Carnival 2024

Re: Carnival 2024

Postby maj. tom » February 15th, 2024, 6:58 pm

I do hope for the next few years that this is going to be the kind of music that is in the competition. There is a pop music shift in soca. Realize it and use it. I'm no Carnival person really, but I have been jamming out this tune hard for the last few days.

And it will sound so good when arranged for a medium pan group.

wing

Postby wing » February 15th, 2024, 7:30 pm

This seems like some persons have difficulty in adapting to changing musical trends, where the more melodic or groovy seems to have gotten popular. It remains to be seen if the power type...ie jump and wave or Jamaican flavored will make a comeback.

Postby maj. tom » February 15th, 2024, 7:34 pm

lol I wish one day we go full fashion cycle and come back to Lord Kitchener, Sparrow and Shadow.

Postby eliteauto » February 15th, 2024, 8:32 pm

Ahh I like where allyuh going now. BTW so called groovy soca has more longevity than power. On the global soca circuit groovy hits more with the diaspora than the fast paced tunes. DNA not going in the dustbin anytime soon, it'll die down as we get burnt out from hearing it and resurface in a few years as a "classic" vibes tune

Postby Les Bain » February 15th, 2024, 9:39 pm

To me, Justin Bieber's 'Sorry' sounded like a groovy soca track.

And Water Lord's 'Hanananananananananananananananananananan' was the point that power soca overstayed its welcome.

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2024, 10:00 pm

also nobody plays a wave yuh rag tune outside of a carnival fete….

eliteauto wrote:Ahh I like where allyuh going now. BTW so called groovy soca has more longevity than power. On the global soca circuit groovy hits more with the diaspora than the fast paced tunes. DNA not going in the dustbin anytime soon, it'll die down as we get burnt out from hearing it and resurface in a few years as a "classic" vibes tune

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2024, 10:38 pm

boy i forget about the jcan soca
it was really a scene for local soca artistes to be speaking with a yardie accent
i recall maximus dan and even bunji singing with non trini accent

the nonsense they does try as a soca artiste

wing wrote:This seems like some persons have difficulty in adapting to changing musical trends, where the more melodic or groovy seems to have gotten popular. It remains to be seen if the power type...ie jump and wave or Jamaican flavored will make a comeback.

Postby redmanjp » February 16th, 2024, 10:54 am

maj. tom wrote:I do hope for the next few years that this is going to be the kind of music that is in the competition. There is a pop music shift in soca. Realize it and use it. I'm no Carnival person really, but I have been jamming out this tune hard for the last few days.

so why is soca not yet recognised as a genre internationally like reggae is?

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2024, 11:01 am

because a music genre is about proper melody and lyrics
not a single fast beat on repeat with somebody asking if anybody from canada and usa and who playing mas and who single in the crowd and whe yuh rag

Postby bluefete » February 16th, 2024, 11:03 am

redmanjp wrote:
maj. tom wrote:I do hope for the next few years that this is going to be the kind of music that is in the competition. There is a pop music shift in soca. Realize it and use it. I'm no Carnival person really, but I have been jamming out this tune hard for the last few days.

Cause we doh care about soca, ditto for kaiso.

Lemme xplain summin to you:

Reggae got where it is because of massive support from the Jamaican government.

Harry Belafonte, Robert Mitchum and the Andrew sisters in the 1940's came and stole calypso music because their companies realised that we did not care about intellectual property protection.

Decca did end up paying over US$100,000.00 to Lord Invader for thiefing Rum and Coca Cola though.

No government in T&T has ever given the support needed to kaiso or soca for it to reach where reggae has reached. NONE.

Until we understand how to treat our culture as a business, we will continue to fall behind.

Shadow' s Dingolay (Music) could have topped the charts in any part of the world with proper marketing. But what the heck do we know about marketing?

Plus you cannot put any old rubbish out there and expect it to be nominated for a Grammy.

Bloggers come from all over the world to showcase T&T on the interwebz. Many are compensated, the local ones are not because of the mafia financial systems that exists here.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 16th, 2024, 11:08 am

redmanjp wrote:

I see our musicians talk about going global and then see Shensea put out a video which hit 9m views in like 2 weeks. There is just something about Jamaican music that has a bigger international appeal.

