Coffee drinkers

Re: Coffee drinkers

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 19th, 2023, 2:15 pm

Won’t overly large amounts get oxidized? Unless you’re moving volume like a cafe

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » December 19th, 2023, 7:12 pm

Can someone guide me as to where I can get freshly ground local coffee of a decent to high quality to purchase?

Even it's just the roasted beans I will organize to grind. Much thanks.

Postby adnj » December 19th, 2023, 7:40 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Won’t overly large amounts get oxidized? Unless you’re moving volume like a cafe
I was always told by the roasting shops that a month is about as long as you can use whole beans after opening the package before they start to go rancid.

But, I know people who can't tell the difference, so that's up to the individual.

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » December 19th, 2023, 8:15 pm

Jerry84 wrote:Can someone guide me as to where I can get freshly ground local coffee of a decent to high quality to purchase?

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231220/d7b276e34186d4b7f50742f636c4a157.jpg[/img]

I’m not a high fan of pre-ground, for a robusta it took a few tries to pull a good shot, was decent

https://cafevegatt.blogspot.com

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » December 19th, 2023, 8:21 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Where sell large bags of whole bean , blonde roast , I got a small bag in Starbucks, it was excellent but I prefer large bags for my machine.
Thanks

https://www.instagram.com/realtasteprod ... c2ODk2ZA==

I buy 2lbs at a time, they’ll roast it how you request. I typically do medium

Also NOVO does blonde they have a good a Ethiopian and they are available in Starlight drugs, the bags are 12oz.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 20th, 2023, 10:32 am

I just did an order with Cafe Vega.

Medium roast/,medium grind is a good starting point with anyone growing their own bean and grinding as you can then tweak to your taste/their interpretations.

This time I took the Santa Cruz bean. Last time I took the Rio Claro, which was mild and fruity. Notes were mellow but not my personal favourite.

Have not tried the Santa Cruz yet, bought a couple bags to gift as presents and one for me.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » December 20th, 2023, 10:54 am

Lavazza Italian Coffee is dang good .

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » December 20th, 2023, 3:36 pm

Type Rated wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:Can someone guide me as to where I can get freshly ground local coffee of a decent to high quality to purchase?

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231220/d7b276e34186d4b7f50742f636c4a157.jpg[/img]

I’m not a high fan of pre-ground, for a robusta it took a few tries to pull a good shot, was decent

https://cafevegatt.blogspot.com
Much appreciated

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 20th, 2023, 6:08 pm

Dragist wrote:Lavazza Italian Coffee is dang good .
Yeah, damn expensive, but enjoyable.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 20th, 2023, 6:40 pm

Coffee drinkers I've got a question for you all. Is it true that coffee slows aging / greying or is that a myth?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 21st, 2023, 7:57 am

Ok i will try out, Thanks.
Any one has bean to cup machines here,
Whats ur thoughts on these?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 21st, 2023, 9:22 am

Pablo660 wrote:Ok i will try out, Thanks.

had a couple drip percs. individual size and large pot types. they aite..
Had kcups. Meh.
Expensive espresso brew machines are top notch, but too expensive and too big for countertop space in a house where only one man drinks coffee.
Never owned a French press, but tasted coffee from one and it good.
Tried cold brew and hated it. Maybe I did it wrong.

So far my favourite method which takes a fraction more effort for much better results is the bialetti moka pot.
https://www.bialetti.com/ee_en?___store ... tore=it_it

Don't get fooled by the name. The 6 cup size actually brews about a 10-12oz cup of coffee. No dilution needed. I usually loosely fill the basket and it brews under pressure so it extracts more intensity from the beans vs drip perc.

I put my pot to brew on top an iron tawah, for better heat distribution, leave it on medium heat. Within 7-9 mins, it's brewed.
I brew a cup to go every morning, start it before my shower and grab it as I'm leaving the house.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 23rd, 2023, 11:28 am

IMG_7972.JPG

Some stocks for December into January.
Pricesmart one on the dregs and is the worst of the lot.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 23rd, 2023, 1:42 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Screenshot_20231223-134133.jpg

Some stocks for December into January.
Pricesmart one on the dregs and is the worst of the lot.
Screenshot_20231223-134133.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » January 14th, 2024, 10:47 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Wasn't feeling to spend big bucks on coffee this month. Got these two and box of assorted K cups of black coffees of varying blends. Cant go wrong with DD Medium roasts

Should tide me over for a while as I also have a box of Dunkin K cups from earlier this year and an unopened pack of McCafe.
PXL_20240115_005434379.MP~2.jpg
Wife decide keeping the k cups in a plastic bag is not the way to go. Put them in a tray thing.

