Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 19th, 2023, 8:11 am

Heard from a market supplier that a bunch of fresh imported produce is spoiled on the port due to customs staff shortages. Expect some increase in prices due to low supply and high demand, plus an effort to recoup some cost due to the losses.

Postby maj. tom » December 19th, 2023, 8:13 am

That might explain how I see 1 single pomegranate for $45.99 in Xtra Foods GB. Nobody in their right mind will buy that so it going to spoil too.

Postby 88sins » December 19th, 2023, 2:24 pm

DMan7 wrote:^ You forget about eating insects.

I forgot nothing, cuz I kno no trini gonna consider that an option :lol:

Best of luck trying to convince your average Trinbagonian that stew crickets and fly-rice does eat nice :lol:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 19th, 2023, 3:28 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Heard from a market supplier that a bunch of fresh imported produce is spoiled on the port due to customs staff shortages. Expect some increase in prices due to low supply and high demand, plus an effort to recoup some cost due to the losses.
Not doubting the info, but how does that happen? Ah mean, if the refrigeration go down, does the Port see about repairing or they inform the person's/company importing it?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 19th, 2023, 3:36 pm

DMan7 wrote:^ You forget about eating insects.

I forgot nothing, cuz I kno no trini gonna consider that an option

Best of luck trying to convince your average Trinbagonian that stew crickets and fly-rice does eat nice
That why I have a lot of respect for the ones that do eat insects and other things that a Trini like me ent go ever touch. Plenty respect also to those cultures that make use of the entire kill, like the Inuit, etc, using every part of carcass... pelt, fat, even hooves and every organ. For we head and liver and the other parts is delicacy. Others went through collective hardship.

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 19th, 2023, 3:37 pm

We are in a bubble whatever the price someone pull out of their @$$ we have to pay or do nothing food /clothes /cars everything

Postby paid_influencer » December 19th, 2023, 5:02 pm

maj. tom wrote:That might explain how I see 1 single pomegranate for $45.99 in Xtra Foods GB. Nobody in their right mind will buy that so it going to spoil too.

nah dais normal price last one i buy by massy was half rotten too

Postby 88sins » December 20th, 2023, 5:56 am

computercentral wrote:We are in a bubble whatever the price someone pull out of their @$$ we have to pay or do nothing food /clothes /cars everything

You need to understand padawan.
You are only as helpless as you let yourself be, and if you believe that you are, you will be.

This is especially true wrt food. Because that's something you can grow yourself, so you DON'T have to pay whatever price who pull out of wherever.
If you live in an apartment, you have serious limitations to what you can do, but there's still things you can do to save on your food bill. On the verandah, plant a small seasoning garden. Tomato, baigan, okro, sweet pepper, even dasheen, and cassava and potatoes, can be grown in pots. Every little bit does help, you just have to figure out the best way for you in your situation.

Only thing you won't be able to do is keep animals for meat, but other than that, once you willing to do something for yourself, they can't hold you to ransom.

Postby paid_influencer » December 21st, 2023, 9:07 pm

412973206_795252085947492_8702025960658668487_n.jpg

is it true. is the secret of massy's success... charging mor for cheese?

Postby eliteauto » December 22nd, 2023, 2:02 am

Lol when consumers don't understand about "loss leaders" worse yet claim Massy is expensive compared to Tru Valu. The FB comments are hilarious. Anyway HiLo will have all the specials from the past 11 days on today

Postby pugboy » December 22nd, 2023, 5:48 am

ent

my panettone sales were out the roof this season and buttah stocks depleted

let ppl study obeah

eliteauto wrote:Lol when consumers don't understand about "loss leaders" worse yet claim Massy is expensive compared to Tru Valu. The FB comments are hilarious. Anyway HiLo will have all the specials from the past 11 days on today

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 22nd, 2023, 7:38 am

If that manzan road wasn't so bad, I was considering taking the drive to Mayaro to see if Persads really worth it.

death365

Postby death365 » December 22nd, 2023, 7:53 am

yes they are but yuh hav 2 do all yuh shopping there to get the benefits. if yuh does buy plenty alcohol and larger size items. P/Town hav one too.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If that manzan road wasn't so bad, I was considering taking the drive to Mayaro to see if Persads really worth it.

snatman

Postby snatman » December 22nd, 2023, 10:06 am

Folks, are you all paying attention to the Red Sea shipping crisis?

