Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2024, 7:05 pm

thanks will check them

triniguy868

Postby triniguy868 » July 26th, 2024, 3:56 am

Drea wrote:What's the current market rate for building? Heard it's about $600/sq ft :?:

It really depends on the finishings you want to use. Would now range from $650-$990 per sq ft. Also must factor in cost to build everything outside of the building. 75k+ depends on land and slope.

If you buying everything from the hardware it's $650

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » August 14th, 2024, 1:49 am

Anyone knows how to do stucco on walls and where sells the material?

Thinking of experimenting and doing it myself. Because persons are quoting material and labor around $14 per sq ft.

Postby adnj » August 14th, 2024, 10:24 am

You can use sand, portland cement and water. There are other commercial mixes that you can use but if you use the locally available, fine, gray plastering sand, you will get good results.

You can find the ratios that you'll need to use for each coat of the three coats online. You also need a plastering trowel and a hawk. Depending on what you're doing you will probably want more than one size of trowel.

You will need to consider how you're going to mix it, also.
Last edited by adnj on August 14th, 2024, 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » August 14th, 2024, 10:32 am

adnj wrote:You can use sand, portland cement and water. There are other commercial mixes that you can use but if you use the locally available, fine, gray plastering sand, you will get good results.

You can find the ratios that you'll need to use for each coat of the three coats online. You also need a plastering trowel and a hawk. Depending on what you're doing you will probably want more than one size of trowel.

You will need to consider how your going to mix it, also.

Thanks. Looking to get the glitter, textured and painted finish.

Where sells the commercial mixes like this photo?
IMG_0081.jpeg

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 14th, 2024, 11:00 am

thelem-again wrote:
adnj wrote:You can use sand, portland cement and water. There are other commercial mixes that you can use but if you use the locally available, fine, gray plastering sand, you will get good results.

Sherwin Williams sells Total Wall

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » August 14th, 2024, 11:22 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
thelem-again wrote:

Sherwin Williams sells Total Wall

Awesome. Thanks

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 19th, 2024, 8:59 am

Do light intensity switches/dials need their own individual breakers?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » August 27th, 2024, 7:20 pm

where in south central (macaulay/claxton bay) have cheap/sale on construction materials atm?
Looking to do a foundation, so steel, concrete blocks and cement, anyone see any good deals on these recently?
Also where/who can i check for a load of gravel in the area that reasonable? Ah man wanted 2800 which i found a bit high, but things may have raised since i last bought stuff so i cya tote.

any assistance much appreiated bros

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 6th, 2024, 6:02 pm

Does anybody know where I can get door dampeners, like a strip of foam or rubber with adhesive? Got some a decade ago but can't remember where I got it from.

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » September 6th, 2024, 11:01 pm

viedcht wrote:Does anybody know where I can get door dampeners, like a strip of foam or rubber with adhesive? Got some a decade ago but can't remember where I got it from.

Probably check Southern Wholesale Stores or Allied.
Last edited by centricgtr on September 6th, 2024, 11:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

centricgtr

Postby centricgtr » September 6th, 2024, 11:03 pm

daxt0r wrote:where in south central (macaulay/claxton bay) have cheap/sale on construction materials atm?
Looking to do a foundation, so steel, concrete blocks and cement, anyone see any good deals on these recently?
Also where/who can i check for a load of gravel in the area that reasonable? Ah man wanted 2800 which i found a bit high, but things may have raised since i last bought stuff so i cya tote.

Probably check out Superior Hardware in Forres Park

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 7th, 2024, 6:54 am

daxt0r wrote:where in south central (macaulay/claxton bay) have cheap/sale on construction materials atm?

2700-2800 is the average price for gravel(most of them say 10 yards but it's like 9 and they would be taking a chance)

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » September 9th, 2024, 12:03 pm

gt with a man who was just passin on the road seeing me doing the job, got ah 8 yards for 2000

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2024, 12:46 pm

washed and graded?

daxt0r wrote:gt with a man who was just passin on the road seeing me doing the job, got ah 8 yards for 2000

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » September 9th, 2024, 3:15 pm

i have ZERO idea, it seemed like the normal stuff but then again i don't know about grades etc; i just tell d man ah wa half and half for foundation as i normally do by the hardware and he bring it.
what i can say it was much easier to work and lighter than the "blue magic" stuff they sell in bago as half and half.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 9th, 2024, 5:53 pm

pugboy wrote:washed and graded?

daxt0r wrote:gt with a man who was just passin on the road seeing me doing the job, got ah 8 yards for 2000
Pug can you give some insight into the difference? And maybe when/ where to use for which applications?

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2024, 6:10 pm

I am not sure the exact specs but proper gravel used for spec'd out concrete
is usually a mix of 2 sizes stones, a larger stone and finer stone, hence the term 1/2 and 1/2
and would be visibly clean looking with uniform stones which obviously passed thru some strainer sizing

many times the gravel you get from unknown(illegal?) sources is ungraded and you can easily tell
as it mixed up all how from very fine sand to big round stones 1-2" etc

viedcht wrote:
pugboy wrote:washed and graded?

Pug can you give some insight into the difference? And maybe when/ where to use for which applications?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 11th, 2024, 9:16 am

Lookig for some custom insect/mosquito screens

Who y'all recommend?

I seeing alumax and insect screen specialist both offering custom screens

Anybody has experiences with either company?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 11th, 2024, 8:19 pm

Best deals on security doors, aluminum French windows ? I doh need figures here. Just about 3-4 companies to get quotes for a build

mantis

Postby mantis » September 23rd, 2024, 9:32 am

Good day any one knows where sells Dimond Brite for swimming pools at a good price, also who sells coping stone.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » September 26th, 2024, 2:45 pm

Hi all, last time i was on this thread was in 2017, just to get a general idea of things, was nowhere near building.
Today, I'm ready to get some quotes! In 2024 what is a ROUGH ESTIMATED RANGE per square ft for a 2000 sq ft single-story home with 3 be two baths and walk-in closet? Hope I'm not repetitive as I did not go through the entire thread 8-)

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 26th, 2024, 3:41 pm

eurotuner wrote:Hi all, last time i was on this thread was in [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6]], just to get a general idea of things, was nowhere near building.
Today, I'm ready to get some quotes! In [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]] what is a ROUGH ESTIMATED RANGE per square ft for a [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]] sq ft single-story home with be two baths and walk-in closet? Hope I'm not repetitive as I did not go through the entire thread [emoji[emoji6]]-)

Depends on finishes but so far you’re looking at anywhere from [emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]-[emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]] psf for low/midrange

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 26th, 2024, 3:42 pm

Um, dunno what happen there but the app injecting extra characters into my post?

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2024, 3:45 pm

$600 a sq ft

Building a house in Trinidad

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 27th, 2024, 10:32 am

Edit

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » September 27th, 2024, 8:32 pm

Can anyone advise what whole house surge protector is best for my main panel?

My main breaker is 200 Amps and there are normally alot of surges in my area. I already had to do repairs to an ac unit and a freezer due to surges.

Any advice would be appreciated.