Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby paid_influencer » October 13th, 2024, 1:09 pm

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:grow crops so ppl could teef them and laugh at u
Then why are the powers that be pretending agriculture is of utmost importance, when they don't care

it easy to point to a tree and tell people "look money growing on trees !!" pnm ministers unironically do that all the time

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby hover11 » October 13th, 2024, 1:41 pm

This year’s Divali Nagar celebrations are expected to cost $6 million, with just over $600,000 allocated for police, private security, fire services, and ambulance services.

For more…
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/divali-nagar-to- ... -security/
FB_IMG_1728841235750.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » October 13th, 2024, 1:42 pm

Let's save Trinidad and Tobago from PNM government

THE EDITOR: Open letter to Foster Cummings, Minister of Youth Development and National Service.

What have you truly done on behalf of the youth of TT? Far too many young people are leaving school with degrees yet facing a grim reality – no job opportunities under the PNM.

After nine long years of worsening poverty, rampant crime, injustice and inequality, it is shocking that both you and your Prime Minister claim that the government has performed well and deserves to return to office after the 2025 general election.

Do you genuinely believe citizens will forget the suffering and hardship endured during these nine years? The people are tired of the failed leadership. Under the PNM government, we have been left in the dark, and you, as an MP, must acknowledge the disconnect between the administration's claims and the lived reality of many.

The people need change. Kamla Persad-Bissessar and the UNC offer a glimmer of hope, a way to pull the country out of this shadow that has been cast over us for far too long. Enough is enough. Let’s save TT from the leadership that has caused so much suffering. It’s time to move forward, and that starts with getting rid of Keith Rowley and the PNM government.

CURTIS A OBRADY

Students: Our economic security lies abroad

Sagewan, however, expressed frustration with past and present governments’ approach to economic diversification.

“My pet peeve,” she said, “is the issue of non-energy diversification. I have been speaking about it, for Christ’s sake, for over 30 years.

“And government after government always only talk about it in the future tense.

“Ten years later, even though every budget has said that food security is an imperative, you know where the agriculture sector is?

"It continues to decline. It continues to contribute less than one per cent to the GDP of this country,” she said, adding that the food-import bill has risen to over $7 billion.

Stifled diversification will affect the future job prospects of TT’s youth, she warned.

“Do you know what is the fastest growing sector in this country?” she asked a student. “Trade and retail. In 2023, trade and retail grew over 10.9 per cent while the energy sector contracted… “That's how we diversify. Do you know the jobs that are being generated in there? Shopkeepers, sales attendants, maybe managers.

“(Does any) one of you want a job in any one of those sectors when you graduate out of university?”

The students responded with an emphatic “No.”

Students’ budget takeaways

Business Day spoke with several St Mary’s College sixth-form students about their opinions of the budget.

Some expressed concern about their voices being unheard, and possibly a lack of job prospects in the country when they leave school.

Some hinted at the brain-drain issue, saying they plan to leave TT to further their education and start a career.

“I think that in TT currently, job security feels very loose,” said Tyler Beard. “It feels very volatile. “In my school, a lot of us do not have aspirations to stay here. None of us want to stay in TT.

Postby paid_influencer » October 13th, 2024, 1:46 pm

hover11 wrote:This year’s Divali Nagar celebrations are expected to cost $6 million, with just over $600,000 allocated for police, private security, fire services, and ambulance services.

For more…
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/divali-nagar-to- ... 235750.jpg

nagar have very little to do with divali nowadays tho hover when last u gone nagar

try the chataigne bbq
best thing about nagar

Postby hover11 » October 13th, 2024, 1:55 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Let's save Trinidad and Tobago from PNM government

THE EDITOR: Open letter to Foster Cummings, Minister of Youth Development and National Service.

What have you truly done on behalf of the youth of TT? Far too many young people are leaving school with degrees yet facing a grim reality – no job opportunities under the PNM.

After nine long years of worsening poverty, rampant crime, injustice and inequality, it is shocking that both you and your Prime Minister claim that the government has performed well and deserves to return to office after the 2025 general election.

Do you genuinely believe citizens will forget the suffering and hardship endured during these nine years? The people are tired of the failed leadership. Under the PNM government, we have been left in the dark, and you, as an MP, must acknowledge the disconnect between the administration's claims and the lived reality of many.

The people need change. Kamla Persad-Bissessar and the UNC offer a glimmer of hope, a way to pull the country out of this shadow that has been cast over us for far too long. Enough is enough. Let’s save TT from the leadership that has caused so much suffering. It’s time to move forward, and that starts with getting rid of Keith Rowley and the PNM government.

