Income Tax Refunds

ADONI

Re: Income Tax Refunds

Postby ADONI » February 28th, 2024, 3:40 pm

Oh Guys, What do you do when filing for a year you didn't work? Just leave it as unfilled?

rafman

Postby rafman » March 1st, 2024, 7:30 am

Anyone tried to file a return for 2023? I am not seeing the option.

Postby Dave » March 1st, 2024, 7:45 am

See above..April it should be out.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 1st, 2024, 9:19 pm

ADONI wrote:Oh Guys, What do you do when filing for a year you didn't work? Just leave it as unfilled?
If you are telling them you received no income from any sources for that income tax year, you will be required to do an affidavit/ probably the other named person as well, that another taxpayer was supporting you during that time. Or somehow prove to the officer that you were financially capable of supporting yourself. I think

Postby bluefete » March 2nd, 2024, 4:49 am

No refunds until Jan 2025 - Just in time for elections

Postby Kenjo » March 2nd, 2024, 3:01 pm

bluefete wrote:No refunds until Jan 2025 - Just in time for elections

Who said this ?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 2nd, 2024, 3:07 pm

viedcht wrote:
ADONI wrote:Oh Guys, What do you do when filing for a year you didn't work? Just leave it as unfilled?
If you are telling them you received no income from any sources for that income tax year, you will be required to do an affidavit/ probably the other named person as well, that another taxpayer was supporting you during that time. Or somehow prove to the officer that you were financially capable of supporting yourself. I think
There was a year I had no income for some months and a letter was all the they needed explaining why I didn't have 52weeks of pay.

Postby Kenjo » March 2nd, 2024, 6:12 pm

viedcht wrote:
There was a year I had no income for some months and a letter was all the they needed explaining why I didn't have 52weeks of pay.

Yup it has an option to enter the weeks worked and you can put 0 and attach the reason

Postby bluefete » March 24th, 2024, 1:09 pm

Dave wrote:See above..April it should be out.

rafman wrote:Anyone tried to file a return for 2023? I am not seeing the option.

Portal still closed for 2023 filing.

Imbert and dem playing smart with foolishness. They don't want anyone to file early to get back refunds.

They keeping all the refunds until 2025- to fool the people - as usual.

Postby Dave » March 24th, 2024, 1:40 pm

As far as I can remember...the previous year's returns were never available till end April/May of the following year.

Postby bluefete » March 24th, 2024, 1:51 pm

Dave wrote:As far as I can remember...the previous year's returns were never available till end April/May of the following year.

Last year or year before, I think it was available from March. But I old so my memory may not be all that.

Postby Dave » March 24th, 2024, 2:46 pm

Nah I do this for a living and like to do returns as they are available...it was during April it was ready. I'll check my files later this evening that I would have saved.

Postby Dave » March 25th, 2024, 9:05 am

The earliest company return I have being prepared in 2023 for 2022 filings was the 5th May.
I would have been ready before May as is usually my case.

wing

Postby wing » March 25th, 2024, 10:25 am

I did mine this morning, so you can check the site.

Postby Dave » March 25th, 2024, 10:28 am

Personal return?
Company ones are still not available.

Postby Dave » March 25th, 2024, 10:30 am

Crikey..personals are available!
Long live Colm!

simplejack

Postby simplejack » April 8th, 2024, 2:45 pm

Though I filed in March 2023 for 2022, I have not received anything. It's still stuck at "processed" and its under 10k. Just filed for 2023, even knowing this is probably gonna get stalled again since its over ~12k. Frustrating.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2024, 3:39 pm

I filed last week (3rd) will report when I get cheque in hand.

Usually takes 6-10 weeks for me based on past experiences.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 8th, 2024, 4:04 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I filed last week (3rd) will report when I get cheque in hand.

I got TD4s last week but none of the statements from my financial institutions.
I always envy people who can file as early as possible.

Me I can't even file my TD1 as yet.

demented

Postby demented » April 9th, 2024, 7:46 am

You can request the statements from your financial institutions early, so you have everything once you get the TD4 in hand.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 9th, 2024, 9:14 am

demented wrote:

You can request the statements from your financial institutions early, so you have everything once you get the TD4 in hand.

My biggest one is a work one. We can't go directly to the financial institutions ourselves.
My personal stuff with GHL if I ask them today I getting statements tommorow. I usually wait for the work one before bothering my personal one.

macd

Postby macd » May 30th, 2024, 1:59 pm

Any update on when income tax refunds will be disbursed?

Skillys

Postby Skillys » May 31st, 2024, 10:05 pm

macd wrote:Any update on when income tax refunds will be disbursed?
Same I want to know also.

simplejack

Postby simplejack » June 7th, 2024, 9:19 am

waiting for 2022 and 2023 and both were filed on time :cry:

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 7th, 2024, 12:41 pm

Got my assessment letter. Usually, I get the cheque about 2 weeks after

Still waiting

Postby Les Bain » June 7th, 2024, 2:14 pm

BIR claims they sent a refund cheque to my P.O Box last year.
National Mail Centre says nuh uh. BIR says uh huh. Back and forth so for some weeks til BIR say they will reissue one.
Ask if I could collect it at their office. They say nuh uh. We go mail it to you.

That's almost a year now. National Mail Centre say they have not received any BIR cheques in a long ass time.
Why isn't collecting your cheque from the horse's mouth not an option?

Postby bluefete » June 7th, 2024, 3:36 pm

bluefete wrote:Income tax refunds paying like rain before August 2025.

Skillys wrote:
Same I want to know also.

Even if the Treasury empty, Imbert will find money from somewhere to pay refunds before elections in 2025.

Meanwhile, allyuh fellas will have to hold on to your hats until then.

Postby Dave » June 7th, 2024, 3:40 pm

Don't ever be in the position for the govt to have money for you. If your respective payroll departments need lessons in tax calculation..check me.

Postby bluefete » June 7th, 2024, 5:41 pm

Dave wrote:Don't ever be in the position for the govt to have money for you. If your respective payroll departments need lessons in tax calculation..check me.

Great point. Self-employed people know this the best.

Postby Dave » June 7th, 2024, 9:36 pm

There is ample room in the existing tax laws to allow you to owe the govt and not pay penalties and interest.
Stop being a victim of your employer and accountant.