wtk: purchasing an iphone

nightcrawler

wtk: purchasing an iphone

Postby nightcrawler » September 17th, 2023, 6:52 pm

Need some info. My S20+ finally decided to give up on me. Deciding between the s23 ultra and iphone 15 pro max. Leaning towards iphone. My question is, if I am purchasing directly from apple US website will the device work in Trinidad?

Re: wtk: purchasing an iphone

Postby Chimera » September 17th, 2023, 6:53 pm

nightcrawler wrote:Need some info. My S20+ finally decided to give up on me. Deciding between the s23 ultra and iphone 15 pro max. Leaning towards iphone. My question is, if I am purchasing directly from apple US website will the device work in Trinidad?
Yes it will. Just make sure to purchase the unlocked option

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2023, 6:56 pm

need to note also they are esim

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » September 17th, 2023, 7:12 pm

Just to verify, connect to any carrier later means unlocked ?

Postby Chimera » September 17th, 2023, 7:35 pm

Yes

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » September 17th, 2023, 8:01 pm

Don’t often see Samsung users switching to Apple… curious to know what drove your decision?

Postby paid_influencer » September 17th, 2023, 8:19 pm

pugboy wrote:need to note also they are esim

this is the catch.

I went to upgrade my sim card with bmobiles last month and they tell me all the esim run out (?) check tomorrow.
when i check tomorrow all the esim run out too.
and so on.
plenty other ppl did come in to get esim and turn back. idk why it so hard. i gave up amd get a regular isim, which didn't work but that is another story

Postby st7 » September 17th, 2023, 8:29 pm

how is it a catch?

the iphone 14 was the same and that pushed the drive for esims locally.

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2023, 9:02 pm

how can esims run out ?
i thought it is not a physical thing

Postby MaxPower » September 17th, 2023, 9:29 pm

iphone is the way forward bro, excellent choice.

For some reason most sufferers seem to lean towards Samsung….yuck!!!

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » September 17th, 2023, 9:44 pm

pugboy wrote:how can esims run out ?
i thought it is not a physical thing

Technically they will never have any esims to give out. So they no lies

You bring your esim with you and they activate it for you as it’s built into your phone

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2023, 10:05 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

this is the catch.

I went to upgrade my sim card with bmobiles last month and they tell me all the esim run out (?) check tomorrow.
and so on.
plenty other ppl did come in to get esim and turn back. idk why it so hard. i gave up amd get a regular isim, which didn't work but that is another story

They can't run out of e-sims - ti's not a physical thing.
The store you went to probably had a set of numbers they can add and they needed to get more from Bmobile?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 17th, 2023, 11:37 pm

I currently running an S23 ultra (256/12) for about 2 months so far. Nothing but good things to say about it.

But for me the absolute best thing is the 45 watt charging. With a 45W block it charges back up at 2% per minute. From 25 to 85% in half hour. Camera quality is also incredible and the S-pen functions as a remote camera shutter button, works well when the phone is mounted on a tripod or not wanting to shake the phone.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » September 18th, 2023, 6:25 am

MaxPower wrote:iphone is the way forward bro, excellent choice.

Lol this is a rel stupid statement but ok, when your phone can turn into a full pc when connected via hdmi or wirelessly then you could talk. Iphone is a glorified social media device whilst my device is a full fledged pc in my pocket. (Galaxy fold 4). Welcome to usb c and usb 3.0 lmao.

Postby paid_influencer » September 18th, 2023, 7:25 am

paid_influencer wrote:

this is the catch.

and so on.

They can't run out of e-sims - ti's not a physical thing.
The store you went to probably had a set of numbers they can add and they needed to get more from Bmobile?

yea, it look so. they tell me come back 10am because it does done fast.

it only had one location in south doing esim when i went last month (gulf city).

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2023, 7:51 am

so the esim “run out” is for new numbers and not persons converting from physical

Postby MaxPower » September 18th, 2023, 10:12 am

Carbon12 wrote:

Lol this is a rel stupid statement but ok, when your phone can turn into a full pc when connected via hdmi or wirelessly then you could talk. Iphone is a glorified social media device whilst my device is a full fledged pc in my pocket. (Galaxy fold 4). Welcome to usb c and usb 3.0 lmao.

Haha i knew i would rail up someone.

