OSHA requirements for office temperature?

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2024, 11:29 am

so my office AC has been malfunctioning for about 2 weeks now- it starts off cool in the morning - my own temp monitor says 25C but from about 1pm to 5pm it gets gradually hotter - reaching 29C around 1pm on most days till 5pm and then getting cooler afterwards.

i am wondering, is there anything in the OSHA law that deals with this? it has happened before but in another section of the office from mine but it took them like 2 months to fix and i have a feeling it will take weeks again before they fix this :roll:

cuz i feeling to walk out as soon as the temp reach 28C.

Re: OSHA requirements for office temperature?

Postby maj. tom » February 2nd, 2024, 11:37 am

Not less than 18°C, not more than 26°C, ideal 24°C.
Humidity 55-65%
Air flow 0.1 to 0.15 m/s

Postby SMc » February 2nd, 2024, 11:54 am

Work in your jockey shorts and vest- you will see how quickly they will fix it

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2024, 11:55 am

Iirc it's not more than 24 degrees for 2 hours.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TriniTuner mobile app

death365

Postby death365 » February 2nd, 2024, 12:08 pm

man trying to huff he wok for high temp yes !!!

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2024, 1:10 pm

death365 wrote:man trying to huff he wok for high temp yes !!!

it's not a matter of mere comfort - that pass once the temp go past 26C- once it reach 29C it's health- it have something call Heat Stress which is an illness.

right now my temp monitor at my desk reading 28C.

and if OSHA says its a violation then i can very well 'huff' d wok.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 2nd, 2024, 4:29 pm

I've been working in a room with no AC for over a year now only fan. And it gets hot, everytime other workers come in they question how I could be working in such a hot environment. Nobody does anything that's the nature of the job.

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2024, 4:47 pm

so what about ppl who working outdoors 30c and up ?

Postby maj. tom » February 2nd, 2024, 5:03 pm

That's for enclosed workplaces. No laws for max temperature outdoors, but generally should follow recommendations of the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists which state guidelines about heat stress heat-related illness and rest time allocations and hydration schedules based on the wet-bulb temperature at the worksite.

Most of it is outlined here https://www.osha.gov/otm/section-3-health-hazards/chapter-4

Postby adnj » February 2nd, 2024, 5:07 pm

For a factory or agriculture in the tropics, most places have a safety limit of 35°C - but those are real men.

computercentral

Postby computercentral » February 2nd, 2024, 6:33 pm

They will pay you an 2.50$ extra for every hour you work under the extreme conditions and probably a water break every hour

Zee

Postby Zee » February 3rd, 2024, 7:33 am

What about the opposite? My building has central AC and it gets so cold (never measured it officially) that I cannot feel my hands.

Postby redmanjp » February 5th, 2024, 1:50 pm

well hear this nuh

i just happen to check the thermostat- it's a Honeywell Pro Series. it have 2 numbers - both of them were reading 85F. turns out the top number is the Set temp and the bottom is the actual temp. of the room. so all this time we suffering needlessly :roll:

we adjusted it to 70F

their still could have a actual problem with the AC but this setting was making it worse- usually at this time my temp monitor would be reading 29C - it's 26C now :D not ideal but better.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 5th, 2024, 2:00 pm

lol and there i was working in 50 deg c outdoors in Qatar in the summer.

Postby adnj » February 5th, 2024, 2:38 pm

jm3 wrote:lol and there i was working in 50 deg c outdoors in Qatar in the summer.
That dry heat in the summer definitely makes a difference. You can take another 10°C or 12°C in the summer compared to the steamy tropics and feel the same heat index.

Postby redmanjp » February 5th, 2024, 2:38 pm

jm3 wrote:lol and there i was working in 50 deg c outdoors in Qatar in the summer.

sorry to hear dat. hope u were hydrating every 20 mins.

once i was trying to change a tyre in d hot midday sun and d knot was stuck- stayed out in d sun for 2 hrs and despite drinking water every 20-30 mins i still get headache and had to take a cold shower after- signs of heat stress. that day turned out to be the hottest on record for the year tho.
Last edited by redmanjp on February 5th, 2024, 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 5th, 2024, 2:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:

sorry to hear dat. hope u were hydrating every 20 mins.

it really turns into 5 or 10 minutes, you drip with sweat almost instantly and your mouth turns super dry.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 6th, 2024, 6:19 am

If you report it now, you would get a response next year...doh stick !