triniterribletim

Re: Coffee drinkers

Postby triniterribletim » August 10th, 2023, 12:11 pm

X_Factor wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
death365 wrote:recently starbuckz have a Brazilian coffee (cant remember the name) as the daily brew, it tastes' rich and full. Not the ordinary pikes Peaks one.

its 140 for the bag, ah waiting to see them have 2-4-1 special again an ill buy then. also anyone know if the advertise the sale ? how socials / website ??? meh needs to kno

Starbucks killing people with those prices. Do you think there would be a market for Brazilian specialty coffee in Trinidad? I live in the heart of the Brazilian coffee growing region and artisan coffee is just something most people take for granted. Back in the day when anyone said coffee, it was either Nescafé or Hong Wing. Didn't really have an appreciation for it until my wife introduced me to the Brazilian coffee culture. I usually drink Melitta Sul de Minas, which is Minas Gerais coffee, the same place Starbucks gets their coffee from.

there will definitely be a market, the main issue will be roast date to grinding and brewing which happens with most store bought beans.
the only place that has decent coffee is noir cafe

After the roast and grind here, they vacuum seal the coffee, which prevents oxidation and leaching. The coffee packages hiss when you break the seal.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 4th, 2023, 5:35 pm

Got my new batch of coffee. The Medium is a repeat and trying the breakfast blend for the first time.
PXL_20230904_213245611~2.jpg

Tar Baby

Postby Tar Baby » September 17th, 2023, 8:29 pm

I import greens and roast for a few businesses and personal clients.
Right now I have some washed colombian and anaerobic fermented ethiopian greens.

I usually roast it based on client preference, but a balanced medium roast to tame the acidity while trying to retain the origin characteristics are what I like to do.

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2023, 9:04 pm

what quantities and price you sell at?
you have a big roaster ?

Tar Baby wrote:I import greens and roast for a few businesses and personal clients.
Right now I have some washed colombian and anaerobic fermented ethiopian greens.

I usually roast it based on client preference, but a balanced medium roast to tame the acidity while trying to retain the origin characteristics are what I like to do.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 18th, 2023, 9:18 am

Tar Baby wrote:I import greens and roast for a few businesses and personal clients.

Ouuuuu send details on where to buy. Ethiopian stuff I had before was super smooth

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 22nd, 2023, 1:08 pm

^Either Ethiopian coffee very smooth, or the one I tried was, but that is an experience I really enjoyed. If you find a dark roast option don't hesitate to try it. Was just like blue mountain coffee or genuine Colombian sans the raw bean sharpness.

Postby X_Factor » September 25th, 2023, 11:54 am

post your contact
interested in some beans

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 10th, 2023, 8:55 am

Starbucks has a Uganda Rwenzori single origin bean that is easily a 8.5/10

There's an initial bitterness that instantly rolls into a smoothness laced with notes of molasses, earthy spice and maybe cacao. Of course, I enjoy my coffee black with a generous dollop of brown sugar, but the molasses note is beyond the sugar, you can taste it in the brew.

Dunno if I got a bad batch of the Pike place last round, but it was just brutally bitter and miserable.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2023, 9:21 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Starbucks has a Uganda Rwenzori single origin bean that is easily a 8.5/10

There's an initial bitterness that instantly rolls into a smoothness laced with notes of molasses, earthy spice and maybe cacao. Of course, I enjoy my coffee black with a generous dollop of brown sugar, but the molasses note is beyond the sugar, you can taste it in the brew.

Dunno if I got a bad batch of the Pike place last round, but it was just brutally bitter and miserable.

Also not sure if it is still on but last week I saw the one in East Gates had a 2 for 1 special on beans. The Guatemala Antigua I believe.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 10th, 2023, 9:23 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Starbucks has a Uganda Rwenzori single origin bean that is easily a 8.5/10

Also not sure if it is still on but last week I saw the one in East Gates had a 2 for 1 special on beans. The Guatemala Antigua I believe.

That's what I went looking for. Couva usually has the 2 for 1 special but the timing is always off as I don't buy their grounds to pack down because of oxidation/degradation. Vacuum sealed bags would last longer, but once you get them to grind the beans you should use it out in a couple weeks.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2023, 9:29 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

That's what I went looking for. Couva usually has the 2 for 1 special but the timing is always off as I don't buy their grounds to pack down because of oxidation/degradation. Vacuum sealed bags would last longer, but once you get them to grind the beans you should use it out in a couple weeks.

Yea that's why I didn't buy any.
I have an unopened McCafe, a newly opened one and a Member's Select half way done. Didn't want to buy and out down especially two for 1 means the beans probably been in SB's hands a while.

I also want to try the Full Bloom from Starlite next.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 6th, 2023, 6:01 pm

Picked this up as part of BOGO.

Brewed it for my morning commute from Couva so I only took the first sip around Munroe Rd.

Instant pore raise.
First note of grapefruit is strong, and brown sugar really amped up the whole vibe.
I thoroughly enjoyed this cuppa.