Anyone knows if locally has those pod holders like the revolving stands one?
PXL_20240115_005434379.MP~2.jpg

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » January 23rd, 2024, 11:32 am

Postby eliteauto » January 23rd, 2024, 12:02 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Wasn't feeling to spend big bucks on coffee this month. Got these two and box of assorted K cups of black coffees of varying blends. Cant go wrong with DD Medium roasts

Should tide me over for a while as I also have a box of Dunkin K cups from earlier this year and an unopened pack of McCafe. PXL_20231213_163007203.jpg
Wife decide keeping the k cups in a plastic bag is not the way to go. Put them in a tray thing.

Anyone knows if locally has those pod holders like the revolving stands one? PXL_20240115_005434379.MP~2.jpg

Thomas and Sons has one that holds Nespresso pods dunno if that will hold Kpods, I find it pricy so that tray would work oui
https://thomasandsonstt.com/index.php?r ... ption=true

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 23rd, 2024, 1:23 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Anyone tried or has any reviews on Beanies coffee?

https://www.facebook.com/beaniescoffeett/

https://www.instagram.com/p/CqD2gPTuDFq/

Its basically flavored instant coffee. The flavors get bleh after a while. But try it and see.

I still prefer the cafe barista drip coffee if you dont have time to use a brewer and want an alternative to instant.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 23rd, 2024, 1:26 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Should tide me over for a while as I also have a box of Dunkin K cups from earlier this year and an unopened pack of McCafe. PXL_20231213_163007203.jpg

Anyone knows if locally has those pod holders like the revolving stands one? PXL_20240115_005434379.MP~2.jpg

Thomas and Sons has one that holds Nespresso pods dunno if that will hold Kpods, I find it pricy so that tray would work oui
https://thomasandsonstt.com/index.php?r ... ption=true

O Em Gee...yea at that price I cool with the tray oui!!

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » January 23rd, 2024, 3:04 pm

originalbling wrote:
timothymcdavid wrote:Anyone tried or has any reviews on Beanies coffee?

https://www.facebook.com/beaniescoffeett/

https://www.instagram.com/p/CqD2gPTuDFq/

Its basically flavored instant coffee. The flavors get bleh after a while. But try it and see.

I still prefer the cafe barista drip coffee if you dont have time to use a brewer and want an alternative to instant.

Honestly I didnt too like cafe barista coffee but their hot chocolate is the boss.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » January 24th, 2024, 6:46 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Ok i will try out, Thanks.
You mean an automatic that grinds and makes the coffee?

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2024, 7:45 pm

see them in a few business places
toyota barataria had one

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 25th, 2024, 7:52 am

What's a really good instant coffee available locally? Have a long trek for a 3mth stretch and will just make at the office rather than brewing home.

Nescafe instant/gold is usual but how does this Juan Valdez instant compare? X hongwing X café Brasil X folgers instant

Sent from my 220333QAG using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby MaxPower » January 25th, 2024, 8:00 am

I love my Hong Wing in the morning.

Strong black and bitter

Postby alfa » January 25th, 2024, 9:41 am

MaxPower wrote:I love my Hong Wing in the morning.

Strong black and bitter

Same way some people like their significant other :D :D :D

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 25th, 2024, 10:04 am

stocks done, need a re-up.
I only drink one cup of coffee for the day (large cup, about 12-16 oz) so I eh know how TF I run through all that stock.

I eh paying Starbucks full rate, so waiting on a BOGO. I have a batch of hong wing here like they cross it with Carille, fussss thing thing bitter.

The Santa Cruz bean is too mild for me. It smells good in the bag, but has very low character once brewed. Maybe I should have asked them for a dark roast to bring out more flavour.

death365

Postby death365 » January 25th, 2024, 10:20 am

Yeps ... thu tha

Also suitable for me is

Cafe bustelo medium roast and espresso Grind too

Strong black and bitter

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 25th, 2024, 11:34 am

viedcht wrote:What's a really good instant coffee available locally? Have a long trek for a 3mth stretch and will just make at the office rather than brewing home.

Nescafe instant/gold is usual but how does this Juan Valdez instant compare? X hongwing X café Brasil X folgers instant

Sent from my 220333QAG using TriniTuner mobile app

I find the Juan Valdez and cafe brasil to be mild compared to the gold. still havent come across a good tasting instant for when you dont have time to brew.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 25th, 2024, 2:49 pm

Strong black and bitter

Didn’t Hong Wing used to make coffee using local beans? I am seeing that their coffee is imported from Brazil and they just bottle it here.

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2024, 3:58 pm

was always imported from brazil
somehow brazil has exception for those who want to
import green coffee beans as being safe agricultural wise
if you try to import from other countries you will get jam with quarantine order