Coffee drinkers

Re: Coffee drinkers

Postby K74T » August 8th, 2024, 7:54 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I think I'm good on coffee for the remainder of the year with these two packs.

On another note had coffee from a Nespresso. I rate it!!!
20240808_193649.jpg
I picked up that same Costa but in the beans a little while back, it's really good.

20240808_193649.jpg

Postby K74T » August 8th, 2024, 7:55 pm

Also these Nescafe instant
20240808_194035.jpg

Postby eliteauto » August 8th, 2024, 8:51 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
david12 wrote:Guys, any tips on using a Moka Pot? I bought one recently and I'm not getting the results that I'm supposed to. I'm putting boiling water first and not packing the coffee. Also I'm using medium heat to get it going and then dropping it slowly to low when it starts brewing. It keeps sputtering out and isn't an even flow.

I have a thick iron tawah (3-4mm thick). I put the moka pot on that with lukewarm water and leave it on medium heat. I know it's iron because it rusts.

It takes 12+ mins to brew a pot.

If you really want a little crema effect, you need a fine or fine-to-medium grind. But if you looking to replicate the true espresso effect with a a good head, the moka pot does not get to the pressure needed. Better than drip, but not true espresso
This is the high science I read on this post sometime earlier. It works really well, tawah ftw

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 19th, 2024, 1:28 pm

Moka pot boys, don’t forget to change your gasket every 12 months or so.
I use mine every day, I suppose I got about 500 brews from mine but it needed changing for the last 2-3 months

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 27th, 2024, 9:54 am

Morning everyone.
Any suggestions as to where to get a Nespresso or Keurig locally? Checked HD Coffee in Debe, they have the Keurigs. Any other options let me know.

Thanks.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » August 27th, 2024, 10:29 am

PapaC wrote:Morning everyone.
Any suggestions as to where to get a Nespresso or Keurig locally? Checked HD Coffee in Debe, they have the Keurigs. Any other options let me know.

Thanks.

For Keurig pods you can get them at any gourmet stores around - Peppercorns, one in Valpark (cant rem the name) etc. they might have nespresso too.

Have to make a pass by HD Coffee when I go down that side.

Postby eliteauto » August 27th, 2024, 10:56 am

Postby Dizzy28 » August 27th, 2024, 11:10 am

Thanks.

I have a hybrid machine that uses grounds and K cups with an interchangeable basket. Think the wife got in in Heartland Plaza a few years back. Possibly Homeland Furnishing.

I tried nespresso in a nespresso store recently and tbh it was miles ahead of any K cup coffee I have ever had. Not sure which pod they used but I had asked for a black with a touch of milk after (no sugar)
If I had the coin I would definitely get the Nespresso.
PXL_20240807_122414543.jpg

originalbling

Postby originalbling » August 27th, 2024, 12:57 pm

Thanks.

I have a hybrid machine that uses grounds and K cups with an interchangeable basket. Think the wife got in in Heartland Plaza a few years back. Possibly Homeland Furnishing.

I tried nespresso in a nespresso store recently and tbh it was miles ahead of any K cup coffee I have ever had. Not sure which pod they used but I had asked for a black with a touch of milk after (no sugar)
If I had the coin I would definitely get the Nespresso.
PXL_20240807_122414543.jpg

Its two different brewing methods, grounds size and cup size. The average K cup brews an 8 oz cup while the espresso brews are 4-6oz i think, so stronger richer taste. try setting to the smallest cup and strong brew option on the keurig.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 28th, 2024, 6:10 pm

Thanks for the feedback guys.
Got the Keurig on sale at HD Coffee for 999. Took the reusable basket one time, as I normally buy beans for a conventional drip machine.
Also took their membership as I got a discount one time. $100 for life and immoderate discounts on all present and future purchases. They have a nice assortment of pods and bags.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 25th, 2024, 9:29 am

I really tried to support local.
Bought a pack of Jose Perez Grounds last weekend. Read on the pack a story about some Cuban who moved to the TT in the 1930s and started a roasting business in PoS with someone.
So far I have brewed using the Jose Perez twice and man that flavour profile is horrible.
Finally opened my New England brand this week and its chalk and cheese.

Also on the grind side the Jose Perez is a bit too fine for my machine.

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2024, 10:00 am

a lot depends on age of beans
beans lose a lot after 2-4weeks
but plateaus a bit and after couple months it’s all downhill and not same taste
and that is for whole beans

ground will be a lot faster degradation

Dizzy28 wrote:I really tried to support local.
Bought a pack of Jose Perez Grounds last weekend. Read on the pack a story about some Cuban who moved to the TT in the 1930s and started a roasting business in PoS with someone.
So far I have brewed using the Jose Perez twice and man that flavour profile is horrible.
Finally opened my New England brand this week and its chalk and cheese.

