Bank ATM deposit function not working..a conspiracy?

Postby Chimera » February 29th, 2024, 1:02 pm

so i just throwing this out here to see if anyone else realize the same thing i did, it affect me twice this month so i took note of it

The Red bank which pushes everyone to do ATM transactions rather than come into the branch, which has minimal tellers and very longggg wait times now, have a policy that anything under 10k cash transaction , go to the ATM

many people due date for their credit card for that bank is 16th of the month

This month I went to pay my cards on the 14th, price plaza atm eh taking deposit, i eh bother, i say i wud try back next day
try back 15th...price plaza atm eh taking deposit...again i eh fight up...i say next day ill deal with that
16th I gone 5am because i say it wud be empty and i cud gt fast. 4 atms at the branch, none taking deposits, and it have like 6 other people there at that hour complaining about the same thing, last 2 days no atm taking deposits for their credit cards or accounts, they mentioned that chaguanas and cunupia had same issue

so thats the 16th at 5m...due date
i gone down couva at 10am....atm line have about 30 people....and only one of three ATMs taking deposits...i take a number and gone inside....have about 20 people in front of me....2 tellers again (couva branch eh)
i realize its atleast a 2 hour wait

i gone back in the atm line, reach to the front in about 20 minutes

now the atm always works shitty, when u put in 2000, it wud regularly spit back out $1800 and only take $200
and because of a past bad experience with the atm and 5k going missing, i does print a receipt for every single transaction

it take me 30 minutes and 14 transactions to deposit what i went to deposit, on the ONE machine that was taking deposits, with dozens of people outside quarreling because they all come to do the same thing on credit card due date, because if you dont pay by 8pm or so, is interest in yuh mc.

a rep come to ask me if i getting tru and why i taking so long, i rough her up and tell her tell the bosses update their dotish machines and dont come around me with flabbergastery, because i take a number inside and it eh even reach yet and to go bother somone else

so that was the 16th...

today now end of month, i gone to load up my cards again to do some transactions for the weekend.

gone price plaza last night around 9pm...no atm taking deposit
gone couva....no atm taking deposit
went san juan...no atm taking deposit, is there i notice they have a sign outside saying "only Independence Square in pos is facilitating ATM deposits"
imagine from san juan they sending you POS. and i know for a fact that price plaza and couva not working either.
and alot of other people i bounce up at the other branches....come for the same thing...deposits

then i hear two people complaining about how they have loans due end of month (today) and if they dont pay it today it would get interest......which i find was interesting that on the 2 days for the month alot of people have their credit card payments and loan payment...the atms down, you have two tellers alone working,

i went inside san juan branch and the number they were serving was 32, the fella in front of me get number #52 and he leave and say he dont have time to wait 2 hours to save $200 interest.
i then remember one of my cards does allow me to bypass the line more or less when they feed it in the machine in front so i end up getting tru in branch within a 15 minutes, i ask the teller what going on with the atm, she say she dont know, how is just their branch giving problem

i tell her pplaza and couva eh working wither and she laugh.

one of my cards limit it 83k, if that card dont pay off it does be all kinda $2,000 interest charged

i assume thats on the higher end

but imagine 100,000 people paying a $400 in interest because the atm eh working on and around due date

cud be i just paranoid.....and seeing things that not there

ProtonPowder

Re: Bank ATM deposit function not working..a conspiracy?

Postby ProtonPowder » February 29th, 2024, 1:09 pm

Is much more likely that all the personnel involved in scheduling and carrying out maintenance are some combination of lazy, incompetent, understaffed or starved of resources.

Postby Chimera » February 29th, 2024, 1:20 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Is much more likely that all the personnel involved in scheduling and carrying out maintenance are some combination of lazy, incompetent, understaffed or starved of resources.

one thing if the whole machine breaking down
another thing if only the credit card payment and deposit function not working conveniently when people HAVE to deposit money

Ry an

Postby Ry an » February 29th, 2024, 1:32 pm

Scotia machines are the worst for cash deposits, they need to change out those machines they have and install the ones FCB uses. In a cash deposit with FCB, the machine can accept up to 90 notes in one transaction, I have been using their machines at two locations and they work well give or take the occasional breakdown.

Postby redmanjp » February 29th, 2024, 1:36 pm

was going to say it might be a leap day bug (Feb. 29th) but then read u had the problem prior.

