Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby redmanjp » January 1st, 2024, 1:36 pm

Question - if u live in a HDC house which is not permitted to be rented out - then shouldn't the ARV be $0 ? and thus no tax is payable?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 1st, 2024, 3:11 pm

Private covenants between a lessor and lessee cannot supersede the law.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 1st, 2024, 3:27 pm

j.o.e wrote:I thought it already had a sufferer thread ?
Not a matter of sufferers its a question of not allowing people to easily take advantage of you

Postby j.o.e » January 1st, 2024, 4:11 pm

PariaMan wrote:
Not a matter of sufferers its a question of not allowing people to easily take advantage of you

Allyuh parents used to pay land and building tax ?
I will have to pay property tax on four properties and prepared to make the adjustment.
I also already pay HOA fees on one. There are people who this may affect but most of y’all just over dramatic sufferers

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 1st, 2024, 4:25 pm

Land and building was maybe 20$ a year

Why not have a gradual increase over 5 years so that people get the chance to adjust

Why start with the residential and not the commercial?

Is it because the people making the decisions have more commercial than residential properties?

Imbert, for a fact, has lots of commercial properties

Imagine businesses in an area using government resources to make money but will have zero tax to pay while poor people who are barely surviving have to pay additional taxes

That my friend is not fair .

All the different types should have started together or commercial first

I am no UNC supporter, but that was their plan commercial first

It is alleged that people in the ministry begged imbert to start with commercial, but he insisted that residential should be first

Who knows when commercial will start ?

Postby paid_influencer » January 1st, 2024, 4:34 pm

sufferers need to start building guillotine

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 1st, 2024, 6:20 pm

So being concerned about paying something that may/not benefit you is called being a sufferer?

You are fortunate to pay for 4 properties, what about those who barely getting by? What about all the other increases that coming this year ? Finance minister give $200 increase only to take it back, guess thats sufferer too.

Dbu, the true sufferers would show up soon...ud see them on tv

Postby MaxPower » January 1st, 2024, 6:45 pm

Trinis gonna be paying this tax normal.

Beat up only last so long in this country, just like how gas prices raise and card still selling like rain.

Unfortunately, the voices of those who really feel the pain will go unheard.

Postby The_Honourable » January 1st, 2024, 7:42 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis gonna be paying this tax normal.

Beat up only last so long in this country, just like how gas prices raise and card still selling like rain.

Unfortunately, the voices of those who really feel the pain will go unheard.

Correct, we'll beatup and pay. We don't stand for anything.

Give you backpay and a raise in minimum wage on one hand, then taketh away with utility increase and property tax on the other.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 1st, 2024, 8:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:Question - if u live in a HDC house which is not permitted to be rented out - then shouldn't the ARV be $0 ? and thus no tax is payable?

I know plenty people who renting out there HDC Homes..

Postby 88sins » January 1st, 2024, 8:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:Question - if u live in a HDC house which is not permitted to be rented out - then shouldn't the ARV be $0 ? and thus no tax is payable?

Nice try, but, the tax will be levied based on what that home could be rented for, even though the landlord is HDC.
Bruh, in the act, it states, essentially, any property on or above land, on or under water, will attract a property tax liability, even if you have a mortgage/lease.
So, it doh matter where it is, who own it, it's condition, or any other contractual or non-contractual agreement or situation, Mr. John/Jane Public gonna have to come up out them pockets, and everybody unofficial name is either John or Jane Public

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » January 1st, 2024, 8:40 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

So being concerned about paying something that may/not benefit you is called being a sufferer?

You are fortunate to pay for 4 properties, what about those who barely getting by? What about all the other increases that coming this year ? Finance minister give $200 increase only to take it back, guess thats sufferer too.

Dbu, the true sufferers would show up soon...ud see them on tv
Joe has a PNM mindset and typically does not care about citizens. Once he's good does not care about the small man

Brother zoom did exposed him as an overt racist

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » January 1st, 2024, 8:41 pm

AlphaMan wrote:

Yes and they live in the US

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 1st, 2024, 9:03 pm

Kickstart wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Yes and they live in the US

Them living right in Trinidad.

