The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

DMan7

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby DMan7 » September 13th, 2023, 3:57 pm

I just bought something on Amazon and the payment was declined called, Republic Bank about it and they said its an issue on their end because it "has to do with something concerning the USD spending". The value of the item was less than $200 USD and my credit card limit hasn't been reached which is a low limit to begin with ($500USD). Looks like USD spending gone from bad to worse

Postby st7 » September 13th, 2023, 4:20 pm

DMan7 wrote:I just bought something on Amazon and the payment was declined called, Republic Bank about it and they said its an issue on their end because it "has to do with something concerning the USD spending". The value of the item was less than $200 USD and my credit card limit hasn't been reached which is a low limit to begin with ($500USD). Looks like USD spending gone from bad to worse

were you able to purchase it in TT?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 13th, 2023, 4:31 pm

st7 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:I just bought something on Amazon and the payment was declined called, Republic Bank about it and they said its an issue on their end because it "has to do with something concerning the USD spending". The value of the item was less than $200 USD and my credit card limit hasn't been reached which is a low limit to begin with ($500USD). Looks like USD spending gone from bad to worse

were you able to purchase it in TT?

For RBC? Nah the woman on the phone said that even though you select TT currency on Amazon it actually converts it back to USD and then deducted from the account. However RBC has a $50 USD limit so that plan buss.

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2023, 4:34 pm

How long before you notify Amazon that a shipment can not be "located"?

Two shipments, actually both part of the same order, both delivered by USPS on Sep 7.
1Z0* actually put in my hand today.
But Websource has not responded or cannot respond regarding the 1Z7*
1.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » September 14th, 2023, 5:16 pm

wagonrunner wrote:delivered by USPS

found the problem

USPS does mark thing as delivered and it does go missing for weeks at a time. I had thing missing for almost a whole month before it show up normal normal in my skybox. That chit does only happen with USPS and it happen on the regular with USPS.

edit: your pics showing UPS instead of USPS tho. UPS is a different scene never had a problem with them idk

Postby st7 » September 14th, 2023, 5:41 pm

what does the shipping company say about its status? because if it says delivered, i dont think amazon gonna give you the time of day...

Postby redmanjp » September 14th, 2023, 6:03 pm

DMan7 wrote:Did not realize I could've used my RBC visa debit card for online purchases. I didn't need to sign up for that Republic Credit Card a few years back. Now I'm going to cancel it. Prefer not to have a credit card if I have the option not to.

doesn't that card have a 50TT charge for foreign transactions?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 14th, 2023, 6:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Did not realize I could've used my RBC visa debit card for online purchases. I didn't need to sign up for that Republic Credit Card a few years back. Now I'm going to cancel it. Prefer not to have a credit card if I have the option not to.

Yep realized it first hand this past week by using it a few times. :(

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2023, 6:11 pm

happy with ws since signing up a few months ago
they have less charges than seabox

Postby redmanjp » September 14th, 2023, 6:16 pm

DMan7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Yep realized it first hand this past week by using it a few times. :(

so u should keep the RBL card then

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2023, 7:25 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:delivered by USPS

found the problem

USPS does mark thing as delivered and it does go missing for weeks at a time. I had thing missing for almost a whole month before it show up normal normal in my skybox. That chit does only happen with USPS and it happen on the regular with USPS.

edit: your pics showing UPS instead of USPS tho. UPS is a different scene never had a problem with them idk

thats a funny solution, since the other part of the order also shipped by USPS in my hand.
the question was how long before amazon should b e tnoified?
Its been a week, and they give thirty days.

Susprised you say that. cause amazon rep is ready to refund.
refund.jpg

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2023, 7:39 pm

yeah they willing to refund quick
i had stuff which was passed on to local delivery agent who did not seem to update tracking so amazon said it was lost and actually refunded me before i was looking for it
i still got the pkg though

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2023, 7:44 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah they willing to refund quick
i had stuff which was passed on to local delivery agent who did not seem to update tracking so amazon said it was lost and actually refunded me before i was looking for it
i still got the pkg though

last time that happened to me was around 2005 with caribbean express. i ended up wtih two of the orders.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 16th, 2023, 6:23 am

