Order of Importance when you get your salary.

AlphaMan

Order of Importance when you get your salary.

Postby AlphaMan » November 4th, 2023, 8:44 pm

What's the order of importance when you get paid?
Feel free to add in anything you deem important but not here.

Food
Utilities
Shelter
Transportation
Child costs.
Insurance

Re: Order of Importance when you get your salary.

Postby teems1 » November 4th, 2023, 9:06 pm

Mortgage
Loans
Bills (utilities + gas)
Food
Insurance
Entertainment/Misc spending

Postby 88sins » November 4th, 2023, 9:59 pm

AlphaMan wrote:What's the order of importance when you get paid?

Food
Utilities
Shelter
Transportation
Child costs.
Insurance

doh feel ahow eh, but dis lookin like is a kinda sufferer/struggler kinda question :D
but don't beat up, everybody does go thru a struggler/sufferer phase bruh, just some longer than others.

Anyway, for me personally
1-savings & investments(20% mandatory, 10 % each)
2-loans, bills, and groceries, (about 60%%)
3-misc expenses (car/house insurance, property upkeep and upgrades, about 15%)
4- the remaining 5%, personal preference expenditure/recreation, helping out the kids, etc

Now the question
Why u asking this particular question bruh?

Postby alfa » November 4th, 2023, 10:48 pm

I don't wanna sound elitist here but even from my sufferer days I never had to wait until I got my salary to do any regular month to month spending and I can't see why anyone who's worked decades has to either. Sure there are projects that took decades of saving like building my house but when everyday expenses pop up like a bill or the van suddenly needs a battery if I have to wait on a salary to remedy the situation something is terribly wrong. It's all about financial planning and in a lot of cases just playing cheap which is a good thing. If you have to wait on a salary to purchase a non essential item then maybe you shouldn't purchase it this month.
To answer your question, when I get paid i simply use it to replenish what I've already spent for the month thus far.

Postby 88sins » November 5th, 2023, 8:03 am

I hear u eh, but boy, I telling you, majority of ppl live paycheck to paycheck, with zero cushion in case of an emergency or sudden unexpected expenses. And 9 times out of 10, it's only because they don't exercise sound judgment and financial planning and they prone to impulse buying. Frugality, saving, and preparing for what may come is something they can't do because they lack foresight, resources, self restraint and knowledge

Now we all live according to our incomes, and lewwe keep it 100% real,, we all have to budget, no matter how much money you think you have, because nobody has unlimited financial resources, andif you don't you will deplete your limited resources in short order. Even billionaires budget.

A trick I show people, is if you planning on making a major purchase, make sure that whatever it is you buying is worth more than you paying for it, and that it's an asset, not a liability., and if it can generate revenue even better.

Postby goalpost » November 5th, 2023, 8:10 am

Idk nah I have 4 chirren so it does be difficult to save. I have a major saving for emergency, but in my head, I have life insurance, let me enjoy my money.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 5th, 2023, 8:41 am

Bills/gas/food
Music
Vacation

Rum, sitting by a bar, clubbing, smoking is not my scene...so i could splurge elsewhere on hobbies like music and vaca.

Regular house maintenance is neither here or there. I dont buy bkfast/lunch during the week(cooking is life)! Stale food is even greater

Just as sins said, budget is key! I have a budget for spending for the month, I stick to it and im good to go tbh.

Postby zoom rader » November 5th, 2023, 8:47 am

Hoes
Rum
Weed
Travel
Bills

Thats for me now

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 5th, 2023, 10:02 am

AlphaMan wrote:What's the order of importance when you get paid?

Food
Utilities
Shelter
Transportation
Child costs.
Insurance

doh feel ahow eh, but dis lookin like is a kinda sufferer/struggler kinda question :D
but don't beat up, everybody does go thru a struggler/sufferer phase bruh, just some longer than others.

Anyway, for me personally
1-savings & investments(20% mandatory, 10 % each)
2-loans, bills, and groceries, (about 60%%)
3-misc expenses (car/house insurance, property upkeep and upgrades, about 15%)
4- the remaining 5%, personal preference expenditure/recreation, helping out the kids, etc

Now the question
Why u asking this particular question bruh?

Honestly I saw the question asked in a USA forum and I wondered what the responses would be with tuners.
Things tough as he'll in the US right now...
Also are you guys earning 4 digit salaries or 5?
You guys sound on top of your game...

Postby 88sins » November 5th, 2023, 10:24 am

It's not so much about how much you make, it's about what you do with what you make. There's many people who living very comfortably on $5k-$6k per month gross. They can do this, because they live within their means, and they spend their money wisely.

edit
One example
People does rush to move out parents house asap, to go pay rent, for some sense of freedom, when their net income is sub $5k, to pay 1800-2500 in rent, and with the balance have to travel, buy food, pay bills, etc, but for whatever insane reason, they does think they can afford to party and lime all weekend every weekend.

Postby paid_influencer » November 5th, 2023, 10:36 am

88sins wrote:It's not so much about how much you make, it's about what you do with what you make. There's many people who living very comfortably on $5k-$6k per month gross. They can do this, because they live within their means, and they spend their money wisely.

yea this is how poor people does have to survive. plenty fellas here coasting how they own this and investing that and saving how much and thing when the reality ent so good. you hadda suffer, eat chit, and work and be prepared to receive only more chit and suffering and humiliation down the line because that is how life is for poor people now. the only thing you really could invest in is chanting, because chanting is the one thing they cyar take away from you. Watch the Ramayan, watch how Ram leave all he kindgom to live in the forest as a hermit. that is what life is about, duty and honor, everything else is chit

Postby gastly369 » November 5th, 2023, 10:47 am

Oman
Rum
Boat ride
Jewellery
Lastest phone hire purchase
Work to own car
Rent
Children

Most trinis priority listed in order

Postby *KRONIK* » November 5th, 2023, 10:53 am

Wait, y'all getting salaries?

