:: The official TOOLS thread ::

jsali

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby jsali » December 15th, 2023, 4:32 pm

Damn. That doesn't sound too encouraging because it definitely will be in the heat.

Appreciate your feedback. Thanks

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 15th, 2023, 9:59 pm

Bought the smallest commercial 2200psi pressure washer Honda engine and reverberi pump from Trintrac about 12 years ago 7k or 8 k I payed serviced once by them never lend it out best investment I ever made use at least every 3 months for about 10 hours run time

Postby Chimera » December 16th, 2023, 3:02 am

Inshan having sale on ronix tools at barakah grounds today and onwards.

He say nightly auctions as well.

I wouldn't buy any of the power tools personally but might check out the items like drill bits and blades if the price nice.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 16th, 2023, 8:59 am

Fellas true talk how much you think I could sell my Black and Decker corded grinder 4 1/2 inch with 5 brand new sealed dewalt cutting disks?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 16th, 2023, 9:21 am

jsali wrote:Any feedback on this item.
Particularly with the jump-starting capability in emergencies.

Schumacher Portable Power Station SJ1332
https://www.pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/432735

Go on amazon and look at the nocoboost items. I have a 1000A one. Starts diesel engines and more with ease.

Postby Rovin » December 16th, 2023, 11:04 am

u cud never go wrong with investing in a good brand gas power washer , get 1 of those like what shakes said in d previous page, 3200+ psi wud be my recommendation but if thats too much for ur pocket d standard 2600 psi will still do good ...

Postby adnj » December 16th, 2023, 11:23 am

DMan7 wrote:Fellas true talk how much you think I could sell my Black and Decker corded grinder 4 1/2 inch with 5 brand new sealed dewalt cutting disks?
Locally available new B&D grinders are $250. Dewalt disks are $10. You should be able to get half of that.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 17th, 2023, 11:11 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
jsali wrote:Any feedback on this item.
Particularly with the jump-starting capability in emergencies.

Schumacher Portable Power Station SJ1332
https://www.pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/432735

Go on amazon and look at the nocoboost items. I have a 1000A one. Starts diesel engines and more with ease.
Havent regretted purchasing one last year for black friday, much cheaper than the 1200+ pricetag locally

jsali

Postby jsali » December 17th, 2023, 4:04 pm

I'll definitely look into the nocoboost units.

I suppose it's best to have an independent tyre compressor in this regard.

Thanks again

Postby maj. tom » December 17th, 2023, 8:19 pm

I see a 16 inch Lasko mechanical control fan in Pricesmart last week for $300. Not the big 18 inch electronic remote control one for $520. Thing sell out the next day, but they get some stock again in South. It advertised as Eco Quiet Speed. And what they mean by that is that only 2 and 3 speed settings have breeze, 1st speed so useless is like the dog wagging he tail. It eh like the old Lasko fans. But it working good though, just not on 1.

ksrw395

Postby ksrw395 » December 20th, 2023, 7:35 am

Need some suggestions for tool stores similar to A1 Tools N Things which sells used hand tools - preferably tools from high quality manufacturers and anything vintage/collectable. I don't mind tools with a bit of rusting.

dredman1

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby dredman1 » December 30th, 2023, 2:48 pm

Where might i find clear flexible vinyl tubing 3/4” internal diameter?

Doesnt have to be high pressure
11.jpg
11.jpg (3.58 KiB) Viewed 4245 times
Last edited by dredman1 on December 30th, 2023, 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » December 30th, 2023, 2:56 pm

hindian wrote:I have a Karcher electric 1600psi for the vehicles to engine wash and under fender cleaning . Not the most powerful thing but it gets the job done well enough. One of the problems with most pressure washers is that trigger I have mine zip tied in the on position. The on/off with the trigger creates something called a “ water hammer” effect that damages the pumps in the gas and electric types. This was told to me by a guy who repairs them.

You "zip tie" the trigger in the on position? What happens if you have an emergency and have to need to stop the washer at a moments notice. :roll:

Postby Rovin » December 30th, 2023, 3:11 pm

if its an emergency whether its gas\electric jes turn d switch to d OFF position

have my gas machine trigger zip tied from day 1 going on 4 yrs & another 1 we have tied over 10yrs ...

Postby Dave » December 30th, 2023, 4:26 pm

dredman1 wrote:Where might i find clear flexible vinyl tubing 3/4” internal diameter?

IMG_6924.JPG
I got by Tinys paint in Curepe but recall seeing that in hose shops.

Postby maj. tom » December 30th, 2023, 5:04 pm

Bhagwansingh's have tubing all sizes like that, you have to ask the person to cut it by the meter.

Postby Rovin » December 30th, 2023, 7:25 pm

^^^ ... yup

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » December 30th, 2023, 7:42 pm

Rovin wrote:if its an emergency whether its gas\electric jes turn d switch to d OFF position

have my gas machine trigger zip tied from day 1 going on 4 yrs & another 1 we have tied over 10yrs ...