CURTIS A OBRADY

Students: Our economic security lies abroad

Sagewan, however, expressed frustration with past and present governments’ approach to economic diversification.

“My pet peeve,” she said, “is the issue of non-energy diversification. I have been speaking about it, for Christ’s sake, for over 30 years.

“And government after government always only talk about it in the future tense.

“Ten years later, even though every budget has said that food security is an imperative, you know where the agriculture sector is?

"It continues to decline. It continues to contribute less than one per cent to the GDP of this country,” she said, adding that the food-import bill has risen to over $7 billion.

Stifled diversification will affect the future job prospects of TT’s youth, she warned.

“Do you know what is the fastest growing sector in this country?” she asked a student. “Trade and retail. In 2023, trade and retail grew over 10.9 per cent while the energy sector contracted… “That's how we diversify. Do you know the jobs that are being generated in there? Shopkeepers, sales attendants, maybe managers.

“(Does any) one of you want a job in any one of those sectors when you graduate out of university?”

The students responded with an emphatic “No.”

Students’ budget takeaways

Business Day spoke with several St Mary’s College sixth-form students about their opinions of the budget.

Some expressed concern about their voices being unheard, and possibly a lack of job prospects in the country when they leave school.

Some hinted at the brain-drain issue, saying they plan to leave TT to further their education and start a career.

“I think that in TT currently, job security feels very loose,” said Tyler Beard. “It feels very volatile. “In my school, a lot of us do not have aspirations to stay here. None of us want to stay in TT.
It is heart wrenching that this government is paying no attention to our future leaders , who can leave will leave who cannot will stay here and suffer. The youths already seeing the writing on the wall, there is no future here. Instead of the government put initiatives to retain talent and constrict the brain drain, they basically promoting it.

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2024, 2:28 pm

hover11 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:grow crops so ppl could teef them and laugh at u
Then why are the powers that be pretending agriculture is of utmost importance, when they don't care
They need to have the articles to point to, to say they did policies. Creating a false narrative .

Postby hover11 » October 13th, 2024, 2:35 pm

As T&T continues to grapple with a chronic shortage of foreign exchange, Republic Bank economist Garvin Joefield is calling on the Government to weigh the net benefits of a devaluation against the continued cost of defending the TT dollar for one year.

For more…
https://guardian.co.tt/business/weigh-b ... ee319d6948

“The course of action that is estimated to provide the greater net benefit is the one that should be adopted. Government has opted to maintain the status quo in hope of a boost in 2027. However, should the impact of the cross-border energy resources fall short of Government’s expectations or the downward trend foreign currency reserves accelerates over the next two years, the authorities will eventually be forced to devalue the domestic currency.”

It would seem the banks are hinting at something, the old kicking the can down the road, seems we reaching that end sooner than later
FB_IMG_1728844524555.jpg

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2024, 8:55 pm

PNM in a tight corner.

If devaluation then 1% will cash in and make billions.

If continue as is, tighten ur belt.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 14th, 2024, 9:48 am

I thought it woulda come in FY2025, but I suspect devaluation will be on the front burner the first year budget for whoever in power after.

Postby bluefete » October 14th, 2024, 10:11 am

Great is the PNM. Duttiness to the max.

https://www.facebook.com/reel/1083343360162893

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » October 14th, 2024, 2:38 pm

That's the honorable ministers that when they walk in a room everyone has to drop what they are doing and stand at attention?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 14th, 2024, 5:10 pm

"Honorable" they say yes.

Postby hover11 » October 14th, 2024, 5:16 pm

Belts fully tightened while they skinning and grinning

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 14th, 2024, 7:45 pm

Will Rowley call an early Election?
image-3.5655091.576978.20241012020244.jpg

PNM cancels internal election, annual convention.

The PNM has cancelled its upcoming internal election which, according to PNM sources, was a shock not just to the public but members of the party.

A release issued by the party yesterday simply stated, “The People’s National Movement wishes to advise that its 51st Annual Convention, as well as the internal election, originally scheduled for Sunday, November 17, 2024, has been cancelled.”

When asked for clarification on what that meant, members said either chairman Stuart Young, general secretary Foster Cummings or PRO Faris Al-Rawi would be best suited to answer.

Guardian Media caught up with Cummings after the sitting of the Standing Finance Committee of the Parliament yesterday evening.