Allyuh fellas too easy to bait lol

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » September 19th, 2023, 7:25 am

Carbon12 wrote:

Haha i knew i would rail up someone.

Allyuh fellas too easy to bait lol

Bait nothing. Lol. The man can choose whicever device he wants, but most sufferers do choose iphone cuz its a status symbol more dan android but it get lame now since foldables lol.

Postby j.o.e » September 19th, 2023, 7:37 am

Enjoy your iPhone bro. You have a device that will just work for years to come. Receive updates for many years and will not fail unless you physically damage it.

Postby paid_influencer » September 19th, 2023, 7:37 am

i chose iphone because I want a phone, not a pc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2023, 7:39 am

one word: ecosystem

Postby adnj » September 19th, 2023, 8:52 am

Apple has a larger market share than Samsung in the EU and has twice the market share of Samsung in the US. Apple must be doing something right.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 19th, 2023, 9:32 am

buy whatever the firetruck you want.
A bunch of betasimp energy 'bout why their choice better than yours.

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » September 19th, 2023, 6:33 pm

Getting the iphone. As for reason switching well , my S20+ still in immaculate condition. One day I put it to charge and came back to see some lines on the screen . Did a hard reset and still there. Saw online other ppl had the same issue. Never owned an iphone b4 so after that bad vibes with the Samsung I giving them a rest

Postby MaxPower » September 19th, 2023, 6:41 pm

nightcrawler wrote:Getting the iphone. As for reason switching well , my S20+ still in immaculate condition. One day I put it to charge and came back to see some lines on the screen . Did a hard reset and still there. Saw online other ppl had the same issue. Never owned an iphone b4 so after that bad vibes with the Samsung I giving them a rest

Fantastic decision, you won’t regret it.

Zee

Postby Zee » September 27th, 2023, 9:24 pm

j.o.e wrote:Enjoy your iPhone bro. You have a device that will just work for years to come. Receive updates for many years and will not fail unless you physically damage it.
Until they intentionally slow it down. Get a lawsuit and pay you cents on your dollar for your worries

Zee

Postby Zee » September 27th, 2023, 9:25 pm

So, FYI, there are other phone makers out there. No, really. Beside Apple and Samsung. I know right. Since when?
Try a Pixel or Xiaomi. They all make calls and have apps.

Postby j.o.e » September 27th, 2023, 10:34 pm

Zee wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Enjoy your iPhone bro. You have a device that will just work for years to come. Receive updates for many years and will not fail unless you physically damage it.
Until they intentionally slow it down. Get a lawsuit and pay you cents on your dollar for your worries

All the conspiracy theories yet still all my old iPhones are functioning as hand me downs to parents and nephews etc.
and they continued receiving updates long after. Longevity of Apple devices are unrivaled

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 28th, 2023, 4:42 am

Zee wrote:So, FYI, there are other phone makers out there. No, really. Beside Apple and Samsung. I know right. Since when?

I hear good things about the Pixels, especially with camera quality.

I upgraded to an S23 Ultra from a Xiaomi 11 Lite NE 5G. The phone was well priced, had better performance compared to samsung phones in its price bracket, charged faster and was lighter and thinner.

The issue was that it was just a lil too flimsy, one little hit on the screen and it went completely out. Good luck getting replacement parts for Chinese phones in TnT. Even if you do, either do the repair yourself or get your eye dug out by the handful of people in trinidad who have the parts.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 28th, 2023, 6:56 am

I have a Pixel 7 now after using a Xiaomi Mi9 for 3.5 years. Still less money cumulatively than one iphone back when I bought the Mi.

But ppl can choose what their heart desires oui. What works for me wouldn't for thee
ProtonPowder wrote:
Zee wrote:So, FYI, there are other phone makers out there. No, really. Beside Apple and Samsung. I know right. Since when?

I hear good things about the Pixels, especially with camera quality.

I upgraded to an S23 Ultra from a Xiaomi 11 Lite NE 5G. The phone was well priced, had better performance compared to samsung phones in its price bracket, charged faster and was lighter and thinner.

The issue was that it was just a lil too flimsy, one little hit on the screen and it went completely out. Good luck getting replacement parts for Chinese phones in TnT. Even if you do, either do the repair yourself or get your eye dug out by the handful of people in trinidad who have the parts.