pugboy wrote:I use a dsc system with mix of wired and wireless sensors
Dsc is a well know company that has been around a long time.
Dsc wireless sensors use cr2 or cr123 batteries which last a few years unlike the coin batteries used by all the Johnny come lately ones now like ring.
I also use a third party board which hooks up to the internet to give alert status and arm or disarm capability.
The con is it is not as user friendly for a home owner diy but still doable.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:pugboy wrote:I use a dsc system with mix of wired and wireless sensors
Dsc wireless sensors use cr2 or cr123 batteries which last a few years unlike the coin batteries used by all the Johnny come lately ones now like ring.
I also use a third party board which hooks up to the internet to give alert status and arm or disarm capability.
Are you using the envisalink?
I was also looking at this - but might need a whole rewire?
https://www.dsc.com/index.php?n=products&o=view&id=2627
Can anyone confirm?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:pugboy wrote:I use a dsc system with mix of wired and wireless sensors
Can anyone confirm?
pugboy wrote:I use a dsc system with mix of wired and wireless sensors
pugboy wrote:Yeah envisalinkDuane 3NE 2NR wrote:pugboy wrote:I use a dsc system with mix of wired and wireless sensors
Can anyone confirm?
blacklight wrote:pugboy wrote:I use a dsc system with mix of wired and wireless sensors
Yep...I'm looking for something simple that will sense intruders and send a notification to my phone when I'm not at home.
Learning towards ABODE
https://goabode.com/
Strugglerzinc wrote:Anyone using one of the more popular wireless alarm systems locally such as Ring, Simplisafe, Abode etc. Would like to know if any work without the subscription service. My current system has inexplicably stopped sending any notifications.
pugboy wrote:what system you use presently?Strugglerzinc wrote:Anyone using one of the more popular wireless alarm systems locally such as Ring, Simplisafe, Abode etc. Would like to know if any work without the subscription service. My current system has inexplicably stopped sending any notifications.
blacklight wrote:Hey I'm thinking of investing in a self managed home security system like simplisafe, blue ACT or ring etc as compared to blink or digicel's security system.
Want to do self manage to economically better electronically lock down the place by covering all points of entry with some loud alarms and a simple push notification to my phone via an app.
Anyone doing this... If so what are you using?
pugboy wrote:another option is a tried and true burglar alarm system like dsc with the internet notifications
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:DSC PowerSeries (not Neo) can connect to an Envisalink and set up control and notifications on your smartphone.
You can use your phone to turn the alarm on and off and get notifications of which zones are open and closed and alarm triggers.
VexXx Dogg wrote:Simplisafe doh want me to purchase from their website. Might have to buy on amazon. Kinda turned off by that, but I'll keep it in mind
Is there a local dealer for the DSC who can advise on a setup and sell equipment a-la-carte? I want a completely wireless solution, and I already have an idea of how many sensors I need and the locations. Just need to figure out the gear/setup to be the base and send notifications/mobile app support etc.