I honestly don't see the sense in this.
Sounds like a major safety hazard to me.
If you're doing it because of tired/cramped hands thats different.
To each there own I guess

matix

Postby matix » December 30th, 2023, 8:07 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
Rovin wrote:if its an emergency whether its gas\electric jes turn d switch to d OFF position

If you’ve ever used a pressure washer and understand how it works then you will see the ‘sense’ in it. It’s not a cable tie that is pulled tightly. The cable tie is to keep the trigger engaged and if you need to release then just move the cable tie up.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 30th, 2023, 10:22 pm

maj. tom wrote:Bhagwansingh's have tubing all sizes like that, you have to ask the person to cut it by the meter.

I thought so as well - first place I thought to check, but they didn't have any in the size I need.

That's when I posted the message...

Postby *KRONIK* » December 30th, 2023, 11:38 pm

dredman1 wrote:Where might i find clear flexible vinyl tubing 3/4” internal diameter?

IMG_6924.JPG
I got something similar in the hydraulic/hose place next to G3 in arima/tumpuna

Postby Rovin » December 31st, 2023, 2:18 pm

matix wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

If you’ve ever used a pressure washer and understand how it works then you will see the ‘sense’ in it
. It’s not a cable tie that is pulled tightly. The cable tie is to keep the trigger engaged and if you need to release then just move the cable tie up.

ent :|

this is something those small engine repairmen that fix pw for a living actually advise their customers to do

he fairly new here & prolly never read about this posted several times a while back on this forum - do a quick forum search

yes an added benefit is its a huge relief on ur fingers\hand squeezing d trigger for sometimes hrs non stop [u can use a velcro strap too & wearing thick gloves significantly reduces vibrations on ur hands too] but for d main benefits of trigger tying\strapping : google\youtube it ... :|

hindian

Postby hindian » December 31st, 2023, 3:47 pm

Rovin wrote:
matix wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

If you’ve ever used a pressure washer and understand how it works then you will see the ‘sense’ in it
. It’s not a cable tie that is pulled tightly. The cable tie is to keep the trigger engaged and if you need to release then just move the cable tie up.

this is something those small engine repairmen that fix pw for a living actually advise their customers to do

he fairly new here & prolly never read about this posted several times a while back on this forum - do a quick forum search

yes an added benefit is its a huge relief on ur fingers\hand squeezing d trigger for sometimes hrs non stop [u can use a velcro strap too & wearing thick gloves significantly reduces vibrations on ur hands too] but for d main benefits of trigger tying\strapping : google\youtube it ... :|

Mine is permanently strapped in the open position. It’s a small electric unit 1600 psi with the stock hose length so I turn it on and off from the switch. I’ve noticed the electric units have a shorter lifespan when using the trigger as it was meant to be used, the sudden shutoff the water damages the pump/ impeller apparently. Mine going on 3 years trouble free operation with that setup.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 19th, 2024, 5:01 pm

I have a pistol grip grease gun for sale (used)
Has a lil end of silicone grease in it
$200
Come with standard nozzle

Also have 2 lockNlube grease nozzles for sale
1 standard length- $200
1 XL length - $250
Both are used for less than 1 cartridge of grease each.
Have the original packaging and service kits also for each.

PM if interested

Screenshot_20240119_165755.jpg

Screenshot_20240119_170023.jpg

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 20th, 2024, 5:57 pm

Anyone have one of those small stick/lift-tig welders?? From total or any other brand that’s reasonable… How you like its performance?

I’m gonna be using it for small hobby and around the house stuff as well as slight stainless work (thin sheet tack and fill)

Postby nervewrecker » January 20th, 2024, 7:29 pm

hindian wrote:
Rovin wrote:
matix wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Mine is permanently strapped in the open position. It’s a small electric unit 1600 psi with the stock hose length so I turn it on and off from the switch. I’ve noticed the electric units have a shorter lifespan when using the trigger as it was meant to be used, the sudden shutoff the water damages the pump/ impeller apparently. Mine going on 3 years trouble free operation with that setup.
I honestly wanted to use a switch and contactor to turn the motor on and off. 12V or 5V DC on a press button instead of the trigger will allow on / off for the motor as opposed to the spring loaded pressure switch that fails in the electric blue and karchers.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby adnj » February 1st, 2024, 9:14 pm

Postby *KRONIK* » February 18th, 2024, 10:49 am

So..... i'm doing some -AN lines on a vehicle soon

But i need to convert lines from metric & NPT to -AN

So i have most of my converters already which are male metric or male NTP to -AN

It was recommended for the metric and NPT sides to use a thread sealant paste and not actual PTFE tape.

Any particular thread sealant you guys would recommend?

Conversion fittings are anodized aluminum

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2024, 11:07 am

there is a popular one sold by the pvc
glue ppl, not christle brand a next one that comes in cans
but should check if the rubber they use impervious to the contents passing

Postby *KRONIK* » February 18th, 2024, 11:51 am