Cummings would only say, “I have no further comments on that. I was very clear in the release on what the position is.”

He was reminded that the release said “cancelled” and not “postponed.”

He was also told the announcement came shortly after Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said during his Budget presentation that this may be his “swan song.”

Asked if he had a comment on that, Cummings said, “No no.”

Told that other party members seemed to be caught off guard, Cummings said, “You can refer that one to the Prime Minister.”

Prime Minister Rowley did not respond to requests for comment yesterday.

The surprise announcement has also raised questions about an impending election day.

Yesterday’s announcement also raised questions within the Opposition. One UNC MP said jokingly as the Parliamentary session ended, “I hope you are here to ask questions about democracy within the PNM. You are always interested in democracy within the UNC.”

The PNM has previously postponed a party convention scheduled for November 2010 to March 2011.

When asked for comment on the development, PNM stalwart Ferdie Ferreira said, “I can only assume that they are waiting for the selection of all party candidates and wait for one big bang next year.”

He said he believes that’s because the Prime Minister has already chosen a date for the election.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/pnm-cancels-internal-election-annual-convention-6.2.2132402.86510c73b4

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 14th, 2024, 7:49 pm

PM's final budget debate? Rowley: I have run the course
23493667-1024x683.jpg

THE Prime Minister hinted at his political swan song in the budget debate in the House of Representatives on October 10, following similar sentiments expressed earlier in the debate by Mayaro MP Rushton Paray.

Acknowledging Paray, Dr Rowley said he was now in his tenth year as prime minister.

"I too, may be a swan. But ladies and gentlemen, colleagues in this House, as long as I could leave here having done the best for the people of TT, it doesn't matter when I leave. But I will leave with my head held high!"

He said he hoped when he leaves, he will be proud to say he served with certain MPs. Waving his hand along the opposition benches, Rowley said he hoped he would not have to say those individuals (he was proud to have served with) would be found where the average person does not live.

"Madam Speaker, it has been a pleasure working with you as parliamentary Speaker. I don't know how much longer I will have in this Parliament, but I have done my duty and I have kept the course."
To sustained desk-thumping from government MPs, he continued: "I have run the race. I look forward not for a pot of gold, but for my family, at the end of this rainbow. I thank you, Madam Speaker."
He then sat down as the desk-thumping continued.

Earlier, Rowley lamented the recent death by suicide of bullying victim Jayden Lalchan, 15, in Princes Town, and the murders of Tara Ramsaroop and her 14-month-old baby daughter Jada Mootilal by a male relative in Barrackpore. Mother and daughter were chopped to death.

"Madam Speaker, I want to express my sincerest condolences to the family of that young schoolboy – his name is Jayden – who took his own life because of how he was being persecuted in the school.
"No parent should have to bury a child. But to have to bury one under those circumstances is particularly punishing.

"And then while I was trying to digest that, another piece of news came up where a citizen has killed a wife and a baby...and I am told he was on his way to the school to try to kill the other child, for God's sake!"

He mulled what would have happened if the assailant had reached the school and killed that second child "in front of other children. Madam Speaker, what is going on in our society?

"We have no control over the thought of criminal conduct. We can only respond to them after they have done it."

He questioned remarks by a member of public, in a media poll, calling for the PM to step down after the double murder.

"Madam Speaker, what does that horrendous act have to do with the assignment of prime minister?"

Rowley said despite allegations of police negligence, indications were the police had correctly followed all steps under the law, but "the citizen's responsibility would have fallen short," in reference to Ramsaroop deciding to take herself and her daughter to the home of the suspect, where they were both killed.

Rowley recalled having been criticised previously in the public domain when he once advised women to be careful in their choice of men.

"I made the observation then that the Government's authority ends at the front door in some instances and doesn't get into the bedroom. As we grapple with these issues, we need to take some personal responsibility about how we behave.

"Mama-yo! They nearly skewer me, for giving the advice I give to my two daughters."

He said ACP Wayne Mystar recently gave similar advice that women must be careful about how they go about their lives.

Also during his contribution, Rowley acknowledged that at least five MPs had removed themselves from under the yoke of the Opposition Leader, and he invited those MPs to show their true patriotism by vote for several upcoming government bills, including one to bring home the children of men who had left TT to fight for the militant group Islamic State; one to amend the Firearms Act to ban high-powered assault rifles; and also the Tobago Autonomy Bill.

"I am looking to see who will support this."

