Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby eliteauto » September 30th, 2023, 11:16 am

One of the nice things about being a sufferer is you don't have to live up to these false images of Max&Co. Pretty sure I know some very rich sufferers who love sales

Postby maj. tom » September 30th, 2023, 11:21 am

Big shot does even have to go grocery and market to interact with us plebs who need to feed our families?

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2023, 11:25 am

a sure sign of a sufferer is one who talking about how big shots operate

Postby MaxPower » September 30th, 2023, 11:28 am

Settle down boys

dogg

Postby dogg » September 30th, 2023, 11:35 am

Yeah a partner of mine does the personal household grocery shopping and pricemart runs for his boss - whose family owns one of the larger distributorships in the country. - well at least he goes to the stores to collect the items.

As an aside to that, once when I was on vacation he asked me to go on a run with him to a grocery down in Rio Claro side to pick up something. I went and I see him walking out with 4 stuffed market bags. I ask him what the hell was that. He said cash. 1/2 million in cash. In market bags. 2 cars followed us to Grande for safety. Yeah, so I never went on a run with him after that.

Postby st7 » September 30th, 2023, 12:50 pm

pugboy wrote:a sure sign of a sufferer is one who talking about how big shots operate

lol exactly

Postby MaxPower » September 30th, 2023, 1:13 pm

^ O skont boddy, So you were aware your partner working for a big boy and u still agreed to go on a run to collect “something”? Man like he use you for company and if he was really your partner he would have mentioned to you what the “something” was and not put you in that risky situation.

Hadda be more aware bro and ask questions. At least now u know he is not your friend.

Easy easy and your vacation could have been ruined bro

Postby mero » October 1st, 2023, 3:23 pm

dogg wrote:Yeah a partner of mine does the personal household grocery shopping and pricemart runs for his boss - whose family owns one of the larger distributorships in the country. - well at least he goes to the stores to collect the items.

As an aside to that, once when I was on vacation he asked me to go on a run with him to a grocery down in Rio Claro side to pick up something. I went and I see him walking out with 4 stuffed market bags. I ask him what the hell was that. He said cash. 1/2 million in cash. In market bags. 2 cars followed us to Grande for safety. Yeah, so I never went on a run with him after that.
Allyuh padnas real wicked boy. He was getting a good rest after that. Daz serious business dey.

assassin

Postby assassin » October 1st, 2023, 9:06 pm

4 stuffed market bags?
Half mil fitting in 1 market bag comfortable
dogg wrote:Yeah a partner of mine does the personal household grocery shopping and pricemart runs for his boss - whose family owns one of the larger distributorships in the country. - well at least he goes to the stores to collect the items.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2023, 10:35 am

Well this thread went way off course

Postby bluefete » October 2nd, 2023, 11:03 am

Market prices coming down. Sunday market:

Potatoes - $4 / lb.

Sweet potatoes - $5 / lb

Eddoes - $5 / lb

Pumpkin - $1-$2 / lb.

Dasheen - $5 / lb

Postby pugboy » October 2nd, 2023, 12:08 pm

rain starting though, that does jack up prices like how easter affects fish and immediately after easter prices drop

bluefete wrote:Market prices coming down. Sunday market:

Potatoes - $4 / lb.

Sweet potatoes - $5 / lb

Eddoes - $5 / lb

Pumpkin - $1-$2 / lb.

Dasheen - $5 / lb

Postby bluefete » October 2nd, 2023, 2:49 pm

^^ Divali coming in November so you know that prices will go back up anyway.

Profit maximaization have to maximize.

Postby eliteauto » October 2nd, 2023, 7:49 pm

Things like pumpkin, buy them whole now, cut them up and freeze them, peel your ground provisions and freeze as well.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 3rd, 2023, 7:32 am

How does frozen pumpkin taste after a few months in the freezer? Never tried it, contemplating it atm because at $1 per lb...cant go wrong.

Also, cant tell you the last time I saw
Carite at $10 per lb
King at $15
Etc

matix

Postby matix » October 3rd, 2023, 7:35 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:How does frozen pumpkin taste after a few months in the freezer? Never tried it, contemplating it atm because at $1 per lb...cant go wrong.

