:Can anyone advise what whole house surge protector is best for my main panel?

My main breaker is 200 Amps and there are normally alot of surges in my area. I already had to do repairs to an ac unit and a freezer due to surges.

Any advice would be appreciated.

You can get this locally, make sure your panel has space for a double pole, full size breaker. Easy to install, clips in like a breaker and the wire connects to the neutral bar.

mantis

Postby mantis » September 29th, 2024, 6:31 am

where can i buy this surge pro in Trinidad.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 29th, 2024, 9:29 am

I got in a regular electrical retail shop, around 200.00 a few years ago.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 29th, 2024, 9:45 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Best deals on security doors, aluminum French windows ? I doh need figures here. Just about 3-4 companies to get quotes for a build
E fix Investments in Enterprise
Discount Door Center, Orchard Gardens
ABC Doors, not the new place by Aranguez Roundabout but the one by Kaleidoscope Paints side

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2024, 7:12 am

who have good quality dusk to dawn led lights ?

I have used a variety and the failure rate is too high
Longest lasting were satco ones about 5 years and one just crapped out
other brands last 2-3 years sometimes less
prices of them have gone up a lot too, used to be around $300, now they are closer to $500

mantis

Postby mantis » October 1st, 2024, 12:25 pm

Who have good quality outdoor solar lights...

Gerard869

Postby Gerard869 » October 1st, 2024, 4:27 pm

NEED DIY ADVICE
project: raised indoor wooden deck DIY for study area for kids
Size: H - 1' W - 3' L - 6'
Finish - vanish

Info:
- it doesn't need to be bolted just sit on the floor
- going in a corner
- Storage and how to create storage on it is a plus

*Any advice on the steps to take on this would be welcomed *insert praying hands

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2024, 4:39 pm

3x6’ is a single bed size

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 2nd, 2024, 8:57 pm

matix wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:Can anyone advise what whole house surge protector is best for my main panel?

My main breaker is 200 Amps and there are normally alot of surges in my area. I already had to do repairs to an ac unit and a freezer due to surges.

You can get this locally, make sure your panel has space for a double pole, full size breaker. Easy to install, clips in like a breaker and the wire connects to the neutral bar.
I've actually been looking for this for some time. I've been to Mohammed's Electrical, Modern and Boodoos in chase village. None have this type only the one that mounts externally next to the panel which is rather unpleasant to see.

Any ideas where I could check again??

Postby pugboy » October 2nd, 2024, 9:00 pm

try blare electrical st james

Postby Dave » October 3rd, 2024, 11:16 am

Jerry84 wrote:
matix wrote:

I've actually been looking for this for some time. I've been to Mohammed's Electrical, Modern and Boodoos in chase village. None have this type only the one that mounts externally next to the panel which is rather unpleasant to see.

Fans plus and GNM engineering has it.

matix

Postby matix » October 3rd, 2024, 1:35 pm

Jerry84 wrote:
matix wrote:

I have for $925

Amazon has some alright ones for around US $80 - $100

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 3rd, 2024, 3:22 pm

matix wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:
matix wrote:

I have for $925

What's your location and contact number??

matix

Postby matix » October 3rd, 2024, 9:06 pm

Jerry84 wrote:
matix wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:
matix wrote:

I have for $925

What's your location and contact number??

Sent a pm

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 20th, 2024, 4:11 pm

Was browsing Home Mart and some similar stores on FB, see some nice stuff re: SPC flooring and prices seem not bad p/sqft... Have an 18ftby15ft space was originally planned for porcelain tiles, but now thinking of the spc instead.
In a bedroom setting, heaviest furniture being the queen size bed, metal frame/ base, is it a good material? Hardly interact with this type of flooring much, but it feels 'soft' in my experience.

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2024, 5:48 pm

it’s the most popular flooring now
taken over laminate flooring
the body is a pvc type material which is why it has the deadish feel.
it seems to be holding up but i am not sure the differences in hardness wearability between the brands.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 20th, 2024, 6:45 pm

Yeah that durability worry is my concern, don't want to shell out $$ for spc/laminate only to go back to tile. And hardwood will cost me 3X because of the woodworking, and me eh have the dedication to that maintenance nah. Feel tile and done.

