Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Ripple - Cryptocurrency in T&T

dean_spleen09

Re: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Ripple - Cryptocurrency in T&T

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 1st, 2023, 11:15 am

looking for any local groups where people buy/sell crypto.
good information will be generously rewarded...

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » July 5th, 2023, 3:42 pm

Scotia doesn't support buying from exchanges and if you use a 3rd party service like Airtm or Wise to buy P2P on Kucoin or such there are huge fees to pay in between and you can lose 25-30% before you even get your USDT, but thays one way.

This is another way that works for me locally.

Use CrytoTab to get BTC on your pc or phone by using the browser, buy a boost or few and then wtihdraw to an exchange and sell for alts/stables if thats your plan.

https://cryptotabbrowser.com/27730523

Mic

Postby Mic » July 14th, 2023, 8:55 am

Interesting
Last edited by Mic on August 14th, 2023, 8:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 11th, 2023, 8:54 pm

Quick question to those more knowledgeable as I have never had any dealings with this.

Someone needs to pay me via crypto. How does one get this to usable regular cash from an exchange such as Binance or Coinbase etc? Do our local banks credit cards support these withdrawals/transfers?

eitech

Postby eitech » August 11th, 2023, 9:24 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Quick question to those more knowledgeable as I have never had any dealings with this.

Someone needs to pay me via crypto. How does one get this to usable regular cash from an exchange such as Binance or Coinbase etc? Do our local banks credit cards support these withdrawals/transfers?

I had some crypto in binance and they had the option to withdraw the equivalent crpto to usd to ur credit card. So imagine when i went one day to withdraw and the option wasn’t there anymore. I know a guy who know a guy and basically i withdrew the crypto direct to his specified wallet and he in turn sent me cash based on the agreed exchange rate eg btc to usd then to tt. You pretty much need an “honest” middle man who not gonna rob you. I got my money though. Thats was my last dealing in binance. Rep card was the pnly one that i got to work. Fcb was a no no

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 12th, 2023, 9:09 am

eitech wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Quick question to those more knowledgeable as I have never had any dealings with this.

I had some crypto in binance and they had the option to withdraw the equivalent crpto to usd to ur credit card. So imagine when i went one day to withdraw and the option wasn’t there anymore. I know a guy who know a guy and basically i withdrew the crypto direct to his specified wallet and he in turn sent me cash based on the agreed exchange rate eg btc to usd then to tt. You pretty much need an “honest” middle man who not gonna rob you. I got my money though. Thats was my last dealing in binance. Rep card was the pnly one that i got to work. Fcb was a no no

Not looking for all that trouble. Basically would just love to know if Scotia or RBL allows usage of their CC on any reputable exchange. If not then fire for that.

eitech

Postby eitech » August 12th, 2023, 9:26 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
eitech wrote:

Not looking for all that trouble. Basically would just love to know if Scotia or RBL allows usage of their CC on any reputable exchange. If not then fire for that.

Yeah well fire it is

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 13th, 2023, 11:08 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
eitech wrote:

There are probably are portals that will allow credit card crypto transactions. But its a cat and mouse game ... You find one and they shut it down a few months later. Rinse and repeat.

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2023, 7:45 pm

Lol
Screenshot_20230818-171513_WhatsAppBusiness.jpg
Screenshot_20230818-112745_WhatsAppBusiness.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 24th, 2023, 10:58 am

https://markets.businessinsider.com/new ... ens-2023-9

[quote=“businessinsider”] Remember when NFTs sold for millions of dollars? 95% of the digital collectibles may now be worthless. [/quote]

The comedy writes itself.

Postby pugboy » September 24th, 2023, 11:28 am

wha about the digital real estate in the meta world?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 24th, 2023, 11:48 am

pugboy wrote:wha about the digital real estate in the meta world?

More BS. The metaverse tried to reinvent second life from the mid 2000s with some new tech, but even that crashed and burned like the first iteration.

As long as people conflate novelty with utility, they’ll continue to get fooled

Postby pugboy » September 24th, 2023, 12:34 pm

i remember seeing an interview with an artist saying she was now doing pieces geared for the digital nft space

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2023, 10:55 pm

Binance fined $4.3B
CEO pleads guilty

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » November 27th, 2023, 12:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Binance fined $4.3B
CEO pleads guilty

Sorry for the noob question.
Does this mean that the value of stable coins like USDT will be significantly affected/decrease?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 27th, 2023, 5:09 pm

Jerry84 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Binance fined $4.3B
CEO pleads guilty

Sorry for the noob question.
Does this mean that the value of stable coins like USDT will be significantly affected/decrease?