Also on the grind side the Jose Perez is a bit too fine for my machine.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 25th, 2024, 11:17 am

Massy has some Waitrose ground that decent.

The Java is good. Went to grab a second pack and picked up a Colombian. These are the "reserve" packages, not regular. Comes in a kinda muted gold colour pack.

All the local coffee I tried was failure tbh, I gave a lot of them a fair shot - from commercial to small farms.

Postby alfa » October 25th, 2024, 12:11 pm

What does rituals use, local? Their stuff is really good I find

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 27th, 2024, 11:37 am

alfa wrote:What does rituals use, local? Their stuff is really good I find

Nah they importing everything, only thing local is the staff and the company registration

Postby Dizzy28 » December 12th, 2024, 10:54 am

Got myself my newest stash, none of which I had before. Should be set for a few months.

Really didn't look closely when ordering the tims because until I collected I didn't realize I ordered beans.
PXL_20241212_140025867~2.jpg

david12

Postby david12 » December 12th, 2024, 11:12 am

I picked up Dunkin in Pricesmart years ago and didn't realise it was beans. Ended up grinding it with a Ninja and using it for cold brew and drip because it was on the coarser side.

Postby timelapse » December 12th, 2024, 3:05 pm

alfa wrote:What does rituals use, local? Their stuff is really good I find

Commercial brand name Big Train

Postby st7 » December 12th, 2024, 3:18 pm

allyuh know any good coffee shops besides Noir Coffee Lab? i been to Full Bloom but nothing impressed me there... daz like a Diana's tea shop where everyone HAS to go there to be seen lol

david12

Postby david12 » December 12th, 2024, 3:37 pm

st7 wrote:allyuh know any good coffee shops besides Noir Coffee Lab? i been to Full Bloom but nothing impressed me there... daz like a Diana's tea shop where everyone HAS to go there to be seen lol
5AM Club is pretty chill and not snobby.

Postby alfa » December 12th, 2024, 3:50 pm

st7 wrote:allyuh know any good coffee shops besides Noir Coffee Lab? i been to Full Bloom but nothing impressed me there... daz like a Diana's tea shop where everyone HAS to go there to be seen lol

Full bloom and Diane is almost like a meeting place for a sleeper cell lol. Everyone entering knows everyone who was already seated and one setta hugs and handshakes and then back to individual business

Postby st7 » December 12th, 2024, 7:06 pm

david12 wrote:
5AM Club is pretty chill and not snobby.

oh yeah i been there a couple of times. i like it there too.

i saw it have a place in montrose right by the traffic lights from the highway called Sunday Coffee, but is to reach to park there... lol

Postby X_Factor » December 13th, 2024, 1:09 am

how is boba and brew?
i saw the guy who does roastel stuff recommend that place

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2024, 12:48 pm

Now remember I also bought a box of Pods ....assorted black coffees, no flavoured Shiite.
PXL_20241213_163305380.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » January 6th, 2025, 9:09 am

Got this for Christmas. Solves the beans problem I had where I errantly bought a 2lb bag of Tim Horton beans instead of Grounds.
WhatsApp Image 2025-01-06 at 9.08.04 AM.jpeg

david12

Postby david12 » January 21st, 2025, 1:37 pm

I've been grinding my herbs...I mean beans since December. Recently I've found that my pre grounds were getting stale quickly on me so grinding right before brewing makes a big difference. A bag of coffee has become more versatile for different brewing methods now; Moka pot, cold brew, drip etc.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 17th, 2025, 6:00 pm

Good day tuners anybody knows where I'll get lavazza perfetto/dark roast coffee? Kinda hoping to use my few minutes off from shift to go get some tomorrow and not go hunting for it, thanks plenty. South is ideal place but wherever available

Postby eliteauto » March 17th, 2025, 6:05 pm

viedcht wrote:Good day tuners anybody knows where I'll get lavazza perfetto/dark roast coffee? Kinda hoping to use my few minutes off from shift to go get some tomorrow and not go hunting for it, thanks plenty. South is ideal place but wherever available
Adam's has, I think Peppercorns and/or Malabar Farms as well

Postby st7 » March 17th, 2025, 6:10 pm

Massy has.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 18th, 2025, 2:14 pm

Thanks fellas I just Massy and get some marabella branch Appreciate the help