Usually I don’t care much for floral or fruity notes with my beans but my tastes are evolving. I likey.

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231106/51d555c5a6aa3e02f4e9aa1fee2cd114.jpg[/img]

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 6th, 2023, 8:36 pm

^ did it say where the beans are from? If not it probably from P/Asia with all those fruity notes

TK!

Postby TK! » November 9th, 2023, 11:25 pm

Starbucks Willow Blend is one of the best they have in store.

https://www.starbucks.tt/menu-item/willow-250g/

Postby stev » November 10th, 2023, 12:25 am

it's in Trinidad already? I didn't think it would be available so soon.

death365

Postby death365 » November 10th, 2023, 9:54 am

How d heck do u all know when it has the bogo? I looking to buy the Brazilian coffee but I never know when it's available
VexXx Dogg wrote:Picked this up as part of BOGO.

Brewed it for my morning commute from Couva so I only took the first sip around Munroe Rd.

Instant pore raise.
First note of grapefruit is strong, and brown sugar really amped up the whole vibe.
I thoroughly enjoyed this cuppa.

Usually I don’t care much for floral or fruity notes with my beans but my tastes are evolving. I likey.

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231106/51d555c5a6aa3e02f4e9aa1fee2cd114.jpg[/img]

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 12th, 2023, 5:43 pm

Anyone know where i can get Vanilla coffee syrup?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 12th, 2023, 7:24 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Anyone know where i can get Vanilla coffee syrup?
Regular or sugar free? I order from Blue Mountain website. Peppercorns, gourmet genie in south got both regular and sugar free. French vanilla as well as other combinations.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 12th, 2023, 8:37 pm

viedcht wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Anyone know where i can get Vanilla coffee syrup?
Regular or sugar free? I order from Blue Mountain website. Peppercorns, gourmet genie in south got both regular and sugar free. French vanilla as well as other combinations.

Thanks. Was not aware of blue mountain.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2023, 4:16 pm

Wasn't feeling to spend big bucks on coffee this month. Got these two and box of assorted K cups of black coffees of varying blends. Cant go wrong with DD Medium roasts

Should tide me over for a while as I also have a box of Dunkin K cups from earlier this year and an unopened pack of McCafe.
PXL_20231213_163007203.jpg

Postby eliteauto » December 13th, 2023, 4:54 pm

Like you went Thyme?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2023, 5:44 pm

eliteauto wrote:Like you went Thyme?
Nah.....A Walmart delivery from my travelling fams.

Postby Rovin » December 13th, 2023, 6:02 pm

ahh boi dunkin original ftw ...

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 16th, 2023, 4:15 pm

Bogo in Starbucks couva atm.
Sumatra, Guatemala and Uganda.
2 /125 is a steal so go refresh alyuh stock

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 16th, 2023, 10:05 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Bogo in Starbucks couva atm.
Sumatra, Guatemala and Uganda.
2 /125 is a steal so go refresh alyuh stock
Have you tried all three before? How are the tasting profiles? Never before interested in Starbucks, but thinking of trying these.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 16th, 2023, 11:19 pm

The Starbucks beans are pretty good quality.
Their sugar bomb drinks are sheit, but I don't buy that.
Either a black from the brew pot, or beans.

I reviewed uganda in this thread before, gave my discovery notes.
The last Sumatra I had from the TT was mellow, smooth, floral, but not as good as the very first Sumatra that I got from the US some years ago. Their tasting notes said expect spicy and earthy, but I didn't get that from the TT batch

Never had Guatemalan, so I took it this time around.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2023, 8:59 am

I like the Guatemala. Its the only one of the three I have had. Its been a year but IIRC it was fairly earthy but mellow. SB ground the beans for me so I'm not sure if you take it home and experiment with various grind sizes if you can get a different profile.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 18th, 2023, 10:24 am

I don't have a grinder, but SB medium grind is safe for me with the Bialetti. I don't like fine or espresso grind, although I got Turkish espresso that worked perfectly from someone else

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2023, 11:44 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I don't have a grinder, but SB medium grind is safe for me with the Bialetti. I don't like fine or espresso grind, although I got Turkish espresso that worked perfectly from someone else

I want to try different brewing methods. I have a hybrid Brew/K cup machine which basically uses a pin sized pressure nozzle to shoot hot water through the grounds.

Last month in an airport China I was in a SB (largest SB store I have ever been in) and ordered a black coffee. Found they were taking long and was told go to the other side of the counter. Found the guy doing a pour over method. Taste was much different to the usual black coffee. Takes much longer to get though. Wanted to take a pic but yunno the far east has this thing with photography so didn't bother with asking for permission.

It was those glass things on the counter in the back of the pic they used.
Capture.JPG

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 19th, 2023, 7:25 am

Where sell large bags of whole bean , blonde roast , I got a small bag in Starbucks, it was excellent but I prefer large bags for my machine.
Thanks