Postby Chimera » February 29th, 2024, 1:37 pm

yeah fcb machines does work full 100 without issues
quick and efficient, they have completely new machines though

scotia like they retrofit their old machines to take deposits

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 29th, 2024, 1:51 pm

Jus get a black card and all problems solved.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » February 29th, 2024, 2:22 pm

Was in the marabella branch bout 3 weeks ago and ppl doing atm deposits had to come in the branch because of some discrepancy after they deposit...didnt get to macko what exactly it was

So like that deposit issue happening a while now, maybe thats why they just disable it at the branches

Postby Chimera » February 29th, 2024, 2:36 pm

Skanky wrote:Jus get a black card and all problems solved.
I have one. What problem that solving? Still have to go I'm branch and get a teller. You getting to jump the line but still

Postby The_Honourable » February 29th, 2024, 2:42 pm

Skanky wrote:Jus get a black card and all problems solved.

No it doesn't, ATMs supposed to be working properly at all times especially for deposits. Yeah a machine or two down is forgivable but when you have multiple machines at multiple branches not taking deposits, something is wrong.

Scotia smart ATMs initially was real bess but untimely maintenance and slow networking connection turned me off. I believe the base OS on it is Windows 7?

When I had a credit card with them, for some reason the "deposit more notes" option for credit cards is unavailable but is available if you are depositing to a bank account. So persons who don't know and trying to deposit directly to your credit card, is pressure if some of your cash is rejected because you now have to start over the whole process and hope the atm takes the remaining cash it first rejected.

FCB ATM's are good, more prone to that "hardware error" screen as the mechanical process of taking cash is more that scotia ATMs. You quicker see that error during weekends.

Scotia is forcing persons to use the ATMs more but would not facilitate more ATMs and better maintenance practices.

Postby alfa » February 29th, 2024, 2:49 pm

Same issue here with Scotia. Machines forever not accepting money or more than a certain amount. Don't even waste your time calling as you get put on to someone from Jamaica or India. I could still understand the Jamaican but I almost cuss Parbatie for being of no value and just regurgitating the same instructions from their website. The zee tv hard to understand accent didn't alleviate the situation one bit. Not to mention it's a whole set of problems to wire money into a Scotia account from say republic using online banking

Postby j.o.e » February 29th, 2024, 3:04 pm

My wife is a red bank customer …. Always complains about the same thing. I could never put up with that. Best you get another bank deposit in their atm and transfer online. Sad that our banks are so crappy. The green govt bank has more atms and they are always working if it helps

Postby pugboy » February 29th, 2024, 3:53 pm

everybody complains about scotia machines
it’s definitely an issue with the polymers

also they claim you can put everything in at same time, eg cash plus checks but that never works for me and with a certain combination it spits them back out and i often get some semi chewed up extra money, prob shouldn’t say it here lol

Postby Dizzy28 » February 29th, 2024, 4:13 pm

pugboy wrote:everybody complains about scotia machines

also they claim you can put everything in at same time, eg cash plus checks but that never works for me and with a certain combination it spits them back out and i often get some semi chewed up extra money, prob shouldn’t say it here lol

I only use Scotia for check deposits and to me their ATMs are the best for this. The screen shot of your depositied check is something only thier machines give (I stand to be corrected).

FCB's chip/no need to physically put your card in the machine is the real deal on that end. I use Scotia more though b/c there is an ATM literally 1 minute from where I work.

Postby goalpost » February 29th, 2024, 5:23 pm

Yeah recognized that Scotia atm cash deposit got significantly worse last month and less atms to deposit. Thought it was just a bad week.
Had also tried to set up Republic to Scotia online transfer but that never worked either.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 29th, 2024, 5:34 pm

I only use Scotia for check deposits and to me their ATMs are the best for this. The screen shot of your depositied check is something only thier machines give (I stand to be corrected).

FCB's chip/no need to physically put your card in the machine is the real deal on that end. I use Scotia more though b/c there is an ATM literally 1 minute from where I work.

Yes Scotia's image of the cheque on your receipt is great

Postby pugboy » February 29th, 2024, 5:34 pm

it usually works early after staff come to work and unclog the machines
then gets worse during the day and better before they finish work when presumably they clear machine again

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 29th, 2024, 8:25 pm

s is for sheit. The globe in the logo means it’s globally distributed sheit

Postby Dizzy28 » February 29th, 2024, 8:52 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:s is for sheit. The globe in the logo means it’s globally distributed sheit
Every body has a use.

