COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2023, 12:00 pm

j.o.e wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:ah fark. chupid me went outside the saharan dust maskless for a couple hours on Sunday. now 99°F, chills, fatigue and sore throat. i look for dat

Get tested. I had the same symptoms yesterday …. Tested positive today. It finally got me. It feels like a typical trini virus. Already feeling better.

on day 5 since your symptoms u can take another test and if negative u can end isolation according to MOH. although FDA says to do 2 tests (rapid antigen) at least 24hrs apart to be sure.
Last edited by redmanjp on January 10th, 2023, 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » January 10th, 2023, 12:01 pm

Found some more info: the booster shots are not updated bivalent vaccines. Same old J&J and Sinopharm from last year. No Pfizer, Moderna or Novavax updates. Yeah you can take those as a booster, but what is the point? That's like taking the 2021 flu vaccine for the 2023 season since we now know much more about how rapidly Covid-19 evolves.

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2023, 12:02 pm

maj. tom wrote:Found some more info: the booster shots are not updated bivalent vaccines. Same old J&J and Sinopharm from last year. No Pfizer, Moderna or Novavax updates. Yeah you can take those as a booster, but what is the point? That's like taking the 2021 flu vaccine for the 2023 season since we now know much more about how rapidly Covid-19 evolves.

if WHO hasn't granted EUA/EUL for the bivalent ones, we can't use it.

Postby hover11 » January 10th, 2023, 12:09 pm

Anybody paying attention to what is happening in China atm...where they running out of body bags and coffins?

Postby MaxPower » January 10th, 2023, 1:01 pm

hover11 wrote:Anybody paying attention to what is happening in China atm...where they running out of body bags and coffins?

Jason,

It’s exactly when T&T said oh they running out of beds etc…and what happened?

Can’t you see the world wants another lockdown?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 10th, 2023, 11:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:ah fark. chupid me went outside the saharan dust maskless for a couple hours on Sunday. now 99°F, chills, fatigue and sore throat. i look for dat

Get tested. I had the same symptoms yesterday …. Tested positive today. It finally got me. It feels like a typical trini virus. Already feeling better.

on day 5 since your symptoms u can take another test and if negative u can end isolation according to MOH. although FDA says to do 2 tests (rapid antigen) at least 24hrs apart to be sure.

ORRRRRR You could just not give a sheit, treat it like a normal viral infection, not test and carry on like normal.

Postby De Dragon » January 10th, 2023, 11:31 pm

drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

ORRRRRR You could just not give a sheit, treat it like a normal viral infection, not test and carry on like normal.

Ah yes, more stellar advice from "dr" Falsi :roll:
The saddest thing about this resurgence will be you and your quackery :roll:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 11th, 2023, 7:36 am

drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Ah yes, more stellar advice from "dr" Falsi :roll:
The saddest thing about this resurgence will be you and your quackery :roll:

Hey if it isnt fat firetruck :lol:
You should be scared of the resurgence ... Obesity + covid kills bro.
Make sure and stay in that hole you've been hiding in.

Also please continue to ply us with health advice... Cause we all appreciate health advice from obese unhealthy people.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 11th, 2023, 7:50 am

Remember when China released videos in Late 2019 and Early 2020 about people just randomly dropping down and bodies lining the street and we never ever saw that happen in the 3 years since this happened?

Yeah don't take the chain up again this time please.

99% survival rate even in a fatarse population like Trinidad.

Postby sMASH » January 11th, 2023, 10:33 am

Postby aaron17 » January 11th, 2023, 12:00 pm

So when the food crisis hits and ppl starving...covid will target the underweight ppl orr wha?

Postby K74T » January 11th, 2023, 12:08 pm

FB_IMG_1673453250058.jpg

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley will host a Media Conference with members of the COVID-19 pandemic response team on Thursday 12th January, 2023 at 10:30am at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann's.

Please note that coverage will be carried live on TTT.

Postby aaron17 » January 11th, 2023, 1:14 pm

For carnival

Postby bluefete » January 11th, 2023, 2:17 pm

aaron17 wrote:So when the food crisis hits and ppl starving...covid will target the underweight ppl orr wha?