Postby redmanjp » January 1st, 2024, 10:43 pm

Nice try, but, the tax will be levied based on what that home could be rented for, even though the landlord is HDC.
Bruh, in the act, it states, essentially, any property on or above land, on or under water, will attract a property tax liability, even if you have a mortgage/lease.
So, it doh matter where it is, who own it, it's condition, or any other contractual or non-contractual agreement or situation, Mr. John/Jane Public gonna have to come up out them pockets, and everybody unofficial name is either John or Jane Public

but why base the tax on rental value if rental is not only not occurring but not even permitted to occur? base it on the property value instead.

Postby paid_influencer » January 2nd, 2024, 7:29 am

the tax designed to cover everybody, even down to squatters living in a shack. go watch parliament channel, the MoF say he intend to collect property tax from squatters. He will survey their shack to see the rental value of the shack.

i donno how much revenue he intend to collect from squatters. if you going to be real, this is more about dispossessing poor and vulnerable people than it is about revenue.

Postby Dave » January 2nd, 2024, 7:34 am

paid_influencer wrote:the tax designed to cover everybody, even down to squatters living in a shack. go watch parliament channel, the MoF say he intend to collect property tax from squatters. He will survey their shack to see the rental value of the shack.

i donno how much revenue he intend to collect from squatters. if you going to be real, this is more about dispossessing poor and vulnerable people than it is about revenue.
Nice synopsis.

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2024, 7:44 am

[quote="paid_influencer"]the tax designed to cover everybody, even down to squatters living in a shack. go watch parliament channel, the MoF say he intend to collect property tax from squatters. He will survey their shack to see the rental value of the shack.

i donno how much revenue he intend to collect from squatters. if you going to be real, this is more about dispossessing poor and vulnerable people than it is about revenue.[/quote]

[quote]In section 7, the Commissioner of Valuations has the discretion to record the annual rental value of land at $18,000.00 if after reviewing a return he is of the opinion that the annual rental value of the land is below $18,000.00. [/quote]

Postby 88sins » January 2nd, 2024, 5:54 pm

Who here really feels this property tax is about the state "earning revenue"?

This has nothing to do with "earning revenue". It's really about the subjugation of the entire population.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 2nd, 2024, 7:14 pm

88sins wrote:Who here really feels this property tax is about the state "earning revenue"?

This has nothing to do with "earning revenue". It's really about the subjugation of the entire population.

A couple hundo a month is hardly oppressive. I want property tax as much as I’d like a sledge to my ballsack, but subjugation is a far stretch.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 2nd, 2024, 7:50 pm

That's the problem

The authorities think like you and cannot fully empathize with poor people

A couple hundred of property tax plus a couple hundred increase in utility bills plus increased in transportation cost could push some households over the edge

Less money for the poor leads to desperation, which leads to an increase in crime

We are in for an even darker 2024

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 2nd, 2024, 7:54 pm

I do not think it's subjugation

It's just an unfeeling out of touch government who is more interested in balancing the books rather than the plight of poor people

Exhibit 1.

They eh riot yet so I can raise the price again

Coalpot usage

Eating macaroni pie

Traveling from Sangre Grande to POS to buy doubles

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 2nd, 2024, 8:01 pm

PariaMan wrote:I do not think it's subjugation

It's just an unfeeling out of touch government who is more interested in balancing the books rather than the plight of poor people

Exhibit 1.

They eh riot yet so I can raise the price again

Coalpot usage

Eating macaroni pie

Traveling from Sangre Grande to POS to buy doubles

Where this one come from?

Postby redmanjp » January 2nd, 2024, 8:04 pm

adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:the tax designed to cover everybody, even down to squatters living in a shack. go watch parliament channel, the MoF say he intend to collect property tax from squatters. He will survey their shack to see the rental value of the shack.

