triniterribletim wrote:Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
I would appreciate your opinions in regards to liquidating assets.
I'm fortunate to own multiple income producing property,
would it be best to sell everything and use the cash to purchase property abroad such as mutil family units?
Or is it better to slowly sell assets because it's such a drastic change and a entirely different environment that such a move would not be wise?
Multiple credit cards and I hope you have a godfather working in the bank. Other than that, getting your money out is harder than the 12 tasks of Hercules.
Dohplaydat wrote:triniterribletim wrote:Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
would it be best to sell everything and use the cash to purchase property abroad such as mutil family units?
Or is it better to slowly sell assets because it's such a drastic change and a entirely different environment that such a move would not be wise?
Multiple credit cards and I hope you have a godfather working in the bank. Other than that, getting your money out is harder than the 12 tasks of Hercules.
Just to add to that it took me 4 months to transfer 330k to the UK in 2021. This was using 2 credit cards and 3 different banks, and endless time wasting following up on it.
FCB was the worse as they flat out refused to do more than $500usd per week.
RBC came through the best in the end though I did have a good contact there.
Dohplaydat wrote:
FCB was the worse as they flat out refused to do more than $500usd per week.
RBC came through the best in the end though I did have a good contact there.
Chimera wrote:You can sell property at a preferential price if the buyer pays in usd.
Like 3 million tt or 400k usd when you selling
Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
Alot of persons are paying chunks of usd locally for properties if they are getting an amazing rate and us is no issue or importance to them.triniterribletim wrote:Chimera wrote:You can sell property at a preferential price if the buyer pays in usd.
Who in their right mind is going to drop 400K USD on non-commercial property in Trinidad? Unless they're getting a decade long government rental contract on said property, it's probably going to be a net loss.
Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
Chimera wrote:Alot of persons are paying chunks of usd locally for properties if they are getting an amazing rate and us is no issue or importance to them.triniterribletim wrote:Chimera wrote:You can sell property at a preferential price if the buyer pays in usd.
Who in their right mind is going to drop 400K USD on non-commercial property in Trinidad? Unless they're getting a decade long government rental contract on said property, it's probably going to be a net loss.
A good example is parents or grand parents abroad who buying property for their kids or grand kids here.
One of my padnas in real estate sold 3 houses recently for payment in USD.
Buyers saved probably a 150k on the price because they paid in usd.
A nex bredrin of mine who living new york buy 2 houses in grande and paid the sellers in usd
Some old trinis are returning after spending their whole lives abroad.AlphaMan wrote:Chimera wrote:Alot of persons are paying chunks of usd locally for properties if they are getting an amazing rate and us is no issue or importance to them.triniterribletim wrote:Chimera wrote:You can sell property at a preferential price if the buyer pays in usd.
A good example is parents or grand parents abroad who buying property for their kids or grand kids here.
One of my padnas in real estate sold 3 houses recently for payment in USD.
Buyers saved probably a 150k on the price because they paid in usd.
A nex bredrin of mine who living new york buy 2 houses in grande and paid the sellers in usd
Why would someone from the us but property in Trinidad when Trini's trying to get out.
AlphaMan wrote:Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
Have you ever been to the us before?
Do you have family there?
88sins wrote:Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
You have options.
Options 1-sell everything and move (only do this if you 150% sure that you will never set foot back in t&t
Option 2- sell the lowest earners for as much as you can get and let the others continue earning, and sell them later when they mo longer making money or costing more than they making.
Option 3- keep all, and use the revenue they generate to set yourself up when you migrate (best option for if you want to leave something for future use or generations to come. )
You choose
triniterribletim wrote:My mother finally made it down to South America. Barely been a week since she has been here and she's already convinced that she should pack up and move to Brazil. I think what sealed the deal for her was going to some of the most expensive supermarkets here, and realizing that their top shelf goods were still cheaper than the things you can buy in Xtra Foods. Or it may have been the nice neighborhoods and parks of Curitiba along with the public Christmas celebrations. Mission in progress.
Wolfgang123 wrote:AlphaMan wrote:Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
Yes, quite a few times I have my greencard
Most of my immediate family reside there.
xtech wrote:triniterribletim wrote:My mother finally made it down to South America. Barely been a week since she has been here and she's already convinced that she should pack up and move to Brazil. I think what sealed the deal for her was going to some of the most expensive supermarkets here, and realizing that their top shelf goods were still cheaper than the things you can buy in Xtra Foods. Or it may have been the nice neighborhoods and parks of Curitiba along with the public Christmas celebrations. Mission in progress.
She like the top shelf corned beef huh
goalpost wrote:Im sure its in the thread somewhere, but how does one migrate to Brazil?
How is the weather there?
88sins wrote:Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
You have options.
Options 1-sell everything and move (only do this if you 150% sure that you will never set foot back in t&t
Option 2- sell the lowest earners for as much as you can get and let the others continue earning, and sell them later when they mo longer making money or costing more than they making.
Option 3- keep all, and use the revenue they generate to set yourself up when you migrate (best option for if you want to leave something for future use or generations to come. )
You choose
AlphaMan wrote:Wolfgang123 wrote:AlphaMan wrote:Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
Family who are citizens there sponsored my family
Yes, quite a few times I have my greencard
Most of my immediate family reside there.
How did you get your green card?
Xplode wrote:88sins wrote:Wolfgang123 wrote:Tuners im in the process of migrating to the US.
Great man glad to hear of your success.
Want to get into real estate in Houston texas , lots of development taking place and a growing population.
Also multi family i think is attainable there as compared to other popular cities and states.
You have options.
You choose
Wolfgang , had 3 properties in Trini, sold 2 and kept the best one for vacation and retirement, St. Clair/ Maraval area. Got USD for sold properties from buyers here in Florida and Toronto , My wife is into real estate in USA and Canada ,she got the buyers for me there a long list of buyers especially in Canada wanting Trinidad properties to buy cash , a lot of negations went on . Took the USD bought my self a beautiful fix upper property in Coral Gables 3 bdr ,with pool, 4 car garage, my wife condo in Toronto we do short term rentals ,the real estate in Toronto is crazy ,mad high fam 2 bdr goes for $3500 cad a month easy , my advice sell what you got in Trini but still save something if you ever want to return .
pugboy wrote:toronto has gone clear
everything there is expensive
AlphaMan wrote:pugboy wrote:toronto has gone clear
Everything in Canada is expensive.
Poor choice if you're looking at a country to migrate to.
AlphaMan wrote:pugboy wrote:toronto has gone clear
MaxPower wrote:AlphaMan wrote:pugboy wrote:toronto has gone clear
Well like any country, if you making a ketch ass salary, you will ketch your ass nevertheless.
pugboy wrote:depends on your spending
i know ppl making $20k and never have money