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2024, 6:53 pm

lot of business places have it installed so you can check the wear and tear

viedcht wrote:Yeah that durability worry is my concern, don't want to shell out $$ for spc/laminate only to go back to tile. And hardwood will cost me 3X because of the woodworking, and me eh have the dedication to that maintenance nah. Feel tile and done.

Postby alfa » October 20th, 2024, 7:12 pm

With SPC you need to make sure your floor is perfectly smooth. If there are any pieces of mortar stuck to the floor it will result in an uneven surface and cause the joints to come apart as well as cracking of the planks

The planks themselves come in different qualities. There are some expensive ones with rubber backing and those may be your best bet
Last edited by alfa on October 20th, 2024, 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2024, 7:31 pm

the thicker ones are 7mm
thinner ones around 5mm

i bought some 7mm with the rubber backing
boxes were super heavy to lift

Postby alfa » October 20th, 2024, 7:37 pm

pugboy wrote:the thicker ones are 7mm
thinner ones around 5mm

What's the cost per length of those?

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 20th, 2024, 8:39 pm

Tile Warehouse in chase village has a very wide selection of the SPC and...well... tiles too

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2024, 8:59 pm

can’t remember but i got them by the place by warren rd off highway with the big sign advertising pvc ceiling

i recall the price was more or less competitive
it’s is a very competitive market
many persons selling

alfa wrote:
pugboy wrote:the thicker ones are 7mm
thinner ones around 5mm

What's the cost per length of those?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » October 21st, 2024, 8:05 am

viedcht wrote:Was browsing Home Mart and some similar stores on FB, see some nice stuff re: SPC flooring and prices seem not bad p/sqft... Have an 18ftby15ft space was originally planned for porcelain tiles, but now thinking of the spc instead.
In a bedroom setting, heaviest furniture being the queen size bed, metal frame/ base, is it a good material? Hardly interact with this type of flooring much, but it feels 'soft' in my experience.
Have this installed going on two years in bedrooms, looking like new still. No signs of wear, nothing raising off the ground, nothing separating, no noise on walking.

Bought mines in Tile expression and installed myself. The floor was screened in sharp sand as the intention was to use tiles. But it was smooth and level enough to use this.

It is more expensive than tiles per sq ft.. However, it ends up coming out cheaper as you don't have to buy thinset, grout, or spacers and you don't have to pay any labour as you doing it yourself. Also no dust and much cleaner than doing tiles.

The only difference with tiles is than you need to leave a gap between the flooring and the walls for expansion/ contraction so you need to install some floor/ base mouldling to get that finished appearance.
Some people also use silicone/ caulk to fill the gaps.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 21st, 2024, 9:05 am

Don’t like tiles, not sure how I feel about spc yet.

Anyone used concrete stain sealers?

Terracrete is one example.

Crete art is another. Check them both on IG or FB.

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2024, 9:35 am

the sealers aren’t very abrasive resistant imho
go check the pavement on ave
got scratched up and dirt sticks in the scratches

VexXx Dogg wrote:Don’t like tiles, not sure how I feel about spc yet.

Anyone used concrete stain sealers?

Terracrete is one example.

Crete art is another. Check them both on IG or FB.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 21st, 2024, 10:58 am

viedcht wrote:Yeah that durability worry is my concern, don't want to shell out $$ for spc/laminate only to go back to tile. And hardwood will cost me 3X because of the woodworking, and me eh have the dedication to that maintenance nah. Feel tile and done.
I have spc flooring in two rooms. Both installs were on tlile so the existing floor was good quality and level.

My son's room has had The flooring for three years and my bedroom for one.

It is holding up well In both and my son one get real jamming. It's crayons, paint, toy car tyres, all kinna thing and wipe and clean and it good.

My room below. There is a king bed, TV stand etc on it and it hasn't scuffed up.
PXL_20241021_145436942.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 21st, 2024, 3:59 pm

Thanks for the spc reviews fellas, tbh I already bought the tiles since August and have it park up, is rectified edge because I wanted one solid look finish but then saw the spc patterns online and they have some nice patterns locally. Not too sure exactly what I will end up doing as yet

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 22nd, 2024, 6:37 pm

WTH

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » October 29th, 2024, 5:55 am

Who does house plans with autocad to submit to T&C PDF format?