The TSTT / Bmobile discussion thread

The Bamboo Online

Re: The TSTT / Bmobile discussion thread

Postby The Bamboo Online » March 24th, 2024, 6:06 pm

Government offers poor families free home 20mb internet plus a smart phone and tablet with service that has unlimited calling and 5gig at 5G speeds in USA . Homeless folks can get the smart phone too

That’s how generous it’s possible to be but not In Trinidad what’s happening is called price gouging until someone speaks up and say enough is enough and then nothing will happen cause trini folks can only stay focused on important things for 10 days.

I
maj. tom wrote:So they finally rolled it up. I was saying that this was what they meant to do all along since they announced that new set of plans if you scroll back to those posts. Less for more definitely always the plan. And Digicel does the same regarding addons so really can't complain your only choice now is which set of deadzone dogsheit smelling better for your wallet.

lol Digicel plan offering 1GB data for 30 days for $175 how disgustingly ridiculous is that? 1GB!!

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 24th, 2024, 6:23 pm

I pay 30 BRL (40 TTD) a month for a 5G plan with unlimited WhatsApp and Waze and 5 gigs of Data with rollover, plus calling and text. Bmobile and Digicel charge insane prices. On another note, we all know about Bmobile and Mediatek, and the issues on their network with their physical sims, but how about a Mediatek phone that supports eSim? Would the same issues arise? Was thinking about getting one when I visit soon.

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2024, 1:07 pm

who is this Ultra Mobile with a rate of only $3 per month and additional data only 3 cents per MB ?

PAYG rates T&T.png

Postby maj. tom » March 25th, 2024, 1:33 pm

You know of an Ultra Mobile in Trinidad?
It says right there that "AI overviews are experimental."

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2024, 1:39 pm

maj. tom wrote:You know of an Ultra Mobile in Trinidad?
It says right there that "AI overviews are experimental."

so it hallucinating then- anyway if its US that's still about 20 cents per mb vs $1.50

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2024, 3:14 pm

this was April 2020

Pay As You Go prepaid customers can now enjoy data rates that are discounted by 90%. Stay at home, but never out of touch. We’re making it easier for you to stay connected as we go through this crisis together.
Get the details and see all the ways we’re helping to keep you connected at https://www.bmobilecares.com/
#bhome #lifeison #TogetherStronger #868Strong #StayHome #CloserApart

if they could cut rates by 90% it means it never costed them anything near that much.

Postby maj. tom » March 25th, 2024, 3:52 pm

This man calling for boycott like KFC (yeah that worked).
errr it get kinda political near the end.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=7103123083150032

Postby gastly369 » March 25th, 2024, 11:50 pm

He eh wrong tho....

death365

Postby death365 » March 26th, 2024, 11:08 am

On-going work, McDonald's Cipriani Blvd.
20240326_110240.jpg

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2024, 12:04 pm

i bite d bullet and take d $160 eagle plan- i can now access the data addon section so im wondering if i can do something to extend the plan -anyway lemme not give any details to blight it.

Postby maj. tom » March 26th, 2024, 12:20 pm

When your data expires in that plan you will get an sms telling you that if you want more data to buy an add-on. The addon will have conditions whether it is for 7 days or for 30 days and then that expires, the sms should tell you. So the add-on only works if you have an active plan to add on to.

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2024, 12:42 pm

but if it expire its not active! so i will have to take the addon like 1 day before?

Postby maj. tom » March 26th, 2024, 12:45 pm

sorry I don't mean expired. I mean if you hit the 2GB limit in the $160 plan and you want more data...

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2024, 1:55 pm

maj. tom wrote:sorry I don't mean expired. I mean if you hit the 2GB limit in the $160 plan and you want more data...

ok. but i only use data while driving and mostly waze alone-on wifi at home and at work so that would likely not be an issue for me. just want to extend the plan by using the addon.

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » March 26th, 2024, 2:08 pm

redmanjp wrote:
maj. tom wrote:sorry I don't mean expired. I mean if you hit the 2GB limit in the $160 plan and you want more data...

ok. but i only use data while driving and mostly waze alone-on wifi at home and at work so that would likely not be an issue for me. just want to extend the plan by using the addon.

wit or witout waze i stuck in traffic :cry: i dont even bother with data on a daily

Postby Habit7 » April 5th, 2024, 6:31 pm

T&T has both one of the cheapest and most expensive mobile data prices in the Caribbean

https://ict-pulse.com/2023/09/snapshot- ... n-in-2023/

Postby paid_influencer » April 5th, 2024, 7:02 pm

Habit7 wrote:T&T has both one of the cheapest and most expensive mobile data prices in the Caribbean

ok

Postby Les Bain » April 5th, 2024, 11:14 pm

This makes their Bmobile iz a vibe nonsense even more infuriating. I woulda say their social media moderation team raking in the overtime but their staff getting the same veiny shaft the customers getting too.

Say what, is back to text messages and offline Google Maps navigation for me.

eitech

Postby eitech » April 6th, 2024, 10:21 am

Yuh can win no how with these new bmobile bundles na. What you guys using that is economical?

Postby paid_influencer » April 6th, 2024, 4:42 pm

eitech wrote:Yuh can win no how with these new bmobile bundles na. What you guys using that is economical?

company wifi

Postby redmanjp » April 6th, 2024, 8:17 pm

Les Bain wrote:This makes their Bmobile iz a vibe nonsense even more infuriating. I woulda say their social media moderation team raking in the overtime but their staff getting the same veiny shaft the customers getting too.