Carite at $10 per lb
King at $15
Etc

Vacuum sealing is the way to go for freshness. Picks up less space, seals properly.

Postby pugboy » October 3rd, 2023, 7:59 am

or wrap tightly in glad wrap with no air pockets and then in another plastic bag tied tightly
for pumpkin best to cut in large blocks and use glad wrap like how they wrap cheese.

meat wrapped like that lasts for a very long time in freezer

Postby MaxPower » October 3rd, 2023, 8:35 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:How does frozen pumpkin taste after a few months in the freezer? Never tried it, contemplating it atm because at $1 per lb...cant go wrong.

Carite at $10 per lb
King at $15
Etc

Rel good hoss, can’t even tell the difference.

Be sure to add your fresh green seasoning coming to the end.

Postby j.o.e » October 3rd, 2023, 9:19 am

Carite at $10 per lb
King at $15
Etc

This is the only way i buy pumpkin. No issues with taste and I don’t do as much due diligence (vacuum sealing) as these guys.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 3rd, 2023, 8:10 pm

Carite at $10 per lb
King at $15
Etc
Maybe steam it and vacuum freeze? I accustomed mashing and freezing but mostly for soup.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 3rd, 2023, 8:12 pm

Alyuh say prices went down? I pay 10.00/pong for cucumber today. But about three weeks ago @3pong/10.00

WiddyEff

Postby MaxPower » October 3rd, 2023, 8:25 pm

Zip lock bags work just fine for me.

Postby pugboy » October 3rd, 2023, 8:30 pm

things only gonna state going up from now
weather too hot, Divali, rains coming, xmas demand

brace for high celery prices too, I went looking for celery seedlings today and didnt get

viedcht wrote:Alyuh say prices went down? I pay 10.00/pong for cucumber today. But about three weeks ago @3pong/10.00

WiddyEff

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 3rd, 2023, 9:29 pm

I start seafood (mostly fresh/frozen when ting scarce) and veg with seed -nut snack diet some years... food bill gone up average 1300.00 since 2019 . 1 person... 2 meals 2 snacktimes.

My total bill for grocery shopping is around 3400.00 dem feel that 20 ah day minimum wage helping people that suffering since how long on scrumbs? Reality is nobody enjoying the increase because everything keep going up.

dogg

Postby dogg » October 4th, 2023, 12:42 pm

Where have the best rotisserie? I find it to be cheap and convenient. To me Massy's is pretty good and consistent. Any thoughts?

Postby Chimera » October 4th, 2023, 1:13 pm

viedcht wrote:Alyuh say prices went down? I pay 10.00/pong for cucumber today. But about three weeks ago @3pong/10.00

WiddyEff
I get fedup of that. Cucumber price fluctuating so much and is always some old squingy cucumber too
Few weeks ago I do some barrelponics/kratky and picking cucumber every day for the last two weeks.

No pumps, no air stone, no stress

Screenshot_20231004-130242_WhatsAppBusiness.jpg
Screenshot_20231004-130236_WhatsAppBusiness.jpg
Screenshot_20231004-130247_WhatsAppBusiness.jpg
20231004_094032.jpg

Postby Chimera » October 4th, 2023, 1:40 pm

check out the fish prices

roughly a year apart

i had initially post that the veggies were double in price

but last year they put prices per lb

this year they putting it per KG
385912372_739389408234487_8051682815600449846_n.jpg
310320684_486141120225985_3195780050735504362_n.jpg

Postby Rovin » October 4th, 2023, 2:23 pm

i see pasta price in d grocery went down lil bit, few wks ago was $6-7\pk now is 4 for $17-20 depending on d brand & weight ...

Postby bluefete » October 4th, 2023, 2:38 pm

Cheese gone from $29.95/lb to $24.95/lb in Food Basket

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 4th, 2023, 9:10 pm

I try that home garden cucumber... totally organic. Reall nice quality veg I get... downside is every vine will put out maybe 3-5 small/medium and then just die or melt away

Have about 200pong ah squash vine in backyard coasting about 8 squash. That should offset whatever pongkin prices at right now