Good Day people, question.
ordered some engine parts for a engine rebuild for one of my customers. everything came up to about 1500usd from Amayama.com with shipping to my US address with CSF couriers. well i got the full shaft from customs 30% duty 12.5%vat and OPT. i had to pay almost 7000ttd to clear the package. i felt sick. any way i can get around this for future purchases? this 30% duty on car parts is absolutely atrocious. thanks in advance

Postby adnj » September 16th, 2023, 6:29 am

speedaholic wrote:Good Day people, question.
ordered some engine parts for a engine rebuild for one of my customers. everything came up to about 1500usd from Amayama.com with shipping to my US address with CSF couriers. well i got the full shaft from customs 30% duty 12.5%vat and OPT. i had to pay almost 7000ttd to clear the package. i felt sick. any way i can get around this for future purchases? this 30% duty on car parts is absolutely atrocious. thanks in advance
Car Parts/Accessories | 30% Duty | 12.5% VAT

That is the rate.

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2023, 6:38 am

You didn't get shafted. You got charged what suppose to be charged.

Take that into consideration next time you setting prices for customers

Postby *KRONIK* » September 16th, 2023, 7:23 am

The man just wanna know how to defraud the government/customs and doh get ketch

Allyuh help the soldier out nah

Postby j.o.e » September 16th, 2023, 7:25 am

I vaguely remember tractor/agricultural parts being at a different rate. I eh sure eh. But worth checking

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 17th, 2023, 6:27 am

*KRONIK* wrote:The man just wanna know how to defraud the government/customs and doh get ketch

Haha exactly.. Ridiculous that I have to pay almost the same price the parts cost just to get them into the country. That not right. Come like I buying thing twice.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » September 17th, 2023, 7:12 am

adnj wrote:

That is the rate.

Not forgetting OPT and the weight of the package. What is the estimate from CSF calculator?

Postby paid_influencer » September 17th, 2023, 9:12 am

speedaholic wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:The man just wanna know how to defraud the government/customs and doh get ketch

Haha exactly.. Ridiculous that I have to pay almost the same price the parts cost just to get them into the country. That not right. Come like I buying thing twice.

nah, you just ent realize how fleck up the island economic structure is yet.

you bought into the mindset we a small, open economy. You now learning we have high import duties on most goods brought into the island. wait until you find out the range of foreign exchange controls on the island. everything getting more and more closed off to prevent the average islander from doing business with the outside world.

it turning back into a plantation economy. we have a planter class that own everything and control all access to foreign currency. and a labourer class that gets paid in island dollars that can only be redeemed on the island.

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2023, 9:27 am

minor correction, vat is on top of everything summed up
incl shipping

adnj wrote:

That is the rate.
Last edited by pugboy on September 17th, 2023, 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby supercharged turbo » September 17th, 2023, 4:38 pm

Seeing alot of ppl selling ghillie suits including stores.I thought camo illegal

Postby *KRONIK* » September 17th, 2023, 6:13 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Seeing alot of ppl selling ghillie suits including stores.I thought camo illegal
Camo, yes

Realtree, no

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 21st, 2023, 3:56 pm

Fellas amazon is showing under my account that my items was delivered yesterday, but I haven't received an email as yet from websource saying that they have received my package in Miami. :shock:

What going on there? Normally they would've responded by now. Y'all think that package lost. I also didn't get the chance to pre-alert this package as well. :s

Postby st7 » September 21st, 2023, 4:34 pm

DMan7 wrote:Fellas amazon is showing under my account that my items was delivered yesterday, but I haven't received an email as yet from websource saying that they have received my package in Miami. :shock:

What going on there? Normally they would've responded by now. Y'all think that package lost. I also didn't get the chance to pre-alert this package as well. :s

doh study it... the email go reach today or tmr.

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2023, 5:11 pm

Websource logs prealerted packages first. That shipment might reach trinidad and clear customs before you get notice it was received in miami

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 21st, 2023, 5:56 pm

DAMN! I ended up pre-alerting it after it arrived. :cry:

Postby Dave » September 21st, 2023, 5:59 pm

Saw Blue sky offices are closed and signs removed. Not sure if they relocated.

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2023, 6:37 pm

Up to last week I saw someone complaining on fb they waiting 2 or 3 years for their packages