No, USDT is issued by tether and not Binance. The centralized exchanges use USDC and USDT but are not involved in their value. They are backed by hard assests by the issuer like cash and Bonds.

Last time USDT had an audit they were holding mostly cash and treasury bonds.
If the stable coins go down that means the whole market goes down .... not even btc will be safe.

Postby The_Honourable » November 29th, 2023, 9:49 am

Imbert: Trinidad and Tobago won't support cryptocurrency

Finance Minister Colm Imbert has said the government will not support cryptocurrency, amid questions from the opposition about alternative-currency business models in the Senate on Tuesday. Citing an International Monetary Fund (IMF) assessment that said Trinidad and Tobago’s lack of regulatory framework for cryptocurrencies may be limiting the country’s ability to develop alternative-currency business models, opposition senator Damian Lyder asked what policy measures, if any, are being taken to address this issue. Describing the question as “astonishing,” Imbert said the IMF had sounded several warnings in a report earlier this year that adopting unbacked crypto assets like bitcoin would have serious implications for macro-financial stability. “They went on to explain why – that the adoption of crypto assets could threaten the effectiveness of monetary policy transmission and sovereignty.

"Crypto assets without credible backing pose financial stability risks due to the volatile prices, and where declaring a crypto asset legal tender may create fiscal risks, this will cause risk to public finances.

"In terms of external stability, the entire financial monetary system can be put at risk by the adoption of cryptocurrency. In terms of capital flow stability, crypto assets drive higher gross foreign capital positions and more volatile capital flows,” he said.“In terms of the structure of financial systems, crypto assets with an open architecture are extremely risky, because anybody can contribute to these crypto assets. They’re prone to fraud and market integrity risks, and it could destabilise the entire international banking sector.

"Cryptocurrency is also the currency of use by drug traffickers, money launderers and persons who operate on the dark web, and therefore I found this question astonishing.”Highlighting what he called failures in the cryptocurrency sector, Imbert cited a May 2022 Terra US-dollar collapse which cost investors US$45 billion. He also said in June that year, a cryptocurrency company, Three Arrows Capital, was forced into liquidation, causing a loss of US$3 billion to investors. He said FTX trading collapsed in November 2022, costing investors up to US$50 billion.

Imbert cited several other collapses in cryptocurrency that occurred up to this month, costing investors billions of US dollars in each instance.“We have a situation where the whole world knows cryptocurrency is dangerous. The world knows cryptocurrency is the preferred currency of criminals, and the whole world knows crypto assets are backed by nothing.

"Why on earth would a question come to me, as Minister of Finance, therefore, as to whether I may be wishing to develop alternate currency business models?” he said.“The answer is, we are not doing that. We are not getting involved with cryptocurrency.

"It is dangerous, and as the custodians of the treasury and the public’s purse, we are not putting the public’s assets at risk.”Given this stance, Lyder asked if Imbert intended to table legislation to outlaw cryptocurrencies.

To this, Imbert replied that it is not considered legal tender in TT.

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/11/29/imbert ... ocurrency/

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » November 29th, 2023, 10:12 am

The_Honourable wrote:Imbert: Trinidad and Tobago won't support cryptocurrency

Finance Minister Colm Imbert has said the government will not support cryptocurrency, amid questions from the opposition about alternative-currency business models in the Senate on Tuesday. Citing an International Monetary Fund (IMF) assessment that said Trinidad and Tobago’s lack of regulatory framework for cryptocurrencies may be limiting the country’s ability to develop alternative-currency business models, opposition senator Damian Lyder asked what policy measures, if any, are being taken to address this issue. Describing the question as “astonishing,” Imbert said the IMF had sounded several warnings in a report earlier this year that adopting unbacked crypto assets like bitcoin would have serious implications for macro-financial stability. “They went on to explain why – that the adoption of crypto assets could threaten the effectiveness of monetary policy transmission and sovereignty.

"Crypto assets without credible backing pose financial stability risks due to the volatile prices, and where declaring a crypto asset legal tender may create fiscal risks, this will cause risk to public finances.

"In terms of external stability, the entire financial monetary system can be put at risk by the adoption of cryptocurrency. In terms of capital flow stability, crypto assets drive higher gross foreign capital positions and more volatile capital flows,” he said.“In terms of the structure of financial systems, crypto assets with an open architecture are extremely risky, because anybody can contribute to these crypto assets. They’re prone to fraud and market integrity risks, and it could destabilise the entire international banking sector.

"Cryptocurrency is also the currency of use by drug traffickers, money launderers and persons who operate on the dark web, and therefore I found this question astonishing.”Highlighting what he called failures in the cryptocurrency sector, Imbert cited a May 2022 Terra US-dollar collapse which cost investors US$45 billion. He also said in June that year, a cryptocurrency company, Three Arrows Capital, was forced into liquidation, causing a loss of US$3 billion to investors. He said FTX trading collapsed in November 2022, costing investors up to US$50 billion.