The debate ended with a wind-up speech by Finance Minister Colm Imbert and will head to the Standing Finance Committee on October 11 at 10 am.
https://newsday.co.tt/2024/10/10/pms-final-budget-debaterowley-i-have-run-the-course/

Postby hover11 » October 14th, 2024, 7:50 pm

AUDIT LAUNCHED INTO OPM ENTERTAINMENT EXPENSES 2010 TO 2024.

Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert has announced that the Central Audit Division has been instructed to launch an audit into the Office of the Prime Minister's 'Entertainment and Other Expenses' costs from 2010 to 2015 and 2015 to 2024.

The Report will then be laid in parliament.

DISTRACTION!!!!!!

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » October 14th, 2024, 7:56 pm

Let's save Trinidad and Tobago from PNM government.
23242320-1024x773.jpg

Open letter to Foster Cummings, Minister of Youth Development and National Service.

CURTIS A OBRADY

Arima.

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/10/12/lets-save-trinidad-and-tobago-from-pnm-government/

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » October 14th, 2024, 8:27 pm

Why media trying to push pnm internal business out on is. We don't care about any pnm internal election , we only want a general election date

Postby 88sins » October 14th, 2024, 8:51 pm

Trinbagonians, ah begging allyuh, please
Vote PNM in 2025.

Then, hold on to your arse, if you can, because they coming for that too with clown inbutt idea for his proposed "explain your wealth" legislation.
If allyuh feel this property tax thing is a debacle designed to shaft the population, allyuh eh see nuttn yet

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2024, 8:54 pm

the only ting fc good for is making a set of acronyms
all them banners he have with mydns and a million other acronyms on it
in fact that is all this pnm good for, making acronyms

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » October 14th, 2024, 9:07 pm

pugboy wrote:the only ting fc good for is making a set of acronyms
all them banners he have with mydns and a million other acronyms on it
in fact that is all this pnm good for, making acronyms

Them urban radio hosts and djs real like Foster

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2024, 6:31 am

forget bout swimming pools
try cricket instead

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 9e0bf.html

Postby hover11 » October 15th, 2024, 8:27 am

No one is protesting - not one individual, not one group, not one organisation. The unions are just talking. It's all talk. Insanity. We are heading for Haiti.

wing

Postby wing » October 15th, 2024, 10:11 am

hover11 wrote:No one is protesting - not one individual, not one group, not one organisation. The unions are just talking. It's all talk. Insanity. We are heading for Haiti.
We're far from Haiti. Only in a paradise we have well paid public servants spending more time on social media engaging in politics than working to serve the taxpayers.

wing

Postby wing » October 15th, 2024, 1:07 pm

So another non entity has crawled out of the latrine to call on Rowley to explain if he's leaving or staying. Ralph Maraj should explain to the public why his son committed suicide on the San Fernando hill after coming out.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 15th, 2024, 1:20 pm

wing wrote:So another non entity has crawled out of the latrine to call on Rowley to explain if he's leaving or staying. Ralph Maraj should explain to the public why his son committed suicide on the San Fernando hill after coming out.

Ralph Maraj's adult son (he was 30 yrs old) killing himself in Hilton shouldn't be anybody's business but the family.

wing

Postby wing » October 15th, 2024, 1:42 pm

wing wrote:So another non entity has crawled out of the latrine to call on Rowley to explain if he's leaving or staying. Ralph Maraj should explain to the public why his son committed suicide on the San Fernando hill after coming out.

Ralph Maraj's adult son (he was 30 yrs old) killing himself in Hilton shouldn't be anybody's business but the family.
There was another attempt in secondary school. Point being, why does Rowley owe a washed up poet an explanation on if he staying or not? The request is as ridiculous as the one I posted.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 15th, 2024, 1:44 pm

wing wrote:

There was another attempt in secondary school. Point being, why does Rowley owe a washed up poet an explanation on if he staying or not? The request is as ridiculous as the one I posted.

Keith Rowley is the PM of the country.
He owes us all an explanation as he works for us.

Any employee at the cusp of retirement has to go through an exit process.

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2024, 1:45 pm

dictators are not employees….

Postby Dizzy28 » October 15th, 2024, 1:47 pm

pugboy wrote:dictators are not employees….

The man leads according to how the system allows him to.
If the Opposition don't like it organize a valid strategy to win an election as the system allows. Hoping enough ppl have discontent with KCR and the PNM and willing to overlook the obvious flaws of the UNC is not a strategy,it's a wish.