Registered Annuity worth it?

bleu18

Registered Annuity worth it?

Postby bleu18 » July 23rd, 2022, 12:14 pm

Is a Registered Annuity worth it (as a side savings)? Or should you just save/invest your money elsewhere

Re: Registered Annuity worth it?

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2022, 12:18 pm

as a side savings but remember you are taxed at completion and the minister of finance could also decide later on to hit you with more taxes too
republic bank tisp was supposed to be tax free but impsbert put a tax on it

death365

Postby death365 » July 23rd, 2022, 12:26 pm

Generally no. If u want hard savings aka can not be easily converted to cash but can be used as collateral then shares in a credit union is the better option.

Most good credit unions pay dividends of at least 4 %.

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2022, 12:33 pm

death365 wrote:Generally no. If u want hard savings aka can not be easily converted to cash but can be used as collateral then shares in a credit union is the better option.

Just remember like a credit union as with any other financial institution if they should fail all that they guaranteed to reimburse you is $75,000.00 doesn't matter if you saved millions with them

Postby adnj » July 23rd, 2022, 12:44 pm

hover11 wrote:
death365 wrote:Generally no. If u want hard savings aka can not be easily converted to cash but can be used as collateral then shares in a credit union is the better option.

Just remember like a credit union as with any other financial institution if they should fail all that they guaranteed to reimburse you is $75,000.00 doesn't matter if you saved millions with them
Spread your deposits across multiple financial institutions - that's how you deal with the limit.

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2022, 12:51 pm

hover11 wrote:

Foster would disagree.

Postby hover11 » July 23rd, 2022, 12:58 pm

hover11 wrote:

Foster would disagree.
Well you know the law for the small man and politicians are completely different

Rockram

Postby Rockram » July 23rd, 2022, 1:17 pm

hover11 wrote:

Get your point but deposit insurance is currently 125,000, to answer op depends on your goals and particular situation it can make sense, but you can outperform these funds significantly in the long term with your own investments, remember risk is tied to rewards in the financial realm, don't expect great returns from a retirement fund (BTW not covered by deposit insurance so get zilch if it tanks)

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2022, 1:38 pm

yep, they all have pluses and minuses
credit unions do offer value in terms of access to loans and insurances for the small man

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Spread your deposits across multiple financial institutions - that's how you deal with the limit.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 23rd, 2022, 1:56 pm

Annuity and buying a new elantra is the same. It's for people who want to feel like they made it

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2022, 1:58 pm

Unless your in a job that provides an annuity as a benefit, there are better things to put your money into. Real estate, a business, stocks, bonds, T-bills.

death365

Postby death365 » July 24th, 2022, 3:26 am

Stocks are ONLY for those who have extra liquidity and willing to take high risk for high rewards. It na b savings its an investment, which can go up or down in value.

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2022, 5:31 am

i look forward to dividend payouts, certainly was not an "ONLY for those" situation for me.

Postby sMASH » July 24th, 2022, 5:37 am

death365 wrote:Stocks are ONLY for those who have extra liquidity and willing to take high risk for high rewards. It na b savings its an investment, which can go up or down in value.

monitoring the markets is like a next day wuk. unless ur just relying on dividends.

as said above, better to spread ur investments into a variety, so that the hit with any individual avenue, is not a hard.

met up a former teacher who had retired, he started a small hardware, and it booming. but when time to enjoy his retirement, he wukking harder than he was a teacher, cause the business needs his 24/7 attention to run.

that was 5 years ago, i hoping by now, he pass that off to one of his children... that woudl be the ideal annuity

Postby De Dragon » July 24th, 2022, 7:49 am

death365 wrote:Stocks are ONLY for those who have extra liquidity and willing to take high risk for high rewards. It na b savings its an investment, which can go up or down in value.

No, there are countless stocks affordable to the average investor
It's called investing for a reason.