Every time I needed to travel last year I consistently got forex from Scotia. Not much but something. One time I got 500USD in one go which by nowadays standard is pretty good. Another time they hook me up with Euros when US was done. The ability to use a Scotia card in the US at BoA ATMs (no fee) to get cash is also a plus.

My main bank of FCB hit me weak sauce excuses each time I ever went for forex.

Postby pugboy » February 29th, 2024, 9:10 pm

yeah
i travelled in january and they told me just come everyday and they would see what i could get
republic tell me i could only get a few hundred for entire trip and that’s it

Postby j.o.e » March 1st, 2024, 12:57 am

Yes Scotia's image of the cheque on your receipt is great

FCB does this too

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 1st, 2024, 9:30 pm

Waay... Reading some ah alyuh stories make me glad I stick with arr bee ell wee I wasn't going thru dat

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 1st, 2024, 10:05 pm

viedcht wrote:Waay... Reading some ah alyuh stories make me glad I stick with arr bee ell wee I wasn't going thru dat

RBL also pushing to do everything at the ATM, yet they never have the envelopes when you need to make a deposit or payment at the ATM. This is especially bad at the Trincity branch.

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » March 2nd, 2024, 7:18 am

Those ATMs always seem to pick the worst times to mess up. And don't even get me started on the endless lines at the branches. It's so frustrating when you're just trying to pay your bills and the machines decide to play games.

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2024, 8:43 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
viedcht wrote:Waay... Reading some ah alyuh stories make me glad I stick with arr bee ell wee I wasn't going thru dat

RBL also pushing to do everything at the ATM, yet they never have the envelopes when you need to make a deposit or payment at the ATM. This is especially bad at the Trincity branch.
That's cuz people take a handful of envelopes when they come.

Postby Chimera » March 2nd, 2024, 9:42 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

cuz ppl wanna full out their envelopes before they come in the bank so its a quick in and out . i do this, when envelopes available i does take a batch

much easier to full them out and seal them in the comfort of yuh office or home

but what i really saying about scotia is that i think they purposely letting their machines not accept deposits on or around due dates for peoples credit cards and loans

i much more likely to gt with atm deposits from now until the 12th than i between 12th and 17th and between 28th and 1st of the next month

and that little flabbergastery cud net them over 40-50mil in interest fees with generous low end calculations

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2024, 10:36 am

the rbl atm i use does dispense a single envelope from the machine itself

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 2nd, 2024, 1:58 pm

Chimera wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

cuz ppl wanna full out their envelopes before they come in the bank so its a quick in and out . i do this, when envelopes available i does take a batch

but what i really saying about scotia is that i think they purposely letting their machines not accept deposits on or around due dates for peoples credit cards and loans

i much more likely to gt with atm deposits from now until the 12th than i between 12th and 17th and between 28th and 1st of the next month

and that little flabbergastery cud net them over 40-50mil in interest fees with generous low end calculations

I don't think it's a conspiracy - it's more likely that time of the month people depositing a lot and the machines fill quickly and are not being emptied as fast.

But definitely more ATMs are needed - there is always a long line for the ATMs at Price Plaza.

And companies need to stop issuing cheques and just do ACH

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 2nd, 2024, 2:10 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Dear RBL Trincity, not everybody believes your stupid sheit excuses why you don't have envelopes for your machines.

Imagine they making tens/hundreds of millions of profit a quarter but pretending they can't get envelopes for their machines or people taking too much and it done or it ordered and on it's way......no one wants to hear your sheit excuses Trincity. All people want is when they come in you have the envelopes available and don't have to waste time lining up.

You making millions in profit...fix it.....get the envelopes/get new machines with readily available envelopes. Spend some of the millions in profit to fix the problem or fire/move the incompetent person(s) responsible.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 2nd, 2024, 2:58 pm

Chimera wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

I don't think it's a conspiracy - it's more likely that time of the month people depositing a lot and the machines fill quickly and are not being emptied as fast.

But definitely more ATMs are needed - there is always a long line for the ATMs at Price Plaza.

And companies need to stop issuing cheques and just do ACH
Isn't check issuance by businesses something within good or required accounting practices?