one thing for sure
rc uses less garlic and more of the thyme side
unlike many who overload on garlic and shadon beni
didn’t see any shadon beni in the vid

snatman

Re: Soo KFC raise again

Postby snatman » March 19th, 2024, 8:28 am

Equal amounts of everything by weight. Except pepper of course. That'll be your personal choice. I add a few extra-hots along with the habaneros.

daring dragoon wrote:
snatman wrote:Some years ago I came across a youtube video featuring an interview with the then-owner of Royal Castle - Montrichard. The interviewer was taken on a tour of the small factory where they made the pepper sauce - some for export. All the ingredients were laid out on tables being prepped. So I told myself I'll try to make it using just those ingredients in equal amounts.

Yuh believe it come out just like Royal Castle sauce? exact thing. I blind tested it on a couple friends to see if they could tell the difference, they couldnt.

Later on I added more pepper though, since its not hot enough for me. I can't find the video anymore, I'm sure its still there somewhere though.

I haven't been back to Royal castle in ages, since the peppersauce was the only thing I went for!

what measurements you use?

snatman

Postby snatman » March 19th, 2024, 8:31 am

pugboy wrote:nice info, the seasoned taste coming from both thymes and the basil, not ppl use basil in pepper sauce

I most certainly do! I make a well-received one using basil, hardi root and ginger. Of course in mild amounts to not overpower.

snatman

Postby snatman » March 20th, 2024, 1:12 pm

IN the video clip Montrichard said they cooked the Florida sauce, but I didn't cook mine. So i dunno if that was for export only. I should try that next time with a small amount and see.

brickman

Postby brickman » March 20th, 2024, 4:07 pm

pugboy wrote:it’s not quite the same as when first came out though
it’s hotter now and slightly less of the nice seasoned taste
i am not a pepper mouth but liked to use it a lot before
Agreed,RC pepper sauce quality dropped hard.Rather use pepper sauce from the grocery tbh.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 31st, 2024, 5:50 pm

Bought KFC today after years, and I've gotta to say it is definitely one of the worst tasting chicken I've ever eaten. It had no seasoning not even salt in the chicken, it was completely bland. I can't remember KFC chicken ever tasting like that. I'm wondering if their quality control has gone to the dogs. Anyone else experience this lately with them?

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2024, 5:54 pm

DMan7 wrote:Bought KFC today after years, and I've gotta to say it is definitely one of the worst tasting chicken I've ever eaten. It had no seasoning not even salt in the chicken, it was completely bland. I can't remember KFC chicken ever tasting like that. I'm wondering if their quality control has gone to the dogs. Anyone else experience this lately with them?
The last time I buy was probably the last time. KFC tastes nothing like it used to.

Same for Hakka, I used to live on Hakka.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 31st, 2024, 6:01 pm

DMan7 wrote:Bought KFC today after years, and I've gotta to say it is definitely one of the worst tasting chicken I've ever eaten. It had no seasoning not even salt in the chicken, it was completely bland. I can't remember KFC chicken ever tasting like that. I'm wondering if their quality control has gone to the dogs. Anyone else experience this lately with them?
The last time I buy was probably the last time. KFC tastes nothing like it used to.

U probably had Covid which dimmed your taste buds and sense of smell

Postby gastly369 » March 31st, 2024, 6:06 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Same for Hakka, I used to live on Hakka.
Hakka selling spoil food whollllee dam time

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2024, 7:24 pm

xtech wrote:

I heard more than one person said COVID affected taste and smell. My sense of smell is still good but even before COVID I find KFC wasn't what it used to be.

Care to share where you buying your Hakka? So I can pass through and sample it. There is differences in taste in the outlets I have patronized in recent times. Nothing like what it used to be about 10 years ago.

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2024, 7:38 pm

hakka is super salty imo

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » March 31st, 2024, 7:58 pm

c3b50b43-51bd-4c01-b550-c5e3e5c95a0a.jpeg
e7bef09e-8c4e-4568-a713-fb536e7273a5.jpeg

Postby alfa » March 31st, 2024, 8:00 pm

xtech wrote:

I heard more than one person said COVID affected taste and smell. My sense of smell is still good but even before COVID I find KFC wasn't what it used to be.

Care to share where you buying your Hakka? So I can pass through and sample it. There is differences in taste in the outlets I have patronized in recent times. Nothing like what it used to be about 10 years ago.

I see they opened a fancy new hakka in Brentwood, not sure if its the same hakka you're refering to. Could try them and see if there's a difference

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2024, 8:16 pm

as a point of observation
i never see chinese folks eating in hakka

Postby gastly369 » March 31st, 2024, 8:44 pm

Only ting I love off from hakka is the eggplant tinggy

Postby Dave » March 31st, 2024, 9:46 pm

gastly369 wrote:Only ting I love off from hakka is the eggplant tinggy
And even that is drenched in oil!

