Car soap alternatives?

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2022, 8:55 pm

Wanted to give my old AD wagon a wash but out of car wash. Was wondering if to use dishwasher soap or Squezy?

It doesn't have wax so that won't be an issue.

Re: Car soap alternatives?

Postby nervewrecker » August 21st, 2022, 9:11 pm

I understand squeezy not good.

Normal hand soap with the moisturizer works nice in the foam gun.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 21st, 2022, 9:15 pm

Squeezy.

Postby maj. tom » August 21st, 2022, 9:18 pm

Unless you going to fully wax the car after the wash, just wait and buy car wax n wash.

Regular soap will strip the existing protection. Some can even strip the clear coat.

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2022, 9:32 pm

What about diluted vinegar? Have some in a spray bottle.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 21st, 2022, 11:16 pm

Vinegar is a mild acid, not a good idea. Most car soaps are pH neutral.

Postby timelapse » August 22nd, 2022, 6:36 am

Blue soap

Postby rollingstock » August 22nd, 2022, 7:07 am

It's an AD you can wash it with whatever

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2022, 7:10 am

fyi liquid soap uses a lot of salt in making

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2022, 11:28 am

No zip wax?

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2022, 7:34 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Vinegar is a mild acid, not a good idea. Most car soaps are pH neutral.
I still trying to grasp the concept of someone washing a car with vinegar.

How?

Why?

I mean.....

Is like bathing with a foam Cannon.....just a sec....just a sec.........brb

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 23rd, 2022, 8:05 pm

The adjective is OLD. If it eh matter much, wash the car with anything with some grease stripping action: squeezy quix dawn cheap side-ah-de-road gallon dish soap... Melt blue soap and brown soap in vinegar and soak it down too anything you choose.

When Yuh buy Yuh pretty car after, treat it better though.

Postby redmanjp » August 24th, 2022, 6:27 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Vinegar is a mild acid, not a good idea. Most car soaps are pH neutral.
I still trying to grasp the concept of someone washing a car with vinegar.

How?

Why?

I mean.....

Is like bathing with a foam Cannon.....just a sec....just a sec.........brb

it had a few parts of the car where algae was starting to grow- i used diluted vinegar for those parts alone- the rest of the car wasn't washed yet. it's a 30 yr old car which i want to get rid of by year end.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 24th, 2022, 8:05 pm

Ad wagons make 30 yrs already...
Nah, I can't believe that one