Applies to the USA but you never know ...

8 Foods You May Not Be Able To Buy In The Grocery Store In 2023—Stock Up Before They’re Gone
Marissa Matozzo
Tue, January 10, 2023 at 10:00 AM

https://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/4-foods ... 06541.html

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 11th, 2023, 2:17 pm

Bread!? Wtf

Postby gastly369 » January 11th, 2023, 2:29 pm

Ahhh yes the covid thread.... Bring back on de war vax vs anti vax

Postby aaron17 » January 11th, 2023, 2:34 pm

Do we have an excess deaths graph for tnt?

Postby st7 » January 11th, 2023, 2:38 pm

gastly369 wrote:Ahhh yes the covid thread.... Bring back on de war vax vs anti vax

waiting for the experts to educate me without credible sources

Postby sMASH » January 11th, 2023, 2:43 pm

Postby sMASH » January 11th, 2023, 2:44 pm

st7 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Ahhh yes the covid thread.... Bring back on de war vax vs anti vax

waiting for the experts to educate me without credible sources
Like Pfizer trial data?

Postby aaron17 » January 11th, 2023, 2:56 pm

........the unknowns.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 11th, 2023, 2:57 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Remember when China released videos in Late 2019 and Early 2020 about people just randomly dropping down and bodies lining the street and we never ever saw that happen in the 3 years since this happened?

You mean even fat f#^k De Dragon will survive this "surge"???

Wow :shock:

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 11th, 2023, 3:09 pm

drchaos wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Remember when China released videos in Late 2019 and Early 2020 about people just randomly dropping down and bodies lining the street and we never ever saw that happen in the 3 years since this happened?

You mean even fat f#^k De Dragon will survive this "surge"???

Wow :shock:

Unfortunately

(jk, meeno if he fat)

Postby pete » January 11th, 2023, 3:17 pm

Press conference with the COVID response team at 10:30am tomorrow. Not sure what they're coming to say but I guess it's been a long time they haven't gotten to engage with the public on it.

Postby adnj » January 11th, 2023, 3:43 pm

There has been a slow, steady increase in Trinidadian COVID hospitalizations over the last 45 days. Not much concern save for those that are in a high(er) risk group.

Postby redmanjp » January 11th, 2023, 3:46 pm

pete wrote:Press conference with the COVID response team at 10:30am tomorrow. Not sure what they're coming to say but I guess it's been a long time they haven't gotten to engage with the public on it.

perhaps:-

mandatory covid tests from ppl coming from/ passing through china like US and other countries
get vaxxed for carnival

no 'as of midnight tonight....' . at least not until after carnival. the most might happen is mandatory masks again if this new kraken variant (XBB1.5) really spreading fast.

Postby sMASH » January 11th, 2023, 4:29 pm

Slow steady increase in surveillance that is detecting what was already there... Incidental and not causal covid positivity.

Schools had had failed to even acknowledge positive covid tests fsr less for reporting it to MoH

Postby sMASH » January 11th, 2023, 4:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pete wrote:Press conference with the COVID response team at 10:30am tomorrow. Not sure what they're coming to say but I guess it's been a long time they haven't gotten to engage with the public on it.

perhaps:-

mandatory covid tests from ppl coming from/ passing through china like US and other countries
get vaxxed for carnival

no 'as of midnight tonight....' . at least not until after carnival. the most might happen is mandatory masks again if this new kraken variant (XBB1.5) really spreading fast.
Masks didnt work the first time, they will come back on that?

Had enough time to collect data to show it works, but no.

Postby toyolink » January 11th, 2023, 5:00 pm

Unfortunately, the covid19 virus with its most recent mutations seems to be gathering a lot of momentum locally and globally.
I am going to do all that I can to avoid crowds and any events where citizens may be operating by throwing caution to the wind.
I hope others exercise due care and attention to their circumstances.

Postby redmanjp » January 11th, 2023, 5:15 pm

universal masking is to reduce the likelihood of the wearer infecting others- not necessarily stopping the wearer from getting infected, although this may be an additional benefit depending on the type of mask.

but even if it only reduced spread by 10%, in a situation where infections are increasing exponentially it will slow it down by more than 50% after several cycles of infection.