Freight rates are doubling and tripling. Gear up for some stress if this situation isn't brought under control!

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2023, 7:58 pm

snatman wrote:Folks, are you all paying attention to the Red Sea shipping crisis?

Freight rates are doubling and tripling. Gear up for some stress if this situation isn't brought under control!

if yuh feel ppl bawling fuh customs delays, wait till mid-late January so, yuh go see comess. Long lead times, and increased prices due to shortages and increased shipping and insurance costs.

Postby MaxPower » December 22nd, 2023, 8:12 pm

88sins wrote:if yuh feel ppl bawling fuh customs delays, wait till mid-late January so, yuh go see comess. Long lead times, and increased prices due to shortages and increased shipping and insurance costs.

X3000.

Yuh know d ting

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 23rd, 2023, 7:30 am

4 Tomatoes:$60....20 per lb
Cucumber : 3lb for $10
Sweet pepper :$12 pet lb
Chive and celerey at $3 and $6 respectively
Good size lettuce at $10
Red onions :$8 per lb
Garlic: 4 packs $10

Only Tomatoes is the killer this morning. Everything else pretty decent.
IMG-20231223-WA0053.jpg

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2023, 8:24 am

cucumbers these days like they took a cold shower

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2023, 8:24 am

massy sales repeated again today

Postby bluefete » December 23rd, 2023, 10:45 am

pugboy wrote:massy sales repeated again today

Obeah wukking? Toilet paper was like gold in St. Augustine yesterday.

Postby bluefete » December 23rd, 2023, 10:47 am

Tunapuna market this morning:

Oranges: $20 for 13
Portugals $20 for 20
Grapefruit: $20 for 25

Ah make meh name in fruits today. Thank you Lord.

Postby maj. tom » December 23rd, 2023, 10:57 am

I buy watermelon and carambola. It was cheap and ripe. Was in and out of Chaguanas before 9. Good luck to everybody else who attempting it for the rest of today.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 23rd, 2023, 10:59 am

^ Waaaays you rel get thru there bai. Them prices good.

Postby bluefete » December 23rd, 2023, 11:21 am

DMan7 wrote:^ Waaaays you rel get thru there bai. Them prices good.

Yup. But you have to go down in the back of the market not by the people in the front or the middle.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 23rd, 2023, 11:24 am

Citrus expensive in couva market today 6/20 for Portugal and orange.

Everything else regular priced.

First set of pigeon peas on the scene at 30/lb unshelled.
I’ll probably buy next week it should come down after Xmas.

Massy is a shitshow this morning. Went for some spinach because fresh stock came in yesterday. Everyone carts filled with rum and toilet paper . And this was 8 am

Postby Chimera » December 23rd, 2023, 12:27 pm

I went massy brentwood around 1030 last night. Very little lines or crowd

matix

Postby matix » December 23rd, 2023, 12:37 pm

bluefete wrote:Tunapuna market this morning:

Portugals $20 for 20

Wtf thats very cheap

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2023, 12:41 pm

seeing plenty grapefruit everywhere

Postby 88sins » December 23rd, 2023, 1:38 pm

Better deal aranguez, usually you hadda leave your cart one spot and make runs.
This year, yuh could keep a fete in d lanes

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 23rd, 2023, 3:32 pm

bluefete wrote:Tunapuna market this morning:

Portugals $20 for 20

I think them is the best citrus prices I see in a very long while