Postby 88sins » November 5th, 2023, 11:36 am

paid_influencer wrote:
88sins wrote:It's not so much about how much you make, it's about what you do with what you make. There's many people who living very comfortably on $5k-$6k per month gross. They can do this, because they live within their means, and they spend their money wisely.

yea this is how poor people does have to survive. plenty fellas here coasting how they own this and investing that and saving how much and thing when the reality ent so good. you hadda suffer, eat chit, and work and be prepared to receive only more chit and suffering and humiliation down the line because that is how life is for poor people now. the only thing you really could invest in is chanting, because chanting is the one thing they cyar take away from you. Watch the Ramayan, watch how Ram leave all he kindgom to live in the forest as a hermit. that is what life is about, duty and honor, everything else is chit

son, always remember, anything worth having will always require sacrifice, and you can either suffer and struggle a little today to live well later, or live lavishly today and see a lot of serious problems later.

Postby paid_influencer » November 5th, 2023, 11:42 am

the "live well later" part never coming tho

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 5th, 2023, 12:09 pm

paid_influencer wrote:the "live well later" part never coming tho

Say it again...
Beginning to realize this everytime I think about it

Postby paid_influencer » November 5th, 2023, 12:11 pm

AlphaMan wrote:

Say it again...

yup

from primary school they selling you this dream
that you could do anything
if you work hard enough

but they never say the fact
that capitalism sends all the wealth to the top
so labor
will always be labor

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 5th, 2023, 12:15 pm

Your percentage is over 100

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 5th, 2023, 12:18 pm

Tbvh, if you dont inherit or get a pretty decent start from your someone, you ought to catch yuh mc! Unless you land a big paying job/business venture from early.....pressure!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 5th, 2023, 12:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Say it again...

yup

from primary school they selling you this dream
that you could do anything
if you work hard enough

but they never say the fact
that capitalism sends all the wealth to the top
so labor
will always be labor

Capitalism is the best way out of poverty

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 5th, 2023, 1:45 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Tbvh, if you dont inherit or get a pretty decent start from your someone, you ought to catch yuh mc! Unless you land a big paying job/business venture from early.....pressure!

No random ordinary citizen have access to this "big paying job" that they keep telling you to study for since you're in primary school..

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 5th, 2023, 1:53 pm

"Study hard so you can have a good job working in a nice A/C office" has always been nonsense, it's just that we never saw it yet when we were told by our seniors growing up. They just perpetuated something that the 1% have instilled in the working class for years to remain the working class.

Postby paid_influencer » November 5th, 2023, 2:11 pm

long time was different tho. It had real permanent jobs that lead to retirement. Training was free or affordable. Unions were strong

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 5th, 2023, 3:05 pm

Fast forward to 2023, majority of permanent positions are within the respective service commissions and everything else is 3 year contracts.

Another aspect is who know yuh/who yuh know to try and gt. Starting a business is easier said than done and it takes money to make $.

Harsh reality of t&t!

Postby MaxPower » November 5th, 2023, 10:40 pm

Many people have poor spending habits due to dependence on inheritance.

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2023, 11:35 pm

paid_influencer wrote:long time was different tho. It had real permanent jobs that lead to retirement. Training was free or affordable. Unions were strong

corporation wok is the golden goose for many

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 6th, 2023, 6:30 am

1 in probably every 20 persons in trinidad could stand up and say they landed a 25k per month salary after leaving university

People in the medical field dont even see this unless they have a link in the ministry or they gt with an already well established practice.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 6th, 2023, 8:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:1 in probably every 20 persons in trinidad could stand up and say they landed a 25k per month salary after leaving university

People in the medical field dont even see this unless they have a link in the ministry or they gt with an already well established practice.

Are any proper stats on salaries in Trinidad. A quick Google search online from many various sources (and most are out dated) say it's 7.5-10k a month.

That seems realistic as an average. I do wonder what the median and standard deviations are.

dogg

Postby dogg » November 6th, 2023, 9:55 am

That's not elitist at all. This is the way it should be. After a couple decades of working you're supposed to have some kind of semblance of financial buffers.

I usually have a few months salary in the bank, if for some reason, that's not enough there's the credit card which is always paid off in full and on time. The rest of my savings are in the stock market, providing passive income as well as capital growth. And that can be accessed in a week or so depending on market conditions.

And I don't work for no big setta money I just was very frugal with money. In the early days, my co-workers were buying food daily and limed every Friday after work and liming whole weekend. Me? I brown-bagged my lunch every day. And would only occasionally partake in after-hours office limes. And by mid-month or before all of them broke. A good bit of people don't have the discipline to save and invest.

So I'm with you, my salary is just to replenish what i've used for the month and bank the rest.

alfa wrote:I don't wanna sound elitist here but even from my sufferer days I never had to wait until I got my salary to do any regular month to month spending and I can't see why anyone who's worked decades has to either. Sure there are projects that took decades of saving like building my house but when everyday expenses pop up like a bill or the van suddenly needs a battery if I have to wait on a salary to remedy the situation something is terribly wrong. It's all about financial planning and in a lot of cases just playing cheap which is a good thing. If you have to wait on a salary to purchase a non essential item then maybe you shouldn't purchase it this month.
To answer your question, when I get paid i simply use it to replenish what I've already spent for the month thus far.

Postby zoom rader » November 6th, 2023, 11:10 am

MaxPower wrote:Many people have poor spending habits due to dependence on inheritance.
Inheritance?

Red mis government ppl not use to this