No votes
"Like Yourself" Patrice Roberts ft. Machel Montano
19%

Total votes: 16

Re: Road March 2023

Postby rollingstock » February 24th, 2023, 3:03 pm

Waiting on FIA certification to drive my lancer on the public roads.

Richard Coer de Poulet

Postby Richard Coer de Poulet » February 24th, 2023, 3:19 pm

Lol, Soca had it’s shot and it’s been around a while now. The world knows or probably knows about Trinidad and it’s “greatest show on earth”…..if it was such a “gold mine” then successful artists as Niki Minaj would have made use of that opportunity. Even Machel with his greatness could not make it that big internationally. What is killing the music is the Trini culture, the lack of talent, consistency and the lyrics. My advice, keep the rhythm and beat, LOSE the wine, grind, jam and wave yuh hand…..the world just isn’t that into it. And when we want to promote Carnival and “show the world”, get rid of the chutney soca etc that brings the music down.

I agree the production and scoring not good at all, i listen to alkaline and kartel over the carnival wee

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 24th, 2023, 3:23 pm

eliteauto wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:yeah my circle is local music producers/artists an ting, I should ask them instead :lol:

But it important to classify things tho mane, it's still soca, but there's subgenres to it

I hope you didn't take my response as condescending or insulting, with what you've posted above it makes sense that your circle would have that discussion.

is a cool scene <3

Postby MaxPower » February 24th, 2023, 6:22 pm

Richard Coer de Poulet wrote:
I agree the production and scoring not good at all, i listen to alkaline and kartel over the carnival wee

Exactly, and it’s like Trinis forcing the world to like soca.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 27th, 2023, 9:59 am

We need to make it more palatable to Muricans

Dancehall artists fit in well with Rap/R&B artists because of well similar race and aggressive style with rap especially.
Reggae hit it off well too because of it's laid back style.

Soca honestly very high energy and isn't too applicable for just driving down the road and casually listening to it. (Unless it's groovy soca, and in that case Kes should be leading the movement for Muricans to notice)

Maybe if we combine it with EDM rave music it would hit it off abroad.

KMC tried to do it with Dubstep like 10 years ago ( https://trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?t=478003 )

, Bunji/Machel tried to do it with Major Lazer
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0SLkt_u_0Y
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=inT1ChGRdzw

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 27th, 2023, 10:49 am

^ forgot about that KMC dubstep yes!

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2023, 3:15 pm

the beats in some latin american genres kinda close to soca - maybe we should align with that

Postby MaxPower » March 2nd, 2023, 3:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:the beats in some latin american genres kinda close to soca - maybe we should align with that

red,

Ask yourself why MM never link up with Minaj for a globally known soca mix. She knows soca’s peak isn’t global and on her level and that music will bring her ratings down. But as you said…alignment. For soca to ease in gradually and globally, cut out the wildness and the wine and grind, stop waving the damn sweat rag and flag….it just isn’t fun for everyone. Get some american/latin american/african artists to sing it…the Trini/Caribbean accent just doesn’t cut it.

Richard Coer de Poulet

Postby Richard Coer de Poulet » April 4th, 2023, 8:18 am

redmanjp wrote:the beats in some latin american genres kinda close to soca - maybe we should align with that

red,

Ask yourself why MM never link up with Minaj for a globally known soca mix. She knows soca’s peak isn’t global and on her level and that music will bring her ratings down. But as you said…alignment. For soca to ease in gradually and globally, cut out the wildness and the wine and grind, stop waving the damn sweat rag and flag….it just isn’t fun for everyone. Get some american/latin american/african artists to sing it…the Trini/Caribbean accent just doesn’t cut it.

this is true, that is why Sean Paul was a success