Imbert cited several other collapses in cryptocurrency that occurred up to this month, costing investors billions of US dollars in each instance.“We have a situation where the whole world knows cryptocurrency is dangerous. The world knows cryptocurrency is the preferred currency of criminals, and the whole world knows crypto assets are backed by nothing.

"Why on earth would a question come to me, as Minister of Finance, therefore, as to whether I may be wishing to develop alternate currency business models?” he said.“The answer is, we are not doing that. We are not getting involved with cryptocurrency.

"It is dangerous, and as the custodians of the treasury and the public’s purse, we are not putting the public’s assets at risk.”Given this stance, Lyder asked if Imbert intended to table legislation to outlaw cryptocurrencies.

This response shouldn't surprise anyone. The government, no government will be able to control any true crypto anyway, and that's a great thing. It's actually built into the design. Citing examples of the collapse of mismanaged crypto exchanges (which isn't the fault of crypto itself) is a great way to spread fud to the uninitiated. Backed by nothing is hilarious as well, considering that ttd fiat is pretty much backed only by the stability of the tt economy which, as we know, isn't very healthy with much debt built in.

Meanwhile, hopefully, people will continue to move away from our very limited currency and realize the potential of a truly global and unrestricted financial system.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » November 29th, 2023, 4:44 pm

So question here. I am now looking into investing and a friend told me about a business module being offered by a business called debteradicators.
Basically you enter with 2500 USDT and sign a 4 month contract. What they do is give you back 50% of your investment monthly for the 4 months.
At the end of the contract period your initial investment is still there and it's up you you whether you want to enter into another contract or not. Your risk factor is 25% as they hold 75% of your investment in their reserves for emergency.

What are your thoughts on this?

Postby The_Honourable » November 29th, 2023, 6:03 pm

Jerry84 wrote:So question here. I am now looking into investing and a friend told me about a business module being offered by a business called debteradicators.
Basically you enter with 2500 USDT and sign a 4 month contract. What they do is give you back 50% of your investment monthly for the 4 months.
At the end of the contract period your initial investment is still there and it's up you you whether you want to enter into another contract or not. Your risk factor is 25% as they hold 75% of your investment in their reserves for emergency.

Nah... run from that.

Better you put it on binance and let a trading bot do some work for you.

Or put it in ETH, store in a cold wallet and forget about it for the next few years.

Postby st7 » November 29th, 2023, 6:04 pm

is your money. do what you want and share the experience

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » November 29th, 2023, 6:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:So question here. I am now looking into investing and a friend told me about a business module being offered by a business called debteradicators.

Nah... run from that.

Or put it in ETH, store in a cold wallet and forget about it for the next few years.
Care to share the reason why I should run from this? Just being thorough as a friend is in it for almost 1 year and has been seeing some nice returns. Like I said I want to be thorough in my decision making.

Postby redmanjp » November 29th, 2023, 7:04 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Imbert: Trinidad and Tobago won't support cryptocurrency

on some radio station news they said that he said it illegal - somehow i don't think that's what he meant.

Postby The_Honourable » December 1st, 2023, 5:14 pm

Jerry84 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Nah... run from that.

Care to share the reason why I should run from this? Just being thorough as a friend is in it for almost 1 year and has been seeing some nice returns. Like I said I want to be thorough in my decision making.

Read up here:

https://cointelegraph.com/innovation-ci ... ment-scams

caveat emptor

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » December 1st, 2023, 9:23 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Nah... run from that.

Read up here:

https://cointelegraph.com/innovation-ci ... ment-scams

caveat emptor
Thanks for the enlightening information.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 3rd, 2023, 10:16 am

What manner of Shakespearian litcraft is this

https://arstechnica.com/health/2023/11/ ... -and-skin/

Postby 16 cycles » December 3rd, 2023, 6:49 pm

Jerry84 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Nah... run from that.

Own research into crypto markets hardly ever yield those returns in a 4month period.

What happens if the value decreases?

eitech

Postby eitech » December 3rd, 2023, 7:51 pm

Woi xauusd hit all time high. $2140.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » December 4th, 2023, 2:51 pm

16 cycles wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Nah... run from that.

Own research into crypto markets hardly ever yield those returns in a 4month period.

What happens if the value decreases?
Understand your point, that's why I'm reaching out here for guidance and insight.
Much thanks for that.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 8th, 2024, 9:21 pm

What is allu fellars plan to cash out?

Stables and Hold

Kraken to USD or sell stables to local dealers.