DEVI

Postby DEVI » February 16th, 2024, 6:32 pm

Some pics from Jouvert 2024

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.26 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.26 AM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.26 AM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.27 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.27 AM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.27 AM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.27 AM (3).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.27 AM (4).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.27 AM (5).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.27 AM (6).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 10.28.28 AM.jpeg

DEVI

Postby DEVI » February 16th, 2024, 6:36 pm

Some pics from Carnival Monday and Tuesday 2024

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.48.56 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.48.56 AM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.48.56 AM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.48.56 AM (3).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.48.56 AM (4).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.48.58 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.48.59 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.48.59 AM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.00 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (3).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (4).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (5).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (6).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (7).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (8).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (9).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.02 AM (10).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM (3).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM (4).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM (5).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM (6).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM (7).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM (8).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-15 at 11.49.03 AM (9).jpeg

wing

Postby wing » February 16th, 2024, 7:59 pm

Devi!

DEVI

Postby DEVI » February 18th, 2024, 12:06 pm

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.14 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.14 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.15 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.15 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.16 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.16 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.16 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.17 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.17 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.17 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.18 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.18 PM (1).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.18 PM (2).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-02-17 at 4.24.19 PM.jpeg

Postby mero » February 19th, 2024, 11:19 am

Nice job Devi.

Realising 2nrs loving off on more and more man everyday.

Bet if it had one pic of Rowley squeeze in dey, the amount of man woulda get hot and comment

Postby redmanjp » February 21st, 2024, 3:15 pm

oh gosh allyuh wait till lent to drop these pics boi - i suppose to be exercising self control :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » February 21st, 2024, 5:25 pm

is just me or none ah them costume looking good

nobody have any coverage
everybody fully naked

fully

need to have a counter-reaction to this nakedness trend next year. lewwe see some fashion (women wearing actual clothes to make them look better). or at least a top that covering the breasts nah. not just naked people it have plenty place to go to see naked people already put them carnival studies degrees to work

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2024, 6:02 pm

not fully nekkid
but like scrap with high straps for downstairs and wires upstairs
plenty were complaining about cuts and pain from them wire straps

Postby paid_influencer » February 21st, 2024, 7:01 pm

they move from bikini and beads

to just beads

Postby mero » February 22nd, 2024, 10:03 am

paid_influencer wrote:is just me or none ah them costume looking good

nobody have any coverage
everybody fully naked

fully

need to have a counter-reaction to this nakedness trend next year. lewwe see some fashion (women wearing actual clothes to make them look better). or at least a top that covering the breasts nah. not just naked people it have plenty place to go to see naked people already put them carnival studies degrees to work

No eh. There are more conservative bands and sections of Carnival where you can see more fashion

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2024, 11:22 am

paid_influencer wrote:they move from bikini and beads

to just beads

and some of them i swear yuh seeing a lil peaking out :roll:

if it had a male costume where u seeing the equivalent i sure them woman go have a problem

if we keep pushing the envelope more and more then 5 years from now it will be topless and exposed vulva with only the hole covered

Postby maj. tom » February 22nd, 2024, 11:35 am

Did you discuss these concerns with your pastor?

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2024, 11:39 am

maj. tom wrote:Did you discuss these concerns with your pastor?

indecent exposure is indecent exposure carnival or not- the law should be enforced. the pastor have nothing to do with it

Postby maj. tom » February 22nd, 2024, 11:50 am

Did you discuss these concerns with the local police? How they supposed to act if you didn't make a report?

Postby mero » February 22nd, 2024, 12:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Did you discuss these concerns with your pastor?

indecent exposure is indecent exposure carnival or not- the law should be enforced. the pastor have nothing to do with it
Steups. U gt with the reds?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 22nd, 2024, 2:06 pm

It's just a near naked body, relax and enjoy or don't watch.

Postby MaxPower » February 22nd, 2024, 2:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:It's just a near naked body, relax and enjoy or don't watch.

Correct,

And don’t touch either and get vex if you get brace.

Postby K74T » February 22nd, 2024, 3:59 pm

Hold strain redman this will be the year you finally buss yuh gun

Postby Les Bain » February 22nd, 2024, 7:11 pm

Damn, I forgot we have a growing conservative class on the forum. Please be inclusive next year and post more pics from the male sections or better yet, kiddies carnival.