LF: Electronic repair shops

Galvatron

LF: Electronic repair shops

Postby Galvatron » January 18th, 2024, 12:59 pm

Looking for a reputable electronics repair shop to replace components on a solid state guitar amplifier. Thanks.

Re: LF: Electronic repair shops

Postby Les Bain » January 18th, 2024, 1:23 pm

Indeforest might be able to help you. Shoot him a PM.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » January 18th, 2024, 1:50 pm

Les Bain wrote:Indeforest might be able to help you. Shoot him a PM.

Last active: Wed Jul 28, 2021 11:03 pm

Postby Les Bain » January 18th, 2024, 2:02 pm

Galvatron wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Indeforest might be able to help you. Shoot him a PM.

Last active: Wed Jul 28, 2021 11:03 pm

A PM doh cost a thing.
Or you can ask in the Guitar String thread if anybody can shoot you a contact. He still works.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » January 18th, 2024, 3:20 pm

Hey guys, just happened to drop in to maco today.
Galvatron Im really not a transistor guy, I handle tube amps and the instruments themselves, but I can give you a referral.

Postby meccalli » January 18th, 2024, 5:00 pm

Sharing is caring, I've got some recapped mcintosh amps but you never know when something might pop up.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2024, 6:02 pm

check slim in penal
does a lot of work on music equip

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » January 18th, 2024, 9:27 pm

InDeForest wrote:Hey guys, just happened to drop in to maco today.
Galvatron Im really not a transistor guy, I handle tube amps and the instruments themselves, but I can give you a referral.

Yeah...even Krogh said he only works on tube amps.
Who can you recommend? Thanks.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2024, 9:29 pm

tube amps are actually very easy to work on
very few parts

Postby maj. tom » January 18th, 2024, 9:56 pm

What amp OP? What problem you're getting with it? What components need replacing?

Depending on if it's processing ICs some of them won't be easy to find locally and would need to order.
Like the MN3007 signal delay IC for the reverb circuit on the Roland JC-120. Or the op amp IC M5218L. I doubt Steve's carrying dem thing in stock to purchase on the fly. Capacitors usually easy to find.

It have a place it Barataria Maritime Plaza I think it's CET electronics. Dem used to be the authorized service ppl for Boss/Roland pedals and equipment called AMR. In the old Boss pedals user manuals they were listed as AMR Ltd.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » January 19th, 2024, 12:32 am

mecalli - I recently got and refurbished my first mcintosh, good stuff, what models do you have?

Galvatron - for my own sanity I have limited what gear I am dealing with, and I hoped enough other people around could be able to deal with transistor amps, but I am not sure if that is happening. I'm Krogh btw.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » January 19th, 2024, 4:47 pm

InDeForest wrote:mecalli - I recently got and refurbished my first mcintosh, good stuff, what models do you have?

Galvatron - for my own sanity I have limited what gear I am dealing with, and I hoped enough other people around could be able to deal with transistor amps, but I am not sure if that is happening. I'm Krogh btw.

Cool

Postby meccalli » January 19th, 2024, 4:51 pm

InDeForest wrote:mecalli - I recently got and refurbished my first mcintosh, good stuff, what models do you have?

I got an mc2100 and mc2205, thanks to another fellow tuner actually.

Postby pugboy » January 19th, 2024, 8:20 pm

mcintosh is classic stuff