Say what, is back to text messages and offline Google Maps navigation for me.

I can do offline maps in waze as well but real time traffic updates wont be possible. But some cell providers allow waze data for free - not sure if bmobile is 1 of them

Postby K74T » April 6th, 2024, 8:34 pm

Digicel

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » April 11th, 2024, 12:07 pm

Maybe this is why they raising prices :? .
https://trinidadexpress.com/business/local/tstt-to-invest-160m-in-network-upgrade/article_1571dd80-f3b9-11ee-950d-7388dbe9f28b.html

TSTT to invest $160m in network upgrade

THE Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago (TSTT) has announced plans to invest more than $160 million in upgrading its network over the next 12 months.
Among the changes that TSTT hopes to introduce by next year is a new standard which allows customers to make voice calls on their cellphones and surf the internet simultaneously at regular speeds.
“It’s difficult to imagine navigating today’s increasingly connected world without access to fast, reliable connectivity. Each day, more and more people depend on it to work, communicate and connect with loved ones. Clear, uninterrupted mobile service and broadband Internet that is dependable and fast are the cornerstone of today’s connected world—and citizens expect it, in fact, they demand it, from their service providers,” a release from TSTT stated yesterday.

“Over the next 12 months, TSTT will seek to improve nationwide connectivity, as it prioritises enhancing customers’ experience with its brands and suite of services. The company will direct a considerable amount of its efforts and resources towards enhancing its network, with the goal of building the nation’s most advanced infrastructure with unsurpassed reliability and security. At its recent investor call for the quarter ended December 31st, 2023, the company announced it would spend more than $160 million upgrading its network,” it stated.

“Our aim? To build the top-tier network in Trinidad and Tobago, exceeding our customers’ expectations,” said TSTT’s acting chief executive officer Kent Western.

“In this ultra-connected era, we grasp the pivotal role of telecommunications in people’s lives. That’s why we’re dedicated to delivering a network that empowers individuals and businesses alike,” Western said.

According to TSTT the investment will go towards further deployment of LTE (Long-Term Evolution) at 80 additional sites and advanced wireless service (AWS) at 40 sites. This will ensure that customers always have access to the fastest data and the best call quality.

TSTT said is it also actively testing VOLTE (Voice over LTE), with the anticipation it will be ready for rollout in the coming year.

“With VoLTE, customers can expect a superior experience where the mobile device remains in the 4G/LTE network during voice calls. Essentially, they can talk and surf the Internet simultaneously at regular speeds. These advancements not only enhance network speed and coverage but also pave the way for additional innovative services and applications that enrich the user experience,” TSTT stated.

“Everything we do is geared towards giving our users the absolute best. We’re firm believers that a strong, dependable network is the bedrock of outstanding telecommunications,” Western said.

“Through ongoing investments in our infrastructure, we’re dead set on setting new standards for telecoms in Trinidad and Tobago and beyond,” he said.

TSTT also reported an increase in profitability for the nine months ended December 31, 2023.

“At the end of the third quarter of the 2024 financial year, TSTT proudly reported to its local and international investors another consecutive period of stable financial performance and sustained growth across its business. After an unprofitable period, Trinidad and Tobago’s only indigenous communications solutions provider has successfully returned to a period of profitability, thanks to the hard work and commitment of its team. With a stable outlook and cashflow, the company can now prioritise key investments that address feedback from its customers,” it stated.

“For the nine-month period ending December 31, 2023, TSTT saw a 6% year-over-year increase in revenue, reaching $1,489 million, with operating profit soaring by 29% to $435 million. Revenue from each quarter of the 2024 financial year to date, has exceeded all quarters in the previous two financial years. These results are evidence that the investments being made by the company and the strategic initiatives that have been employed are bringing returns. Based on the performance of the last three quarters, TSTT is well on its way to exceeding the prior year annual revenue,” it stated.

“We’re all about growth and stability, and our financial performance reflects that—solid as ever,” Western said.

“Moving forward, our sights are set on beefing up network reliability, bolstering brand trust, and fortifying TSTT’s cybersecurity stance,” he said.

TSTT said it is well-positioned to sustain profitability while serving the growing needs of its customers and building a superior network to support it.

Postby Les Bain » April 11th, 2024, 4:29 pm

They could print that corporate statement on sandpaper and shove it up the CEO and board poop chutes.

Postby maj. tom » April 11th, 2024, 4:34 pm

No upgrades are not the reason why. Increases and sheit data plans less for more are for shareholder profit and exec salaries. And all the personal data they give away to hackers with practically no system security.

Postby paid_influencer » April 11th, 2024, 6:10 pm

regulatory capture is why they are raising prices hth

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » April 12th, 2024, 6:16 pm

Lol yeah ik, was just being sarcastic. Dem and Digicel always looking for some reason to raise prices. Duopoly in effect.

Postby redmanjp » April 30th, 2024, 11:44 am

wtf bmobile! i had $25 my data addon just expired so i toggled flight mode to see if i would get back any money that might be lost after it expires - when i check it again is $0.90 :roll: :x

so unless u know u lost money don't toggle flight mode after your plan expires!

EDIT : 3 minutes later the balance came back but is $20. waiting to see if the rest comes back.

Postby redmanjp » May 1st, 2024, 1:39 am

Online topup failing. It fail 3 times.

maxtech

Postby maxtech » May 1st, 2024, 9:49 am

redmanjp wrote:Online topup failing. It fail 3 times.

I'm have the same issue payment failed with credit card and paypal. Digicel payment went through fine. Bmobile must be fixing something. They could of at least send a warning or notice.