Postby MaxPower » March 31st, 2024, 10:12 pm

Pleasant good evening greasy mouths..

snatman

Postby snatman » April 12th, 2024, 8:43 am

So Prestige holdings 1st quarter results came out today. Profits AND revenue are up as expected.

So much for a boycott right?
I wonder how the social-media loudmouths will spin that? Boycott again? Boycott all profitable corporations?

Anyways. Let me boast again. Not too long ago I told everyone here to buy Prestige shares when it was at $6.
Its now trading at $13-14.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 12th, 2024, 9:09 am

I took your advice so I up 35% .lol

I am outperforming the market right now.

NFM UCL and AGL helping as well

Postby pugboy » April 12th, 2024, 9:25 am

i bought some too

Postby The_Honourable » July 3rd, 2024, 1:17 pm

lol@boycott

Prestige profits rise 16%

Prestige Holdings Ltd yesterday reported profit after tax of $23.26 million for the six-month period ended May 31, 2024, an increase of 16 per cent compared to the prior year.

In comments accompanying the financial results, Prestige Holdings chairman Christian Mouttet identified the standout performers in the franchise restaurant chain.

“While all brands contributed positively to the top line in the half year, our Pizza Hut and Subway brands remained the standout performers into the second quarter, driven by improved efficiencies and input costs,” Mouttet said.

He explained, “Group sales increased by 3 per cent to $665 million from $637 million, and profit before tax improved by 16 per cent to $35.1 million from $30.3 million when compared to the prior year. Cash flow from operations was $83 million and we ended the half year with $97 million in cash.”

Mouttet explained the company purchased the property which houses three Prestige restaurants in Valsayn.

“Net borrowing for the same period increased by $18m, reflecting the Group’s acquisition of the property in Valsayn on the Churchill Roosevelt Highway that is occupied by our KFC, Pizza Hut and Subway restaurants. During the second quarter we remodelled four restaurants and added two new Starbucks restaurants, at Independence Square Port of Spain and MovieTowne, Guyana, bringing the total number of restaurants to 136,” Mouttet said.

The Prestige chairman also hailed the performance of the company’s two Starbucks restaurants in Guyana, and stated plans to seek expansion opportunities in that market. Mouttet said, “Overall, we remain positive about the Group’s growth prospects in the three markets in which we operate.”

The board of directors approved an interim dividend of 16 cents (2023-15 cents) per common share to be paid on August 52024 to shareholders.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/pre ... ace1c85626

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2024, 2:01 pm

keep buying them blended ice drinks folks
bigger margins on dat then chicken i feel

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 3rd, 2024, 2:35 pm

The_Honourable wrote:lol@boycott

Prestige Holdings Ltd yesterday reported profit after tax of $23.26 million for the six-month period ended May 31, 2024, an increase of 16 per cent compared to the prior year.

In comments accompanying the financial results, Prestige Holdings chairman Christian Mouttet identified the standout performers in the franchise restaurant chain.

“While all brands contributed positively to the top line in the half year, our Pizza Hut and Subway brands remained the standout performers into the second quarter, driven by improved efficiencies and input costs,” Mouttet said.

He explained, “Group sales increased by 3 per cent to $665 million from $637 million, and profit before tax improved by 16 per cent to $35.1 million from $30.3 million when compared to the prior year. Cash flow from operations was $83 million and we ended the half year with $97 million in cash.”

Mouttet explained the company purchased the property which houses three Prestige restaurants in Valsayn.

“Net borrowing for the same period increased by $18m, reflecting the Group’s acquisition of the property in Valsayn on the Churchill Roosevelt Highway that is occupied by our KFC, Pizza Hut and Subway restaurants. During the second quarter we remodelled four restaurants and added two new Starbucks restaurants, at Independence Square Port of Spain and MovieTowne, Guyana, bringing the total number of restaurants to 136,” Mouttet said.

The Prestige chairman also hailed the performance of the company’s two Starbucks restaurants in Guyana, and stated plans to seek expansion opportunities in that market. Mouttet said, “Overall, we remain positive about the Group’s growth prospects in the three markets in which we operate.”

The board of directors approved an interim dividend of 16 cents (2023-15 cents) per common share to be paid on August 52024 to shareholders.

For 136 restaurants, 23 mil profit is not that great.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 3rd, 2024, 3:38 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:

Rowley ain't lie when he said the rich need to get richer to provide jobs for the poor. This looks like a charity

blazing

Postby blazing » July 3rd, 2024, 4:00 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:

Creating employment and feeding a nation...

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2024, 4:32 pm

last couple years they spent a lot of capital on building out starbucks locations

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » July 3rd, 2024, 4:41 pm

That’s around how much a small franchise license holder makes in the States…Unless those numbers are in USD

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2024, 5:19 pm

blazing wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:

Heart Disease, diabetes and obesity

blazing

Postby blazing » July 3rd, 2024, 5:57 pm

blazing wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:

Heart Disease, diabetes and obesity

Poor lifestyle choices would cause that either way

Postby alfa » July 3rd, 2024, 6:06 pm

KFC seems to be the national dish either way