In section 7, the Commissioner of Valuations has the discretion to record the annual rental value of land at $18,000.00 if after reviewing a return he is of the opinion that the annual rental value of the land is below $18,000.00.

so not only a shack but even land with nothing on it?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 2nd, 2024, 8:07 pm

Jump high or low we got to pay. No sense arguing about it.

Postby 88sins » January 2nd, 2024, 9:54 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
A couple hundo a month is hardly oppressive. I want property tax as much as I’d like a sledge to my ballsack, but subjugation is a far stretch.

Ok, gtk, now tell me something.
Do you believe that you actually own something, if what you think you own because you legally bought and paid for it, and literally ANYTHING else you possess, can be taken away from you if you don't pay an entity whatever sum it demands, when that demand is based solely and entirely on the simple fact that you own the item you paid for, and absolutely no other reason?

Edit

You kno who else to live to pay tax on stuff, just because they had something worth something, no matter how they ketchin they nenen? The peasants under the monarchy, the subjects of the royalty back in the day.

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2024, 10:25 pm

Anything that you may buy and can not move after purchase is the best possible way of guaranteeing that you will be paying taxes long into the future.

Postby paid_influencer » January 2nd, 2024, 10:27 pm

88sins wrote:You kno who else to live to pay tax on stuff, just because they had something worth something, no matter how they ketchin they nenen? The peasants under the monarchy, the subjects of the royalty back in the day.

The history of all hitherto existing society(2) is the history of class struggles.

Freeman and slave, patrician and plebeian, lord and serf, guild-master(3) and journeyman, in a word, oppressor and oppressed, stood in constant opposition to one another, carried on an uninterrupted, now hidden, now open fight, a fight that each time ended, either in a revolutionary reconstitution of society at large, or in the common ruin of the contending classes.

In the earlier epochs of history, we find almost everywhere a complicated arrangement of society into various orders, a manifold gradation of social rank. In ancient Rome we have patricians, knights, plebeians, slaves; in the Middle Ages, feudal lords, vassals, guild-masters, journeymen, apprentices, serfs; in almost all of these classes, again, subordinate gradations.

The modern bourgeois society that has sprouted from the ruins of feudal society has not done away with class antagonisms. It has but established new classes, new conditions of oppression, new forms of struggle in place of the old ones.

Our epoch, the epoch of the bourgeoisie, possesses, however, this distinct feature: it has simplified class antagonisms. Society as a whole is more and more splitting up into two great hostile camps, into two great classes directly facing each other — Bourgeoisie and Proletariat.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 2nd, 2024, 11:11 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Ok, gtk, now tell me something.
Do you believe that you actually own something, if what you think you own because you legally bought and paid for it, and literally ANYTHING else you possess, can be taken away from you if you don't pay an entity whatever sum it demands, when that demand is based solely and entirely on the simple fact that you own the item you paid for, and absolutely no other reason?

Edit

You kno who else to live to pay tax on stuff, just because they had something worth something, no matter how they ketchin they nenen? The peasants under the monarchy, the subjects of the royalty back in the day.

I agree with you, but Property Tax in this format is not a novel idea nor is it a novel application. I hate the very idea of it. But here's a report on taxes / housing for the OECD countries dated 2023. I'm sure I could get global data, but you get the point.

So if you think it's a local issue and you wanna migrate.........the grass is the same on the other side, just the sheit on it different.
https://www.oecd.org/publications/housi ... 007-en.htm

Now what would happen is that the argument would pivot to the usage of the collected taxes, and that's where your power lies come election day.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 5th, 2024, 1:10 am

AlphaMan wrote:If you didn't submit your valuation before to the deadline then you had to pay a fine and submit it anyways so people just submitted it.
They accepted that it was impossible to avoid.
Aunty kams and her legal team did brilliant in stalling the collection of these taxes thus far.
Had it not been for her we would have been paying taxes since 2015.

What fine??? ... No fine has been levied against anyone who hasn't submitted.

They lied as usual and you guys fell for it.